Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.4out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5 | 95 reviews
5 stars
61
4 stars
24
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 stars
3
Sort by: 
1-20 of 85 reviews
1-20 of 85 reviews
Recommended: yes, but note issues below
8/8/2013
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
If you have someone in the home with hair cutting skills these clippers will do the job. These clippers come with enough hair cutting attachments that the average person should be able to do a decent/adequate job of cutting hair. Be careful where you buy these units (e.g., auction sites) because Wahl upgraded this product and certain companies and individuals are still selling the old units that have very similar looking boxes. If you do much research, you'll notice the difference. The small clipper, used for trimming, has a minor problem. The battery cover has a tendency to slide off while you're holding the unit. It's mostly a case of cutting corners on the design and thus you have to be careful with how you grip these small clippers. And finally, the included instructions did not match my clippers. All in all, the clippers work, but the outdated instructions and the bad design of the battery cover for the trim clipper says something about Wahl. It's stuff like this that does not permit me to rank this product any higher than what I did.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (55)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Almost perfect... Almost
3/27/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The only two problems I see are that the case doesn't have a compartment to hold all the combs that go over the clipper head, so they're loose in the case. Should be a small inexpensive case within a case to hold them. Second, for this price, a charging stand would have been nice, rather than just plugging the cord right into the clippers and letting them sit there. Otherwise, it's outstanding. Rechargeable Lithium-Ion Battery is superb, and the whole thing feels easy to hold and use. And it's nice not to have to worry about the cord. Oh yea, I lied above, there is one other annoyance, it's got the kind of charger that takes up too much room when plugged in. Would rather have a regular plug for the wall and a cord to the charger and then another cord to the Clippers. More manageable that way. But the annoyances are nits... I'd buy the same clippers again. Good choice... and I've been cutting hair with Clippers since Viet Nam (was the unit barber), so I've got a fair amount of experience with them... and with these, I give myself haircuts! No sweat.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (28)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Wahl Lithium Pro Cordless Haircut/Touch Up Kit
9/2/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased this to trim up the back of my neck and head between haircuts. It always seems about the time the length on top is just right my wife wants me to get another haircut. This was the perfect solution for a touch up between haircuts. Good power and cordless makes this easy to do outside where the clippings belong. I almost threw out the clear plastic case that holds all of the combs. Don't do that. It fits nicely back into the zippered case. Wahl is a great name in this product category. I would recommend this product. Don't forget to oil the blades. (Oil included)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Only clipper I would use
1/17/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
 Top 50 contributer
This is my second Wahl clipper. The first one I put through the ringer with our multipoo dog. He had to be cut every month or his coat would tangle. It was super thick and the Wahl cut through it like butter. Then I dropped them and the head came off. Well, I sure got my moneys worth with them, had them over 2 years. Now with this clipper, I took the warranty in case I get clumsy and drop them! Plus it was so affordable. Back to the original Wahl. I burned up an Andis clipper on the dog..it just wasn't up to par. Although we do not have our multipoo anymore, I still cut some friends hair and shave the back of my neck. This Wahl is a treat as it comes with a mini clipper that is perfect for ear hair and moustache. The attachments are plentiful and comes with a guide on how to use what. Very simple. I would recommend this clipper (and have) to anyone. You just can't beat the price either!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (22)No (11)
Report
Was this review helpful?
11/24/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
A bit bulkier than expected, and the included trimmer requires a AA battery (not supplied, not Lithium Ion, and cannot be powered or recharged by the charger). If you want it to trim your beard/ sideburns/ moustache, this unit is overkill; but if you want it to save a ton of money at the barber's, it should fill the bill. The soft zippered case it comes with has a few elasticized pouches built in, but is not designed to hold the individual guide combs in any kind of organized fashion; its more like a generic pouch. I give it an A+ for the primary clipper and the included guide combs , a B- for the trimmer, and a C for the case. Still a good value for the buck.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (60)No (13)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Clippers are not rechargeable.
4/12/2016
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This kinda hacked me off. But I decided to give it a try. The trimmer is basically a novelty throw in to make the package look like you are really getting something for your $50. The clippers run on AA batteries and they are not rechargeable. I couldn't cut a clean line on my sideburns (the trimmer attached to my electric razor are better). So I cleaned them off, replaced the cover and put them in the drawer. I pull them out today to clean up my neck and when I removed the cover the blades were rusted. I even oiled them with the provided oil before the first trim. The Clippers seem good. They didn't cut as short as the last 2 sets I had but they are really smooth and seem to have a lot more power than all previous set. Not bad but no better than a $25 set with Ni-m batteries. I wont buy them again but I will continue to use them.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good but not great
11/11/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I thought both units were rechargeable and that is not the case. The smaller clipper is battery operated and nowhere on the packaging or description does it state that. The guide case and bag are nice and should help to preserve the lives of both clippers. You have to be very careful handling these clippers. The shape of the larger clipper is a bit weird, and the casing is very slippery. I almost dropped them a few times. I chose the pick up in store option and the store did not actually have the item in stock so I had to wait about two weeks for my item to be dispatched to the store near my home. I would have cancelled and bought it from Amazon, but this exact same kit is $80 elsewhere, so I just waited.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Lightweight, quiet, great feel.
1/3/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This clipper is much lighter than my old corded one. I cut my hair in the (dry) shower so I kept an extension cord with my clipper to reach, NO MORE OF THAT. This is much faster and safer (even if it is in a dry shower) than before. Maybe slightly louder than the corded, but to know for sure I would have to get it out and listen to both, but I like this cordless so well, I don't see that happening. The clippings didn't seem to stick to the body like on the corded, so quicker clean up too.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (21)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great razor
7/31/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
easy to use and start stays charged up long time great accessories
Was this review helpful?
Yes (24)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Wahl Haircut and Touch Up Kit
9/7/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Clipper and attachments works fine, however, after a period of about 30 minutes blade becomes heated.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I would recommend with a warning
6/19/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Wahl puts out a nice clipper - I have 4 heads to cut monthly and having a solid working, consistently sharp and easy-to-use clipper is critical in my household. I purchased this clipper and charged it completely (as the directions indicated I should) gave my husband a haircut and then fully charged it again. When I went to use it a third time I noticed that it just didn't seem to hold a charge as good as I believe it should. But in a pinch, I can use the clipper with it plugged into the wall - but I do LOVE the convenience of not having a cord in the way. So my only caveat is that it doesn’t seem to hold a charge really well. Other than that it’s a great clipper.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (19)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best cordless clipper they make...
8/29/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Great clippers. This is my second set and the only one i will ever use.. I've been doing hair for 49 years and i won't use any other brand or kind od cordless clippers..
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Dead after 1 year
9/2/2013
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
These clippers were great while they lasted, but the motor in these clippers have quit working after one year of use. I have reached out to WAHL customer service and we'll see what happens, if anything.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Would not hold charge
1/27/2013
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Bought these online for store pick up. I have bought Wahl clippers in the past and did not have any issues with them. The first time I used them they cut well according to what I was looking for and I really liked the cordless feature. I charged the clippers right after using them so they would be ready for my next use. One week later I turned the clippers on for cordless use and the charge was gone. They work fine with the cord, but no longer work cordless after just one use. The item is being returned.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Cordless clippers
2/21/2016
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
These were nice. They are quiet and cut nicely but, you have to leave plugged in ALL THE TIME so they are ready when you need them . They will not operate while plugged into the charging cord. This was a inconvenience in my opinion. I even tried charging them upon arrival and using a week later, no, the full charge was dead already.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent with one minor reservation
2/18/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This is a great shaver that gives professional quality results. The only downside is that its powerful lithium battery dies after 1-2 years. I'm now on my fourth one. Wahl gladly refunds purchase price under its warranty, but I've decided just to consider this product disposable. After all, the price to purchase a new one every 1-2 years is minimal compared to the cost of 10- years of visits to barbers. I plan to purchase a new one before my current one stops working in order to have a newer one that will work.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Wahl Complete Cordless Haircut & Touch Up Kit
1/26/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is an excellent product. Just what we wanted!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good, But Not As Powerful As They Should Be
10/4/2015
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The large clippers do an excellent job, but the smaller clippers sound like they're "dragging" when you use them, and they're brand new. They're not nearly as powerful as they should be. Also, the price is now $20 less than what I paid at Wal-Mart just a week or so ago. :(
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Cheap feel but gets the job done.
3/20/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Pro: Comfortable in hand Light weight Powerful Con: Cheap feeling Chrome cover rattles (cheap) Black plastic feels cheap (low quality feel) No hard case
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Dissapointed
5/1/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I wish someone would have mentioned blade adjuster gets stuck on the seam of the clipper and does not slide back and forth easily. It is made of cheap plastic poorly molded. This is a disappointing design flaw. Also the power button does not click on/off quickly and simply. It got annoying and frustrating on the first haircut. The case is very cheap also and has no compartment to organize any of the attachments. As far as blade sharpness or the motors power it was average. The clipper being rechargeable is convenient. The trimmer requires 2AA batteries. I will be contacting Wahl and attempting to return these. I was hoping to write a good review. I would not recommend this to anybody
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641765, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-