Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 106 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

106 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

106 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

74%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
50
4 stars
23
3 stars
10
2 stars
8
1 stars
15
1-20 of 96 total reviews
74%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 96 total reviews
1-20 of 96 reviews
Great for betta but 1 problem.
8/7/2012

Customer review by SAHM2ev

5.0 stars 8/7/2012 by SAHM2ev
by SAHM2ev

I attached 2 photos to show with flash, and without flash to show the tank's lighting. I got this to move my betta fish to a bigger tank from his 2 gallon tank. In every way I love it, but there is one problem. There is NO hole and no way to put an airtube in without leaving the hood opened. I took a dremmel to the hood and just opened up a small place for the tube to go through so that I could actually close the hood (I drilled where the hood is meant to accomodate the filter... so it does not look like a make-shift hole) The filter is fine for a betta fish. It actually aerates the water pretty well, so an airstone really isn't necessary in this size of tank unless it's for an action decoration or the betta's entertainment (my betta likes to ride the airbubbles to the surface). If you do use an airpump for something, I suggest having a control valve attached so you don't put too much current in the tank. Also note that this filter can NOT be moved from one side of the tank to another. It is made to fit exactly in the center with no ifs ands or buts. Other than that I love it. It looks wonderful and I love how I can see my fish clearly all the time (when he's not hiding in his castle) because there are no edges in the front that seem to distort how well I can see him. It is also very lightweight next to the glass tanks and other acrylic tanks.

Was this review helpful? (143) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SAHM2ev
pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Great aquarium for the price!!
9/6/2012

Customer review by aluvswallyworld

4.0 stars 9/6/2012 by aluvswallyworld
by aluvswallyworld

I got this item site to store while it was on sale for $29. I feel that for the price it is a great deal. The lid does has perforations to allow you to add a heater or airline tubing on one side and the bigger one for if you would like to slide the original filter over a little or change to another brand. You will have a hard time finding replacement filters, however this company made it easy by including a little plastic hanger so that you can easily use another brand. I tried the whisper small replacement cartridges which I use for another aquarium and they fight fine. They are also sold at walmart for like $3 for a pack of 2. The filter is great, however I feel that it is a little strong for that size of tank, again the company solved this issue by including a plastic piece that snaps onto the front of the filter to divert the flow towards the bottom. The only downfall with this aquarium is the curved sides, they tend to give a fun house mirror effect when you are walking past the tank. This was why I didn't rate this tank 5 stars, however the 3 different led light settings are awesome.

Was this review helpful? (83) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aluvswallyworld
Lubbock, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
good betta tank
7/29/2012

Customer review by majerah1

5.0 stars 7/29/2012 by majerah1
by majerah1

Bought this tank originally for my daughter a shrimp tank. She has placed this on hold until we find a decent stand for her. Because of this i decided to use it for my night stand buddy. I love the different lights though it would be better to have the blu on a different switch so a timer could be used. The full hood enclosed perfect for jumpers like betta fish. Plenty of room for the fish to stretch his fins. I suggest you buy a sponge filter instead of using the enclosed one as its a bit strong for a betta. Overall a good size for a betta or even some shrimp.

Was this review helpful? (66) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
majerah1
Easley SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/13/2012

Customer review by MakarForestHaven

5.0 stars 8/13/2012 by MakarForestHaven
by MakarForestHaven

I'm very happy with this little aquarium. Set up was easy. The lighting is excellent and the filter has so far worked great (I've only had the aquarium about a month.) The size of the aquarium is perfect for a desk or for that matter, just about anywhere! 5 gallon capacity is just right for smaller fish.

Was this review helpful? (49) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MakarForestHaven
Mountains near Yosemite
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/25/2012

Customer review by baobabbob

5.0 stars 8/25/2012 by baobabbob
by baobabbob

Great starter aquarium. I bought this because it is not glass. A lot lighter to move, clean, etc. than glass and won't break easy. Small, but great as a starter.

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
baobabbob
Ocotillo, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Get 2 at a time = Free Shipping and a Great Tank
11/15/2013

Customer review by BettaBreeder

5.0 stars 11/15/2013 by BettaBreeder
by BettaBreeder

I now have 6 of these tanks, and I get 2 at a time, they are Great. Cold water Starter tank, BUT, they are Great Betta tanks. I use a divider for one male on one side and a bunch of females on the other just before picking a breed pair. Using 3 dividers gives you 4 tanks at 1 1/5 Gal. each for 4 Betta males. The tank looks nice and the lid has LED lights in it. Day light, Blue Moon light, and Soft Moon light on 1 button. To add a heater or air lines or a bigger filter system than the included one (It works just fine as is), there are 2 punch outs in the back of the lid, making it a snap to do. There is nothing that in not Great about these tanks. I use them for Betta homes and Breed Tank, for plant growth and de-snailing, and even live bearer Fry tanks. As quick as you get 2 you are going to want 2 more.

Was this review helpful? (23) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BettaBreeder
Montana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
SIMPLE BEAUTY!!!!
11/28/2012

Customer review by Ladybird3

5.0 stars 11/28/2012 by Ladybird3
by Ladybird3

I love this wish I had bought it sooner!!! Easy to set up, so classy looking you will think that it is more than 5 gallons!!!! My fish love it, the lights really set it off perfectly!!! Heavy duty arylic makes it lighter than glass and safe for kids and pets to be around with no sharp edges!!!! The pump keeps the water constanly moving and crystal clear at all times!!!! Worth the money!!!!

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ladybird3
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Betta fish loves it
6/25/2013

Customer review by mimaliscious

5.0 stars 6/25/2013 by mimaliscious
by mimaliscious

I am very happy with this tank. My male betta fish seems to enjoy it too, blissfully swimming around all day long. I flip the lights on occasionally, and they look beautiful. The filter is good, but a little loud (the tank is in my bedroom), so I don't keep it on 24/7. My betta fish doesn't seem to mind it though. In fact, he swims right under it! I am very happy with this tank overall!

Was this review helpful? (21) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mimaliscious
ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent tank
1/12/2014

Customer review by EagleDaisy

5.0 stars 1/12/2014 by EagleDaisy
by EagleDaisy

I bought this tank for my 8 year old son's room. He wanted a bigger tank (he had a beta tank) but I wasn't ready to put a glass 10 gallon in there. This was the perfect tank! Made of plastic not glass and it's small enough that it doesn't take up a ton of room, but large enough for a decent amount of fish. Just by looking at it size wise, it does not look half the size of my 10 gallon tank, which is how I expected it to look since it is half the gallons. This tank looks almost the same size as my 10 gallon! The 3 LED light settings are Amazing & the filter is better than mine. The top also fits on very securely so if you are looking to get a tank where the security of the top matters this is a great tank. Of course once you cut out for the filter there will be space but that is the same with all tank hoods. Overall I am more than pleased with this tank!

Was this review helpful? (21) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EagleDaisy
Central, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect size for glow fish
9/4/2012

Customer review by Rehar

5.0 stars 9/4/2012 by Rehar
by Rehar

Love this aquarium got it for my son he filled it with glowfish.. They are beautiful with the changing light option..

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rehar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for hermit crabs!
9/24/2013

Customer review by PhillyGirl265

5.0 stars 9/24/2013 by PhillyGirl265
by PhillyGirl265

My grand daughter who is 6 has been purchasing hermit crabs over the summer with every trip to the Jersey shore. I didn't like the wire cages they sell with them. This is perfect because it has the 3 color light settings (morning, afternoon, and evening) & they are mainly active at night & the lights emit some heat that keeps the inside of the tank warm & moist for them (I spray a mist of water everyday inside it). They love it :)

Was this review helpful? (16) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PhillyGirl265
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice size tank
3/16/2014

Customer review by TDA314

5.0 stars 3/16/2014 by TDA314
by TDA314

I ordered this tank as a step up from the 2 gallon, and its really nice! The filter does not make a horrible noise like my last tank, and the whole filter does not sit in the water....not taking up room from the tank. It has a nice top/cover that does not allow my cats to get their paws in. I was hesitant to buy the same type tank because I didn't like the 2 gallon version, but I have no complaints and my fish really enjoy all the extra space!

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TDA314
Wheeling, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A great tank
5/30/2014

Customer review by Ladyboombastic9

5.0 stars 5/30/2014 by Ladyboombastic9
by Ladyboombastic9

I love this thank I got it for my 2yrs old son he love it and my two goldfish love it all I've to do is change the filter since two fish live in it and added an air pump it look very nice this is my fist thank

Was this review helpful? (15) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ladyboombastic9
NY NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great fish tank for a beginner.
10/27/2012

Customer review by DeeChamp

4.0 stars 10/27/2012 by DeeChamp
by DeeChamp

I bought this for my boys room. Beautiful lighting and we like it. Very easy to manage and simple. I must say that it is plastic so, you may want to think twice before putting it in a room with very playful children. I placed this tank on their bookshelf. It is only within my reach.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DeeChamp
USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/6/2012

Customer review by bunkersmom

4.0 stars 9/6/2012 by bunkersmom
by bunkersmom

I have had this tank for a couple of weeks, my betta seems very happy in his large home. I do agree the pump is a little strong for him during feeding time. So I unplug it since he likes to eat off the top of the water. Love the top and their are areas to cut out for heaters and other extras, I really like it and the price was great.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bunkersmom
alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not for Plants; Doesn't Show Betta Colors
4/21/2013

Customer review by StonesRiverGSPs

2.0 stars 4/21/2013 by StonesRiverGSPs
by StonesRiverGSPs

I bought two of these for my Bettas. The tank size is great as Bettas do best in 5 gallons or more. Unfortunately, the LED hood leave a lot to be desired if you prefer black/dark gravel since it is impossible to see Si and Willie's gorgeous colors. Both look as if they're swimming in shadows. The light is extremely weak if you want to grow anything but plants needing almost no light. Also, the hood is not hinged (which I knew) so you have to lift the whole thing to feed or you can move the filter so you can use the feeding hole (see paragraph below). The filter on one went out after two weeks so I had to replace it Plus, the flow, even with the baffle, is a bit too strong for the Bettas but with a 5 gallon tank they can avoid it. However, if you leave the filter where it's intended, using the feeding hole is impossible since it is right in front of the strongest "current" and so it whirls the floating food in all sorts of directions. Added to that, because of the dimensions/shape of this aquarium, it is impossible to replace the hood. All in all, I wouldn't buy it again for Bettas had I realized any of the above. However, there are plus sides if you prefer light gravel and silk plants, community fish and never have the need to replace the hood. The filters kept them sparkling (until the one quit); partial water changes are a breeze since the hood opens all the way. It is a great first step toward larger aquariums and the "moonlight" setting makes a beautiful nightlight. Plus, that setting lets you enjoy any nocturnal or shy species as a completly dark tank cannot.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
StonesRiverGSPs
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great buy!!
10/8/2012

Customer review by bounduli

5.0 stars 10/8/2012 by bounduli
by bounduli

I bought my young male Betta last week after this amazing aquarium was shipped to me. I liked everything, has cool lighting and filter. I don't always keep the filter on because it's little too strong for my Betta. Except for the filter I can give everything 10/10, though I must agree if you buy other fishes than Betta then this filter is perfect! I turn on the filter like 5-10 mins/day so that the water gets a little bit clearer. Though not sure how efficient that will be but until now everything works fine!! And my Betta seems to love this huge space and he's thriving like a king! :) PS. you have plenty of space to put a heater etc. , just follow the instructions in manual book!!

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bounduli
Lubbock, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
pretty and excellent value
10/29/2013

Customer review by NikonOwner

5.0 stars 10/29/2013 by NikonOwner
by NikonOwner

An excellent value. I bought this for my baby guppies. They were about three weeks old when I moved them into this tank and it works great. I added a Tetra submersible heater which fit into the opening with the filter. Excellent water aeration and filtration but a little bit of waterfall noise. Not sure it would be quiet enough for a bedroom unless you like the sound. I would consider buying another one if my population increases. I use only the white lights which are plenty bright enough. Only additional purchases needed were the heater and some aquarium plants to make it pretty.

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NikonOwner
southeastern MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great aquarium for beginners, everything you need
11/3/2013

Customer review by Boobietrap

5.0 stars 11/3/2013 by Boobietrap
by Boobietrap

I love this aquarium, the different light selection is great.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Boobietrap
Little Rock, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect for our beta
12/9/2014

Customer review by Justme4689

5.0 stars 12/9/2014 by Justme4689
by Justme4689

I ordered 2 of these for my children so that they could move their betas to a larger tank. The tank is super easy to set up, and the filter is so quiet I don't even hear it running. I do recommend using the flow guard though as the flow was too strong for our little betas without it. The lights are nice, I wish there were more setting options, and that there was a way to connect the cover to the tank. The tank came with everything I needed to set it up, including water treatment and food.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Justme4689
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 96 total reviews
1-20 of 96 reviews