Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 542 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

542 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

542 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
336
4 stars
110
3 stars
35
2 stars
25
1 stars
36
1-20 of 524 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 524 total reviews
1-20 of 524 reviews
If you're NOT going to replace COLOR cartridges...
3/14/2013

Customer review by xdoxdo

4.0 stars 3/14/2013 by xdoxdo
by xdoxdo

BEWARE!!! There is only one thing I dislike about this printer: The printer will NOT print ANYTHING, including black & white (even on black ink only settings), if you have empty COLOR cartridges (even having a new black cartridge already in the printer). It will NOT print ANYTHING unless you install new COLOR ink cartridges. If you are not willing to replace color cartridges once they get empty, DO NOT buy this printer; it will simply NOT PRINT. This printer falls under the user replaceable printhead. With this printer there are ink lines which need to stay filled with ink, this way the print head doesn't get clogged jets in turn causing poor print quality issues and because of this, once the color cartridges get empty it will not print because this will cause damage to the printhead. This information is neither in manuals nor on the box; HP should add this details so people can buy what they want and need. Because of this I am not giving 5 stars.

Was this review helpful? (81) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
xdoxdo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
Love this printer!!!
2/14/2012

Customer review by SignalOne

5.0 stars 2/14/2012 by SignalOne
by SignalOne

Awesome printer! I've had so many problems with printers having to replace my printer every year to a year and a half. I needed something that could be used for more than just the occasional home use and wouldn't break down out after printing cardstock papers. I've only had this for a week, but I love it! It's quiet! It prints fast! Setup and installation were super easy! (I do not have wireless internet, so don't use that part of it). I LOVE that it has a paper tray that will hold 250 pieces of paper just like the commercial office printers! So far I have no complaints about this printer. Well worth the money if you get it on sale! The only thing I can't comment on is it's ink usage and therefore, I'll be doing all of my printing on the "draft" setting. My last printer had just the black and color cartridge and it seemed like I was always out of ink. I'm hoping with the individual color cartridges it won't become too costly. Overall, I'm very pleased with my new HP printer and I think it will last quite a bit longer!

Was this review helpful? (55) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SignalOne
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best Printer Yet
4/23/2012

Customer review by Born2ShopWalmart

5.0 stars 4/23/2012 by Born2ShopWalmart
by Born2ShopWalmart

This is the best printed I have ever owned! It's great for frequent personal or small business use. It functions quickly and does everything you need. I love the wireless and airport capabilities. Easily links to my computer and smart devices. Printer has its own email address and lets you print at home from anywhere! I checked around and Walmart had the best price for this item.

Was this review helpful? (38) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Born2ShopWalmart
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome printer for small office / home office
4/13/2012

Customer review by Teedles1954

5.0 stars 4/13/2012 by Teedles1954
by Teedles1954

I have had many different brands of printers & different models but I always seem to having to come back to HP. But this 8600 pro tops the charts relatively easy to set up. ( make sure you delete other printers previously used on your computer for easy er installation it will go much easier.) I have had this printer now for 9 mo. and still loving it. also the ink seams to last forever very economical. HAPPY PRINTING MY FREINDS

Was this review helpful? (56) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Teedles1954
Garland Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Best Printer Scanner Copier I've ever had.
3/30/2012

Customer review by starman5409

5.0 stars 3/30/2012 by starman5409
by starman5409

This machine is great. It's easy to set up, its very fast. Comperable to laser printers but much less expensive. Even full color pages print in seconds. I just wish I had gotten this sooner.

Was this review helpful? (25) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
starman5409
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
does not copy legal
3/17/2013

Customer review by 904linda

4.0 stars 3/17/2013 by 904linda
by 904linda

I was a little upset when I got it open and found it did not scan legal. It is an upgrade from the 8500A for me and that one did copy legal.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
904linda
Jacksonville FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Outstanding product for home or office.
10/6/2012

Customer review by tomslic

5.0 stars 10/6/2012 by tomslic
by tomslic

Easy setup, using wireless option and have no problems printing from laptop, ipad and iphone. Fast and clear printing and faxing. I wouldn't hesitate to use this in a busy office environment.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tomslic
Cumberland, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not what I expected
10/28/2012

Customer review by p522

1.0 stars 10/28/2012 by p522
by p522

This printer appears to be a lower quality than a previous HP printer I had. I was thinking this printer allowed me to double side print. Usually you place a piece of paper in the feeder to be double side printed and it takes care of it all by itself. But with this printer you have to flip you original document on the screen. Defeats the purpose for an automatic feed. I would not recommend this printer if you're looking for that feature. Also problems with loading the software for scanning . I think I'm done with HP printers.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
p522
Spokane, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
No more cables !
1/4/2014

Customer review by Finickey

5.0 stars 1/4/2014 by Finickey
by Finickey

Even though I had trouble with the insallation, hp tech support was wonderful. They were able to fix the problem via the net and all is well. The print quality, resolution and speed is wonderful. Able to get rid of the fax and work with one machine. I love the wireless aspect; no more ubs cables.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Finickey
Fort Pierce, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
6/14/2012

Customer review by Gaswatch

5.0 stars 6/14/2012 by Gaswatch
by Gaswatch

Printer works well. does'nt use a lot of ink. Easy to set up, bothsides printing is great. had to purchase router to hookup ethernet. Eprint had problems receiving accounts not being Gmail. Had to open to all accounts knowing email address.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gaswatch
FL.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Printer~
2/17/2012

Customer review by only1Manager

5.0 stars 2/17/2012 by only1Manager
by only1Manager

I am thrilled with my new printer, it was easy to set up, it's quick, it's got all the bells & whistles I need for my office. I am very pleased with my choice at this time.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
only1Manager
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very pleased
3/18/2013

Customer review by Allen93094

5.0 stars 3/18/2013 by Allen93094
by Allen93094

I bought this printer because it was recommended to me. I have to say that I have already used it a lot and I am very pleased with it. It prints quick and does an excellent job. I have had no problems what-so-ever with it connecting to my Wi-Fi, or waking up from sleep mode to print what I need it to. It is a definite upgrade from the dinosaur we had. I would recommend this to anyone who needs a good, fast printer.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Allen93094
KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/26/2012

Customer review by Boredinnc

5.0 stars 8/26/2012 by Boredinnc
by Boredinnc

We had been researching this printer for months. I needed something that would scan multiple pages and print 2 sided easily. I love this printer. I searched for the best price and bought this during the tax free weekend, so I was able to get it at Walmart cheaper than even Amazon. It was $159.99 during the tax free weekend which was cheaper than Amazon's $169.99

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Boredinnc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great.
11/21/2012

Customer review by MsShakemBaby

4.0 stars 11/21/2012 by MsShakemBaby
by MsShakemBaby

It prints right from my IPhone. I love this feature. Printer is great

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MsShakemBaby
Atlanta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/17/2013

Customer review by MISSIORIMULE

5.0 stars 3/17/2013 by MISSIORIMULE
by MISSIORIMULE

THIS PRINTER WAS EASY TO INSTALL AND WORKS EXCEPTIONAL. THE WIRELESS CAPABILITY ALLOWS ME TO EPRINT FROM ANYWHERE IN THE HOUSE FROM ALMOST ANY WIRELESS CAPABLE COMPUTER, PHONE OR EPAD. EXCELLENT VALUE FOR THE COST.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MISSIORIMULE
ARKANSAS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Really great printer.
6/17/2013

Customer review by GoodTimeCharlieMe

5.0 stars 6/17/2013 by GoodTimeCharlieMe
by GoodTimeCharlieMe

Three years ago, I purchased this printer's predecessor, an HP O'jet Pro 8500 with the idea of replacing three different ink jet printers in use in my house (2 HP's and a Brother) that were costing a fortune in ink and paper (none of them would duplex). I linked all the computers previously connected to individual printers to the new printer thru my network and retired the other printers. Now, I also have an iPad that I've linked to it thru the network. I've really been happy with it. Have I had any problems with it? Yep. When I first set it up, the yellow ink tubing was not properly attached to the print head and yellow ink spewed all over everything inside the printer. That was on a Thursday. I talked to HP support and they sent out a (new) replacement which I received the following Monday. Recently, I purchased my daughter, a graphics artist, a new computer. An older HP 712C printer she was using was no longer compatible with the newer OS. I purchased the HP O'jet Pro 8600 for her and she loves it. HP seems to have the network connection issue solved so that even the network-challenged like me can figure it out and set it up. And, even though the up-front cost of the printer may be considered by some to be "high" (in comparison to many of the popular AIOs available today), you get a lot in return. If not the very cheapest to operate, it's certainly no further away than second or third cheapest (ink cost is one of my three pet peeves concerning printers), networking setup is a dream (2nd pet peeves), and it duplexes (3rd pet peeve). The only downside I've noted: supposedly, the HP 8600 will stop operating when an ink cartridge runs out of ink (the 8500 continues to operate). BOOO!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GoodTimeCharlieMe
Brandon, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great until one of the ink colors run out!
12/6/2013

Customer review by Shay5263

1.0 stars 12/6/2013 by Shay5263
by Shay5263

My husband and I spent the extra money to get this printer thinking it would be a great value in the end. Boy were we wrong!! When one color of the ink runs out its stops printing all together! It will not print unless there is ink in all of the ink cartridges. We bought black ink thinking we could print in just black and white, WRONG!!! To buy all of the ink that this printer needs cost almost as much as it would to buy a new printer. So what we thought we were getting a value on turned out to be a costly mistake and one that I will not be making again!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shay5263
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Satisfied!!!!
3/16/2013

Customer review by montefan

4.0 stars 3/16/2013 by montefan
by montefan

We recieved the printer days earlier than first stated, very happy about that. It only took two unprofessionals to get it connected correctly and set up. No problems..just follow directions closely. Quick response and clear printing. Happy with the choice so far.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
montefan
Montezuma, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/23/2013

Customer review by Werpin

3.0 stars 9/23/2013 by Werpin
by Werpin

After trying to install it for four hours we broke for lunch. When we returned the machine received some kind of update from who knows where and worked fine. I also had a problem with the instruction book. It is over 250 pages and I couldn't get to what I was looking for, a simple question. I found the answer to my question accidently. The copy quality is good both color and black. The main reason we bought this model was the promise of low ink cost. That remains to be seen. The speed is good. The size is good. I like the touch screen instruction/print pad. We bought it without the knowledge that the optics glass would not accept legal size originals which makes me think we should have looked at it in the store instead of on line.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Werpin
Rochester NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy purchase of a wonderful item!
8/4/2012

Customer review by Jeanay

5.0 stars 8/4/2012 by Jeanay
by Jeanay

The Ship to Store purchasing feature made purchiasing this easy to set up and use item even better!! It a wonder printer for a geat price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jeanay
Gibraltar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 524 total reviews
1-20 of 524 reviews