Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 75 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

75 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

75 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
38
4 stars
22
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 stars
7
1-20 of 60 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 60 total reviews
1-20 of 60 reviews
Can't Complain
3/26/2012

Customer review by JASONxC

5.0 stars 3/26/2012 by JASONxC
by JASONxC

I searched for a portable basketball hoop between $200-$300, and found this one, priced right at $250. I'm 25 years old and have been playing basketball most my life, I wanted a hoop for my new house, so I could practice in the driveway. From my searches, I've found that a 52" backboard is pretty large for this price, so I scooped it up. I did ship to store for free, and it was there in like 3-4 days, and I drove it home. I spent about 4 hours piecing this thing together by myself. Tools used: socket wrench and hammer. Some light tapping on the bolts got them in the holes they needed to go in. Put some water in the base and was good to go. Lay-ups, dunks, long shots, all seemed to bounce good for me, I have no issues with the material, or the mechanics in raising/lowering the backboard. The only negative comment I can say, is that the backboard was a little scuffed up when I took the plastic wrapping off at the end. This is something I should have checked when I pulled it out of the box, so i'm not sure if i caused them, or if it came that way. But I'm not gonna take it apart at this point, it works fine. All in all, getting this basketball hoop for the price, I can't complain.

Was this review helpful? (179) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JASONxC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
nice system
4/30/2012

Customer review by cmanbrazil

5.0 stars 4/30/2012 by cmanbrazil
by cmanbrazil

This is a morning after review. So the experience is fresh in my mind. When we opened the box, I wasn't overwhelmed by what was there. I didn't think I would spend as much time as others but i did. Before I get to assembly, I will review the final product. My wife and kids wanted a hoop for around $100, but I wanted something that would hold up well for a few years and played as close a possible to a regular court as we could get. Walmart online has the best prices I could find, but I wanted to see one of the lifetime hoops in person. At Walmart I couldn't see much so I went to another store that had a really nice one on sale for $319 down from six hundred. The only problem is my kids and wife were too impatient wait, so I went to Walmart to see the best one they had in stock. It was this court, and for $250 and available a was coaxed into buying it. Fully put together, I have to say I think it is a decent court. The rim is really a nice quality and the backboard, while thin, handles bank shots well. It does move a little, but not enough to affect a shot. Also, balls will not fly off of it, so you can get the benefit of the doubt at times. This is especially good in a driveway as well. The metal poll is thick, sturdy, and looks nice. We filled it up with water, and you can tell it is a few steps above the ones for a hundred -although in all honesty, my kids like those courts as well, and my neighbors court gets plenty of use as well. In a nutshell, it is worth the money. I looked at the lifetime hoops and they seem nice as well, but cost more. I do think it is easier to adjust the lifetime ones, but my youngest can shoot ten feet, so i don't see it being adjusted a lot. I kind of think i did something wrong while putting it together, because i can't get the pin out. The one thing I can't report on is how it handles dunking. This is not an above the rim house!!! On to the fun part, assembly. I started at ten in the morning. I couldn't see where it would take more than a couple hours. The instructions were decent enough, and the amount of parts didn't look overwhelming. Six hours later I was done, and wondering what took so long. However, it is easy to use a wrong part here or there and had to roe something. I think the most important advice anyone good give about this assembly is that once you pound the poles together, you are stuck with it, so if you didn't align them properly, it will mess everything else up later, and back to the store you go. So take your time, and make sure you put the top, middle, and bottom pools together in the proper order to spec. Use a cheap piece of wood to pound them together. Used a crayon to mark the pole to the level you need to pound them together. ONce aligned, this process is easy. I am not a handy man, but with the help of one of my kids, we got it together. It was actually nice spending the day together working on something. My kids are very happy and so am I.

Was this review helpful? (119) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cmanbrazil
BEST BBALL HOOP IN THE WORLD
4/4/2012

Customer review by CRASH123

5.0 stars 4/4/2012 by CRASH123
by CRASH123

IT HAS GONE THROUGH A FLOOD! its so good and reliable get this product today no problems with it and ive had it for 3 years

Was this review helpful? (88) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CRASH123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very good system for the money!
3/13/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 3/13/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I was somewhat skeptical since this was a "new" product that Walmart was offering and so there were no reviews to read and consider. We did a fair amount of online and store shopping and decided on this system due to the Spalding name, the price, overall features and the angled pole. It seemed very professional looking at a price that fit our range. It arrived at our local store via the FREE Ship-to-Store option, which saved us about $120 in freight over other stores. The box was virtually undamaged and came with all of the parts and accessories in tact. Assembly took a bit longer than I anticipated, even after reading many basketball system assembly reviews. If you take your time and really try and do it right, you'd better plan on about 6-8 hours to assemble. We made it a family project with my 7 and 9 year old sons helping as well as my 81 year old Father-in-Law. It was a great family activity that was mostly done on a wonderful 65 degree early Spring day. We used sand to fill the base and that could of been made a lot easier by placing the fill plug on the end of the base instead of the top. Since you really only have to do it once, it was okay. My only complaint is that the height adjustment system is not as easy as other more costly units, but I guess you can't have everything for $250. Well, so far-so good. We'll see how it hold up over the coming years. I would recommend this system over any other one we considered in the $190-$300 range. Happy playing!

Was this review helpful? (95) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Huron, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Best Bball hoop out there
4/16/2013

Customer review by 2kSkillz

5.0 stars 4/16/2013 by 2kSkillz
by 2kSkillz

This hoop was not a pain to put up as long as you know what you are doing you should be fine, and once its up looks great, I would recommend to anyone looking for a well developed hoop. Plus it has the Slam rim feature, doesnt say it in the description

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2kSkillz
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Product
5/6/2012

Customer review by FOURPLAY45

4.0 stars 5/6/2012 by FOURPLAY45
by FOURPLAY45

Great Product and a little tricky putting together but well worth it for the money.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FOURPLAY45
vINELAND NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
GREAT HOOP
6/14/2012

Customer review by Jeremie

5.0 stars 6/14/2012 by Jeremie
by Jeremie

When Installed correctly it is GREAT. I did buy bigger washers (4) for the rim other than that this thing is the hit of the cul de sac. Great value

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jeremie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not a slam dunk
2/19/2012

Customer review by InMyFace

1.0 stars 2/19/2012 by InMyFace
by InMyFace

Thought, "wow! 52 inch polycarbonate backboard, what a bargain!" jokes on me.. Picture looks like backboard is an inch thick minimum.. truth is.. the frame is an inch, the backboard is 3mm. Kinda like a thin plexiglass you would cover a poster for your wall... can you say horrible bounce mechanics? because this thing is weaker than the force of the ball doing a layup. Im thinking great, i got to buy, brand new, a backboard, with the same flexibility that it takes months of sitting out in the rain and sun to accomplish otherwise. surprised they didnt just warp it at the factory and be done with it. None of this matters of course if you cant get it built without considerable effort, as supplied bolts inevitable will not fit the pre-drilled holes they were made for, and you will have to be creative on how you will expand these holes (they say scrub excess paint away.. I'm telling you don't bother").. Oh how I wish ida just bought the $89 system

Was this review helpful? (67) (60)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
InMyFace
Tampa, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
8/7/2012

Customer review by cjcmom

5.0 stars 8/7/2012 by cjcmom
by cjcmom

I am glad I read the reviews about how assembly. It took several hours to assemble. After assembly we are very happy with the goal. It takes an adult to adjust the height of the goal. We did opt for water over sand because it was easier to fill and because we could empty it and stow the goal if a hurricane every comes this way.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cjcmom
North Charleston, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
6 hour set up
7/21/2012

Customer review by Tony2763

4.0 stars 7/21/2012 by Tony2763
by Tony2763

Its definitely a quality product. Assembly took all day. As with most of these type of products not everything fits perfect. Had to use the hammer a few times to persuade some bolts. I also had to bend a bracket to fit the spacers in. It takes longer to figure out where things go than to actually set it up. I did it myself so with help it would have taken less time . I would have the store assemble it if possible if you dont have a few hours to kill. Its worth the $$. You will need antifreeze if u use water in the base. The things u do for the kids...Its worth it

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tony2763
Long Island NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great quality exceptional value
12/29/2012

Customer review by ncdtjm

4.0 stars 12/29/2012 by ncdtjm
by ncdtjm

Bought this as a family gift for Christmas and the kids and I are loving it. My 6yo can play at the 7.5' and the older ones can play all the way to 10'. Not sure why it would take anyone as long as some of these reviews. I had it assembled and was playing in under 2 hours. That included a trip to Lowes for 300lbs of sand and filling it. #The sand takes a while but will be worth the effort in the long run# The height adjustment works great, just be sure to follow all directions exactly and don't over tighten anything. Make sure you have an extra set of hands for assembly. Two people are needed at some points. The backboard is a little thin, but I didn't expect it to be a pro grade.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ncdtjm
Asheboro NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
DISAPPOINTED!!
12/31/2012

Customer review by JMK111111

1.0 stars 12/31/2012 by JMK111111
by JMK111111

Chose Spalding for the name thinking we would get good quality. Within a month, the wheels were extremely worn after a handful of times moving it up and down a normal cement driveway. Then cold weather set in...one bounce of the ball on the base guard plate and it went right threw it, smashing it to pieces! Very disappointed!!! Additionally, as others have commented, adjusting the height is very difficult even for adults. We will be replacing this with a different product completely!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JMK111111
CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Parts do not fit properly
7/18/2012

Customer review by Tigertalk

1.0 stars 7/18/2012 by Tigertalk
by Tigertalk

We were excited to see the other reviews and the price for this backboard system. Little did we know the difficulty it would take putting this together. We previously had a 54 inch Lifetime and we were very happy with this unit for ten years. General wear required the need to replace. This unit was easy to put together, however, the Spalding was not. This Spalding unit is junk. The parts did not fit together properly and in fact at full assembly we still could not get certain screws to line up properly. Trust me when I tell you, I generally have no difficulty putting together things. The pieces just did not fit properly and I had to drill extra holes, etc. The lever to raise and lower the pole is extremely difficult and cannot be done by our young teenage son. First it is extremely tight and moves with difficulty. The pin system locks it into position, however getting the pin in and out is also difficult. After full assembly the top poles are not completely straight. Want to return it, but took too long to assemble and do not want to disassemble. Would not recommend this backboard system and would recommend spending another $100 and get the Lifetime 54 inch portable. Worth the extra money. Think this one may last only a couple of years, at best.

Was this review helpful? (12) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tigertalk
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Solid buy for the money
9/27/2012

Customer review by stlscott

4.0 stars 9/27/2012 by stlscott
by stlscott

There were a lot of reviews knocking the difficulty of the assembly, but I found it very straightforward. It is definitely a 2-person job. The basket is pretty solid and does not move much for a typical jump shot. I wish the backboard was a little stiffer, however. For the money, I pretty much got what I expected.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stlscott
Saint Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice system
8/28/2012

Customer review by CityofChamps

4.0 stars 8/28/2012 by CityofChamps
by CityofChamps

Overall, a really nice buy but takes longer to put together than stated.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CityofChamps
McMurray, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good Hoop
12/29/2013

Customer review by Stevo707

5.0 stars 12/29/2013 by Stevo707
by Stevo707

This hoop was a Christmas gift for the kids (12 & 14 year old). It is a good hoop for the money. It took some time to put together. I was in no rush and it took 5 hours. I took a few breaks in between the build. Spaulding has a great app for the build that had step by step instructions. The app was on my iphone and just played the app as it guided me through assembly. My kids assisted me at times, which helped. Good hoop, we are happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Stevo707
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good hoop, very time consuming assembly.
7/12/2012

Customer review by mackinawmom

4.0 stars 7/12/2012 by mackinawmom
by mackinawmom

I got this for my husband and kids and it seems to be a nice hoop. However, the assembly was pretty bad. Absolutely nothing was pre-assembled, even down to the wheel assembly that attaches to the base. It took my husband (with some help from me) over 7 hours to put it together. The backboard is also scratched up, but other than that, we are happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mackinawmom
Mackinaw, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Very pleased - good quality dollar for dollar
7/27/2012

Customer review by Frank2552

5.0 stars 7/27/2012 by Frank2552
by Frank2552

I went over budget. More than I intended to spend - but this is built solid. Backboard isnt all that bad either, as i was concerned about other comments on the cheaper models. My son is 10 yrs. and he loves it. Be very careful while assembling the main shaft that comes in three pieces. Not only is the order of the parts important, but also the directional alignment. The kids were having fun, i was distracted and put two of the pieces together incorrectly. It is impossible to pull it apart, after you have slammed it together. Fortunately i was able to drill in new half inch holes, and all is fine. This is the most important part of the assembly - so go very slow. Discounting for the snafu i made, this can be put together by one "handy" adult in 3-4 hours, much less if you have assembled one before and know what you are doing.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Frank2552
Fresno, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great system and a great value
7/14/2012

Customer review by HeyNow

5.0 stars 7/14/2012 by HeyNow
by HeyNow

This is a great system that plays nice and looks fantastic on the driveway. Bought this at the local Walmart and they even assembled it for me. The backboard material is thin but if you shop around you'll find that is the norm. No complaints at all, stacks up nicely with systems that are twice the cost.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HeyNow
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great for kids and adults
12/9/2012

Customer review by LLVegas

5.0 stars 12/9/2012 by LLVegas
by LLVegas

It was a stinker to put together, and we learned the hard way not to put the water in before we had it moved where we wanted it. Might be easier if we had concrete to roll on. Easy to change height up and down to allow both the smaller kids and the bigger kids (and adults) to practice at proper height.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LLVegas
Eatonton, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 60 total reviews
1-20 of 60 reviews