Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 643 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

643 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

643 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
462
4 stars
121
3 stars
24
2 stars
11
1 stars
25
1-20 of 606 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 606 total reviews
1-20 of 606 reviews
Better Than Expected
11/12/2009

Customer review by Cat27Sailor

5.0 stars 11/12/2009 by Cat27Sailor
by Cat27Sailor

Over the past few months I have been building Pottery Barn knock offs around my house, but my wife wanted an entertainment center for our kids' upstairs game room sooner than I could get to it. At $298, I was not expecting a lot and figured this would be just a temporary unit until I got around to building something more permanant. After putting this together I was most pleasantly surprised at how nice it looks and have decided that it is a keeper rather than just a placeholder until I build something myself. Assembly time was just over two hours using a power driver with adjustable torque clutch. Don't even consider using a driver without a clutch or you will most certainly strip out some of the pre-drilled holes in the soft particle board and MDF. Here are a few minor problems I encounted. The screws for the door knobs were too short by 1/2" The TV mount does not include screws for your TV. 8mm X 30mm is common for many 37 to 47 inch TV's but you should verify that with the mfgr of your TV. The TV mount puts your TV VERY close to the back panel of the cabinet. You will not be able to connect any cables to the TV once it is installed. You may be able to get around this by slightly enlarging the cable opening hole in the middle of the center panel, which I plan to do next time I have to take the TV down. Several reviewers alluded to the back panels not fitting squarely with the recesses (called rabbits in woodworking parlance). The panels DO fit, very well. The idea here is to rack the cabinet back and forth to get it square, at which point the panels fit into the rabbits perfectly. The instructions provide no guidance here, other than to install the panels. Several of the parts have identification stickers which in the case of the unit I received, did not easily come off and in all cases left a sticky residue. All in all I am very please with this entertainment center.

Was this review helpful? (313) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cat27Sailor
Hubert, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Build Quality
9/17/2009

Customer review by wallyworldshopper229

5.0 stars 9/17/2009 by wallyworldshopper229
by wallyworldshopper229

This is such a great value for the money.Very easy to assemble.Instructions said assembly would take 30 minutes to setup...more like a couple hours to complete.My only gripe is that the back panels didn't want to line up square with the edges (maybe it was because i set it up on the carpet) but it is on the back of the unit so you can't tell. I love this unit.Fits my 42" LCD tv perfectly. I set it up alone,but you might want to use an extra pair of hands to help you out. This unit also comes with an flat panel tv mount that works great. Looks like a more expensive unit.I would recommend a small low torque screw driver because there are a lot of small screws to attach the back panels to the unit.

Was this review helpful? (185) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wallyworldshopper229
Valdosta.Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great value for the money
12/6/2010

Customer review by IWasHereFirst

4.0 stars 12/6/2010 by IWasHereFirst
by IWasHereFirst

When I got a 46" flat screen TV, we found that it would not fit in our old entertainment center. My wife wanted something to "hide the wires" and all, and we saw this at our local walmart. We liked it right away and decided to go ahead and purchase it. While it is extremely heavy, it was manageable for two men to carry. The parts were clearly labeled and the instructions were easy to follow. All I required was a standard screwdriver, phillips screwdriver and a hammer. I was able to assemble the unit by myself and it took me a couple of hours of casual assembly. I think I could have gotten it done in under an hour if I was rushing. The unit is sturdy and heavy. The mount for the TV is strong and solid. Cable management is simple with the well positioned "mouse holes". My 46" Samsung TV looks "built in" for the unit with plenty of space to put the center channel speaker for my surround sound. The center opening is perfect for my cable DVR box, my DVD player and my receiver. The hinges on the doors are simple to adjust for easy closure. If you look at my photo, the center section has my surround receiver on the bottom and on the adjustable shelf is my Wii, my DVR and my DVD Player. DVD's in their cases are on the left and the Wii games and controllers are on the right. The center channel speaker is below the TV with the Wii sensor bar sitting on top of the speaker. I would definitely recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (140) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IWasHereFirst
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great buy!
2/16/2010

Customer review by dealshoppertotheend

5.0 stars 2/16/2010 by dealshoppertotheend
by dealshoppertotheend

I was very pleased with this cabinet and the price. If you have the money to spend get a different one but this is a great cabinet! It states it will only hold a TV up to 50" but I figured out how to get my 55" Vizio into it. I did not use the included mounting bracket. I used the stand that came with my TV. If you scoot the 55" TV into the hutch before the put the front side styles on the hutch it will fit in the hutch with 1/2 of an inch on each side. Then I put the front styles on with just the supplied dowels they will stay on. Looks great and like it was built for a 55" TV. I did have to rock the hutch to get the back to fit but it went right together. If you want a great cabinet for 300.00 grab one of these and take it home!

Was this review helpful? (165) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dealshoppertotheend
IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This is a great item at an even better price.
3/21/2011

Customer review by StargateDuneTrek

5.0 stars 3/21/2011 by StargateDuneTrek
by StargateDuneTrek

Let me start off by saying I think they use a different company to produce these now. I've read every single review here and some of them mention the glue that was provided for various reasons or how badly damaged certain pieces were. I bought 2 of them just in case and the ones I got did not come with glue, and the instructions said nothing about glue. Also out of both boxes every single part was in one piece and not a single noticeable dent/scratch/ding/etc is to be found. There are also reviews stating it did not come with any mounting screws to mount the tv to the stand, mine came with a wide assortment of different sizes... I read every review to see if anyone had a 55" tv because that is what I have. YOU HAVE TO CHECK YOUR TV some 55" tvs will fit, mine didn't... I have it in it now but I cannot use the "vertical trim" that is suppose to go along the sides. If the total width of your tv is over 51 3/4 inches it will not fit. I think a review should actually "review" an item and point out the pros and cons not just "this item is great, 5 stars" so I needed to address those issues. Other than that it is a WONDERFUL product. I do wish it was "wood grain" instead of one solid color but that's not that big of an issue more just personal preference. The bottom, middle, and top all came pre assembled so most of the work was already done. I put this together by myself with nothing but a 6 way screwdriver in about 30 minutes, there's nothing to it at all. Once put together it is very sturdy and has lots of storage space. I went with this one over others because of the hutch just makes it look more expensive and "clean" plus you can put stuff on top of it... I bought a different home and gardens stand before this one but thankfully I read the reviews before I actually opened the box... The shelves were only 16" wide, the "standard" width for devices is around 17" so that would've been a big problem. With this one the middle shelves are 23" so you can fit pretty much anything ever made on those... The side shelves with the doors are only 13 3/4" but you can still fit things like ps3, wii, xbox 360, etc in there or just use the middle shelves. The doors on the sides do close pretty "fast" and "hard" so I'd suggest getting some little felt stickers for the insides of the doors, I already had a pack of various sized ones laying around and it made closing the doors less "scary" (that something might break) and not as loud... This of course isn't required but I do highly suggest it. Over all this is a VERY nice product, it looks great, it's built very sturdy and you are able to take it apart again for moving long distances, and for the price you won't find anything even close to this thing... I highly suggest this product to anyone, the hutch adds such a "polished and refined" look compared to other stands where the tv is just hanging there "in the open". If you have doubts just buy it at a local walmart... Or if you are going to order online at least be somewhere near a walmart just in case. It's so very simple to just take it back to a store if there is a problem. Like I said though I bought 2 of them just in case and BOTH were in perfect condition. I was going to return one if there was a problem but It's such a wonderful product at such a great price I decided to just keep both of them!!

Was this review helpful? (91) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
StargateDuneTrek
Savannah GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Product
11/11/2010

Customer review by DonOfPensacola

5.0 stars 11/11/2010 by DonOfPensacola
by DonOfPensacola

I ordered this after seeing it in the store. It was never in stock, but loved the display. After reading the reviews I knew it was a great deal. I brought in the house and inspected for damage, packed very well. I put the entertainment center together in 2 hrs. I took my time from opening the box, to installing the last piece. Very simple and solid product. I waited to install the vertical trim on until after the tv was installed. I squeezed a Samsung 55" LCD model #LN55C630 with a 1/4 inch between the sides. Put the trim panel on last. Sits far enough back that the view is not blocked any from the sides. I love it, and everyone thinks I got the E.C. from a upper end furniture store. Only thing I added was round pads to the inside of the doors, close a little hard for my taste. But not required, just had them on hand since I'm a nut about things like that. If your on the fence about this, it's more than you could expect! Great Buy!

Was this review helpful? (50) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DonOfPensacola
Pensacola, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I love this piece!
10/14/2009

Customer review by rocksmom08

5.0 stars 10/14/2009 by rocksmom08
by rocksmom08

I bought this based on the pictures on the box, since my local store did not have one on display. My husband came home and got it together in just under 3 hours. It fit our 50 inch perfectly and appears to be better quality for the price that other brands at others stores. My husband is much pickier than i and he was surprised how well it was packed and how easy the instructions were to follow.

Was this review helpful? (44) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rocksmom08
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
beautiful entertainment center
1/19/2011

Customer review by grandarlin

5.0 stars 1/19/2011 by grandarlin
by grandarlin

bought this piece hoping my 55 inch Toshiba would fit in it and it DOES! YAY! Almost had to build the entertainment center around the tv, but who cares...left it on the stand and it looks like they were made for each other. Would highly recommend this piece to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (34) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
grandarlin
Musella, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The best product I've bought at Wal-mart!!
6/6/2010

Customer review by SGTGIPP

5.0 stars 6/6/2010 by SGTGIPP
by SGTGIPP

This entertainment center is beautiful. Although the assembly make take a little time, it comes out solid and strong. It looks like it came from Haverty's. Not only does it look expensive, it feels expensive, like you just purchased a $1,000 unit. Take your time and put it together right, and you will have no problems with this unit in the future. The color is Expresso, but it blends with dark cherry furniture. I bought it in-store, and it had a couple of nics, but the product came with a blemish marker. Please Don't be weary of the price tag, it is worth more that $300.00 bucks!!

Was this review helpful? (30) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SGTGIPP
Macon, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Better than I expected
9/21/2009

Customer review by Rissloc

5.0 stars 9/21/2009 by Rissloc
by Rissloc

No missing parts, no damaged pieces in the box. My local store did not have one set up so I bought it based on the pictures on the website. For a "ready to assemble" piece, it was more sturdy and much nicer looking than I expected. I am very pleased with this purchase. Note: The box is heavy so you will need help getting it into your home. The box also states that the color is expresso.

Was this review helpful? (27) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rissloc
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best piece of furniture in the house!
8/15/2010

Customer review by FrugalLuxury

5.0 stars 8/15/2010 by FrugalLuxury
by FrugalLuxury

I was sooo excited to find this product not only because it turned out to be beautiful, but because the price made it well worth it. I have a built-in area and I was lucky enough that this particular entertainment center fit perfectly! The only downside is the assembly is grueling and the pieces are extremely heavy. However, this makes for a sturdy product in the end! Everyone who has visited has complimented me on it and I've seen similar products for $800 and up! Now I just need a bigger TV :)

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FrugalLuxury
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Worth the money
6/9/2011

Customer review by pickybuyer77

5.0 stars 6/9/2011 by pickybuyer77
by pickybuyer77

My husband and I purchased this 8-9 months ago when it was priced at $299 and it is worth it! Not much assembly required. Very sturdy piece of furniture, quite heavy (which in my opinion is a good thing because it shows its sturdiness). My husband spray painted the glass with frosting, gives more privacy and looks sleeker. About 4 months after purchasing, we replace our 40 inch LCD with a 55 inch LED & it is a PERFECT fit! You cant go any bigger as we have approx 1/2 inch on each side of our TV, but for us we love the look. It appears this piece was "made" for the TV. The TV and soundbar blends in with the rich color of the wood and the picture literally POPS! (Was the same way with our LCD also). If you are looking for a new TV stand/hutch that doesnt look cheap and that you can keep for years then get this, especially at the reduced price! Cant beat it!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pickybuyer77
NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very good buy!
3/30/2010

Customer review by optimuseighty

5.0 stars 3/30/2010 by optimuseighty
by optimuseighty

I'm very satisfied with this purchase. The price and quality are top notch! There were some dings on the top of the hutch but nothing noticeable. I thought that the 2 front doors on the unit shut pretty hard, so I purchased some felt stoppers (in the hardware section at walmart $2.00) about the size of a tack head and placed them along the inner side of the doors where the handle is and they work great!

Was this review helpful? (26) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
optimuseighty
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Simple and Sleek... I love it!!! :-)))...
4/16/2011

Customer review by ApplePat22

4.0 stars 4/16/2011 by ApplePat22
by ApplePat22

I searched many furniture stores for the tv stand that was perfect for me, and my place. This stand stuck out to me, and was a beautiful piece of furniture for an excellent price. I saw similar units costing as much as $1,500. I bought this stand for the BASE/BOTTOM piece only. The bottom unit suits my taste better and it looks amazing and better than most stands that I've seen in high in stores that cost hundreds of dollars more than this unit... It was heavy, but I assembled it myself in 3 hours. Its sturdy, but I added a few metal brackets inside for support. I have a 50 inch panasonic setting directly on the stand and it holds and fits very well... Absolutely love it :)....

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ApplePat22
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Poor experience with manufacturer. Beware.
12/29/2010

Customer review by radiofriendly

1.0 stars 12/29/2010 by radiofriendly
by radiofriendly

Let me start by saying that I have no doubt this product is fantastic. My sister has this exact product, and is extremely happy with it. However, I was unfortunate enough to purchase one that had several defective parts. I was ready to return back to WalMart but was instructed in the manual to contact the manufacturer instead. I did so and placed a request for replacement parts. I received email notification that my request had been received, and that I should be receiving my parts in 7-14 days. Three weeks had passed, with no shipment received or any communication from Ameriwood (the manufacturer). I decided then to call them directly. The operator told me that not only had my parts not been shipped yet, but they would likely not be shipped, because of the high number of damaged parts requested. She then instructed me to return the product back to walmart. I hope that I'm not the only person this would have completely infuriated, but sufficed to say, I was extremely upset. This review shouldn't necessarily sway you away from buying the product. Once again, I know people who have loved it. But if you get a damaged product, please consider returning to walmart immediately before investing anytime with Ameriwood.

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
radiofriendly
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Entertainment Center
10/17/2009

Customer review by Exxtreme

5.0 stars 10/17/2009 by Exxtreme
by Exxtreme

Was skeptical to buy because advertised to fit "up to 50" tv". I own a 52" LCD. Imeasured the top (end to end) of my tv about 49.5" (52" is the diagonal screen measurement) and took a chance. My tv DOES fit with sideways turning room, for dusting and moving in/out of center. The directions say not to use electric power tool, but I did VERY CAREFULLY!--important in final steps for the STABILITY of unit. Please note: *until the very end it seemed as though the unit would not be stable enough to hold my(or any other large LCD tv), but it was ater attaching the back panels that the unit showed itself to be sturdy and secure! So don't over tighten trying to compensate for looseness!!!Assembling alone and help at the end, it took me about 3hrs. FYI assembly complete 10/16/09 and LOVING IT!!!

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Exxtreme
Sanford, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best product ever!
9/28/2010

Customer review by thefayhouse

5.0 stars 9/28/2010 by thefayhouse
by thefayhouse

When I was looking for an entertainment center to house my 50"plasma, I looked at several different options. I researched & researched. I came across this hutch & it is more beautiful in person than the picture. The dark, rich wood is perfect. My ONLY complaint is that because of the plasma it attracts dust REALLY REALLY fast. I must dust it at least twice a week. The tv hangs perfectly & it looks amazing on the hutch. I have my dvd player, Wii, PS2, Direct Tv receiver, and games neatly tucked away in the storage areas. When people come to our house, they always ask where we got it at. When I say Walmart, they are blown away! One tip-make sure that you have ALL of your cables ready to go in the hiding area behind the tv. It is really hard to move the tv once everything is in place. Happy shopping!

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thefayhouse
Hartwell, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very happy
8/3/2010

Customer review by CKL68

5.0 stars 8/3/2010 by CKL68
by CKL68

I was wary at first. I had not purchased a piece of furniture from Walmart before. I saw this piece first online then on display at a store. I was sold. I put it together myself in about 2 1/2 hours. I liked that it assembled vertically. I suggest an electric screwdriver for the back panels.(There are a lot of screws. ) and purchase sliders to put on the bottom for ease of movement ($2.00) at walmart. I have had the unit up about two weeks and LOVE the look of it with my 32" Sony LCD TV.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CKL68
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
GREAT BUY!!!
11/17/2009

Customer review by Lookn4GreatDeals

5.0 stars 11/17/2009 by Lookn4GreatDeals
by Lookn4GreatDeals

I was really skeptical about purchasing this entertainment center due to it's low price, but it was well worth the money. It is very well put together considering the price. I had the item shipped to my local Wal-Mart and they assembled it ......looks great. My 52 inch TV actually fits. Love it, a must buy.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lookn4GreatDeals
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Value is fantastic! Detailed description below:
9/2/2011

Customer review by BCRA15

5.0 stars 9/2/2011 by BCRA15
by BCRA15

When I got the box home and opened it there were no broken parts and nothing was missing. For the cost, the value of this product is tremendous. As with many people who purchased this item, the assembly time was about an hour and a half by myself. The quality of the wood is obviously not the best, but it is definitely at a high enough quality that it looks extremely nice in a room. It looks and feels like it is a higher quality item than the price suggests. Even under close scrutiny I can find no flaws with the build quality. I am very happy I purchased this entertainment center. Now, on to the actual product specs and description: 1) There is a lip that runs down the left and right sides and across the top that is 2'' wide. My Panasonic 42'' plasma fits perfectly in the space with plenty of room to spare. Including the lip on each side, the gap of the opening measures 49.25'' from edge to edge. Behind the lip, where the TV actually hangs on the bracket, the gap measures 52.25''. You should be able to squeeze a 55'' TV in there. 2) The depth of the cabinets and shelves is 18.5'' which would fit any standard piece of audio/video equipment, a gaming system, blu-ray's, etc. The insides of the two cabinets are 13.25'' wide. The middle shelf openings are 23'' wide and the shelf heights are adjustable. I was able to fit my Pioneer Elite receiver, cable box and wireless router in the middle and my 10'' Paradigm subwoofer in the right cabinet with the door off. 3) The shelf under the TV is 20'' deep and 54.5'' wide, plenty of space for a center channel speaker or a couple gaming systems. 4) The bracket that holds the TV is very easy to install and hang. It supports my heavy 42'' plasma so it should hold any LED or LCD TV. The bracket is mounted to two wooden posts and it is definitely sturdy, although when you are installing it, it may not seem like it! 5) I had to drill holes in the dividers between the cabinets and the middle opening in order to get wires to my receiver but that was easy and shouldn't be too hard for most. 6) The holes in the back for cable management are adequate, nothing earth-shattering to note there. 7) The wood is a really dark brown but you can tell that it is definitely brown, not black. For the money, this entertainment center is totally worth it. Looks great, even greater price.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BCRA15
Fairlawn, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 606 total reviews
1-20 of 606 reviews