Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 542 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

542 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

542 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
336
4 stars
110
3 stars
35
2 stars
25
1 stars
36
1-20 of 524 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 524 total reviews
1-20 of 524 reviews
Awesome printer for small office / home office
4/13/2012

Customer review by Teedles1954

5.0 stars 4/13/2012 by Teedles1954
by Teedles1954

I have had many different brands of printers & different models but I always seem to having to come back to HP. But this 8600 pro tops the charts relatively easy to set up. ( make sure you delete other printers previously used on your computer for easy er installation it will go much easier.) I have had this printer now for 9 mo. and still loving it. also the ink seams to last forever very economical. HAPPY PRINTING MY FREINDS

Was this review helpful? (56) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Teedles1954
Garland Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
If you're NOT going to replace COLOR cartridges...
3/14/2013

Customer review by xdoxdo

4.0 stars 3/14/2013 by xdoxdo
by xdoxdo

BEWARE!!! There is only one thing I dislike about this printer: The printer will NOT print ANYTHING, including black & white (even on black ink only settings), if you have empty COLOR cartridges (even having a new black cartridge already in the printer). It will NOT print ANYTHING unless you install new COLOR ink cartridges. If you are not willing to replace color cartridges once they get empty, DO NOT buy this printer; it will simply NOT PRINT. This printer falls under the user replaceable printhead. With this printer there are ink lines which need to stay filled with ink, this way the print head doesn't get clogged jets in turn causing poor print quality issues and because of this, once the color cartridges get empty it will not print because this will cause damage to the printhead. This information is neither in manuals nor on the box; HP should add this details so people can buy what they want and need. Because of this I am not giving 5 stars.

Was this review helpful? (84) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
xdoxdo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
Love this printer!!!
2/14/2012

Customer review by SignalOne

5.0 stars 2/14/2012 by SignalOne
by SignalOne

Awesome printer! I've had so many problems with printers having to replace my printer every year to a year and a half. I needed something that could be used for more than just the occasional home use and wouldn't break down out after printing cardstock papers. I've only had this for a week, but I love it! It's quiet! It prints fast! Setup and installation were super easy! (I do not have wireless internet, so don't use that part of it). I LOVE that it has a paper tray that will hold 250 pieces of paper just like the commercial office printers! So far I have no complaints about this printer. Well worth the money if you get it on sale! The only thing I can't comment on is it's ink usage and therefore, I'll be doing all of my printing on the "draft" setting. My last printer had just the black and color cartridge and it seemed like I was always out of ink. I'm hoping with the individual color cartridges it won't become too costly. Overall, I'm very pleased with my new HP printer and I think it will last quite a bit longer!

Was this review helpful? (55) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SignalOne
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Keep finding out more cool features
7/31/2013

Customer review by BillyC

3.0 stars 7/31/2013 by BillyC
by BillyC

I almost hesitated buying another printer, but I needed one. Officejet has always been a workhorse in my last profession as a construction management superintendent. So when my Photosmart printer failed, I opted for the Officejet Pro 8600. Great yields on ink, wireless, easy to setup and use... etc. After screwing around with printing from its own email address, I accidentally found it has its own kind of local access wifi router to make it easy to print from your smartphone without having to use another router. Holy cow! Now I can print whatever I want straight from my phone with the ePrint app! Still need to see what else is possible. So far, I keep surprising myself by finding features this printer has that I didn't know about! The price is excellent for this guy! The only reason I didn't give 5 stars yet is because I haven't put this thing to the test. Once that happens, I'd be willing to bet 5 stars are in its future! Home or office, get this one, or one of its "brothers" to use!

BillyC
Cairo, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great printer!
5/7/2013

Customer review by Terry42

5.0 stars 5/7/2013 by Terry42
by Terry42

I have been using an HP PhotoSmart C7100 printer for several years and really liked it. It met all of my needs--printing, copying, scanning, and faxing. It began leaking ink and I decided to replace it rather than try to repair it. I talked to a sales expert on the HP website and, based upon a discussion of my needs, he recommended the HP OfficeJet Pro 8600 e-All-In-One. I received it a few days later and was surprised that I was able to install it and set up wireless printing from both of my computers all by myself (I am not very tech savvy). I like this printer even better than the HP I had before, and it has some additional features: a 250-sheet paper tray and a self-feeding scanner. The total price was much less than I thought I would have to pay for the features I needed. I've been ordering my printer ink and paper supplies from HP for several years, and ordering a new printer from the website was just as easy and convenient. They also have user manuals available to download.

Terry42
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Very poor envelope handling
3/31/2014

Customer review by Tony305

2.0 stars 3/31/2014 by Tony305
by Tony305

This is one in a series of many HP printers I have purchased over the years for home/home-office use (I bought 2 printers, for separate locations). The previous printer (model 6500) and several before that allowed me to insert a single envelope into the paper feed drawer, on top of the 8x11 paper, and it would handle and print that envelope. The HP8600 usually feeds that envelope without printing it, and prints the envelope content on the regular sheet below. So I have learned to remove the 8x11 paper stack, insert a stack of envelopes, and adjust the edge guides. With the 8600, on average, I waste 2 envelopes (either ejected without printing, or more often, content printed in the wrong location on the envelope) for each one that works. These are standard number 10 envelopes. This is all functionality that worked well on previous HP printers, so I am disappointed that I can no longer just order an HP printer with confidence. This is the first time I have felt that performance went backwards.

Tony305
Newton, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Worst printer I have owned
9/16/2013

Customer review by Rogdenn

1.0 stars 9/16/2013 by Rogdenn
by Rogdenn

First off to print envelopes you have to remove all the paper from the cartage, insert the envelope and replace the paper when your finished. This is supposed to be a "PRO" printer, obviously not a PROfessional printer as you would suspect that a professional would have an envelope feeder. The scanner feed does not feed the paper correctly and many times turns the paper so that it crumples the paper. Already had to replace the printer head. Now in the middle of printing, no warning that my yellow in was running low, suddenly a message that it is empty. Well guess what cannot print, stores are closed, have work to do. Had Start Up Cartridges when the printer head was shipped, replaced the yellow and got a message not to use Start Up Cartridges. Went on the HP website, tried all of the so called fixes and still cannot print. Stuck in the water. Printer only a few months old. Replaced all of the cartridges with Start Up Cartridges, nothing....Will junk this one as soon as I can.

Rogdenn
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Best Printer Yet
4/23/2012

Customer review by Born2ShopWalmart

5.0 stars 4/23/2012 by Born2ShopWalmart
by Born2ShopWalmart

This is the best printed I have ever owned! It's great for frequent personal or small business use. It functions quickly and does everything you need. I love the wireless and airport capabilities. Easily links to my computer and smart devices. Printer has its own email address and lets you print at home from anywhere! I checked around and Walmart had the best price for this item.

Was this review helpful? (38) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Born2ShopWalmart
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8600
2/12/2012

Customer review by bard11

5.0 stars 2/12/2012 by bard11
by bard11

I just purchased this printer and so far so good. it was really easy to install. I'm the creator of a pet bereavement card business and I print a lot of images and need a printer to duplex so this works wonderfully for that. I had problems on my card program after installing the printer, as I couldn't figure out how to duplex , but I called the HP's tech support and they were very very patient with me as we solved the problem. I must admit I LOVE HP'S SERVICE... although, I've had situations where I've called and COULDN'T UNDERSTAND the service rep, which is a very very frustrating experience, but they do try their very best to retify the printer's problems, and I'm impressed with that aspect. As far as the 8600 though, there are certain instances where I have to print on 'best' ( as opposed to Normal) and of course this means more ink that is being used. This is only if I'm printing images ( not text). I don't have a major problem with that, but thought I'd mention it..

bard11
ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great Printer - Easy to Setup and Use
3/12/2012

Customer review by BPWilkins

5.0 stars 3/12/2012 by BPWilkins
by BPWilkins

I was looking for a wireless printer to share in our house that also had Faxing capability...I researched printers and found this one...the price was right and decided to take a chance on this unit...we typically update our printers every 3-4 years...the printer arrived via UPS...the unit was well protected in its packaging and there was a 3 inch tear in the one corner that didn't impact the unit at all. Opened the box and everything was right there. The quick guide worked very well...the wireless set up was so easy I could have done it with my eyes closed...I really like the hpeprint feature that allows you the ability to print from anywhere you can send an email from...the color is good...the paper tray seems to be fine...the scanning is great...I've not faxed on it yet, but plan to in the next day or so...the front/back printing is a great feature and works well...Over all a great printer for the price! I would definitely recommend this unit to anyone looking for an all around general use printer.

BPWilkins
Farmington, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
No problems
4/24/2012

Customer review by AppleUser

5.0 stars 4/24/2012 by AppleUser
by AppleUser

Bought the 8600 Plus - decided I didn't really need a 2nd paper drawer. I have an Apple iMac and I also use V Fusion. My leased Canon desktop never worked properly with the iMac for all the functions - I had to scan to a PC to make it work -- and I was a bit concerned that I might have trouble with vFusion and Quickbooks on vFusion. But it was easy to set up - followed the directions for Apple Lion off the website. Worked fine for the iMac, vFusion, iPad and iPhone and HP ePrint (which is very handy and speedy). My only complaint is that you can't scan from the machine (except by email) -- you have to use the computer printer/fax software (hence the 4 stars for features). But once you get the hang of it, it isn't too bad. I have had HP's before and I didn't really like them but after reading lots of reviews on this product and others, I decided to go with it. Much quieter and faster than I expected and pretty solidly built compared to prior HP's. Hopefully it will last and the ink won't be too costly.

AppleUser
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
does not copy legal
3/17/2013

Customer review by 904linda

4.0 stars 3/17/2013 by 904linda
by 904linda
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was a little upset when I got it open and found it did not scan legal. It is an upgrade from the 8500A for me and that one did copy legal.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
904linda
Jacksonville FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Highly Disappointed
5/30/2014

Customer review by omahasandman

1.0 stars 5/30/2014 by omahasandman
by omahasandman

I purchased this printer about 8 months ago for home office use. I've been exhausting the "cartridge" from my old LaserJet 3050 in the meantime, which works flawlessly (and is ~10 years old if not more). The only problem with the 3050 printer is that it's out of support and I'm unable to use wireless with it from most devices (have it hooked into a router to support some basic wireless printing). With this new printer, it jams about 1 out of 3 times (not just with duplex btw), which is extremely frustrating. It's relatively easy to unjam, but given it jams so often, it's been a terrible experience. For a home office, I'd spend additional dollars on something that is more reliable than this one. With respect to the printing itself, it does a nice job with excellent print quality. It also manages ink relatively well, as I haven't had to buy ink nearly as much as I thought with the inkjet. Aside from the jamming, a good printer....having said that, a printer that constantly jams isn't really one that's usable.

omahasandman
Omaha, NE
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Outstanding product for home or office.
10/6/2012

Customer review by tomslic

5.0 stars 10/6/2012 by tomslic
by tomslic

Easy setup, using wireless option and have no problems printing from laptop, ipad and iphone. Fast and clear printing and faxing. I wouldn't hesitate to use this in a busy office environment.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tomslic
Cumberland, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Used printer a week. Can't fairly review yet.
8/13/2012

Customer review by voiceforachild

4.0 stars 8/13/2012 by voiceforachild
by voiceforachild

I don't like reviewing products that I have used less than a week. Thus far, the setup was easy and it connected right to my WiFi. I have printed about 50 pages with no problems. I was hesitant to purchase from HP again after the horrible printer they put out in the 8500. I had the infamous "Load Paper Error," and was never able to get assistance from HP on the known hardware problem. I was only able to print less than 4,000 pages, and each of those pages was horrible as I had to take the duplexer off, remove the paper, unplug the printer, and so on, to get a page to print. HP was aware of the problem and did fix it, but they would only give me telephone support during the warranty time. I had a known hardware problem and they refused to exchange or fix my printer. I will be keeping my fingers crossed with my new 8600. I would like to offer a review in a couple of months once I see how the printer works and if I do require support from HP, will I get it...

voiceforachild
South Rim, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Best Printer Scanner Copier I've ever had.
3/30/2012

Customer review by starman5409

5.0 stars 3/30/2012 by starman5409
by starman5409

This machine is great. It's easy to set up, its very fast. Comperable to laser printers but much less expensive. Even full color pages print in seconds. I just wish I had gotten this sooner.

Was this review helpful? (25) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
starman5409
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not what I expected
10/28/2012

Customer review by p522

1.0 stars 10/28/2012 by p522
by p522
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This printer appears to be a lower quality than a previous HP printer I had. I was thinking this printer allowed me to double side print. Usually you place a piece of paper in the feeder to be double side printed and it takes care of it all by itself. But with this printer you have to flip you original document on the screen. Defeats the purpose for an automatic feed. I would not recommend this printer if you're looking for that feature. Also problems with loading the software for scanning . I think I'm done with HP printers.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
p522
Spokane, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A Great Printer At A Great Price!
11/1/2011

Customer review by Titanic1985

5.0 stars 11/1/2011 by Titanic1985
by Titanic1985

I have owned over ten printers, five HPs, and the HP Officejet Pro 8600 is, by far, the best printer I've ever purchased. Its design is sleek. It is an ebony printer with a small footprint for an Office Jet. It's features are beyond anyone's requirements. The listed specifictions tell the story of its performance. What isn't said is that it is simple to install, has no buttons on the control panel (it has a color display). It truly is an office printer in all aspects from the 250 sheet paper drawer, to an optional paper tray capable of 8 1/2" x 14" legal size, a large FAX memory which prevents your telephone line being busy. The ink supplies , especially the XL series can yield up to 2,300 copies per cartridge (Black) and 1,000 pages (Color). Each color is a separate cartridge, so you only replace what is needed. Cartridge pricing, a major consideration, is reasonable considering the paper yield. This printer is my third OfficeJet and, by far the very best. Don't hesitate buying this printer -- it is worth every penny spent.

Titanic1985
United States of America
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Short-Term Investment
9/25/2013

Customer review by soured

3.0 stars 9/25/2013 by soured
by soured

Once you have resigned yourself to the fact that it won't hold but 175-200 pages without jamming & that every once in a while the screen doesn't exactly communicate with your computer, it really does print quite fast & pretty. however, after about just a year, the screen goes black. i hope you have a good memory as to where "copy", "fax" & "scan" were until you have time to go out & get a replacement, because the troubleshooter won't help you. it just says you have a screen problem & tech support says it needs to be replaced. i fought a lot in the beginning with it to get the driver right. i think is was just a problem with windows 7 32bit vs 64bit. it used to spit out an extra page under the 32bit, but doesn't any more under the 64bit. on the up side, now that i know what to expect, i'm going to get another. i also have the 8600 premium N911n. the printing is a lot slower & now it has started putting a horizontal crease on every page as it prints. that one is only 5 months older than this one & $130 more. very disappointing!!

soured
Tampa FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
No more cables !
1/4/2014

Customer review by Finickey

5.0 stars 1/4/2014 by Finickey
by Finickey
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Even though I had trouble with the insallation, hp tech support was wonderful. They were able to fix the problem via the net and all is well. The print quality, resolution and speed is wonderful. Able to get rid of the fax and work with one machine. I love the wireless aspect; no more ubs cables.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Finickey
Fort Pierce, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 524 total reviews
1-20 of 524 reviews