Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 20 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

20 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

20 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
13
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 stars
1
1-20 of 20 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

After Cleaning & Updates, This Thing Screams!
3/25/2012

Customer review by mVb1975

5.0 stars 3/25/2012 by mVb1975
by mVb1975

Having just purchased a similiar laptop with the same exact specs and processor from another manufacturer, I was literally blown away by this laptop's performance. After uninstalling all the bloatware, downloading the latest bios and drivers from both Samsung and AMD this laptop posts the following WEI... Processor: 6.9 (Just shy of a typical quad-core desktop cpu) RAM: 6.9 (probably due to latency and cpu speed) 2D Graphics: 5.9 (far above most on-board graphics) 3D Graphics: 6.5 (amazing since it costs $100 or more for a GPU equal to this rating) Hard Drive: 5.9 (standard for any 7200 RPM drive) With all this said, I had to install more RAM and add an SSD on my other laptop to meet this level of performance. So, I'm very impressed to say the least. Note: To truly see performance gains with this laptop be certain to 1)uninstall all bloatware, 2) update the BIOS and all drivers from samsung.com, 3) use the grpahics card auto-detect from AMD.com and install the latest Catalyst driver, and finally 4) clean the registry. The laptop will run 20-30% faster than out of the box if you do.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mVb1975
Jackson, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
If you want to try something different
1/14/2012

Customer review by Gradientz

4.0 stars 1/14/2012 by Gradientz
by Gradientz

This laptop really looks like a Mac Book, with the island-style keyboard and subdued design. I guess that makes Samsung seem less creative with body structure design. I chose this because I wanted to try a different brand, staying away from brands that gave us a bad experience... HP tablet pc (which broke in less than 2 years) and Toshiba (broke in a year). I hope this lasts longer. I live in a warmer climate, so I got a cooler for this and use it for short periods of time. I was attracted to its 6GB RAM and fast AMD A8 Quad Core CPU. The graphics is intergrated Radeon. I need speed and RAM for my graphics hobby. The numeric keypad is a plus. It does turn on and off quickly from cold starts or standby. Be careful on first setup because windows 7 will do 40 updates at a time (make sure to choose a few at a time). My negative issue with this machine is certain features are not defined in the website--Walmart, no link to manufacturer specs... like it doesn't say how much RAM, hard drive capacity it has, or what kind of media can I use for the dvd drive. It's kind of frustrating that Samsung tech support wasn't familiar either if this supports dual layer disks. The warranty that Walmart provides is great value... haven't seen any site that can beat its "drop, spill, crack" warranty, but, of course that is available choice for any computer here. So to wrap up, if you are keen on Mac design with less to spend and if you are in an adventure to try a different brand and be surprised with the features... this laptop is a good choice.

Was this review helpful? (17) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gradientz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Nice Laptop!
2/27/2012

Customer review by girlygirl44

5.0 stars 2/27/2012 by girlygirl44
by girlygirl44

I chose this laptop for my very first laptop. I simply Love it! I got this product on sale for $365. I got a great deal considering the price right now. It was a great buy. I can make phone calls right from this computer and get work done at the same time. It has a built in microphone. Only thing is I cant figure out how to use the Camera in it.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
girlygirl44
Gloversville,NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Machine, Great Price, Great Value!
4/7/2012

Customer review by mrsquidly

5.0 stars 4/7/2012 by mrsquidly
by mrsquidly

I don't normally write reviews, but I spent quite a bit of time trying to pick the perfect laptop for my needs/price range so I am hoping this helps someone else that is in the market. I've owned this laptop for about 2 weeks now, so I can't speak for reliability, but so far, overall it seems like a well-built laptop with all the essentials at a great price. I am an IT professional and know what's important (to me) in a laptop. I had never purchased a samsung system before, but I took a chance with this (especially since ordering online I was unable to see/touch it). I looked at other similar (price and specs) systems in the same price range (HP, Lenovo, Acer) and most of them felt cheaply made. Some had a few other bells and whistles, but I took a chance with this and so far have no regrets. I use the system for some development work, along with some typical home usage and a bit of graphics work. The system seems very solid and durable. One aspect that seems somewhat cheap are the touchpad buttons, although the touchpad itself works great with some really cool features (two-finger scroll, zoom, and page-swipe), thanks to some packaged software/drivers that come with it. The display is super bright (compared to my thinkpad w500, this one is WAAY bright) which is great for working in sunlight, etc. Keyboard takes a little getting used to since it is kinda stretched out, but nice for typing altogether. Numeric keypad also a plus. . I am not a gamer, so super-fancy graphics cards are not a requirement for me. Plenty of processing power, and plenty of memory (6GB expandable to 8GB). The 640GB HDD is nice, 7200rpm would have been nice (has 5400). USB 3.0 would have been nice to have also. I haven't used the video cam yet, but plan to. I Can do without the bells and whistles like fingerprint readers and such. HDMI out is really nice for watching your online movies/tv shows on your tv with great picture quality. This is really a great deal and I would highly recommend it for anyone in the market for a quality system in the $500 price range. For that price, its a steal.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mrsquidly
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great laptop computer
4/3/2012

Customer review by goobler

5.0 stars 4/3/2012 by goobler
by goobler

Although the product description does not contain much information my unit came with the AMD Quad-core A8-3610MX APU, 6GB memory and a 640GB hard drive. I am not a gamer and I use my unit for simple tasks such as presentations and to surf the web. So far it has done everything that I have asked of it. The picture quality on the screen is very good and I like that it is a non-glare matte type screen. I had the unit delivered to my house and received the unit in about 8 days from the date of my order. Walmart's packaging was not very good but Samsung's was and the unit arrived in safe condition. I am very pleased with this purchase. I can use the HDMI port to show my presentations as well as the screen and the screen quality compares favorably with the picture on my 63 inch DLP.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
goobler
Kirksville, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great, but hot.
5/2/2012

Customer review by SunNoise

5.0 stars 5/2/2012 by SunNoise
by SunNoise

Well like most AMD products, they tend to get a bit hot. Not that much that it would send the overheating signal to restart the computer, but it does get hot if you're doing something that stresses the laptop. I have made it go up to 90 Celcius in the Motherboard which is the part of the laptop that gets hotter overall. Normal temperatures aren't that much of a problem (around 40-50 Celsius). Great for gaming for this low price(don't expect to run everything on high, but most will run on medium, definitely not low settings). You won't find a better laptop at this price ~500. It has a full keyboard which includes the numpad. The only thing i guess the laptop is missing, are the media buttons, like the play, pause and those. Overall it's very nice and for this price you can't go wrong. PS: If you're planning on streaming games, this will not work very nice since the cpu isn't that great.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SunNoise
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Pretty good.
1/29/2012

Customer review by Comepootehraypesh

4.0 stars 1/29/2012 by Comepootehraypesh
by Comepootehraypesh

It's pretty good for light gaming. It can handle a good amount of applications going at one time. The battery probably lasts 3-4 hours with normal use (haven't run the battery down yet). The only not good part of this computer is the hard drive. Some times it just seems like it's dead. It takes a while to spin back up and makes everything hang for several seconds. It might be my power settings though. Anyways, for the price, it's about the best value I could find.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comepootehraypesh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
2/2/2012

Customer review by Jewels6414

1.0 stars 2/2/2012 by Jewels6414
by Jewels6414

I bought two computer one my husband and one for myself since they only had one Acer with Quad Core I spent the extra money and bought my husband this Samsung Laptop with a Quad Core proccessor. My computer was very fast and only took 15 minutes to set everything up including virus protection his computer on the other hand took an hour and we had trouble with getting the interent to work. We had our wireless connection but the interent wasn't working once we got that all figured out we realized just how slow this computer was compared to mine. It came with very little extra trial programs so I knew that wasn't slowing it down but like I said the computer was straight out of the box and with a Quad Core proccessor it should not have been slow. So we are taking his computer back and trading it for another Acer and saving since its $498. Save yourself money and don't buy this computer!!!

Was this review helpful? (10) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jewels6414
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not for me!
1/31/2012

Customer review by RGRRGRRGR

2.0 stars 1/31/2012 by RGRRGRRGR
by RGRRGRRGR

My 5 year old toshiba is giving up so I thought I would try the Samsung. Wow the picture quality is terrible ( maybe I got a bad one),and the spot where I rest my hand is shaped like a brick. Walmart will be getting it back tonight. Toshiba please forgive me for straying...

Was this review helpful? (5) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RGRRGRRGR
Central USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
very pleased
5/17/2012

Customer review by justanothernickname

5.0 stars 5/17/2012 by justanothernickname
by justanothernickname

So far, this is exactly what I was looking for: a relatively small footprint, a fast processor, good features, multiple I/O methods. A great machine for the price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
justanothernickname
Mt. Pleasant, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
6/6/2012

Customer review by wolfecomom

5.0 stars 6/6/2012 by wolfecomom
by wolfecomom

I bought this computer in April 2012. Price was $499.00 at that time. I love this computer. I use it at least a couple of hours a day. No problems whatsoever.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wolfecomom
Hazel Green, Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Amazing Laptop with a Amazing Price
1/4/2012

Customer review by Brianster

5.0 stars 1/4/2012 by Brianster
by Brianster

Samsung Has done it again...they thought of everything when they made this computer. Wonderful picture. this computer is fast!!!.. has a HDMI port on it to connect it to a HDTV (which i am connecting it to my Samsung 3D HDTV to play video games)...If u want a computer that will allow u to do just about everything and at a wonderful price, then look no further and get one today!!! I have never looked back when i got this laptop

Brianster
Expertise:Expert
Great in performance
3/7/2012

Customer review by Janeal1613

5.0 stars 3/7/2012 by Janeal1613
by Janeal1613

Great value for your buck. Has all the must need features.

Janeal1613
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Love it!
5/20/2012

Customer review by rubylover

5.0 stars 5/20/2012 by rubylover
by rubylover

Only thing I don't like is the picture quality for viewing movies.

rubylover
Canyon Lake, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect for me
7/6/2012

Customer review by beaglebabe

5.0 stars 7/6/2012 by beaglebabe
by beaglebabe

I especially like the speaker quality. This machine is everything I need and more.

beaglebabe
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Nice Machine for the money.
9/17/2012

Customer review by bulldogwrst

5.0 stars 9/17/2012 by bulldogwrst
by bulldogwrst

I bought this laptop for my Mom. It has all the bells and whistles and an economical price. My Mom has not had any issues using the system and was easy for her to setup.

bulldogwrst
Buford, GA
Expertise:Expert
Nice Machine for the money.
8/13/2012

Customer review by RockerDave

5.0 stars 8/13/2012 by RockerDave
by RockerDave

This unit is great, Multi card reader, HDMI, lots of memory, big hard disc, quad processor, pretty fast. Could use one more USB port.

RockerDave
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Beginner
1/14/2012

Customer review by GradientZ

4.0 stars 1/14/2012 by GradientZ
by GradientZ

Could not find dvd features (can it play blu-ray or burn dl?). Would be great to note that this does not have a glossy screen. Performance, so far, meets expectations. Really easy to revert system to earlier/first state.

GradientZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Fast!!
3/4/2012

Customer review by samsungAtt0

4.0 stars 3/4/2012 by samsungAtt0
by samsungAtt0

i like this it is a fast computer samsung is great

samsungAtt0
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Screen easily cracked
12/18/2012

Customer review by MaxxPepper

2.0 stars 12/18/2012 by MaxxPepper
by MaxxPepper

With one hand opening the screen panel and simply crack the screen. Hardware quality is terrible. Also connection to external sound is noisy.

MaxxPepper
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Expert