Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1806 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

1806 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

1806 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
952
4 stars
542
3 stars
135
2 stars
66
1 stars
111
1-20 of 1584 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1584 total reviews
1-20 of 1584 reviews
Excellent value for the price
1/13/2011

Customer review by pwnanny

5.0 stars 1/13/2011 by pwnanny
by pwnanny

For a $20 shelf, this is great. Of course, it's just laminated particle board - if you're looking for real wood, this is not for you - but it suits our needs just fine. We got 2 for our kids' rooms. used site-to-store, items arrived quickly and in great shape. BE ADVISED: the instructions are basic pictures, no step-by-step written directions. Also, the picture on the front of the instructions indicates that the TOP shelf is NOT load-bearing! The parts are not labeled, so it's hard to tell which part is which since all 4 shelves look exactly the same. The TOP shelf has 2 holes drilled in each short side to attach to the longer side boards. The BOTTOM shelf has 2 holes drilled in each short side AND 2 holes along the front edge on the unfinished bottom side to attach the lip that goes at the bottom. The 2 shelves without any holes are the adjustable shelves. They also provided more than enough hardware. If you nail the backing on with nails perfectly straight, the nails won't puncture the laminate on the shelves. EDIT: One of the shelves we bought did have labels on each piece, one did not. Labels are stamped on the unfinished edges of the shelves.

Was this review helpful? (589) (43)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pwnanny
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Top 1000 contributor
Great product for the money!
2/15/2014

Customer review by Love2sew2010

5.0 stars 2/15/2014 by Love2sew2010
by Love2sew2010

I bought two of these shelves to make myself a cutting table for my sewing room. They were the perfect height! I covered the back panels with fabric to dress them up a bit! Very easy to put together and pretty sturdy! Great product for the money, no doubt! Photos attached!

Was this review helpful? (190) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Love2sew2010
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for teachers
8/31/2013

Customer review by Cammel2001

5.0 stars 8/31/2013 by Cammel2001
by Cammel2001

I bought 6 of these bookcases for my classroom to create a reading area. The quality is better than I expected, but then again I didn't expect that much out of an $18 bookcase. They were easy to put together with a drill even though the directions say not to use one. My daughter and I covered the brown cardboard backing with scrapbooking paper and used the black side as the back of the bookcase. They turned out very cute! As of right now they seem stable, but I will definitely make my students aware that the bookcases should not be leaned on.

Was this review helpful? (88) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cammel2001
Virginia Beach, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for the Money
1/18/2011

Customer review by Wallygirl202

4.0 stars 1/18/2011 by Wallygirl202
by Wallygirl202

This bookshelf was very easy to put together and the espresso color matches my cherry wood furniture well. The one thing I didn't like is that the back was not wood and came folded showing slight creases in the back. For the price it's worth it. Great color, easy to put together and pretty sturdy.

Was this review helpful? (98) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wallygirl202
Washington, D.C.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
GREAT Shelf for a GREAT price!!
11/7/2013

Customer review by MommyofTwinBoys2

5.0 stars 11/7/2013 by MommyofTwinBoys2
by MommyofTwinBoys2

I needed something to organize a nursery closet. I bought one to see how it would work and now I am definitely going to buy another one. This shelf is fantastic and sturdy, I added damask fabric (nursery theme) to the back and presto a great looking shelf for a great price.

Was this review helpful? (95) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MommyofTwinBoys2
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Overall a good buy
3/26/2011

Customer review by Lindseye117

5.0 stars 3/26/2011 by Lindseye117
by Lindseye117

I was originally looking for a white bookshelf to put in my daughters room to house her books and stuffed animals. I was not looking for anything expensive or equisite, so I was happy when I found this one so cheap. It was basically what I was looking for. This way if it gets abused by children, I don't have to feel so bad about spending too much money on it. I was actually surprised at how nice it was for the money. It was also extremely easy to put together, as it only took me 30 minutes by myself. Be warned though, not both sides of the shelves are painted, as one side is particle board. Still, worth the buy as you can see from the pictures.

Was this review helpful? (120) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lindseye117
Friendswood, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great bookcase for the money!
10/12/2012

Customer review by JessicaNewMom

4.0 stars 10/12/2012 by JessicaNewMom
by JessicaNewMom

Bought this for a my daughters bedroom as we are changing her room from dark wood to white. I didn't want to spend a bunch of money on a bookcase that was going to be in a kids room and get dinged up anyway. This went together very fast and easy and it was actually ALOT sturdier than I thought it was going to be, even when there was no shelves. I don't think it needs the "L" brackets as another reviewer wrote. I did, however, think that it was bland so I added my own flair! Material on the back board and added bun feet. This is the perfect bookcase for my daughters books:-)

Was this review helpful? (77) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JessicaNewMom
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great value for the money!
7/21/2014

Customer review by MomOfThreeXMen

5.0 stars 7/21/2014 by MomOfThreeXMen
by MomOfThreeXMen

I rated this 5 stars because for the price I paid for two of these and two of the five shelf to go with it (under a hundred and ten bucks for all four) for my family's humble little home library, I am a very happy customer. I built everything by myself and it took less than an hour for all four pieces. Stacking and arranging the books was a different story. For those who rated this low because of the "quality" of the faux wood, etc. (assuming their order arrived unbroken and complete), seriously how can you complain for the price you're paying. Purchase the more expensive stuff then, otherwise I very much appreciate that a family on a budget can still have a sweet little home library to call our own without breaking the bank.

Was this review helpful? (56) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MomOfThreeXMen
Los Angeles, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fabulous looking units.
4/24/2011

Customer review by patrick2525

5.0 stars 4/24/2011 by patrick2525
by patrick2525

Purchased four units, lined them all up- down one living room wall and they look fabulous. Very well priced, although the units were inexpensive they look great once they are assembled & positioned in their final location (these units look even better once they are filled w/your favorite books etc). Delivery was no problem & set up was quick & easy. Would recommend this product to others. I can see these units lasting a lifetime & they are so easy to care for, wipe off the dust & your finished.

Was this review helpful? (52) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
patrick2525
Cincinnati, OHIO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great media center!
1/16/2014

Customer review by WalMartShopperLady4

4.0 stars 1/16/2014 by WalMartShopperLady4
by WalMartShopperLady4

I use this bookshelf as a sort of media tower to save space and it works well! I love that it's all black. If you look reallll close you can see places in the finish that look maybe scratched or something, like slightly gray squiggle lines, is the best I can describe it. But with the "wood grain" appearance, it just blends in and doesn't look bad. I didn't put the cardboard-like backing on it, so that all of my boyfriend's hard drives and gamer-type mess have a place for the wires to hang. I was concerned that it would't be sturdy without the backing, as I previously bought a dresser from Wal-Mart that had that issue before I nailed it on. This wasn't the case. It's pretty solid. I'm already pretty chubby, and 7 months pregnant on top of that, and used it to help me stand up a few times without so much as a wobble. The extra space gives me room to organize the wires so it doesn't look like a rat's nest back there, and it fits perfectly below my mounted tv. They look very nice together! Also bought the 5-shelf bookcase (for books and nicknacks, so I did use the backing) and it really completes the living room!

Was this review helpful? (44) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WalMartShopperLady4
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect for the Price
1/13/2011

Customer review by MarieBlack07

4.0 stars 1/13/2011 by MarieBlack07
by MarieBlack07

For the price I paid this is a great product. Looks good in the room and works well with all types of the books I have.

Was this review helpful? (40) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MarieBlack07
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great for the classroom
8/11/2011

Customer review by lallen425

5.0 stars 8/11/2011 by lallen425
by lallen425

I purchased 10 of these shelves to put in my classroom. The price was awesome and after putting them together, my classroom looks great too!!! I use them in a classroom library, so they house books and other supplies. They were easy to put together (I could do it myself!) and they are sturdy enough to endure kid wear and tear.

Was this review helpful? (27) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lallen425
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
nice shelf
3/4/2014

Customer review by kellshopper

5.0 stars 3/4/2014 by kellshopper
by kellshopper

i bought this shelf for our daughter's room for all her books. it was very easy to put together. 15-20 minutes at the most. i also got adhesive liner from our local Dollar Tree and put it on the back board Before i nailed it to the back and it worked great. not too small or too tall. perfect for a kid's room. BUT always make sure you mount it to the wall if you use it in a kid room!!!

Was this review helpful? (26) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kellshopper
albany, ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Incredible for the price!!
6/15/2012

Customer review by mreid

5.0 stars 6/15/2012 by mreid
by mreid

I bought 3 of these for my daughter's play room and was expecting a lightweight, almost flimsy shelf. When I got them and put them together, I was amazed at how sturdy and nice looking they were! I did the site to store shipping which was quick and convenient and the shelves got to me in really great shape! I would definitely recommend this product and am actually going to order a couple more for myself! Really really happy with this product - and you canNOT beat the price!!

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mreid
Memphis, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great value for your dime!
1/18/2014

Customer review by Hatoribabi2

5.0 stars 1/18/2014 by Hatoribabi2
by Hatoribabi2

First off, I'm not really good with tools and this was easy (with the assistance of my mom) to put up. It looks great in my closet and holds all my stuff. I LOVE that I got 2 for $38 cuz I got to use one for books and the other for shoes/hats/bags. Well worth the money. Its holding up great and looks awesome in my closet! Great buy!

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hatoribabi2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect!
8/18/2011

Customer review by judahsmommy

5.0 stars 8/18/2011 by judahsmommy
by judahsmommy

I purchased this bookcase for my baby's nursery(due in Septmeber). It's a great price. Looks great. Love the color. Couldn't ask for anything better for the price!!

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
judahsmommy
Granbury, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
best headboard ever!
8/7/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/7/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I was looking for bookcase headboard. When I see this, I got an idea. I bought 3 of them. Assembled and put them side by side. Now I have the best headboard. Why is it best? Because it looks great and cost less than $60!

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Palm City, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
OK for the price
8/29/2011

Customer review by longPermanentNickname

4.0 stars 8/29/2011 by longPermanentNickname
by longPermanentNickname

It is OK for the price and sturdy enough. The only complicated bit is fixing up the back of this thing - you have to hammer in a bunch of small nails. I chose to leave the back out and just leave it against the wall.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
longPermanentNickname
Would recommend to a friend? No
Cheap
4/28/2011

Customer review by njtash

1.0 stars 4/28/2011 by njtash
by njtash

I bought this at a walmart store hoping to find an inexpensive shelf for a few books. I wasn't expecting anything top quality or super durable, but this was not even worth $20. Instructions seemed pretty clear, but it turned out the holes were improperly placed on the boards making it impossible to put in, and the other holes would just split the wood. Good news is that I returned it no problem.

Was this review helpful? (21) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
njtash
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Deal
11/23/2011

Customer review by WalmartShopper119

5.0 stars 11/23/2011 by WalmartShopper119
by WalmartShopper119

The bookcase was a steal for only $20. It arrived at my house in only two days. The packaging was amazing and none of the pieces were broken, missing, or cracked. We brought the bookcase with the espresso finish to match our baby furniture and the finish looks amazing. It does scratch easily so be careful. Its was also bigger then i expected which i had no problem with cause we need all the storage space we can get. Overall it was a great/amazing buy and i would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WalmartShopper119
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 1584 total reviews
1-20 of 1584 reviews