Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 161 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

161 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

161 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

75%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
74
4 stars
42
3 stars
11
2 stars
12
1 stars
22
1-20 of 151 total reviews
75%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 151 total reviews
1-20 of 151 reviews
Great aquarium for the price!!
9/6/2012

Customer review by aluvswallyworld

4.0 stars 9/6/2012 by aluvswallyworld
by aluvswallyworld

I got this item site to store while it was on sale for $29. I feel that for the price it is a great deal. The lid does has perforations to allow you to add a heater or airline tubing on one side and the bigger one for if you would like to slide the original filter over a little or change to another brand. You will have a hard time finding replacement filters, however this company made it easy by including a little plastic hanger so that you can easily use another brand. I tried the whisper small replacement cartridges which I use for another aquarium and they fight fine. They are also sold at walmart for like $3 for a pack of 2. The filter is great, however I feel that it is a little strong for that size of tank, again the company solved this issue by including a plastic piece that snaps onto the front of the filter to divert the flow towards the bottom. The only downfall with this aquarium is the curved sides, they tend to give a fun house mirror effect when you are walking past the tank. This was why I didn't rate this tank 5 stars, however the 3 different led light settings are awesome.

Was this review helpful? (159) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
aluvswallyworld
Lubbock, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for betta but 1 problem.
8/7/2012

Customer review by SAHM2ev

5.0 stars 8/7/2012 by SAHM2ev
by SAHM2ev

I attached 2 photos to show with flash, and without flash to show the tank's lighting. I got this to move my betta fish to a bigger tank from his 2 gallon tank. In every way I love it, but there is one problem. There is NO hole and no way to put an airtube in without leaving the hood opened. I took a dremmel to the hood and just opened up a small place for the tube to go through so that I could actually close the hood (I drilled where the hood is meant to accomodate the filter... so it does not look like a make-shift hole) The filter is fine for a betta fish. It actually aerates the water pretty well, so an airstone really isn't necessary in this size of tank unless it's for an action decoration or the betta's entertainment (my betta likes to ride the airbubbles to the surface). If you do use an airpump for something, I suggest having a control valve attached so you don't put too much current in the tank. Also note that this filter can NOT be moved from one side of the tank to another. It is made to fit exactly in the center with no ifs ands or buts. Other than that I love it. It looks wonderful and I love how I can see my fish clearly all the time (when he's not hiding in his castle) because there are no edges in the front that seem to distort how well I can see him. It is also very lightweight next to the glass tanks and other acrylic tanks.

Was this review helpful? (224) (40)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SAHM2ev
pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
A great tank
5/30/2014

Customer review by Ladyboombastic9

5.0 stars 5/30/2014 by Ladyboombastic9
by Ladyboombastic9
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love this thank I got it for my 2yrs old son he love it and my two goldfish love it all I've to do is change the filter since two fish live in it and added an air pump it look very nice this is my fist thank

Was this review helpful? (44) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ladyboombastic9
NY NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great little aquairium.
7/3/2016

Customer review by Keith

5.0 stars 7/3/2016 by Keith
by Keith
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have had this 5 gallon aquarium for about a month. Its made as one piece out of clear acrylic. It has a bow front and its squared off on the back. I put black grave with colored specks (called neon starry night) in the bottom which shows off the plants and fish very well. Got it at Walmart as well. The aquarium comes with the filter which seems to be adequate for the aquariums size. It has done a great job keeping my clean. I have 5 pretty large gold fish in it which I had previously in a different tank that I broke while cleaning. I'm glad this one is acrylic. I feed them about as much as they can clean up in about 1 minutes (small pinch) twice daily. The aquarium is still very clean after a month and the fish have grown considerably. The filter uses a small filter cartridge that can be bought at Walmart or any pet store. The old cartridge slides up out of the filter housing and the new one slide down in its place. Very easy to change. No mess or trouble at all. The filter hangs in the back center of the aquarium exactly where it needs to be to clean the entire tank. The aquarium hood has 6 bright LED's which provide adequate light for the aquarium. It can be lit with white, red, green, blue, orange, yellow, or purple light. It can be made any one color or you can set it to change colors. It can be set to snap from one color to the next or it can fade into the next color and the next and the next. It also has a timer function that is not mentions online in the listing. It can be set to stay on 1, 2, 4 or 6 hours before turning off the light. Once set, it will turn off after being on for the appropriate amount of time every time you turn it on. It will also turn on exactly where it was when it turned off. So if you had it lit with white light only, when you turn it on next time, it comes on with white light only. That is a very nice feature. It keeps me from having to remember to turn it off and it also helps keep algae growth down from being left on all the time. The feeding hole in the hood is adequate for feeding the fish. I would prefer it be a little larger with a little door that flips up but its just a small hole where you drop the food in and it falls atop the water. Its about the size of the end of your little finger, The Hood is also made in one piece making it easy to lift and?or remove. There is a place in the back of the hood for a heater if you need it. You can just run the wire thru the opening and to your power receptacle. You could also use this place for oxygen tubing if necessary. As I said, I have had the aquarium set up and running for about a month. So far so good. I looked at lots of different models but they do such a poor job when describing these small aquariums. Especially the lighting. Some of the models I looked into would have probably have the ability to have just one color light on but the listing made it sound as though the only worked as in changing colors. Buts as it happens, this 5 gallon aquarium is exactly what I wanted. Its perfect for my needs and its a great price with everything included. My fish are very happy in their new home and that makes me happy! This little aquarium is so much more than they make him out to be in the listing. Don't pass it by thinking that it ain't all that. Its perfect! Hope this helps. attaching 2 pictures which may help show size and clarity.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Keith
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My betta LOVES it!
7/8/2016

Customer review by Alex

4.0 stars 7/8/2016 by Alex
by Alex

I got this tank a while ago for my Betta. I LOVE the tank and how i can fit 4-6 decorations in it! I have the Penn Plax Castle,Aqua Culture Glow Pod Aquarium Decoration, Small,SPORN Aquatics 7" Blue/Purple Hygrophilia Standing Plant,CC Pet Azure Glow Glow in the Dark Aquarium Decor (ordered online from Walmart) and a lotus lounger and the betta leaf hammock. However, it did NOT come with ANY of the packets that you need to start it up.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Alex
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Betta fish loves it
6/25/2013

Customer review by mimaliscious

5.0 stars 6/25/2013 by mimaliscious
by mimaliscious
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am very happy with this tank. My male betta fish seems to enjoy it too, blissfully swimming around all day long. I flip the lights on occasionally, and they look beautiful. The filter is good, but a little loud (the tank is in my bedroom), so I don't keep it on 24/7. My betta fish doesn't seem to mind it though. In fact, he swims right under it! I am very happy with this tank overall!

Was this review helpful? (49) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mimaliscious
ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Okay product
8/9/2014

Customer review by Rangerxoxo

4.0 stars 8/9/2014 by Rangerxoxo
by Rangerxoxo

This aquarium is great for a beginner. I got it to house a betta. It's good for what I got it for. The filter isn't loud; it sounds more like a waterfall which helps me sleep at night. Very calming and it comes with a cartridge. There were no cracks or broken parts like some reviews stated. It's a nice size for a single betta and it isn't as small as I thought. The light is my only issue. I had my tank set up almost a month before I got Ranger(my betta) because I was cycling the tank. The light worked fine for the first week or so. After that I started having problems with it. Whenever I pressed the button to change the light, It would sometimes change to the blue; other times it wouldn't change from day light white. ATM it is still on daylight white, I haven't tried to press the button again because I don't want it to get stuck on blue. To turn the light out at night, I unplug it from the back. In the morning I plug it back in. That's how I have to turn on and off the light. Just today the day light started blinking--kind of like a light does before the bulb blow. It finally stopped blinking but now I'm looking into replacing the light. Bettas need a sense of night and day. If the light goes out I will probably have to keep on my room light all day until I can replace it. I would have rated this three stars since I'm going to have to spend money for a new light on a tank I haven't had for three months but I decided to do 4. Mainly because other than the light I am pleased with the product. Ranger seems happy in it and he has lots of room to swim and places to hide. I'm sure anything is an upgrade from that cup. All in all I think this is a nice aquarium but something should be done about the light. It is a common complaint.

Was this review helpful? (33) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rangerxoxo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for hermit crabs!
9/24/2013

Customer review by PhillyGirl265

5.0 stars 9/24/2013 by PhillyGirl265
by PhillyGirl265
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My grand daughter who is 6 has been purchasing hermit crabs over the summer with every trip to the Jersey shore. I didn't like the wire cages they sell with them. This is perfect because it has the 3 color light settings (morning, afternoon, and evening) & they are mainly active at night & the lights emit some heat that keeps the inside of the tank warm & moist for them (I spray a mist of water everyday inside it). They love it :)

Was this review helpful? (30) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PhillyGirl265
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great looking
2/12/2014

Customer review by geek101505

4.0 stars 2/12/2014 by geek101505
by geek101505
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

this tank looks great after all set up . i set mine up as a oil submerged pc .

Was this review helpful? (5) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
geek101505
show me state
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great starter set at Great Price
2/2/2015

Customer review by mbain0

4.0 stars 2/2/2015 by mbain0
by mbain0

I paid $25 for this and picked it up in store so this was a great value. I have Glofish, a sucker fish and a small rainbow shark. It came with: - the 5 gallon aquarium. Great size for a shelf. - a hood with built in 3 way light(blue / white / blue&white). Great for glofish but toggle switch seems a little cheap so I hope it does not break. Very little water loss due to evaporation because it cover the entire top. - API small power filter and 1 cartridge. This is a powerful little filter compared to the small Tetra Whisper and circulates more gallons per hour (GPH). It can use cartridges made for both. Due to the strength of the flow it provides 2 things that you may want. (1) is better circulations because the flow is strong. (2) with an included diffuser piece it actually aerates the water causing a bit of bubbling. It hangs in the back center facing forward and has an adjustable height and single suction cup. I've had it a month and seems to be just what we wanted. And the fish seem happy.

Was this review helpful? (31) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mbain0
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great 5 gallon Aquarium
5/15/2014

Customer review by Priceysue

5.0 stars 5/15/2014 by Priceysue
by Priceysue
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Just added Water to the Hawkeye 5 Gallon Aquarium and now I have to let it run for about 2 days. The pump is very quiet and I like the lighting, the Blue Color light is a nice Blue and the Clear Light is bright. I got this Hawkeye Aquarium because I read the Reviews on it and they say the tank stays clean, I Replace my Topfin 5 Gallon Aquarium, the filter system must not of been that great. Cause the tank got really dirty and there was white crusted stuff on the out side of hood. I have in the living room a 10 gallon Topfin Aquarium and it's very quiet, has a very good Filter pump that came with it, cause it stays clean all the time and the hood stays clean too. I just have to figure out how to add a Heater. I try my Heater from old tank but the cord is a little too fat and a little too wide, On the right side of hood it has a spot for a Heater, but I don't want to remove it and it's not that easy. I'm going to try and find a heater that the cord is flat and not that wide.

Was this review helpful? (15) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Priceysue
Murrieta,Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect for a first timer
4/2/2016

Customer review by Amber

5.0 stars 4/2/2016 by Amber
by Amber

I have had aquariums in the past and they are always getting all gross and a mess to clean. We have had this one a few weeks and have two fish in it and love it! It's great for the kids and easy to maintain. They got to decorate it..if I could keep their hands out of the water that would be awesome!! Love the lights and the various colors and the timer would be nice if this was in a bed room or something where you wouldn't want it too bright. It was easy to pick up from the store, no hassles. Overall, I would recommend for a first aquarium. It's not like we are professional fish people, so if you're just looking for something easy to maintain and let the kids have a few "pets" this is perfect.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Amber
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
happy
8/22/2016

Customer review by Lloyd

4.0 stars 8/22/2016 by Lloyd
by Lloyd
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Exactly what we wanted

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lloyd
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice tank with an awesome price:
4/29/2016

Customer review by Bettacrazy

5.0 stars 4/29/2016 by Bettacrazy
by Bettacrazy

I am very pleased with this tank so far. I bought two of them about 3 weeks ago and liked them so much I ordered two more. The lids open all the way up and stand open for easy feeding, cleaning, or any other maintenance. Since the front is curved on the corners there is a bit of a skewed view of some parts inside but you can clearly see that in the picture so it's what you have to expect. You can't beat the price, either. I've looked everywhere and couldn't come close to getting a better price for what's included! Overall I would (and did) purchase again! My bettas seem really happy too.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bettacrazy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My betta loves it
8/1/2016

Customer review by Missy

5.0 stars 8/1/2016 by Missy
by Missy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I really like this tank, it doesn't take up too much space, I love how you can pick a different color you want the light to be. It's actually the perfect size for a betta, which are actually supposed to be in these 5 gallons or more, no matter what the pet stores tell you, I actually work for a pet store and we're told that bettas are fine in smaller tanks, but that's just a way to sell the smaller tanks for bettas and make money. This tank is a perfect option for bettas

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Missy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Funky aquarium
2/1/2016

Customer review by apparada

2.0 stars 2/1/2016 by apparada
by apparada

I'm glad I got it on a promotion USD 26.00 It came with 2 considerable scratches. This aquarium is super weird to the look. You cant really see your fishes because of the way the acrylic curves, when you see them they have a stretched look like and even side way view is the same. I use it for fish fry and for pregnant fishes. The timer settings on the LED lights is so annoying as once you setup a time, it's super hard to reset and no matter if you follow the instructions on the manual. Numerous days and nights it shut off by itself. I had to unplug and plug it back from power, only this way the timer won't kick in. There are tons of LED colors but most are useless. Would be nice if there was a moonlight with dynamic fades. The switch button of the light is very poor condition to the point that if you push it to the side it will change LED color. The pump ate least works great so far, lets see for how long. If you can, spend a little bit more money and get something better.

Was this review helpful? (2) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
apparada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Nice Product
8/10/2016

Customer review by MrThreeWiggle

5.0 stars 8/10/2016 by MrThreeWiggle
by MrThreeWiggle
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very nice for a first aquarium, just add water, rocks, plants, and fish.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrThreeWiggle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Get 2 at a time = Free Shipping and a Great Tank
11/15/2013

Customer review by BettaBreeder

5.0 stars 11/15/2013 by BettaBreeder
by BettaBreeder
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I now have 6 of these tanks, and I get 2 at a time, they are Great. Cold water Starter tank, BUT, they are Great Betta tanks. I use a divider for one male on one side and a bunch of females on the other just before picking a breed pair. Using 3 dividers gives you 4 tanks at 1 1/5 Gal. each for 4 Betta males. The tank looks nice and the lid has LED lights in it. Day light, Blue Moon light, and Soft Moon light on 1 button. To add a heater or air lines or a bigger filter system than the included one (It works just fine as is), there are 2 punch outs in the back of the lid, making it a snap to do. There is nothing that in not Great about these tanks. I use them for Betta homes and Breed Tank, for plant growth and de-snailing, and even live bearer Fry tanks. As quick as you get 2 you are going to want 2 more.

Was this review helpful? (35) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BettaBreeder
Montana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent tank
1/12/2014

Customer review by EagleDaisy

5.0 stars 1/12/2014 by EagleDaisy
by EagleDaisy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this tank for my 8 year old son's room. He wanted a bigger tank (he had a beta tank) but I wasn't ready to put a glass 10 gallon in there. This was the perfect tank! Made of plastic not glass and it's small enough that it doesn't take up a ton of room, but large enough for a decent amount of fish. Just by looking at it size wise, it does not look half the size of my 10 gallon tank, which is how I expected it to look since it is half the gallons. This tank looks almost the same size as my 10 gallon! The 3 LED light settings are Amazing & the filter is better than mine. The top also fits on very securely so if you are looking to get a tank where the security of the top matters this is a great tank. Of course once you cut out for the filter there will be space but that is the same with all tank hoods. Overall I am more than pleased with this tank!

Was this review helpful? (33) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EagleDaisy
Central, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Tank works well
8/2/2016

Customer review by Happybetta

4.0 stars 8/2/2016 by Happybetta
by Happybetta
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The tank is a good size for our betta fish, providing him plenty of room to swim. The filter is very quiet and seems to work well. Only down side is the filter cartridges it uses are not sold in store.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Happybetta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 151 total reviews
1-20 of 151 reviews