Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 114 reviews | 2.6 out of 5

2.5 stars

114 reviews | 2.6 out of 5

2.5 stars

114 reviews | 2.6 out of 5

42%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
33
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 stars
60
1-20 of 100 total reviews
42%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 100 total reviews
1-20 of 100 reviews
Not even worth the $12
9/1/2012

Customer review by KWSFAN23

1.0 stars 9/1/2012 by KWSFAN23
by KWSFAN23

If you are looking to shred anything more than just a few pages a day I would avoid purchasing this. It says it will shred up to 6 pages at a time, but when you put 6 in it barely gets them through. As some other reviews mentioned it will seize up after about 5-10 minutes of continuous use. The shredder does this to prevent overheating, which is stated in the directions. You have to let it cool down for about 20 minutes before you can continue shredding (Very inconvenient). The biggest problem I had was that once it jams up and gets paper stuck in the gears, forget about cleaning it out. This model was designed to never be opened. Even if you try removing the screws on the back and taking it apart to clean out some paper shreddings, you will find that it does not open. I ended up breaking it trying to remove some paper chunks that formed in the gears from normal use. I believe the only way this model would work well is if you were very careful putting the sheets of paper in and only did a few a day.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KWSFAN23
Would recommend to a friend? No
I liked it but it burned up!
7/20/2011

Customer review by lkwje0f9uoejr092hrpoksje

1.0 stars 7/20/2011 by lkwje0f9uoejr092hrpoksje
by lkwje0f9uoejr092hrpoksje

This shredder worked good. Unfortunately it burned up when I shredded documents for about 15 minutes straight. Other shredders have a thermal device that will reset when it cools down. This one doesn't seem to have a thermal switch - it got hot and stopped working - permanently.

Was this review helpful? (58) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lkwje0f9uoejr092hrpoksje
Would recommend to a friend? No
Worthless
2/2/2012

Customer review by dejiandbecca

1.0 stars 2/2/2012 by dejiandbecca
by dejiandbecca

I bought this for some light shredding at home and it stopped working after 2 passes. I had not even put the max amount of paper in it. Now it won't accept paper and it constantly runs in reverse.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dejiandbecca
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
decent shredder; good value
7/18/2011

Customer review by buyer1122334455

4.0 stars 7/18/2011 by buyer1122334455
by buyer1122334455

I got it mainly just to shred junk mail credit card applications. Southwest trashed my last shredder with a hidden fake card and heavy weight paper. Normally I would just tear the whole envelope in half and feed 1/2 through my old shredder at a time. I tried that with this shredder and it did not jam but it did not shred. The blades just flexed out and scored the envelope but didn't cut it. however, if you take the sales stuff out of the envelope and feed it through then it cuts fine. So far it is a decent shredder. I have not had a jamb yet.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
buyer1122334455
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
3/21/2012

Customer review by DangerousSheep

1.0 stars 3/21/2012 by DangerousSheep
by DangerousSheep

I bought this paper shredder because I just needed something light weight for personal use. I took it home and tried to use it the first time. I was only shredding one piece of paper at a time, and the machine kept jamming on me. Completely useless.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DangerousSheep
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Gone in 30 seconds
2/11/2012

Customer review by ajINnd

1.0 stars 2/11/2012 by ajINnd
by ajINnd

I bought this shredder cause I only have about 10 sheets of paper to shred a week so I thought it would be perfect for the job. After the 4th sheet of paper it stopped working. 2 hours later it still doesn't work. Spend the additional money for a more powerful and reliable paper shredder.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ajINnd
North Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
It works!
7/19/2011

Customer review by Poussette

4.0 stars 7/19/2011 by Poussette
by Poussette

When our old shredder gave out, the bottom part, the bucket, was still perfectly usable, so I thought I would try just getting the head, rather than throwing out the bucket and getting a new one. This one is perfectly satisfactory for the home use we give it, using it only two or three times a week. The cut is a little broader than the last one we had -- about 1/4 inch -- which is the only reason I didn't give it five stars, but so far it seems well made and an amazing bargain.

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Poussette
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Garbage
4/15/2012

Customer review by cchand

1.0 stars 4/15/2012 by cchand
by cchand

Had for 3 days, now is in the trash can. If running two half sheets (won't run a full size sheet) it always jammed and overheats - don't get this one.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cchand
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very sharp, dependable shredder. It works great!!
7/17/2011

Customer review by biker28

5.0 stars 7/17/2011 by biker28
by biker28

I am very happy with the way this shreds. It is very sharp, and shreds perfectly.

Was this review helpful? (21) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
biker28
Nashua
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Worked for 2 days, then broke.
8/16/2011

Customer review by shopinyurjammies

2.0 stars 8/16/2011 by shopinyurjammies
by shopinyurjammies

I need to return this, but it worked for a few days, got jammed. I unjammed it and then it worked again, until an hour later it just stopped working. Be very careful how you feed it and don't put anything in remotely out of alignment or with wrinkles.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shopinyurjammies
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Bought two ...returned does not work well at all
6/8/2012

Customer review by mcconsultants

1.0 stars 6/8/2012 by mcconsultants
by mcconsultants

Never buy just because it's cheaper, because a good deal is not always a good deal. You could use this if you have just a few documents daily. I'm a senior and I get lots of junk with personal info on it. Someone tried to steal my identy and now I must shred everything!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mcconsultants
Arnold, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
paper shredder head
7/19/2012

Customer review by CRTL

1.0 stars 7/19/2012 by CRTL
by CRTL

This xxxxxx shredder head is just plain evil ! I bought just the head part to save a little money and used my old bin. What a joke, from the start it bogged down, with one piece of typing paper grade paper, hard to clean, nearly impossible to do so, have to find just the right thing to try and clean with, each and every time used it. The only two good things I can say about this piece of junk is ..... you will learn some patience or in my case the other good thing it is very sturdy, I know from when I slammed in down on the floor, the evil thing did'nt crack the plastic housing or hurt the motor....still works, sounds like new with the exception of the paper sticking all the time. Save some frustration, buy a brand new complete one and use the old bin for something else.....maybe to bury the evil shredder head in.!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CRTL
Converse, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
If I could give this 0 stars, I would
4/20/2012

Customer review by ImaSmartShopper72

1.0 stars 4/20/2012 by ImaSmartShopper72
by ImaSmartShopper72

This ran for less than 2 passes, with less than full capacity per pass. I bought it for light usage... it's more appropriate to be inside the garbage can that it sat on top of. Bought it yesterday- back to the store tomorrow.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ImaSmartShopper72
FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Meets my expectation
11/30/2011

Customer review by sandpb

4.0 stars 11/30/2011 by sandpb
by sandpb

Good price. I like not having to pay for the bin. I used an old tall plastic bin instead. Performs well as long as you feed the paper in correctly, and let the cut sheets fall well down (not curl up below the cutter). I bought it to shread old financial documents accumulted to 2 feet high. I did a portion each day and in a week's time, all is gone. If any paper should remain in the cutter (like when you feed it in askew) be sure to remove it first before proceeding further. This eliminates the problem of serious jams. Just read the instructions of the manufacturer.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sandpb
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Sounds Powerful - shreds as described
10/2/2011

Customer review by KsBuyer

5.0 stars 10/2/2011 by KsBuyer
by KsBuyer

After my last shredder broke I decided to quit spending so much money on shredders and purchased this one. When I received it a few days ago I put it to use right away and it stood up to the challenge. I put junk mail through it - envelope and all and it worked great. Like someone said before if the junk mail is too large it scores it but does not shred it. At least it didn't jam. I shredded paper for over thirty minutes and it never stopped or jammed. Very impressive for this price. I don't know how long it will last but so far it is great!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KsBuyer
KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
7/17/2011

Customer review by hellofornow

1.0 stars 7/17/2011 by hellofornow
by hellofornow

didnt realize it shredded in long strips. i wanted something more secure so i ended up returning it. Walmatt always makes it so easy for returns... love that!

Was this review helpful? (6) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hellofornow
rochester ny
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Do not buy
8/31/2012

Customer review by wglock

1.0 stars 8/31/2012 by wglock
by wglock

I returned my shredder tonight, after purchasing it yesterday. It jamed nearly every time I used it. I have a lot of stuff that needs to be shredded, but the value of the shredder was enough to make me take a chance. I didn't shreded but about 12 things all together before I became disgusted and returned the shredder. After about the third envelope, paper, etc. was shredded, some of the shreds would compact at the bottom of the shredder, causing the cutting wheels to bind and stop working. The only way to get the shredder back into action again was to dig out the compressed paper. Digging the paper out took about 20 minutes each time. The final straw was when my tool slipped and I stabbed myself in the hand with the tool. About 1/8" of the tool went into my hand. I returned the shredder immediately. The Walmart associate at the returns counter asked what was wrong with the shredder, saying that he has seen a lot of them returned. I told him that it jams a lot. If it would shred without jaming I'm sure it would be a good, reliable shredder. The 2 minute run time is a problem, but if you are just shredding your daily mail it won't be a problem at all.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wglock
Fort Worth
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A piece of "junk"
5/20/2012

Customer review by xArmyGirl30x

1.0 stars 5/20/2012 by xArmyGirl30x
by xArmyGirl30x

We bought this yesterday and the same day we bought it was the same day it got messed up after a few papers shredded, I didn't even shredded 10 pages when it stopped responding. This might be ideal for a small kid who doesn't have a lot of papers to shred but for college students, office, or personal use this thing is really bad and junky!! Save your money until you have more than double and get an expensive one that might last you longer than this piece of junk. You get what you paid for!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
xArmyGirl30x
Pensacola, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice schredder for the price
11/23/2011

Customer review by gbscobra

4.0 stars 11/23/2011 by gbscobra
by gbscobra

Why replace the entire old schredder when you can purchase only the cutting unit? This was my question and I am very pleased that I decided to purchase this replacement head. It works great. My only "con" would be the size of the schredded sheets. I wish they were thinner strips. Other than that I would still buy this unit again because of the price and the fast job it does on multiple sheets of paper.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gbscobra
Baltimore, Md.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Shredder cannot be unjammed due to poor design
6/12/2012

Customer review by WalmartBreaShopper

1.0 stars 6/12/2012 by WalmartBreaShopper
by WalmartBreaShopper

This shredder does not work properly because it was poorly designed. Specifically, it cannot be unjammed. After shredding about 10 3-sheet-thick loads, the shredder jammed. When I reversed the shredder to loosen the jam, the jammed paper clogged midway between the top and bottom of the shredder throat, making the clog virtually inaccessible. After carefully digging out most of the clog, the remaining clogged areas prevented any new sheets from feeding. The shredder quickly overheated and shut off. During the past 15 years, I have owned several types of shredders, including another brand ("The Office") of shredder head, which I purchased from Walmart 1-1/2 years ago. Although all of these shredders were poorly designed in some respect, this one quit working the fastest. I think 1/2 hour is the record!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WalmartBreaShopper
Fullerton, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 100 total reviews
1-20 of 100 reviews