Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 2044 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

2044 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

2044 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
1076
4 stars
602
3 stars
159
2 stars
76
1 stars
131
1-20 of 1822 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1822 total reviews
1-20 of 1822 reviews
Excellent value for the price
1/13/2011

Customer review by pwnanny

5.0 stars 1/13/2011 by pwnanny
by pwnanny
Top 1000 contributor

For a $20 shelf, this is great. Of course, it's just laminated particle board - if you're looking for real wood, this is not for you - but it suits our needs just fine. We got 2 for our kids' rooms. used site-to-store, items arrived quickly and in great shape. BE ADVISED: the instructions are basic pictures, no step-by-step written directions. Also, the picture on the front of the instructions indicates that the TOP shelf is NOT load-bearing! The parts are not labeled, so it's hard to tell which part is which since all 4 shelves look exactly the same. The TOP shelf has 2 holes drilled in each short side to attach to the longer side boards. The BOTTOM shelf has 2 holes drilled in each short side AND 2 holes along the front edge on the unfinished bottom side to attach the lip that goes at the bottom. The 2 shelves without any holes are the adjustable shelves. They also provided more than enough hardware. If you nail the backing on with nails perfectly straight, the nails won't puncture the laminate on the shelves. EDIT: One of the shelves we bought did have labels on each piece, one did not. Labels are stamped on the unfinished edges of the shelves.

Was this review helpful? (745) (58)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pwnanny
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Top 1000 contributor
Great media center!
1/16/2014

Customer review by WalMartShopperLady4

4.0 stars 1/16/2014 by WalMartShopperLady4
by WalMartShopperLady4
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I use this bookshelf as a sort of media tower to save space and it works well! I love that it's all black. If you look reallll close you can see places in the finish that look maybe scratched or something, like slightly gray squiggle lines, is the best I can describe it. But with the "wood grain" appearance, it just blends in and doesn't look bad. I didn't put the cardboard-like backing on it, so that all of my boyfriend's hard drives and gamer-type mess have a place for the wires to hang. I was concerned that it would't be sturdy without the backing, as I previously bought a dresser from Wal-Mart that had that issue before I nailed it on. This wasn't the case. It's pretty solid. I'm already pretty chubby, and 7 months pregnant on top of that, and used it to help me stand up a few times without so much as a wobble. The extra space gives me room to organize the wires so it doesn't look like a rat's nest back there, and it fits perfectly below my mounted tv. They look very nice together! Also bought the 5-shelf bookcase (for books and nicknacks, so I did use the backing) and it really completes the living room!

Was this review helpful? (70) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WalMartShopperLady4
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value for the money!
7/21/2014

Customer review by MomOfThreeXMen

5.0 stars 7/21/2014 by MomOfThreeXMen
by MomOfThreeXMen
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I rated this 5 stars because for the price I paid for two of these and two of the five shelf to go with it (under a hundred and ten bucks for all four) for my family's humble little home library, I am a very happy customer. I built everything by myself and it took less than an hour for all four pieces. Stacking and arranging the books was a different story. For those who rated this low because of the "quality" of the faux wood, etc. (assuming their order arrived unbroken and complete), seriously how can you complain for the price you're paying. Purchase the more expensive stuff then, otherwise I very much appreciate that a family on a budget can still have a sweet little home library to call our own without breaking the bank.

Was this review helpful? (104) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MomOfThreeXMen
Los Angeles, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for teachers
8/31/2013

Customer review by Cammel2001

5.0 stars 8/31/2013 by Cammel2001
by Cammel2001
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought 6 of these bookcases for my classroom to create a reading area. The quality is better than I expected, but then again I didn't expect that much out of an $18 bookcase. They were easy to put together with a drill even though the directions say not to use one. My daughter and I covered the brown cardboard backing with scrapbooking paper and used the black side as the back of the bookcase. They turned out very cute! As of right now they seem stable, but I will definitely make my students aware that the bookcases should not be leaned on.

Was this review helpful? (158) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cammel2001
Virginia Beach, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Overall a good buy
3/26/2011

Customer review by Lindseye117

5.0 stars 3/26/2011 by Lindseye117
by Lindseye117

I was originally looking for a white bookshelf to put in my daughters room to house her books and stuffed animals. I was not looking for anything expensive or equisite, so I was happy when I found this one so cheap. It was basically what I was looking for. This way if it gets abused by children, I don't have to feel so bad about spending too much money on it. I was actually surprised at how nice it was for the money. It was also extremely easy to put together, as it only took me 30 minutes by myself. Be warned though, not both sides of the shelves are painted, as one side is particle board. Still, worth the buy as you can see from the pictures.

Was this review helpful? (163) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lindseye117
Friendswood, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product for the money!
2/15/2014

Customer review by Love2sew2010

5.0 stars 2/15/2014 by Love2sew2010
by Love2sew2010
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought two of these shelves to make myself a cutting table for my sewing room. They were the perfect height! I covered the back panels with fabric to dress them up a bit! Very easy to put together and pretty sturdy! Great product for the money, no doubt! Photos attached!

Was this review helpful? (304) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Love2sew2010
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
nice shelf
3/4/2014

Customer review by kellshopper

5.0 stars 3/4/2014 by kellshopper
by kellshopper

i bought this shelf for our daughter's room for all her books. it was very easy to put together. 15-20 minutes at the most. i also got adhesive liner from our local Dollar Tree and put it on the back board Before i nailed it to the back and it worked great. not too small or too tall. perfect for a kid's room. BUT always make sure you mount it to the wall if you use it in a kid room!!!

Was this review helpful? (41) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kellshopper
albany, ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
GREAT Shelf for a GREAT price!!
11/7/2013

Customer review by MommyofTwinBoys2

5.0 stars 11/7/2013 by MommyofTwinBoys2
by MommyofTwinBoys2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I needed something to organize a nursery closet. I bought one to see how it would work and now I am definitely going to buy another one. This shelf is fantastic and sturdy, I added damask fabric (nursery theme) to the back and presto a great looking shelf for a great price.

Was this review helpful? (121) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MommyofTwinBoys2
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value for your dime!
1/18/2014

Customer review by Hatoribabi2

5.0 stars 1/18/2014 by Hatoribabi2
by Hatoribabi2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

First off, I'm not really good with tools and this was easy (with the assistance of my mom) to put up. It looks great in my closet and holds all my stuff. I LOVE that I got 2 for $38 cuz I got to use one for books and the other for shoes/hats/bags. Well worth the money. Its holding up great and looks awesome in my closet! Great buy!

Was this review helpful? (29) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hatoribabi2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Some damage on mine
10/20/2012

Customer review by Hydranmenace

4.0 stars 10/20/2012 by Hydranmenace
by Hydranmenace

I haven't assembled my shelf yet. Whenever I get anything that is DIY in some kind of kit, I always very carefully inspect everything before I put it together. When I was looking my parts over I found damage to board "B" which is the right side of the shelf. While only about a quarter inch of trim is missing, it is sadly at the top of the board and very noticeable, not something that I could expect the carpet to hide as it would at the bottom. I have submitted a request for a replacement part from the manufacturer and will update my review when (and if) I get the replacement part. Overall though, great buy for the money since it is really cheap.

Was this review helpful? (16) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hydranmenace
Comstock Park, Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
DOES THE JOB.
2/5/2013

Customer review by Johnsworld86

4.0 stars 2/5/2013 by Johnsworld86
by Johnsworld86

Got the Bundle package & these seem good, Its not too small not too big.

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Johnsworld86
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
It's Ok, but not what I expected
8/4/2014

Customer review by SoCalTraveler79

2.0 stars 8/4/2014 by SoCalTraveler79
by SoCalTraveler79
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

From reading the reviews I was expecting more...I ordered the black and I thought it was a solid black but no It has visible lines. I would had like it better if it was just plain black no lines. I was also expecting it to be a little bigger...but for the $18 I paid not sure why I was expecting so much haha. It's Ok, and it was cheap. If in the future I get something bigger I could always use this as a closet organizer. It's great for small places. Books and Dvd's fit perfectly. I would not buy it again, I would probably spend a little more and get something I like. It was very easy to set up.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SoCalTraveler79
Ontario, California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome Shelf for the Price
7/16/2014

Customer review by FotoFairyDreamer

4.0 stars 7/16/2014 by FotoFairyDreamer
by FotoFairyDreamer

This shelf is simple & with some added decor & shelf liner.... it adds much character... I love this... it's by my computer & add's some classy, vintage, prettiness* I'm very Happy with this***

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FotoFairyDreamer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great but somewhat fragile
8/3/2014

Customer review by vicked

4.0 stars 8/3/2014 by vicked
by vicked
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

One small part, part F, broke while handling. Ameriwood was kind enough to send me another one. But it was not the Alder color, nevertheless, the new piece, also fragile did fit. So I thought it was great as it provided a great black contrast to the Alder color. I would recommend it to college/grad students ... :) And it serves the purpose, and I like it :)

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vicked
Minneapolis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very Disappointed
8/1/2011

Customer review by Franzelka

1.0 stars 8/1/2011 by Franzelka
by Franzelka

Purchased two of these. Even though the price was fair they were NOT what I expected. I wanted to stack them one on top of the other for my cookbooks. While putting them together I noticed that the underside of the shelves are some kind of material that is not painted. Which is a problem because when put together you can see the bottom side of the shelves which is a real eye sore.

Was this review helpful? (17) (77)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Franzelka
Middle Granville, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Bookshelf; But Needs Better Quality Control
2/15/2014

Customer review by dude2008

4.0 stars 2/15/2014 by dude2008
by dude2008

Overall, it is a good bookshelf for the price ($18), but it does need better quality control during manufacturing. The bookcase was very easy to put together (15 mins) and is quite sturdy for being so compact - I was very surprised. I actually had to lightly tap in the adjustable shelves with a rubber mallet because they were a little too big for the bookcase. This, of course, just stabilized the bookcase even more - adding to its overall durability. My one gripe is the lack of quality control with the veneer lamination. You can see where some saw dust got underneath the veneer and caused a "bubble". Thank goodness this blemish in the veneer is facing toward the inside of the bookcase, so I just set a book over it. The veneer is very dark brown, almost a black - so it matches my other furniture perfectly! I don't expect this bookcase to last forever - who can for $18??? - but it will last long enough until I find something I REALLY like later on down the road. To summarize, I give this bookcase an overall rating of 4 stars.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dude2008
Wylie, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Bookcase
6/15/2016

Customer review by Jenny

5.0 stars 6/15/2016 by Jenny
by Jenny
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Love it I bought the bookcases for my sons and they are so far perfect they are sturdy and hold a lot of books.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jenny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Value and Packed for delivery
7/3/2014

Customer review by MeanFleen

4.0 stars 7/3/2014 by MeanFleen
by MeanFleen
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great value, especially if bought in a Bundle. Choose site to store based on previous bad shipping experience due to a sloppy and unprofessional delivery person, who just threw my stuff on the yard. My cite to store arrived early and I was happy that this Ameriwood product was tightly packed and protected in foam with corner guards that cover all the edges preventing chips and splits. They would of been safe if you needed them shipped to home, even if an ape delivers them. I do recommend using the free shelves to help square the case as you assemble as it can be over tightened easy. Only thing we did not like was the plastic caps that cover the screws, they are too cheep to use. Would of been happy if they had a color match sticker. Cases are solid when assembled and go together fast with a little help of a driver on low speed. ** IF you get the 5 shelf (6 footer), it doesn’t come in two halves that need to be stacked, so getting it in your mini car takes some practice . Would order product again.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MeanFleen
Albany, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love it
8/17/2016

Customer review by Trinitytrin

5.0 stars 8/17/2016 by Trinitytrin
by Trinitytrin

I just love this bookcase. Got the color Ruby-red. Great color. easy to assemble. Sturdy enough for my things.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Trinitytrin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great bookcase for the money!
10/12/2012

Customer review by JessicaNewMom

4.0 stars 10/12/2012 by JessicaNewMom
by JessicaNewMom

Bought this for a my daughters bedroom as we are changing her room from dark wood to white. I didn't want to spend a bunch of money on a bookcase that was going to be in a kids room and get dinged up anyway. This went together very fast and easy and it was actually ALOT sturdier than I thought it was going to be, even when there was no shelves. I don't think it needs the "L" brackets as another reviewer wrote. I did, however, think that it was bland so I added my own flair! Material on the back board and added bun feet. This is the perfect bookcase for my daughters books:-)

Was this review helpful? (90) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JessicaNewMom
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 1822 total reviews
1-20 of 1822 reviews