Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 2774 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

2774 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

2774 reviews | 4 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
1315
4 stars
834
3 stars
258
2 stars
133
1 stars
234
1-20 of 2505 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 2505 total reviews
1-20 of 2505 reviews
Great Bookshelf!
1/16/2014

Customer review by WalMartShopperLady4

5.0 stars 1/16/2014 by WalMartShopperLady4
by WalMartShopperLady4
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love this thing. It's tall and elegant and thin. I'd have two if I had the space and need for it. Maybe I'll buy a second for my bedroom! Instead of nailing the backing, I used a cheap-o staple-gun, and it was MUCH faster, less loud, and a lot easier, too. I also knew that I wouldn't want to move the shelves around any in the future, so I stapled the backing to the shelves, and this made it all the more stable, and better-looking. I love that I can cover imperfections with a sharpie. I caused a few with poor staple-gun aim, and was able to make it look good as new! I also purchased the 3-shelf and used it as a media tower under my mounted TV, but didn't use the backing so I could have space for wire organization (I saved a TON of money with that idea, and I recommend it highly!). The ONLY thing I don't like about the Ameriwood bookshelves is that they have little imperfections on top of the wood grain that look like dark gray squiggly lines in what I assume is the lacquer or polish or whatever you would like to call it. They're hardly noticeable, and really, for such a great price, we're not expecting perfection, are we? Anyway, it looks great and I'm very happy with it! I'm attaching a picture of both of my bookshelves. Please don't mind my "artwork," I'm not much of an artist, but I needed something to use as a placeholder!

Was this review helpful? (130) (32)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WalMartShopperLady4
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value, simple assembly
8/13/2014

Customer review by Cudgelist

5.0 stars 8/13/2014 by Cudgelist
by Cudgelist
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought 2 of these, they had a bundle for sale at $65 dollars, but at $31.50 each it was cheaper to purchase individually on the same order. They arrived faster than expected, were easy to assemble, and in black oak finish my books really pop on these shelves. I would recommend these to anyone who needs a bookshelf or two....

Was this review helpful? (65) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cudgelist
Myersville, Md.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/31/2013

Customer review by LyThiLoveShoes

5.0 stars 5/31/2013 by LyThiLoveShoes
by LyThiLoveShoes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (34) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LyThiLoveShoes
Oceanside,CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect!
9/5/2012

Customer review by Ikuto90

5.0 stars 9/5/2012 by Ikuto90
by Ikuto90

I don't understand how people purchase a $30 book case and expect it to be the same as if it came out of a top rate furniture store?!. I got this for my living room for holding my movies, games and video game consoles and so far it's worked fantastic!, i got it in white and it looks just as great and easy 20 min or less to build. I do wish it had already made holes on the back board to place cable through etc. but other than that it great. I love the item and if i need another bookshelf in the future I'll be getting this one again.

Was this review helpful? (44) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ikuto90
Norfolk, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
Very flimsy, Backboard is made of cardboard
3/10/2013

Customer review by Taz123456

2.0 stars 3/10/2013 by Taz123456
by Taz123456

I wasn't expecting much given the price of this item, but I have to say that I am disappointed. Firstly the pieces out of the box were very dusty and had styrofoam particles all over them, had to spend some time cleaning them. Assembly was straight forward, but once put together, it was very flimsy and wobbly, it felt like it was going to break if I stood it up, so I didn't. I used some 1x2 wood strips that I had on hand to reinforce the bottom and middle shelf. I had to drill holes in those shelves to screw in the wooden reinforcements, well chunks of the particle board broke off from around the holes making a mess and made the shelves look ugly. Lastly, the backboard is made of folded cardboard in the box that you have to nail in. Servicable but needs TLC.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Taz123456
los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
Made in America!
3/9/2017

Customer review by OnlineShopper

5.0 stars 3/9/2017 by OnlineShopper
by OnlineShopper
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

These shelves are an excellent value for the price. The side panels are a single piece and the instructions are clear and easy to follow. Takes about an hour to put two together. I will definitely buy these again.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OnlineShopper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great price and few dissapointments
12/24/2013

Customer review by Atimberlake

4.0 stars 12/24/2013 by Atimberlake
by Atimberlake
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this bookshelf to store my handbags. It was a great price and big enough to store everything nicely. My biggest dissapointment is the back of the bookshelf came folded in delivery so you see creases (at least I can) and building it was rather tedious. For 35 dollars those problems are worth it.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Atimberlake
Columbus, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great deal looks awesome. Got 2 in black
7/23/2013

Customer review by Kate1188

5.0 stars 7/23/2013 by Kate1188
by Kate1188
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Super simple to assemble, we got two & put them on either side of our tv it really ties the room together! They look great & I love that they come with the wall mount with the option to use the included anchor or stud. I like that it's so tall too, I'm 5'6 & it towers over me yet it's light weight once set up, it was really heavy in the box. My husband was not looking forward to setting it up but once he got started he was excited about how simple it was, it literally only took 5 minutes to build using a power screw driver & a hammer. I highly recommend using a power screw driver it makes the job much easier. It's cheap wood with cardboard backing but it looks nice especially in black, I got exactly what I expected for the price. I highly recommend this product!

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kate1188
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It is OK for the money
8/24/2012

Customer review by MariaTre1987

3.0 stars 8/24/2012 by MariaTre1987
by MariaTre1987

I bought this to store most of my books but the shelves are starting to curve :( If you want a better shelf that holds a lot of books spend the money so you don't have to replace it every 6 months or so. I have attached a picture so you can see what i am talking about. I have owned this shelf for about 4 months now.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MariaTre1987
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Extremely poor quality materials
9/5/2016

Customer review by ExotykMom

1.0 stars 9/5/2016 by ExotykMom
by ExotykMom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Receives the item with chunks taken out of several sides and the pieces missing we not even in the box. Extremely flimsy partical board as well and wobbles

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ExotykMom
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A best buy
4/5/2014

Customer review by LantanaBill

5.0 stars 4/5/2014 by LantanaBill
by LantanaBill
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Does what I need at a great price. ( That's a Walmart ladder in the middle)

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LantanaBill
Lake Worth. FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:65 or older
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good shelves
1/12/2013

Customer review by tigressfair

5.0 stars 1/12/2013 by tigressfair
by tigressfair
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I just wanted some shelves to hold my kids' toys, but didn't like the color options in the store. These are perfect. Easy to assemble, plain white (not sure why the description calls them any other color lol), inexpensive, and so far they are plenty sturdy. Comes with wall mounts to secure them, which is great :D. So far I am very pleased with these, and would buy them again.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tigressfair
Central PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This product was delivered damaged and broken.
5/20/2014

Customer review by MGupta

1.0 stars 5/20/2014 by MGupta
by MGupta
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This product was delivered damaged and broken.Due to its large size can't even take it to the store for returns .Wouldn't recommend to buy any such product online in future.

Was this review helpful? (9) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MGupta
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value for the money!
7/21/2014

Customer review by MomOfThreeXMen

5.0 stars 7/21/2014 by MomOfThreeXMen
by MomOfThreeXMen
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I rated this 5 stars because for the price I paid for two of these and two of the three shelf to go with it (under a hundred and ten bucks for all four) for my family's humble little home library, I am a very happy customer. I built everything by myself and it took less than an hour for all four pieces. Stacking and arranging the books was a different story. For those who rated this low because of the "quality" of the faux wood, etc. (assuming their order arrived unbroken and complete), seriously how can you complain for the price you're paying. Purchase the more expensive stuff then, otherwise I very much appreciate that a family on a budget can still have a sweet little home library to call our own without breaking the bank.

Was this review helpful? (370) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MomOfThreeXMen
Los Angeles, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
You get what you pay for
4/22/2013

Customer review by tcpokim

3.0 stars 4/22/2013 by tcpokim
by tcpokim

For the price, these are decent shelves. Out of the box, all the parts were there - but almost every shelf has some slight chip in the veneer finish, on a corner or edge. For $35, I'm not complaining. They're just some functional storage for me, not "nice" furniture. I ordered Espresso finish. It's not Espresso. It's 98% black, with a few hints of brown when you look at it in lots of natural light. And they're a lot less deep than I expected. I don't think I was deceived, I just didn't pay attention to the measurements on depth as much as I did on width & height. They're easy to put together - I used a handheld screw driver and had no problems. They arrived a little faster than expected #maybe a day or 2 faster#. I would buy them again IF i needed more functional storage space not in the main living area of my home. They're not ugly - they're just not great.

Was this review helpful? (279) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tcpokim
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Easy to set up, little Money to Own, Very Durable!
9/24/2014

Customer review by chrisandsherry

5.0 stars 9/24/2014 by chrisandsherry
by chrisandsherry
Top 50 contributor

If you do not believe the durability of these, just look at my pictures. They came shipped to our home with no problems. Boxes are very heavy. We bought two of them. I put one together and my husband put the other together. Yes, we had a contest, and I won!! Directions are easy to follow and the are coded to help. They screw into the wall, which is a huge help for durability. We have a ton of books on one and our blankets and throws on the other. We love them. They are tall, look very nice, matches our black theme in our home(black and antique white), we just love them. I can talk all day long about them, but, the pictures speak for themselves. At one time, I had a complete set of britannica encyclopedias plus the childrens which is over 50 thick books on one of these book shelves. This is an excellent buy for the money.

Was this review helpful? (66) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chrisandsherry
Lake Butler, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Top 50 contributor
great shelves
3/27/2014

Customer review by amd609

4.0 stars 3/27/2014 by amd609
by amd609
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

First, you cannot beat the price, I bought the set of two for $60. It took less than 30 minutes for myself and my fiance to put it together and the second one that I bought I assembled myself and it took under 45 minutes. I didn't attach with the safety bracket it to the wall but it seems sturdy enough that it should be OK. I didn't give it 5 stars only because the espresso color should have just been named black. They are darker than they looked online, I was anticipating a darker finish with the espresso finish but they are almost completely black. It doesn't bother me enough that I want to return them, I will more than likely end up painting the other ones I bought to try and match this finish because I love these shelves. They fit almost all of my movie collection.

Was this review helpful? (125) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
amd609
Virginia Beach, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good bookcase for my small home office
12/7/2011

Customer review by Busybride2be

4.0 stars 12/7/2011 by Busybride2be
by Busybride2be

The Pros: Good looking, Tall, Sturdy, Spacious, Nice Color I ordered it in espresso because they were out on black, but it looks black from afar, lucky for me the desk is black (I bought the desk and bookshelf bundle) so I have no issue with that. It has more than enough of space for my books even though it's a narrow bookcase. So far I really like it and I am even considering buying a 2nd one to put on each side of the desk. I get lots of compliments on it too! Great buy! The Cons: Instructions, backside of bookcase is made out cardboard, has to be nailed to the wall for support (otherwise it'll be wobbly) It took me a while to understand the instructions because at first I did it wrong (my fault) and I had to take it apart and do it again. IMO they should include written instructions instead of just confusing illustrations. I don't like that the backside to the bookcase is made out of cardboard (at least it's nice and shiny) but it doesn't bother me too much anymore because its not very noticeable. Also, at first I didn't like that I had to screw the bookcase to the wall since the walls in my apt are thin but it actually worked out well. Overall I would recommend it to anyone looking for a good but cheap bookcase because it is definitely worth it!

Was this review helpful? (123) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Busybride2be
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Stylish and Easy to put together
2/23/2014

Customer review by Kaya3574

5.0 stars 2/23/2014 by Kaya3574
by Kaya3574

I was extremely worried about having to put this together as I have purchased a similar one from Walmart before but it was Mainstays brand and it was a pain. I was pleasantly surprised that my teenage daughter and I put this together in less than 20 minutes! Very easy instructions and took no time at all. We used these as a make shift doll house for my 8 year old's 18" dolls and it looks great. Does not look as inexpensive as it was and it matches all of our other furniture as if it came from a high end furniture store.

Was this review helpful? (107) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kaya3574
Methuen, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
Fast shipping
8/2/2014

Customer review by xxAngelMariexx

4.0 stars 8/2/2014 by xxAngelMariexx
by xxAngelMariexx
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very fast shipping and really sturdy..the only issue I had was that the right hand side of the bookshelf has a really bad scratch or knick when we took it out of the box. So it was shipped that way. And where I have it displayed I cant hide it. Was suppose to be a new shelf, but it doesnt look that new with that scratch.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
xxAngelMariexx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 2505 total reviews
1-20 of 2505 reviews