Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 20 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

20 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

20 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

75%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
8
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
4
1-19 of 19 total reviews
75%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Operates as Promised
7/13/2012

Customer review by girardks

5.0 stars 7/13/2012 by girardks
by girardks

We purchased this model of unit in mid-May. After assembly and letting it sit for 24 hours, we turned it on. It has been on since then, about eight weeks, running almost 24 hours each day, seven days each week. Other than cleaning out the dust, which would have to be done with any air-conditioner, we have done no major maintenance to it. I would recommend this unit.

Was this review helpful? (29) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
girardks
Wichita, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
awesome
8/23/2012

Customer review by KenandNan

5.0 stars 8/23/2012 by KenandNan
by KenandNan

We only have 1 window in our bedroom and hated running an AC every night when the weather outside was nice, so we bought this portable AC so we could open the window and get fresh air. We watched the video first, so it explains alot and we knew how to set it up. When we first turned it on it was 89 in the bedroom, within 45 min the temp dropped to about 78, when we get up in the morning it gets down to 70 and very comfortable, on hot days I bring it into the dining room as we only have 1 window in there also. I love this AC. It is easy to roll from room to room, we are thinking of getting a second one next year for the living room to free up that window when the weather is nice. If you need an AC, this is the one to buy.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KenandNan
Manchester, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Works geat!!
8/26/2012

Customer review by Kool4now

5.0 stars 8/26/2012 by Kool4now
by Kool4now

I have a porch that I enclosed with windows. The air conditioner/heater works greats. I now have a four seasons room. This unit is better than a window unit; it does not hang out the window and it is quiet. 12000 BTU it the best bang for your buck.the comparable window unit is 8000 BTU.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kool4now
carrollton virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Suits our needs
9/1/2012

Customer review by ThoseDucks

4.0 stars 9/1/2012 by ThoseDucks
by ThoseDucks

My daughter and granddaughter live in a somewhat historical 100 year-old apartment (it has a functional ice-box). Understandably, the landlord does not care for the idea if A/C units hanging out the windows. This unit is very inobtrusive. These portable units don't seem to be as efficient as a window unit, though. By closing the doors to the kitchen and bedroom during the day it has been possible to keep the small living room very comfortable even during the recent days of 105 degrees in Southern California and it does a decent job for the whole apartment at night. The point is, try to get as many BTUs as you can afford. Also, keep the vent hose as short as possible (or think about wrapping it with insulation?) because it gets very warm and you don't want that heat returning to your room. it took 10-20 minutes to unpack it and set it up. It isn't very noisy.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ThoseDucks
Pomona, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Purchased for emergency heating and cooling.
9/24/2012

Customer review by Lakota007

4.0 stars 9/24/2012 by Lakota007
by Lakota007

The day that it arrived I unpackaged it and set it up in my room to ensure everything worked. A lot of people complain about the noise, but keep in mind that this is an Air Conditioner and if you stand outside next to your AC unit it is not quite. Really not noisy in my opinion as it compares to many blowers so completely met my expectations. Cooled off the Master Bedroom and Bath (Approx. 380 Sq Ft) by 4 degrees within 30 minutes. I then stoped it for a couple minutes to let it cycle down before starting the Heater. That one nearly had me calling the help line as it took approximately 10 minutes before it started. Maybe because it heated the coils before blowing, but once it was going it started to heat the room. In an emergency, this will really keep my little ladies cool or warm so this unit meets my expectation and once on whatever floor you will need it the wheels on it moves about fairly easy (even on carpet). The unit is a little heavy about 60 to 70 pounds so if not able to lift this much it may be hard for you to get around without assistance.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lakota007
Hampton, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
9/9/2012

Customer review by ped4jc

5.0 stars 9/9/2012 by ped4jc
by ped4jc

It works very well and cools most of our house down. The only thing I would complain about it the fan does not turn off. It has a thermostat you can set and the air kicks on and off but the fan runs constantly. It evaporates well, I have not had to dump it. The heater works but we have not had to use the heater yet. All in all I am pleased with it and my electric bill has actually lowered since we changed from a window unit to the 4 in one.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ped4jc
Cleveland, Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
9/2/2012

Customer review by wkndlvr99

5.0 stars 9/2/2012 by wkndlvr99
by wkndlvr99

I bought this Haier portable air conditioner as a replacement for a Haier portable air conditioner that I purchased from walmart.com several years ago. The new one was easier to install, and works better than the first one. Technology has come a long way! The price was better than any store or web site that I researched. I would highly reccomend this product to anyone needing a portable air conditioner.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wkndlvr99
Leesburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does the job.
8/15/2012

Customer review by Neeto

4.0 stars 8/15/2012 by Neeto
by Neeto

This product cools the area it was purchased to cool. This same area needs extra heat in the cold weather but I have not been able to try the heating capabilities as this summer has been too darned hot...but if it works as well heating as it does cooling it will be worth every penny spent and more!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Neeto
Manhattan, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Meets realistic expectations
9/7/2012

Customer review by Desert4Rat

4.0 stars 9/7/2012 by Desert4Rat
by Desert4Rat

This is the second Haier portable air conditioner I have purchased; the other one has worked fine in a 400 sq ft bedroom for two years. This one I have put in a vacation house. In the earlier installation I was able to vent the unit through an unused ceiling pipe intended for a wood stove. I used double-walled pipe intended for gas to connect to the unit, and insulated it heavily. The point is, the unit obviously kicks cold air out the front and hot air out the back. Those who complain the unit doesn't cool their room may not have taken sufficient care to vent the hot air to the outside. I was able to attach the new unit to an existing wall vent using the supplied tubing, again wrapping it heavily with insulation secured with duct tape, and keeping the run to a minimum length. The result seems satisfactory in pushing the hot air to the outside, and provides welcome relief in 106 degree heat.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Desert4Rat
Clearlake, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
4/26/2012

Customer review by RickWorman

3.0 stars 4/26/2012 by RickWorman
by RickWorman

Does a good job of keeping my room cool, the only problem is I haven't had time to figure out how to keep the display lights on.

Was this review helpful? (23) (36)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RickWorman
Medford, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Cools 400 sq. ft. in an hour
9/27/2012

Customer review by ddss46

5.0 stars 9/27/2012 by ddss46
by ddss46

We have had 2 previous portable AC units. They didn't get the job dome and they didn't last. This 12,000 BTU/hr unit cools our 400+ sq. ft. master bedroom suite in less than an hour in the daytime in Houston summer weather. We turn off the central AC at night and just use the Haier portable. It brings the temperature down to 74F in an hour or two and 73F by morning. We set the Haier at 66F so that it runs all night. Now that it is late September and the daytime highs are only 90F, we are setting the Haier at 71F and it runs only half the time, keeping the room at 74F. If we set the temperature any lower, the room gets too cold for us.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ddss46
Houston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Air Conditioning too Noisy
7/18/2012

Customer review by Gaberch

2.0 stars 7/18/2012 by Gaberch
by Gaberch

I purchased this unit with the intention to use it at night. This unit is too loud for me to go to sleep; therefore, it does not meet my expectations.

Was this review helpful? (7) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gaberch
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
9/15/2012

Customer review by debruby

1.0 stars 9/15/2012 by debruby
by debruby

This portable ac unit did not cool a 350 square foot room. I will be returning it as soon as I can get help to put it back in the box.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
debruby
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
7/12/2012

Customer review by 67lat80jam

1.0 stars 7/12/2012 by 67lat80jam
by 67lat80jam

I brough this unit on 11 July 2012. The instruction are incomplete on all operation of my unit. I have a knob on the back of my unit and the instruction book dose not address the operation of this knob. That make my instruction incomplete. The knob is next to the duct connection on the back of the unit. I would like to know its operation before i can put the unit in operation. Thanks Aaron

Was this review helpful? (8) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
67lat80jam
Clarksville, Tn.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Do Not Buy
8/31/2012

Customer review by Anderson123

1.0 stars 8/31/2012 by Anderson123
by Anderson123

We have a 10,000 btu unit by the same manufacturer that worked out so well, we wanted to get another one. We opted for a slightly bigger air conditioner/heater with the 12,000 btu unit. This was a huge mistake! This unit vibrates horribly, (even on a flat level surface), and makes so much noise I'm going to try to return it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Anderson123
Would recommend to a friend? No
11/30/2012

Customer review by JUST2COOL4NA

1.0 stars 11/30/2012 by JUST2COOL4NA
by JUST2COOL4NA

OVERPRICED. IT DIDN'T COOL MY 10 X 10 ROOM. IT WAS PROFESSIONALLY VENTILLATED.

Was this review helpful? (1) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JUST2COOL4NA
NEW YORK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very nice AC and Heating unit.
5/18/2013

Customer review by Aprat12

5.0 stars 5/18/2013 by Aprat12
by Aprat12

I bout this unit after mine busted in the middle of a heat wave last year. I was not sure about getting a heater/ac but I needed an ac and the price was right. Boy was I pleased. The ac worked amazing and get my room nice and cool for sure. This winter was a cold one and I was so glad to have the heater option too. I live in a house with central heat (no air) but the thermostat is downstairs and upstairs gets like an oven. So this unit was perfect! It is easy to use and set up and really does the job. Very happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Aprat12
San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
9/14/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 9/14/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have been using this machine for about a 3 weeks now and it works just fine. I have been utilizing the d-humidifier mode at night when I go to sleep and I wake up clear, not congested. The A/C is good and cold, I haven't used the heater yet, when I do I will update this review. For the price I paid with shipping it is a great bargain (shipping was only .$99) and it arrived way ahead of schedule.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Gladstone OR.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
10/4/2012

Customer review by Bholie

4.0 stars 10/4/2012 by Bholie
by Bholie

I bought it for 280 sq feet room it cold the area very slow it is good product over all the look and everything.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bholie
Sacramento
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days