Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 285 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

285 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

5 stars
187
4 stars
42
3 stars
20
2 stars
14
1 stars
22
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 257 total reviews
DO NOT BUY ONLINE!!!
5/31/2012

Customer review by LSelf

5.0 stars by LSelf

This table is absolutely gorgeous! However, it's only $99.95 in the store! Find a store near you and go get it, but do not buy online for this ridiculously inflated price!

Was this review helpful? (172) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
LSelf
Winder, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best Money I Ever Spent!
5/13/2012

Customer review by Zooxie

5.0 stars by Zooxie

I'm currently shopping for some other things for a new home we're moving into. I came across the BH&G Autumn Lane dining furniture and decided to leave a review despite the fact that we bought this set three years ago. This has got to some of the best money I've ever spent on a piece of furniture. We were pretty cash poor when we first moved into our apartment so I was scouring the internet for a good deal. We ended up getting the Autumn Lane dining table, one bench and two chairs since our table is pushed up lengthwise against a wall. The table was SO easy to put together and it looks absolutely fantastic. This is not a wood veneer set... it's ACTUAL WOOD. After THREE YEARS of very heavy use, it hasn't developed the slightest amount of wobble, hasn't required any tightening of the screws, and still looks stunning! When we had Thanksgiving Dinner at our apartment with some friends, one of those friends brought a hot dish and put it on my table without a hot pad underneath. It left an ugly white scorch circle on the table and I flipped. Because this set is REAL WOOD and not a wood veneer, all you have to do is put a towel directly on the surface over the white mark and iron the towel with the steaming function directly on the table. It sounds counter intuitive but it really does work! This also works for any white rings left by cups with condensation on them or any white marks from water. Now that we're moving and have the funds to buy actual decent furniture, I'm excited to replace all of our hand me down things with new things that match my style. This Autumn Lane set is one thing we WONT be replacing!!

Was this review helpful? (74) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Zooxie
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome table for price.
4/14/2012

Customer review by mommaloves2

5.0 stars by mommaloves2

We have had the table, chairs and bench for about a week now and love the set. The wood is solid and it actually exceeds our expectations for the price.

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
mommaloves2
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Perfect, Picture Included.
12/6/2013

Customer review by madeinmaine2007

5.0 stars by madeinmaine2007

Took me 1 & 1/2 hours to assemble by myself, see attached picture. "Some of the reviews have claims of scratches, broken pieces so I was hesitant on this purchase but when my packages arrived today there was no scratches, broken pieces or any other damage. I ordered the bundle, Table, 4 chairs and bench. I placed my order Wednesday evening, the day before Thanksgiving & all 4 packages arrived the following Monday morning. I was pleased as well how all parts was packaged, shows they took great care in making sure my table, 4 chairs along with the bench would all arrive unharmed! The colors are great too, can not go wrong! Nice heavy duty materials, nothing cheap about this item! I am so tickled pink & could not be happier, just in time for my little family to all sit together at Christmas!"

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
madeinmaine2007
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product, great build
6/12/2013

Customer review by ZombieStuntman

5.0 stars by ZombieStuntman

I am a carpenter and frequently build furniture. This table blew me away as far as being something you can buy at Walmart! Incredibly well manufactured and extremely simple to assemble! Sturdy, REAL WOOD, and priced affordably for anyone's budget. My main dislike was the fact that the top is finger jointed wood and is clearly visible through the finish, but that is common when the manufacturer is trying to create a cost efficient product. Also there were very minor imperfections created most likely during the process of being shipped to its holding center. Overall the price is what gains your attention, my wife and I literally visited a half dozen big time furniture stores across the state and anything that is legitimate wood is at least 100 dollars more. The table deffintely seems bigger online, but its size is just right. I as a professional craftsman, highly recommend this table to anyone who has a modern yet traditional taste and wants reliability!

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ZombieStuntman
New England
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Arrived Damaged
4/20/2012

Customer review by ladywilliams

5.0 stars by ladywilliams

When I picked this up from site-to-store, it was broken. The box was taped shut and had tire tracks, of all things! I sent it back. I ended up buying one from the store floor. The table is beautiful and very sturdy and well made. So, I'm not impressed with sit-to-store, but the autumn lane table itself is great.

Was this review helpful? (21) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ladywilliams
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1/2/2013

Customer review by Marimomtothree

3.0 stars by Marimomtothree

This set is beautiful, and my kids love the bench. However, weeks into owning it we started seeing multiple imperfections in the finish of both the table and bench. Regular cleaning after eating has made the finish disappear. I use warm water and dish soap to clean the table, no harsh chemicals, so I'm very disappointed that the finish would start wiping away so easily.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Marimomtothree
Lexington,SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Table priced more online than in the store.
12/23/2012

Customer review by wgupset9

3.0 stars by wgupset9

I ordered the table online because i live in a small town and the two closes Wal-Marts did not have one. I paid $169.00 online, then a couple of weeks later i went to Amarillo tx that is 100 miles from where i live to christmas shop, there at one of the Wal-Marts i found the same table reg. price $109.00 on sale for $99.00. That upset me because i paid $70.00 higher online for one.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
wgupset9
whe. tx.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Seriously Cheap.. not what I thought
3/7/2013

Customer review by Lovetolaugh79

1.0 stars by Lovetolaugh79

I had read the 1,000+ reviews & was sold! Opened up table, assembled, flipped over & noticed it was split! Split about 4" on end. Then I noticed the cheap nails in table exposed... RETURN! Ordered the 6 chairs with it. Told my husband to box up table, I will exchange & he can start assembling chairs. Returned table to Walmart, called husband... Told me the leg of chair was split! I said forget it, let's return all of it! You get what you pay for! Totally cheap, too many red flags! Thought I could save a few $$ but in end, I'd be saving 0 by replacing. Went to spend more $$ at furniture store & EXTREMELY satisfied!

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Comment from Whalen Product Expert - 10/8/2014

“Our goal is that every customer is a satisfied customer. We are sorry to hear about your experience with our product. We appreciate the time you took to provide feedback. If this is still an issue, we would like the opportunity to rectify the situation at your earliest convenience, please contact our Customer Service Department at 1-866-942-5362 M-F 8:30am to 4:30 pm PST.”

Lovetolaugh79
MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sturdy & Stylish & wonderful Customer Service
10/27/2012

Customer review by kmfjoy

5.0 stars by kmfjoy

I was pleasantly surprized at how stylish this sturdy, functional dining set is. I have cherry hardwood floors & the cherry in the set match perfectly. I am so pleased with it & can't wait to see my Grand Babies fight over who sits on the bench. My local store was out of stock, hesitating ordering online because I had no way to pick up at the store & bring to my home. The option of home delivery was perfect for me. FedEx brought the chairs & bench. Worked with my difficult schedule. The table came a frieght shipping company, Ceva, they too worked with my schedule & even brought it into my home & opened it to make sure all was fine. As there was a tear in the carton. Being a widow this all meant so much to me. I can't tell you hw elated it all came together like this for me. On top of that I have a lovely dining set in my dining room. Thank You Walmart, FedEx & Ceva for such wonderful Customer Service & product.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
kmfjoy
Dublin, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cheaper in store
3/11/2013

Customer review by CCronan

5.0 stars by CCronan

My husband and I have been talking about building a farmhouse table for some time, but we weren't sure we could pull it off so we both agreed to buy this one. He wanted to have it shipped to home for free but I am impatient so we drove to our local walmart and picked it up. (OFallon,IL) It was only 99$ in store!! So glad we didn't have it shipped for 170$! It took literally 3mins to put together and it's beautiful! Nice and sturdy. It seats 6 comfortably. We recommend this table.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
CCronan
O Fallon, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
10/30/2012

Customer review by Phil50808

5.0 stars by Phil50808

We have now had this table about 2 weeks and we absolutely love it! It arrived sooner than expected and was very simple to put together. My wife put it together in about 15 minutes by herself. The table seems very sturdy and looks very nice and is quick to clean up after a meal- just wipe down with a damp cloth.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Phil50808
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Beautiful
8/6/2012

Customer review by ED1392

5.0 stars by ED1392

I love this table! It's so beautiful. It was pretty simple to put together, but we used our own tools so I cannot comment on the tool provided. I haven't had it for very long so I don't know about it's durability, but it sure is pretty!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ED1392
Clemson, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Absolutely IN LOVE
12/2/2013

Customer review by BatVincent73

5.0 stars by BatVincent73

Some of the reviews have claims of scratches, broken pieces so I was hesitant on this purchase but when my packages arrived today there was no scratches, broken pieces or any other damage. I ordered the bundle, Table, 4 chairs and bench. I placed my order Wednesday evening, the day before Thanksgiving & all 4 packages arrived the following Monday morning. I was pleased as well how all parts was packaged, shows they took great care in making sure my table, 4 chairs along with the bench would all arrive unharmed! The colors are great too, can not go wrong! Nice heavy duty materials, nothing cheap about this item! I am so tickled pink & could not be happier, just in time for my little family to all sit together at Christmas!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
BatVincent73
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
scratches easy!
2/23/2013

Customer review by catsgotmytongue

3.0 stars by catsgotmytongue

Very easy to put together, beautiful table, love the bench! It scratches very easy! If you do anything on this table make sure you have a stack of paper or something thick under what you're doing. I can read word for word what my daughter wrote on her homework. My vase of flowers put dents in the surface. If you have cats that aren't declawed this table won't last long. I've had my table for less than a week and am very disapointed with how scratched it is. The beauty of the table is now hidden under a felt back tablecloth.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
catsgotmytongue
Port Huron, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Perfect
5/10/2013

Customer review by Carol41363

5.0 stars by Carol41363

I was leary since it was shop inexpensive compared to "furniture" stores. However the name brand got me and I love it. I won't say it was easy to put together but it by no means hard. I gave up on the hand wrench and pulled out the electric drill with attachments.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Carol41363
Gardendale
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Solid wood, well made!
8/22/2014

Customer review by TheDesignDiva

5.0 stars by TheDesignDiva

I was a little hesitant when I read other reviews about broken parts, etc., but I decided to try this anyway because of the wood and the price. It is wonderfully solid and easy to assemble. There was a small crack in the top on one end, but I decided not to mess with it as I did not want to wait for another to arrive and it was fairly unobtrusive. Do check the pieces well. The finish is a rich walnut with reddish undertones on top and a deep rich black on the apron and legs. Quite lovely. It holds six chairs very well and the end chairs are out about 6-8" - certainly acceptable. What is interesting is that even though it holds six chairs, the footprint of the table is not too large. It fits beautifully in my dining area, which is at the end of my long living room. Overall, I am very well pleased.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TheDesignDiva
Franklin, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wow!! very nice!
12/7/2012

Customer review by ATCtg

5.0 stars by ATCtg

I looked everywhere for a reasonable, STURDY good looking table. This is so nice seats 6 or 7 people yet isn't overly big. it's great. The black looks amazing with the wood. Just a nice homey looking feel to it. For the amazing price, I just could be more pleased! definitely a 5 star. The bench is pretty cool cuz it's kind of a space saver. I slide the bench a little bit under the table, not much, but so it's not too close to the bar stools by the kitchen counter bar. Another thing that was very cool was having it delivered to our door. I was worried it would take forever to arrive or be scratched but it was in PERFECT shape! We had the table within 3 to 4 days. One day chairs came, another day the bench came and next day the table came. Which gave my husband time to put each thing together as it arrived.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ATCtg
canton, ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great dining room set
11/19/2012

Customer review by momtotwohounds

5.0 stars by momtotwohounds

We just moved into a new home and wanted an inexpensive dining room set. We purchased the table, set of two chairs, and the bench. It is beautiful! Very sturdy. It was super easy to assemble. It does not look cheap at all. Plus I received a free years subscription to Better Homes and Gardens magazine! We are very happpy with our purchase. Also, shipping was FAST. I love Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
momtotwohounds
Los Alamitos
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Beautiful;y finished farm bench & table
6/30/2014

Customer review by MapleTreeFarm

5.0 stars by MapleTreeFarm

Everything is great about this product except after receiving I found that the max weight limit is 275 lbs which does not fit two average weight adults. IT is more suitable for an adult and a child. This is ok with us as we have one child and one adult on each bench. Besides this issue the product is excellent.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MapleTreeFarm
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 257 total reviews