Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 2131 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

2131 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

2131 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
1011
4 stars
668
3 stars
193
2 stars
95
1 stars
164
1-20 of 1863 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1863 total reviews
1-20 of 1863 reviews
Decent Low Cost Shelves
5/30/2011

Customer review by astralweeks

3.0 stars 5/30/2011 by astralweeks
by astralweeks

For the price, don't expect a highly finished appearance or quality materials. This is a thin plastic veneer over flakeboard with some exposed under surfaces and edges to cut costs. All joints are butt with black drywall-like screws. As such, be very careful screwing down the components (use a driver drill on the lowest setting and still be careful - drive to above the surface of the sides and finish with a hand screwdriver) or the screws will break out the flakeboard. The back is cardboard and is not a precise fit. Split the difference all around and carefully set the included nails straight down. The slightest angle will also break out the flake board so take your time. The assembly is quite easy and quick if you take precautions. We bought one in white for the laundry room and another for a guest bedroom. These same units are all over the Internet but Walmart had the best price hands down.

Was this review helpful? (441) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
astralweeks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
multi-functionality
1/11/2011

Customer review by Klmquiroz

5.0 stars 1/11/2011 by Klmquiroz
by Klmquiroz

I purchased 2 black and 6 espresso for my home. The 2 black ones went in my sons roon and was stacked side to side. I optioned to use the wall attachment included as it is in a active 10 years olds room. I was even able to easy allow his electrical sockets available by simply cutting and opening.Painted the wall plate same was the shelf and you cant even notice. The 6 espresso also worked and exceptional well. Again opted to use the wall mounts provided. they were stacked side to side to create a wall of shelves in my living area.They looked great alone, but later opted to go to my local hard ware store and added trim along the top and bottom to give them a custom built in look for a fraction of the costs. They house everything from electronics to family photos and art work. They have nice structure on both, coloring was solid and consistent. If you dislike the cardboard backing you can always retro fit a solid wood backer yourself and they still would be cheaper then other purchased. They have a nice depth to accommodate for multi-functionality. I did the in store delivery options. The boxes was crumpled, but the products themselves was in perfect condition and my local store happily loaded them into our vehicles. They also arrived exactly on time. Cons..the brad nails they offered was missing but not fret local hard ware store had them in stock even though I could of called and received replacements.

Was this review helpful? (280) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Klmquiroz
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good shelves for the price
2/23/2011

Customer review by sisterearth31

5.0 stars 2/23/2011 by sisterearth31
by sisterearth31

I bought 13 American wood shelves total. Overall, exactly what i expected. If you put them together right they are sturdy, we added wood glue to the equation to be sure.

Was this review helpful? (180) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sisterearth31
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
You get what you pay for
4/22/2013

Customer review by tcpokim

3.0 stars 4/22/2013 by tcpokim
by tcpokim

For the price, these are decent shelves. Out of the box, all the parts were there - but almost every shelf has some slight chip in the veneer finish, on a corner or edge. For $35, I'm not complaining. They're just some functional storage for me, not "nice" furniture. I ordered Espresso finish. It's not Espresso. It's 98% black, with a few hints of brown when you look at it in lots of natural light. And they're a lot less deep than I expected. I don't think I was deceived, I just didn't pay attention to the measurements on depth as much as I did on width & height. They're easy to put together - I used a handheld screw driver and had no problems. They arrived a little faster than expected #maybe a day or 2 faster#. I would buy them again IF i needed more functional storage space not in the main living area of my home. They're not ugly - they're just not great.

Was this review helpful? (66) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tcpokim
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Gorgeous!!!!
10/31/2013

Customer review by Riffa

4.0 stars 10/31/2013 by Riffa
by Riffa

I was scared to buy this base on the reviews but it turn out great, order it on the Thursday and Friday morning it was here I was shock. It's a bit harder to assembly with the screw driver. I used a drill and was finish in 5 minutes

Was this review helpful? (63) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Riffa
CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great value for the money!
7/21/2014

Customer review by MomOfThreeXMen

5.0 stars 7/21/2014 by MomOfThreeXMen
by MomOfThreeXMen

I rated this 5 stars because for the price I paid for two of these and two of the three shelf to go with it (under a hundred and ten bucks for all four) for my family's humble little home library, I am a very happy customer. I built everything by myself and it took less than an hour for all four pieces. Stacking and arranging the books was a different story. For those who rated this low because of the "quality" of the faux wood, etc. (assuming their order arrived unbroken and complete), seriously how can you complain for the price you're paying. Purchase the more expensive stuff then, otherwise I very much appreciate that a family on a budget can still have a sweet little home library to call our own without breaking the bank.

Was this review helpful? (67) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MomOfThreeXMen
Los Angeles, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great price for a great product!!
3/2/2011

Customer review by Misapie

5.0 stars 3/2/2011 by Misapie
by Misapie

I got it for an awesome price and it exceeded my expectations. I put it together all by myself, you will need a screwdriver (I used an electric one) and a hammer. I love how it has the bracket in the back that attaches to the wall since I have two small children. The bookshelf depth and height it perfect for what I need it for. I will be ordering another on in the future! :)

Was this review helpful? (114) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Misapie
Virginia Beach, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Bookshelf!
1/16/2014

Customer review by WalMartShopperLady4

5.0 stars 1/16/2014 by WalMartShopperLady4
by WalMartShopperLady4

I love this thing. It's tall and elegant and thin. I'd have two if I had the space and need for it. Maybe I'll buy a second for my bedroom! Instead of nailing the backing, I used a cheap-o staple-gun, and it was MUCH faster, less loud, and a lot easier, too. I also knew that I wouldn't want to move the shelves around any in the future, so I stapled the backing to the shelves, and this made it all the more stable, and better-looking. I love that I can cover imperfections with a sharpie. I caused a few with poor staple-gun aim, and was able to make it look good as new! I also purchased the 3-shelf and used it as a media tower under my mounted TV, but didn't use the backing so I could have space for wire organization (I saved a TON of money with that idea, and I recommend it highly!). The ONLY thing I don't like about the Ameriwood bookshelves is that they have little imperfections on top of the wood grain that look like dark gray squiggly lines in what I assume is the lacquer or polish or whatever you would like to call it. They're hardly noticeable, and really, for such a great price, we're not expecting perfection, are we? Anyway, it looks great and I'm very happy with it! I'm attaching a picture of both of my bookshelves. Please don't mind my "artwork," I'm not much of an artist, but I needed something to use as a placeholder!

Was this review helpful? (81) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WalMartShopperLady4
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Stylish and Easy to put together
2/23/2014

Customer review by Kaya3574

5.0 stars 2/23/2014 by Kaya3574
by Kaya3574

I was extremely worried about having to put this together as I have purchased a similar one from Walmart before but it was Mainstays brand and it was a pain. I was pleasantly surprised that my teenage daughter and I put this together in less than 20 minutes! Very easy instructions and took no time at all. We used these as a make shift doll house for my 8 year old's 18" dolls and it looks great. Does not look as inexpensive as it was and it matches all of our other furniture as if it came from a high end furniture store.

Was this review helpful? (80) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kaya3574
Methuen, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good bookcase for my small home office
12/7/2011

Customer review by Busybride2be

4.0 stars 12/7/2011 by Busybride2be
by Busybride2be

The Pros: Good looking, Tall, Sturdy, Spacious, Nice Color I ordered it in espresso because they were out on black, but it looks black from afar, lucky for me the desk is black (I bought the desk and bookshelf bundle) so I have no issue with that. It has more than enough of space for my books even though it's a narrow bookcase. So far I really like it and I am even considering buying a 2nd one to put on each side of the desk. I get lots of compliments on it too! Great buy! The Cons: Instructions, backside of bookcase is made out cardboard, has to be nailed to the wall for support (otherwise it'll be wobbly) It took me a while to understand the instructions because at first I did it wrong (my fault) and I had to take it apart and do it again. IMO they should include written instructions instead of just confusing illustrations. I don't like that the backside to the bookcase is made out of cardboard (at least it's nice and shiny) but it doesn't bother me too much anymore because its not very noticeable. Also, at first I didn't like that I had to screw the bookcase to the wall since the walls in my apt are thin but it actually worked out well. Overall I would recommend it to anyone looking for a good but cheap bookcase because it is definitely worth it!

Was this review helpful? (51) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Busybride2be
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Perfect!
9/5/2012

Customer review by Ikuto90

5.0 stars 9/5/2012 by Ikuto90
by Ikuto90

I don't understand how people purchase a $30 book case and expect it to be the same as if it came out of a top rate furniture store?!. I got this for my living room for holding my movies, games and video game consoles and so far it's worked fantastic!, i got it in white and it looks just as great and easy 20 min or less to build. I do wish it had already made holes on the back board to place cable through etc. but other than that it great. I love the item and if i need another bookshelf in the future I'll be getting this one again.

Was this review helpful? (25) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ikuto90
Norfolk, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great value, simple assembly
8/13/2014

Customer review by Cudgelist

5.0 stars 8/13/2014 by Cudgelist
by Cudgelist

I bought 2 of these, they had a bundle for sale at $65 dollars, but at $31.50 each it was cheaper to purchase individually on the same order. They arrived faster than expected, were easy to assemble, and in black oak finish my books really pop on these shelves. I would recommend these to anyone who needs a bookshelf or two....

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cudgelist
Myersville, Md.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Less for more
7/4/2011

Customer review by Lorenski

3.0 stars 7/4/2011 by Lorenski
by Lorenski

I bought this product because I already own several of them, and I wanted to add another bookshelf. I was really disappointed to find that they are making them significantly smaller and charging 40% more. On the other hand, my husband said that they were easier to put together now. They are not actually sturdy enough to hold a whole shelf full of books. The shelves begin to bow after a while, and my husband had to reinforce them. But they are a decent product for the price.

Was this review helpful? (28) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lorenski
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Met expectations and more!
8/1/2011

Customer review by Sales4me02

5.0 stars 8/1/2011 by Sales4me02
by Sales4me02

I really loved this product! Slightly heavy but to me that meant sturdy. It did take a couple of hours to put together but maybe that's because I normally don't assemble things, or at least without help. The instructions were clear and I'm very glad that they were there. I would just advise to CAREFULLY look at them, maybe even 3 times if you're not sure. When putting in the tubes that connect the sides of the case to the top shelf and so on, I thought maybe my own pressure would be enough or I was afraid that I would break the wood, it turns out there is enough room for it and all you need to do is get a hammer and knock it in about halfway. After that I got the hang of it, cranked up some music and watched this bookcase come together. It is everything I was looking for. Enough height and room for all my CDs, DVDs, and books. It's very sturdy and doesn't wobble, didn't even have to use the wall attachment it comes with. I'm actually anticipating to buy another later on when I run out of room. Definitely worth buying. :))

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sales4me02
TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Deal
1/22/2012

Customer review by Pontiac628

5.0 stars 1/22/2012 by Pontiac628
by Pontiac628

It looks good and it holds my stuff. All I wanted was a simple black shelf and I went out and got this one instead of paying $100-$200 else where. The material is cheap and you have to be gentle putting it together, There's a weight limit on most of the shelfs, Nothing is spossed to go on the top, though I have little stuffed animals ontop of it. It's like any other mainstays product. If you use it a lot of heavy things or move it a lot (I don't reccomend) you might eventually have to replace it, but I rather buy another one of these then go out and get an expensive one I can't afford to replace right away if it breaks.

Was this review helpful? (25) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pontiac628
Salem Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Came with broken parts; hardware is junk
1/12/2011

Customer review by DIYnot

1.0 stars 1/12/2011 by DIYnot
by DIYnot

This item weighs a ton, came with parts broken and dented, and, worst of all, the screw-in components get stripped of all grip with just a few turns from a manual screwdriver (don't attempt to use a power tool -- you'll strip it flat in three seconds). And the hardware that didn't strip simply doesn't work right. Even the wood-printed veneer scratches pathetically easily. The materials are of intolerably low quality. This thing epitomize the stereotype about cheap Chinese products. Yes, Ameriwood will replace parts if you call or email, and the operator that finally helped me sounded competent, but the phone system kept me waiting for over half an hour before someone finally answered, and I was told the parts take roughly 2 weeks to arrive. That's two weeks of this thing lying in pieces, unserviceable, and taking up much-needed space. That is, it would have been, if I hadn't realized this thing's not worth keeping around long enough for replacement parts to arrive. I've been buying, assembling, and using assemble-yourself furniture for 15 years. Most of them are sturdy and last me for years, which is why I continue to buy them (still got an assemble-yourself computer desk that has been with me through eight bi-yearly moves for college and five apartment moves since; especially considering the price, it's hard to top that). But this is by far the biggest piece of junk I've ever had the misfortune to buy. If it cost $15, I could almost shrug it off, toss it in the garbage, write it off as a loss, and forget about it. But, at nearly $40 after tax, you can bet I'm hauling the thing back and demanding a refund.

Was this review helpful? (47) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DIYnot
Would recommend to a friend? No
Horrible!
7/1/2012

Customer review by Elle91

1.0 stars 7/1/2012 by Elle91
by Elle91

Yes,we read all the reviews before purchasing this shelf and decided to go with it anyway. It really is a piece of junk. Took it out of the box and the pieces didn't even have anything between them during shipping to protect it! While putting it together, pieces flaked off and there's little chips of the board gone all over it. The worst part was how filthy it is. We spent half an hour trying to clean the residue it left off the shelves just to put books on it. Don't waste your time.

Was this review helpful? (40) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Elle91
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
great shelves
3/27/2014

Customer review by amd609

4.0 stars 3/27/2014 by amd609
by amd609

First, you cannot beat the price, I bought the set of two for $60. It took less than 30 minutes for myself and my fiance to put it together and the second one that I bought I assembled myself and it took under 45 minutes. I didn't attach with the safety bracket it to the wall but it seems sturdy enough that it should be OK. I didn't give it 5 stars only because the espresso color should have just been named black. They are darker than they looked online, I was anticipating a darker finish with the espresso finish but they are almost completely black. It doesn't bother me enough that I want to return them, I will more than likely end up painting the other ones I bought to try and match this finish because I love these shelves. They fit almost all of my movie collection.

Was this review helpful? (22) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
amd609
Virginia Beach, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
horrible purchase
9/19/2011

Customer review by collegestudent111

1.0 stars 9/19/2011 by collegestudent111
by collegestudent111

I am a college student so I was looking for a cheap bookshelf just to make my room look a little more organized. I bought this and put it together exactly how the instructions say and the thing barely stays up it honestly falls over and the screws they provided don't even hold the boards together. I would not wast your money and just spend a little more to get one that actually stays together.

Was this review helpful? (30) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
collegestudent111
Would recommend to a friend? No
Particle-board broken
8/13/2013

Customer review by herpmancer

1.0 stars 8/13/2013 by herpmancer
by herpmancer

Pieces broken out of the box. The finish was also a little scratched, but would have been acceptable if all of the pieces were intact. It's probably a decent bookcase, if it wasn't broken on arrival.

Was this review helpful? (25) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
herpmancer
Portland, Me
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 1863 total reviews
1-20 of 1863 reviews