Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 104 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

104 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

104 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

68%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
35
4 stars
34
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 stars
21
1-20 of 99 total reviews
68%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 99 total reviews
1-20 of 99 reviews
Poorly designed laptop computer
2/8/2012

Customer review by NedimCB

1.0 stars 2/8/2012 by NedimCB
by NedimCB

Poorly designed: for example, the AC power port is in the middle of the side of the computer on left side so that power cord is constantly in the way (should have been at a back corner on side or back); the USB ports are too near the power input so that it is very difficult or impossible to plug something in when the power cord is plugged in; these are simple mechanical issues that would not have required much thought to not build it this way. The mouse is activated sometimes simply by resting your palms on the computer to type even when not touching the touch pad. Although the computer functions as a computer reasonably well, there just is no excuse for the configuration problems and that is why I would never purchase one again. For the future, buyers should check the location of the power port and USB ports on any laptop to be sure they are situated in such a way to make them usable and convenient. Better yet, Dell should configure the computers appropriately; not a difficult thing to do.

NedimCB
United Kingdom
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good laptop
9/9/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 9/9/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

It looks very classy and works well.. but the main problems would be: -As said by people, the keyboards a little flimsy but it works fabulously and looks great. It makes a little noise like the inside is rattling and the keyboard feels cheap which is annoying though could just be my laptop. -the lights showing the battery charger in and power on etc is sort of under the laptop so i have to lift it to see the lights -any programs dont fit the full screen, they are not minimised and i have spent ages looking through the settings. however this doesnt happen to my friends laptop so this ones up to me to sort! good things that have improved from the previous 15R -the caps lock has a light -despite the cheap keyboard, the keys are nicer and easier to use -the processor works faster -the colour has darkened so the finger smudges are shown less which makes the laptop body look cleaner I like this laptop and am glad i bought it but am hoping it was worth the money i spent.. being a student, money doesnt come that easily!

An anonymous customer
northern ireland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best laptop i have ever had
1/4/2012

Customer review by jackjack2259

5.0 stars 1/4/2012 by jackjack2259
by jackjack2259

This laptop is great and is COMPLEATLY recomended. This laptop has HD out and a nice wide screen as long as you keep it cleen it also looks great. The intel i3 realy nice and FAST. If you are looking for a laptop and are wanting a low cost BUY THIS LAPTOP.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jackjack2259
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Another Great Dell Product
11/19/2011

Customer review by Neels

5.0 stars 11/19/2011 by Neels
by Neels

Over the last decade I have bought dozens of Dell computers, both for personal use and the company I worked for. I have NEVER been disappointed with the quality. Not even once. This laptop is no exception. It is a *great* product for the price and I am very pleased with it. There is nothing wrong with the keyboard. I even had to remove the keyboard so I could install extra memory and everything kept working like a charm. The speed is what you can expect with the hardware configuration that you get at this price and meets all my needs. (I do a lot of software development and this machine has all the horsepower I require.) One minor improvement I can suggest: It would have been better to have the indicator LEDs on top of the keyboard surface, rather than on the side. I am glad I listened to my gut feeling about Dell and not some of the negative reviews I read about this laptop. Another great product from Dell!

Neels
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Hunk o' Junk!
8/25/2012

Customer review by sunflower989898

1.0 stars 8/25/2012 by sunflower989898
by sunflower989898

This lap top would not connect to the internet. I spent two hours on the phone with verizon thinking we had an internet connection problem but that turned out to not be the problem. The man from Verizon got a Dell tech support person on the phone to try to resolve the issue. First off, Dell wanted me to pay for the service call. Why should I pay for a service call on a brand new computer? Secondly, he had me go in and do a system restore which never worked. He never stayed on the line to see if that resolved the problem. But he did give a reference number "just in case that didn't work and I had to take it back." Well, I did end up taking it back, and believe me, I did not buy another Dell! This is the second Dell I've had problems with and I will not give them another chance! Save yourself 3 hours of your precious time and buy another brand.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sunflower989898
PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great laptop for home use!
2/5/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 2/5/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Overall, I've been very satisfied with this laptop. I upgraded it to 8 GB of RAM immediately when I received it, and it runs great! It works very well with all of my home software- MS Office, iTunes, Skype, and my wireless printer software. Pros: Fast, thin and portable, good webcam, optical drive, Ethernet, and SD card reader. Cons: Some keys on keyboard are awkwardly placed (delete, page up/down, print screen, and arrow keys), the tap to click feature on the mouse is easy to hit while typing, battery life could be a bit better, the VGA port doesn't have the two screws on the sides so cord falls out easily, and it would be really nice to have more than 3 USB ports. Even with these cons, I can definitely say I'd recommend it to others as a good home laptop for everyday home tasks.

An anonymous customer
Central Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Design
2/14/2012

Customer review by mujemaso

3.0 stars 2/14/2012 by mujemaso
by mujemaso

Overall, I've been somehow satisfied with this laptop. It works well with all software- MS Office etc. Pros: Fast, reasonable size and portable, good webcam, optical drive, Ethernet, SD card reader and HDMI, good sound. Cons: I don't like the way some of the keys are placed on keyboard e.g. delete, page up/down, print screen, and arrow keys (not user friendly), the tap to click feature on the mouse is very sensitive causing disturbanses during typing, battery life poor, the VGA port doesn't have the two screws on the sides so cord falls out. Overall, I've been very satisfied with this laptop. I upgraded it to 8 GB of RAM immediately when I received it, and it runs great! It works very well with all of my home software- MS Office, iTunes, Skype, and my wireless printer software. Pros: Fast, thin and portable, good webcam, optical drive, Ethernet, and SD card reader. Cons: Some keys on keyboard are awkwardly placed (delete, page up/down, print screen, and arrow keys), the tap to click feature on the mouse is easy to hit while typing, battery life could be a bit better, the VGA port doesn't have the two screws on the sides so cord falls out easily, and it would be really nice to have more than 3 USB ports.

mujemaso
Would recommend to a friend? No
great laptop
4/6/2012

Customer review by riledup1

5.0 stars 4/6/2012 by riledup1
by riledup1

This is a great laptop. I bought it to replace my Inspiron 15 N5010 which met with an unfortunate accident and I needed a new one for online school. So far I have found nothing I didn't like about it. It loads fast, has great picture and sound quality, and is easy to use. I especially like the fact that the number pad isn't on the right hand side of this which, in my opinion, for an easier to foloow keyboard since I never used the other numbers anyways. It came standard with 4gb of ram and for what I use it for that is more than enough memory. This is an easily portable laptop and was simply a great deal and I would tell everybody who asks me to purchase this computer. Dell for life for me I have always been satisfied with their products, service, and support.

riledup1
Delta Junction, Alaska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So far so good.... Amazed at the customer service.
10/24/2011

Customer review by Clintonuws

4.0 stars 10/24/2011 by Clintonuws
by Clintonuws

Bought this computer 2 months ago. The light weight comes from the frame which doesn't seem very solid. Initially one corner squeeked when I lifted it up. Called customer service expecting to not get anywhere and realize "I got what I paid for" but got a great rep who helped me set up a home repair visit. Same rep called me the next day to make sure I had been contacted by the repairman (who had already called to schedule the appt). Repairmen came as promised, replaced something and now it is great. Customer service rep called again to make sure everything had been resolved to my satisfaction. For email, iTunes, streaming video, basic word processing... I think this computer is great. Nothing has "failed" yet (only 2 mon in...). But for <$500, I'm happy.

Clintonuws
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Dell Inspiron n5040
6/24/2012

Customer review by JMartin981

4.0 stars 6/24/2012 by JMartin981
by JMartin981

I got this computer as a gift from my grandpa, because I needed a new laptop for high school. I have had two laptops before, and they both broke within a year, they were Acer. Never going back! This is my first Dell computer, and I have to say that I love it. My grandpa updated the hard drive to 1 Terabyte and 6 gigs of RAM. It runs so fast for what I need it for, just general programs such as Microsoft Office Student 2010 and iTunes. Pros: 1. Keyboard - I love the keyboard! I love how the keyes are spaced out! Its so much easier to type on! 2. Battery Life - I generally use it at home, so I always can plug it in, but if I just wanna take it in the kitchen or something, they battery does well. 3. Display - I had a netbook before, and upgrading to a noral sized display was the best thing I ever did! 4. Speakers - They are loud and good quality! (for a laptop)I like using them for just listening to some casual music. Cons: 1. Webcam - It's a really bad camera, i think it should be at least 1 megapixel. Even in really good lighting conditions, the camera is still bad. 2. Design - It's very simple and stuff, but it is VERY boring. Although I do like the inside finish. The lid is a total fingerprint magnet though.

JMartin981
Lake Mills, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Laptop!
8/8/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 8/8/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Owned one for close to 10 months now. People have always told me never to buy Dell laptops because they're "made of cheap parts" or whatever - but I've never had an issue with them. When I upgraded to the Inspiron from an old Dell Vostro, I was very pleased with the new feel of the laptop. The touchpad doesn't have those little texture ridges that give me finger burns (many other brands have those. I find them painful.) The screen is wonderful - perfect size, brightness, lacks glare, and I can view from an angle. The keyboard felt cheap at first, but it has survived all the papers I've put it through. Basically, I love this laptop. For someone who uses a computer to type papers, play games, and poke around the internet, it's perfect! I have only one bad thing to say about this laptop that causes my review to be a 4 instead of a 5. The speakers are horrible. I knew as soon as I took it out of the box that I would not be using this laptop for videos or music. (portable speakers fix the issue though). The speakers are on the bottom of the laptop and this just destroys all sound quality and volume. I suppose you could put the laptop on a stand or prop it up, but if you're going to go to all that effort, you might as well just get a set of speakers.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great laptop for a great price!
1/13/2012

Customer review by Harts52

4.0 stars 1/13/2012 by Harts52
by Harts52

PROS: Price, quality, performance CONS: Keyboard design I bought two N5010s in April 2011, primarily for my grandsons to play on-line games when they visit (which is often). They are 6 and 9, so the games are Roblox, etc., not RPGs that demand high performance. The boys haven't had any problems with multiple games, chat and skype operating simultaneously. Sure, the video camera isn't as crisp as a $1,000 laptop but for the price I paid, it's fine. I've ended up using them more that I use my three other Dell laptops (Latitudes, slightly older and purchased for business). I can say that I've spent far less time with tech support than with any others computers that I've had, so for me these are WIN WIN. I hate the keyboard....that's my only complaint. The 10-key number pad on the right might be useful for an accountant, but ridiculous for the normal user and, as a result of it being there, the rest of the keyboard is shifted a little left of where you expect it to be in relation to the touchpad. It makes it a little tougher than normal to transition from one laptop to another. The function key lettering is a blue that blends into the black so it is really hard to see. These issues sure wouldn't keep me from buying more of these, or from recommending them!

Harts52
Beaver, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Horrible laptop
12/13/2011

Customer review by CollegeParkGeek

1.0 stars 12/13/2011 by CollegeParkGeek
by CollegeParkGeek

I bought this one on Thanksgiving. The first set had a faulty touchpad, which would work fine with battery but not when plugged in. The on-site technical support tried changing the touchpad but that wouldn't fix. I just asked for a new piece because its unacceptable for a brand new laptop to malfunction like that. I cant believe my eyes but even the replacement laptop has the same issue. I'm going to ask for money back or for a different model. I have another Dell laptop and I'm pretty satisfied with that. Its this model that's bad I would say. Basically, you get what you pay for. Go for the Vostro's and Inspirons. They are better. One thing is Dell's technical support has been pretty helpful with this.

CollegeParkGeek
College Park, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Easy to fix issues
5/11/2012

Customer review by Abrianne

4.0 stars 5/11/2012 by Abrianne
by Abrianne

The size of this computer is extremely easy for a traveling person. I love how easy it is to use. I do strongly advise everyone to back up their information and programs, even those that seem insignificant and to purchase the warranties. It is worth it. The hard drive and mother board will go out and having backed up info. makes starting again from square one a cinch, especially since the instructions that come with the warranty parts are so simple a child could do it. The computer itself may not have all the capabilities one could wish for, but the price was right for what it came with and the serviceability will keep me coming back for more.

Abrianne
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good not great
12/1/2011

Customer review by mjruffell

4.0 stars 12/1/2011 by mjruffell
by mjruffell

I work at a company that uses Dell exclusively and I have used many Dell laptops. I personally prefer the Latitude models due to their quality construction and performance, however I bought the Inspiron 15 for my son. He needed a laptop, I like dell, and its about half the cost of a latitude. In summary, the Inspiron 15 laptop is great for a kid/teenager and for basic home use. The biggest issue is the screen quality. The screen is very reflective and not as crisp as other high-end dell models. The keyboard is good, the case construction is fine. It is definetely worth the low price if you set your expectations properly.

mjruffell
Webster NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My first and last Dell
12/9/2011

Customer review by Terrue

1.0 stars 12/9/2011 by Terrue
by Terrue

I have had computers for years. It was mostly HP but I saw a "GOOD" deal for a Dell. It wasn't worth half of that. It's still under warrently but this is my 2nd one already. Slow...freezes constantly and if I am using it 6-8 hours I can expect at least two restarts. It's garbage and I tell everyone whenever the subject comes up. You have to walk away from opening a new page - it will take at least 30 seconds and I am telling you that it has done this since day one so it is not because of being 'bogged' down. Would I be surprised if this review is 'edited - no. I will never waste money on another Dell.

Terrue
Would recommend to a friend? No
Only Dell!
5/23/2012

Customer review by Nikd

5.0 stars 5/23/2012 by Nikd
by Nikd

This is my first laptop and third Dell Computer. I was happy at how easy it was to transfer data from one to the other. The keyboarding always made me hesitant to buy a laptop but have not had any problems at all. Fast, more storage than I need. I haven't begun to use all of the tools available on this machine but love the portability. I have Wifi at home and love being able to use it. I would like it to be a little lighter in weight but know that new ones are becoming that way. I truly am happy with this laptop and especially Dell products. Great support and prices and plenty of options.

Nikd
Waterloo, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
peace of junk
8/25/2011

Customer review by danktastic

1.0 stars 8/25/2011 by danktastic
by danktastic

i have had this computer for about 7 months and the harddrive has already faled twice. it is also very slow and freeses often. anoter thing i hate about this coputer is it canot run i tunes with out at least freesing once. and guess what if you try to back it up it dose some thing to you external hard drive so it no longer works with any other computer. we now have three hard drives that no longer work. this is the most unrealibule pice of junk on the planet. luckily i only use this at home, because if i had to use it at work or college it would have met my sluge hammer by now.

danktastic
Would recommend to a friend? No
NOT WORTH IT
3/29/2012

Customer review by BAAAD

1.0 stars 3/29/2012 by BAAAD
by BAAAD

My parents bought me this laptop as a graduation present for me. I have had it 2 years now in college and it has fallen apart. The battery life is now about an hour and a half, at max. The plastic around the screen has cracked and broken. It has blue screened 4 times in the last week alone. It takes forever to load. I have to restart it almost every time I open and close it. The surface gets easily scratched and leaves fingerprints and smudges. The speakers went out about a week ago. I would not recommend this to my worst enemy. I will never buy another DELL as long as I live.

BAAAD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Inspiron 1545
4/25/2012

Customer review by hidnwoods

1.0 stars 4/25/2012 by hidnwoods
by hidnwoods

This laptop started causing trouble after only being 1.5 years old. First the hard drive crashed, then again, now the battery won't charge because the connector is a really bad design. I have HPs and 'no-name' laptops that have had a MUCH better life and were cheaper than Dell to begin with. I would not recommend buying any Dell because I have another that has a power/batter charger connector problem as well and it's not even the same connector. Both bad designs! (the second was a 1521) AND replacement parts are incredibly expensive!

hidnwoods
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 99 total reviews
1-20 of 99 reviews