Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 2540 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

2540 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

2540 reviews | 4 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
1203
4 stars
766
3 stars
238
2 stars
120
1 stars
213
1-20 of 2271 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 2271 total reviews
1-20 of 2271 reviews
You get what you pay for
4/22/2013

Customer review by tcpokim

3.0 stars 4/22/2013 by tcpokim
by tcpokim

For the price, these are decent shelves. Out of the box, all the parts were there - but almost every shelf has some slight chip in the veneer finish, on a corner or edge. For $35, I'm not complaining. They're just some functional storage for me, not "nice" furniture. I ordered Espresso finish. It's not Espresso. It's 98% black, with a few hints of brown when you look at it in lots of natural light. And they're a lot less deep than I expected. I don't think I was deceived, I just didn't pay attention to the measurements on depth as much as I did on width & height. They're easy to put together - I used a handheld screw driver and had no problems. They arrived a little faster than expected #maybe a day or 2 faster#. I would buy them again IF i needed more functional storage space not in the main living area of my home. They're not ugly - they're just not great.

Was this review helpful? (223) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tcpokim
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great value for the money!
7/21/2014

Customer review by MomOfThreeXMen

5.0 stars 7/21/2014 by MomOfThreeXMen
by MomOfThreeXMen
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I rated this 5 stars because for the price I paid for two of these and two of the three shelf to go with it (under a hundred and ten bucks for all four) for my family's humble little home library, I am a very happy customer. I built everything by myself and it took less than an hour for all four pieces. Stacking and arranging the books was a different story. For those who rated this low because of the "quality" of the faux wood, etc. (assuming their order arrived unbroken and complete), seriously how can you complain for the price you're paying. Purchase the more expensive stuff then, otherwise I very much appreciate that a family on a budget can still have a sweet little home library to call our own without breaking the bank.

Was this review helpful? (294) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MomOfThreeXMen
Los Angeles, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great shelves
3/27/2014

Customer review by amd609

4.0 stars 3/27/2014 by amd609
by amd609
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

First, you cannot beat the price, I bought the set of two for $60. It took less than 30 minutes for myself and my fiance to put it together and the second one that I bought I assembled myself and it took under 45 minutes. I didn't attach with the safety bracket it to the wall but it seems sturdy enough that it should be OK. I didn't give it 5 stars only because the espresso color should have just been named black. They are darker than they looked online, I was anticipating a darker finish with the espresso finish but they are almost completely black. It doesn't bother me enough that I want to return them, I will more than likely end up painting the other ones I bought to try and match this finish because I love these shelves. They fit almost all of my movie collection.

Was this review helpful? (101) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
amd609
Virginia Beach, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good bookcase for my small home office
12/7/2011

Customer review by Busybride2be

4.0 stars 12/7/2011 by Busybride2be
by Busybride2be

The Pros: Good looking, Tall, Sturdy, Spacious, Nice Color I ordered it in espresso because they were out on black, but it looks black from afar, lucky for me the desk is black (I bought the desk and bookshelf bundle) so I have no issue with that. It has more than enough of space for my books even though it's a narrow bookcase. So far I really like it and I am even considering buying a 2nd one to put on each side of the desk. I get lots of compliments on it too! Great buy! The Cons: Instructions, backside of bookcase is made out cardboard, has to be nailed to the wall for support (otherwise it'll be wobbly) It took me a while to understand the instructions because at first I did it wrong (my fault) and I had to take it apart and do it again. IMO they should include written instructions instead of just confusing illustrations. I don't like that the backside to the bookcase is made out of cardboard (at least it's nice and shiny) but it doesn't bother me too much anymore because its not very noticeable. Also, at first I didn't like that I had to screw the bookcase to the wall since the walls in my apt are thin but it actually worked out well. Overall I would recommend it to anyone looking for a good but cheap bookcase because it is definitely worth it!

Was this review helpful? (106) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Busybride2be
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Easy to set up, little Money to Own, Very Durable!
9/24/2014

Customer review by chrisandsherry

5.0 stars 9/24/2014 by chrisandsherry
by chrisandsherry
Top 50 contributor

If you do not believe the durability of these, just look at my pictures. They came shipped to our home with no problems. Boxes are very heavy. We bought two of them. I put one together and my husband put the other together. Yes, we had a contest, and I won!! Directions are easy to follow and the are coded to help. They screw into the wall, which is a huge help for durability. We have a ton of books on one and our blankets and throws on the other. We love them. They are tall, look very nice, matches our black theme in our home(black and antique white), we just love them. I can talk all day long about them, but, the pictures speak for themselves. At one time, I had a complete set of britannica encyclopedias plus the childrens which is over 50 thick books on one of these book shelves. This is an excellent buy for the money.

Was this review helpful? (29) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chrisandsherry
Lake Butler, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 50 contributor
Great Bookshelf!
1/16/2014

Customer review by WalMartShopperLady4

5.0 stars 1/16/2014 by WalMartShopperLady4
by WalMartShopperLady4
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love this thing. It's tall and elegant and thin. I'd have two if I had the space and need for it. Maybe I'll buy a second for my bedroom! Instead of nailing the backing, I used a cheap-o staple-gun, and it was MUCH faster, less loud, and a lot easier, too. I also knew that I wouldn't want to move the shelves around any in the future, so I stapled the backing to the shelves, and this made it all the more stable, and better-looking. I love that I can cover imperfections with a sharpie. I caused a few with poor staple-gun aim, and was able to make it look good as new! I also purchased the 3-shelf and used it as a media tower under my mounted TV, but didn't use the backing so I could have space for wire organization (I saved a TON of money with that idea, and I recommend it highly!). The ONLY thing I don't like about the Ameriwood bookshelves is that they have little imperfections on top of the wood grain that look like dark gray squiggly lines in what I assume is the lacquer or polish or whatever you would like to call it. They're hardly noticeable, and really, for such a great price, we're not expecting perfection, are we? Anyway, it looks great and I'm very happy with it! I'm attaching a picture of both of my bookshelves. Please don't mind my "artwork," I'm not much of an artist, but I needed something to use as a placeholder!

Was this review helpful? (120) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WalMartShopperLady4
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value, simple assembly
8/13/2014

Customer review by Cudgelist

5.0 stars 8/13/2014 by Cudgelist
by Cudgelist
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought 2 of these, they had a bundle for sale at $65 dollars, but at $31.50 each it was cheaper to purchase individually on the same order. They arrived faster than expected, were easy to assemble, and in black oak finish my books really pop on these shelves. I would recommend these to anyone who needs a bookshelf or two....

Was this review helpful? (56) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cudgelist
Myersville, Md.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Stylish and Easy to put together
2/23/2014

Customer review by Kaya3574

5.0 stars 2/23/2014 by Kaya3574
by Kaya3574

I was extremely worried about having to put this together as I have purchased a similar one from Walmart before but it was Mainstays brand and it was a pain. I was pleasantly surprised that my teenage daughter and I put this together in less than 20 minutes! Very easy instructions and took no time at all. We used these as a make shift doll house for my 8 year old's 18" dolls and it looks great. Does not look as inexpensive as it was and it matches all of our other furniture as if it came from a high end furniture store.

Was this review helpful? (101) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kaya3574
Methuen, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Gorgeous!!!!
10/31/2013

Customer review by Riffa

4.0 stars 10/31/2013 by Riffa
by Riffa

I was scared to buy this base on the reviews but it turn out great, order it on the Thursday and Friday morning it was here I was shock. It's a bit harder to assembly with the screw driver. I used a drill and was finish in 5 minutes

Was this review helpful? (87) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Riffa
CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Particle-board broken
8/13/2013

Customer review by herpmancer

1.0 stars 8/13/2013 by herpmancer
by herpmancer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Pieces broken out of the box. The finish was also a little scratched, but would have been acceptable if all of the pieces were intact. It's probably a decent bookcase, if it wasn't broken on arrival.

Was this review helpful? (41) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
herpmancer
Portland, Me
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Horrible!
7/1/2012

Customer review by Elle91

1.0 stars 7/1/2012 by Elle91
by Elle91

Yes,we read all the reviews before purchasing this shelf and decided to go with it anyway. It really is a piece of junk. Took it out of the box and the pieces didn't even have anything between them during shipping to protect it! While putting it together, pieces flaked off and there's little chips of the board gone all over it. The worst part was how filthy it is. We spent half an hour trying to clean the residue it left off the shelves just to put books on it. Don't waste your time.

Was this review helpful? (57) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Elle91
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Disappointed
4/8/2014

Customer review by Gymbo374

3.0 stars 4/8/2014 by Gymbo374
by Gymbo374
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I actually purchased two bookshelves and the first one I put together didn't have enough screws to complete. So I had to use screws I used in another project that I'd done. The second one I put together didn't have enough pegs to put the last shelve on the bookshelve. So now I'm having to purchase implements for the bookshelves that should have come ready to assemble. I'm very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (21) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gymbo374
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Exactly what I needed
10/21/2014

Customer review by Tangy13

5.0 stars 10/21/2014 by Tangy13
by Tangy13
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I didn't order this bookshelf to use it in the traditional sense but it turned out wonderful just the same. I made it more customized by painting the background with hot pink spray paint. It's Fabulous!

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tangy13
Bloomfield, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
One out of two was damaged upon arrival
10/10/2014

Customer review by MrWeekly

2.0 stars 10/10/2014 by MrWeekly
by MrWeekly
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I picked up both book shelves at the same time from bashford manor Walmart location. I was sure to be careful when transporting and moving them. Upon opening them at home, I immediately noticed the kick board was broken completely. I then opened the other book shelf packaging to check for damage. I found none so I assembled it instead. When I completed that bookshelf, I checked the other package again and started to assemble it anyway. That's when I noticed the side board was cracked. I am disappointed in this product and I would like some type of compensation.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrWeekly
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good for the Price
6/28/2014

Customer review by PriOrlando

4.0 stars 6/28/2014 by PriOrlando
by PriOrlando

I took less than 20 minutes for myself. It is so easy quando good for makeup. The price is good,

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PriOrlando
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
5/31/2013

Customer review by LyThiLoveShoes

5.0 stars 5/31/2013 by LyThiLoveShoes
by LyThiLoveShoes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (28) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LyThiLoveShoes
Oceanside,CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Met expectations and more!
8/1/2011

Customer review by Sales4me02

5.0 stars 8/1/2011 by Sales4me02
by Sales4me02

I really loved this product! Slightly heavy but to me that meant sturdy. It did take a couple of hours to put together but maybe that's because I normally don't assemble things, or at least without help. The instructions were clear and I'm very glad that they were there. I would just advise to CAREFULLY look at them, maybe even 3 times if you're not sure. When putting in the tubes that connect the sides of the case to the top shelf and so on, I thought maybe my own pressure would be enough or I was afraid that I would break the wood, it turns out there is enough room for it and all you need to do is get a hammer and knock it in about halfway. After that I got the hang of it, cranked up some music and watched this bookcase come together. It is everything I was looking for. Enough height and room for all my CDs, DVDs, and books. It's very sturdy and doesn't wobble, didn't even have to use the wall attachment it comes with. I'm actually anticipating to buy another later on when I run out of room. Definitely worth buying. :))

Was this review helpful? (29) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sales4me02
TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
You get what you pay for.
2/24/2013

Customer review by paulmarie

3.0 stars 2/24/2013 by paulmarie
by paulmarie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I never buy anything without reading tons of reviews on it. I gave this particular bookshelf the benefit of the doubt, wary of the low price tag. Alas, you do indeed get what you pay for. When I was assembling it, my boyfriend was laughing at me because it looked so cheap. The compacted wood was literally breaking as we were drilling holes and the back side of the case looks like an oaktag board. He refused to display it in the living room so we agreed to move it to the kitchen where it actually matches. It actually looks fabulous in the kitchen, where I store my spices, kettles, oils, whatever. But I would not place it where it could be seen by everyone at all time. I wouldn't recommend this product to anyone who wants a seriously nice bookcase. 3 stars for the price, 2 off for the quality. I should've listened when I was told to invest just a tad more for a decent bookcase. Well I did, and now I have a fabulous bookcase from another vendor. Happy trails.

Was this review helpful? (13) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
paulmarie
Bronx, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very happy with these bookcases
2/9/2014

Customer review by Homemaker75

5.0 stars 2/9/2014 by Homemaker75
by Homemaker75
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought 4 of these bookcases in Espresso to use in my closet, and just ordered a 5th. The price is great, and the shelves are exactly what I expected them to be. Both orders came quickly and without any damage at all. We are not handy, and were a little daunted at having so many to put together, but assembly was not difficult at all, and went quickly. We used a drill for the side screws and the backing went on quickly with a hammer and the provided small nails. I was concerned that the depth would be too shallow to adequately hold things, but I have found that they can easily hold my shoes, folded clothes, and bins for small items. The shelves are adjustable (and the pegs to hold them are actually very nice, metal with a flat supporting edge), but the available holes are limited (so you have some flexibility on how you place them, giving you several inches up or down for each shelf). I was surprised to find that the tops are unfinished, as are the undersides of the lowest two shelves, not an issue for me at all, but something to know. The backing does show creases where the board was folded, which I expected at this price and knowing how these types of shelves are constructed. I'm very happy with this product.

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Homemaker75
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Looks great
7/10/2016

Customer review by Waher

5.0 stars 7/10/2016 by Waher
by Waher
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We bought three of these to go into a dark corner. We painted the back wall black and didn't use the cardboard backing that comes with the units. Instead of placing the three units side by side we used the shelves to the middle unit and attached all three together, discarding the 2 tall sides that came with the middle unit. It looks really wonderful. We had gotten a bid to have a carpenter build shelves here - $1200-1600. These cost closer to $100. The corner is so dark you would never know the difference. We drilled extra holes to give us more options and used a black marker to darken any nicks.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Waher
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 2271 total reviews
1-20 of 2271 reviews