Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 15 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

15 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

15 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
1-13 of 13 total reviews
Would recommend to a friend



best headphones i ever bought

Customer review by Ei8htBall

5.0 stars 9/9/2012 by Ei8htBall
by Ei8htBall

Simply the best headphones I ever bought. I bought a pair 4 years ago and they lasted until today. I used them daily with my phone, computer, and mp3 player. I haven't owned any pair of headphones under $50 that have lasted longer than 40 days until this pair. Works great with the iPhone and any normal phone. Great with even just an mp3 player. The sound is great. Durability is good. I will be buying some new ones later today for sure.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Potsdam, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
Lasted only 3 days before shorting out.

Customer review by Peppermintlollipop

1.0 stars 5/23/2013 by Peppermintlollipop
by Peppermintlollipop

I guess I expected more from a Sony product. These earbuds lasted for only 3 days before they started the tell-tale static of shorting out.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Forks, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Love These Headphones

Customer review by ARandomSonyFan

5.0 stars 2/24/2012 by ARandomSonyFan
by ARandomSonyFan

I love these headphones. They work like noise-canceling headphones in my office - I cannot hear my cube neighbors. I love the iPod control; the buttons are much easier to use than the ones on the iPod/iPhone packaged headphones. I've owned three pairs now - the first ones I rolled over with my office chair and broke (clearly my fault); the second pair I had for two years before I lost them; and I still own the third pair (and use them daily). I would not hesitate to buy these again if needed. One note - don't use them while working out if you're a heavy sweater... the sweat will get into the iPod control and cause it to short out (worked fine again once dried).

Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes

Customer review by Zilla

5.0 stars 7/5/2012 by Zilla
by Zilla

I am an audiophile and love great sound! I bought these because my iPhone headphones broke (after about a year they fell apart and the wire became greasy... yuck!). I have a more expensive pair of Sony earbuds that I love and went around listening to anyone who would let me try their earbuds (gross). Skull Candy are way too bright and harsh, Auvio have a distorted airy sound with little bass... as two examples. I didn't want to spend $100 so didn't listen to Klipsch... the $100 Bose didn't sound or feel right to me in my ear. Beats were surprisingly harsh and fatiguing tho I like the way they are made. What I noticed is that these and the other pair of Sony earbuds I own have a fuller bass without sounding strident on top. Quite a nice rolled off treble (helped further by selecting the Reduce Treble EQ on the iPhone). But they are very listenable without EQ and I am very happy with them. I listen to them every day and cannot justify spending more as far as sound is concerned... but I do wish they were a bit more substantial. I tried the $100 Sony balanced armature buds this weekend because they look very attractive and their wires are thicker, but found them too forward and bright. Regardless of price, I prefer these cheap earbuds and think they are quite amazing sounding! I will continue listening for a better sounding product but will happily enjoy these as I do.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love them

Customer review by Biscuit

5.0 stars 10/7/2012 by Biscuit
by Biscuit

I am an avid Sigur Ros fan, so great sounding ear buds are necessary. These do the job perfectly. Any ear buds that can transform such a deep sound into my ears wonderfully are great in my book. Plus, at 6 months, it's the longest ear buds of mine have ever lasted.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Quality Sound and Product

Customer review by MusicLoverRach

5.0 stars 9/8/2013 by MusicLoverRach
by MusicLoverRach

I was surprised to read so many reviews regarding durability complaints as I had my first pair of these headphones for a couple of years and the sound quality was excellent the entire time. No complaints. They are extremely comfortable to wear and are even a little noise cancelling. The only reason I am buying my second pair now is because they accidentally went through the wash, and even after going through the wash, they STILL worked! I'm only buying new ones because some water damage got to the sound quality. I would recommend to a friend regardless of the negative reviews.

Seattle, WA
almost good

Customer review by Eduard1

3.0 stars 5/20/2013 by Eduard1
by Eduard1

Hi, all the people who love sound of good earphones like me but I will dissapoint you. Those earbuds are good enough just when you have got eq on your ipod/iphone turned in hip-hop(recommended)/R&B/deep/treble reducer. Why? This is only problem of those earphones. They are strongly shape in trebles(feels very painful ). Specifically at the frequencies from 4-5 KHz so in the music at the higer drums or at sibilance of singer or everything else. Thats why I dont recomment it for genres as Rock, Metal, and other electric guitared genres. But they do have also good character in a cleanliness of the sound especially at sharply defined details. And what a bass? Of course they are good but not very good or best but good in a bass because the bass element is here smaller than it can be. And finally what a treble? Here I can say that from a frequencies above 5Khz they are really good. Build quality? Sorry but it isnt very good because my earphones, especially right blown out after 3 months(and I really dont hear music loud,its just mechanical defect). But in fact they arent bad... They are better than some Koss in same price but Sony as trademark isnt good at quality of sound of earphones or headphones. There are many better manufacturers like Sennheiser,Philips(some models),Klipsch,AKG(some models),Jays(there is problem with build quality) and other.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes

Customer review by Sandro

1.0 stars 10/6/2011 by Sandro
by Sandro

Bought one in july 2011, it's october now and it already stoped working. I expected more from sony.

Rio de Janeiro
Would recommend to a friend? No
not so good

Customer review by goldbug

1.0 stars 10/27/2011 by goldbug
by goldbug

So, SONY, great company. I have the TV, a Bravia.. GREAT. the PS3.. GREAT. a separate blu ray player.. GREAT. These ear phones... garbage. And of course warranty? Not so much. Guess I should keep looking.

Would recommend to a friend? No
Worst Earbuds Ever

Customer review by Smithe

1.0 stars 1/9/2012 by Smithe
by Smithe

Just got these earbuds from staples. I was looking for a replacement for my iphone headphones which I left at home. I plugged the headphones in the first time and the whole range is filled with static notes. The melody comes clear fairly clearly but any bass or supporting notes are terrible. I tried it on different genres starting with classical piano and it's the same problem. I will never buy Sony headphones ever again.

Would recommend to a friend? No
DR EX12 Nice sound, terrible durability

Customer review by Iffork

1.0 stars 3/7/2012 by Iffork
by Iffork

Earbuds are nice, sound fine, with plenty of low-end. They fit in my ears nicely, and they help a lot with noise. The cable is a nice length, and the variety of tips should be sufficient for anyone. However, just a few weeks after the 90 day warranty had expired, the left earbud failed.It makes no sound whatsoever. I did not stress the connector and treated the earbuds carefully. The cable is flimsy, as is the connector. I would definitely recommend these if the cable was sturdier. However, all I can say is, DO NOT buy these.

Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
cheapest construction I've seen in awhile

Customer review by madelectrician

1.0 stars 1/23/2013 by madelectrician
by madelectrician

owned less than a month, the glue that held the circuit board to the speaker driver after less than a month came loose. the cord gets stiff as soon as it gets cold out inflexible unwilling to move and all the construction on it is very shoddy I would not recommend for anyone to purchase. you're much better spending a few more bucks and upgrading to a better quality headphones. Sony next time do not use glue to add to hear your circuit boards to your drivers you're smarter than that use your experience in electronics

Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Bad quality

Customer review by JOHNYBBADD

1.0 stars 2/13/2013 by JOHNYBBADD

I have own these twice, The first it last me over a year...the second time they only last me 2 months. The right side doesn't work as of this morning. A little pricey for the quality.

Montreal, QC
Would recommend to a friend? No