Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 42 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

42 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

42 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
29
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 stars
2
1-20 of 42 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 42 total reviews
1-20 of 42 reviews
Ever Decreasing Quality
2/3/2015

Customer review by HollisterEvans

2.0 stars 2/3/2015 by HollisterEvans
by HollisterEvans

I live in an old apartment building and I buy these kits every year to cut down on the heating bill and the drafts - been doing so for ten years now. But the ones I bought this year were so poor I will never buy them again. Every year since I started using this product some portion of quality suffers (but the price always goes up). They used to include alcohol swabs so you could wipe down the surface before putting the tape. They disappeared from the package a few years ago. The plastic itself gets thinner and thinner. It would be thicker if you used plastic sandwich bags or dry cleaning bags at this point. And now, this year, the plastic is beyond thin. It was impossible to cut it in a straight line without tearing and the adhesive strip at the top was gone unlike previous years. If I had a team assisting me I doubt it would have gone any better. Very, very disappointed

HollisterEvans
Baltimore, MD, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Expertise:Expert
Gender:Male
Frequency of use:Yearly
window kit
11/5/2011

Customer review by gibby

5.0 stars 11/5/2011 by gibby
by gibby

i decided to give this product a try to help with some drafty windows and to cover windows with a/c units in them. without a doubt the difference it very noticable to say the least! the large rooms are now easily heatable with a small space heater instead of running the gas unit centralized in the house. the installlation is straight forward and makes adjusting the method to suit each window fram easy. there was plenty of product in the box and the application was very simple (the only complication was static cling but after 2 windows, you'll be a pro) allow plenty (2-3") extra so it wont be too tight when you actually apply to the double sided tape. the hair drier will definetly draw the plastic into a perfectly clear and offer almost no visual impact on windows. obviously the windows with a/c units will be more noticable but i have applied this to the insides of windows and miniblinds cover the plastic, i have applied it over window units and applied it overplantation blinds all with great success...i highly recomment this product. (two improvements would be to increase the plastic mils thickness by even one thickness greater would be awesome and the tape width by even 1/8" would also be easier.)

gibby
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Expertise:Beginner
Gender:Male
Frequency of use:Yearly
Easy to install large window insulation kit.
1/10/2014

Customer review by JaLo

4.0 stars 1/10/2014 by JaLo
by JaLo

I installed this product during the "Polar Vortex" of Jan. 2014. The product was easy to install. I completed one 70x70 window, but ran out of the double sided tape on my sencond (35x70) window. I could not find the double sided tape as a single item anywhere in my area. So, I wish the tape included in the kit came with a few extra feet. It takes a long time to shrink the plastic using a hair dryer in very cold weather. For my next project I plan to use a heat gun to expedite the job. In general, the product does what is supposed to do when installed as directed. The windows were less drafty. The quality is good at a fair price. The end product is clear. I would recommend this product.

JaLo
Jackson, MS, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Expertise:Beginner
Gender:Female
Frequency of use:Yearly
Pretty simple
7/24/2012

Customer review by Stephyw2001

4.0 stars 7/24/2012 by Stephyw2001
by Stephyw2001

We purchased this product for basement windows that were very drafty in the winter. It was pretty easy to put on the window, even if you had no one helping you. It did shrink down nicely with the hair dryer. We put the plastic on 2 winters ago, left it up for the summer since we don't open those windows anyway, and now after 2 winters and 1 summer the plastic is peeling off the window. It lasted quite a decent amount of time (usually people only leave it up for 1 season). It definitely helped keep the basement warm in the winter, you could see the plastic bowing out with the air that was trying to get into the basement. I'd use this product again.

Stephyw2001
Hastings, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Expertise:Intermediate
Gender:Female
Frequency of use:Yearly
Not impressed
11/12/2013

Customer review by WinterHater

2.0 stars 11/12/2013 by WinterHater
by WinterHater

I have been buying these window kits for years without any trouble with them. I have recommended these products to friends and family due to the great value of the product and its ease of use. Until this year. I don't know if there was a change in the product but as I was installing it, the film was ripping within creases and in places that where trying to be attached to the tape. I made adjustments to the film by taping over the rip with added film. If there is leftover film from doing other windows, the ripped ones will be redone. I am not at all pleased with the product this time around.

WinterHater
Northern Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Home improvement profile:Other
Expertise:Intermediate
Gender:Female
Frequency of use:Yearly
Best shrink film window insulation film
4/13/2015

Customer review by Susanneb

5.0 stars 4/13/2015 by Susanneb
by Susanneb

The shrink film window insulation is the best, every year we use this product to cover our windows to help keep the place warm and also to keep the cost down on our bills. The window insulation kit is so easy to install, my son installed most of it himself. You use scissors to cut the film to the size of your window and a hair blower to shrink the film to the window. i like the window film as it allows the sunshine to go through and not the cold. Thank you Susanne

Susanneb
Calgary, AB, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Expertise:Expert
Gender:Female
Frequency of use:Yearly
GREAT PRODUCT!!!!!!
2/22/2015

Customer review by angelad84

5.0 stars 2/22/2015 by angelad84
by angelad84

We live in an older home, we plan to fix it up when we bought it with new windows ,doors, ect. But mean while we were freezing. Lol. I went to walmart and bought this product to try hoping it would help a little. It was soooo easy to use. I was done in less than an hour and my home is so cozy! I got the box that said covers 10 windows. It was plenty and then some!!! Duck was very generous! I LOVE this product and highly recommend it!!!!!!

angelad84
Lanett, AL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Expertise:Beginner
Gender:Female
Frequency of use:Yearly
WOW
11/12/2013

Customer review by myates

5.0 stars 11/12/2013 by myates
by myates

I used the extra large patio kit for a large bay window in a bedroom, within hours I noticed the difference! I could not believe how fast and easy this was to install and better yet it does what it advertises and that really matters to me, I do not like gimmicks and do not like to be ripped off! Thanks Duck Brand for the honesty in your product and the savings it is helping me accomplish.

myates
Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Expertise:Beginner
Gender:Female
Frequency of use:Daily
Stops the January hard winds.
7/25/2012

Customer review by Adam

5.0 stars 7/25/2012 by Adam
by Adam

Even though we try to keep our home properly weatherized year long. It seems impossible to stop those January freezing winds from coming in from the windows. This easy to install and crystal clear Window Kit keeps those winds out and still allows our family to enjoy the birds in the feeders as well.

Adam
Richmond, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Expertise:Expert
Gender:Male
Frequency of use:Yearly
It really is clear to see through! We are saving lots on heat loss for sure!
10/10/2014

Customer review by MarSie

5.0 stars 10/10/2014 by MarSie
by MarSie

We are so very happy to have the opportunity to have a sunroom up north in Wisconsin plus to utilize it all year round because of our Window Kits on all the glass this fall and soon to be tested throughout this winter! My sensitive plants are loving the light left into the room too!

MarSie
Pelican Lake, WI 54463, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Home improvement profile:Professional
Expertise:Expert
Gender:Female
Frequency of use:Yearly
Save Money
11/14/2014

Customer review by fishfly66

5.0 stars 11/14/2014 by fishfly66
by fishfly66

Sealing your windows is an easy and smart way to save money this winter. I was able to seal all my windows in a short time. Already we have saved money compared to the same time last winter. I recommend this product to everyone who would like to cut their energy bills this year.

fishfly66
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Expertise:Intermediate
Gender:Male
Frequency of use:Yearly
We seal our windows every year
10/30/2012

Customer review by Jasminefleur

5.0 stars 10/30/2012 by Jasminefleur
by Jasminefleur

We use this product to seal every window in our house, every year. It helps a lot with our heating bill! It is easy to put on, holds all winter, and removes cleanly too. We will continue to use it- although I still look forward to being able to rip it off in the spring!

Jasminefleur
Wisconsin, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Expertise:Expert
Gender:Female
Frequency of use:Yearly
Will keep buying!
4/22/2014

Customer review by mlwrjh

5.0 stars 4/22/2014 by mlwrjh
by mlwrjh

We have a very old house and its not insulated well at all. We use your products to weatherize it every winter. Keeps alot of cold air out and helps on our heating bills! We live in Upstate NY and had a very hard winter! Thank you for your products.ml

mlwrjh
Upstate NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Expertise:Expert
Gender:Female
Frequency of use:Yearly
This product worked wonders!
7/31/2012

Customer review by cng2011

5.0 stars 7/31/2012 by cng2011
by cng2011

This product was easy to apply and it worked. You wouldn't think a simple sheet of plastic shrink wrap & tape would keep a draft at bay, but it did. I recommend this product for anyone who has drafts during the colder months out of the year.

cng2011
Iola, KS 66749, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Expertise:Expert
Gender:Female
Frequency of use:Yearly
these work.
11/12/2012

Customer review by Jackiedee

5.0 stars 11/12/2012 by Jackiedee
by Jackiedee

we always sealed our windows when i was a child, and since I just got a house of my own, I went out and got this and a few other products. these definitely help keep out the drafts. I would recommend these to anyone with a draft issue.

Jackiedee
Reading, PA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Expertise:Expert
Gender:Female
Frequency of use:Yearly
Easy application
8/21/2012

Customer review by RobinAnn

4.0 stars 8/21/2012 by RobinAnn
by RobinAnn

My only complaint is the removal process. I am often left using multiple products to get all the adhesive off. Especially if you live in an old house. It's hard to believe how well a thin piece of plastic could help with draft.

RobinAnn
Palermo, Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Expertise:Beginner
Gender:Female
Frequency of use:Yearly
Easy to use
11/9/2013

Customer review by Niki

5.0 stars 11/9/2013 by Niki
by Niki

I live in a old home with drafty windows. This is the second year I have used the window kits. They are a great price and help my heating costs to stay low. Easy to use for one person. Will use this product again.

Niki
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Expertise:Intermediate
Gender:Female
Frequency of use:Yearly
Great Product
7/23/2013

Customer review by jann

5.0 stars 7/23/2013 by jann
by jann

Our home is older and not well insulated. By insulating several windows, we're more comfortable and our heating bill is less. The window kit is easy and quick to use, especially if you have two people helping.

jann
Garland, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Expertise:Intermediate
Gender:Female
Frequency of use:Yearly
this product is very easy to use and is a good value
11/26/2012

Customer review by busterk

5.0 stars 11/26/2012 by busterk
by busterk

I have to seal my windows every year as I have a house that was built in 1920 and the insulation is not so good. I use this product because it is easy to install and keeps out the cold air from the windows.

busterk
Sparks, NV, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Expertise:Intermediate
Gender:Male
Frequency of use:Yearly
Easy install, very nice product!
10/29/2012

Customer review by cotmjoe

5.0 stars 10/29/2012 by cotmjoe
by cotmjoe

I was able to weatherproof all of our windows in our house very easy. This is the second year I've used this product, and I will be using it on the windows at our entire church building as well.

cotmjoe
Massillon, OH, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Expertise:Intermediate
Gender:Male
Frequency of use:Yearly
1-20 of 42 total reviews
1-20 of 42 reviews