Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 8 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

8 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

8 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

50%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
2
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
3
1-8 of 8 total reviews
50%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Buyer Beware
7/7/2012

Customer review by Ok2bout

1.0 stars 7/7/2012 by Ok2bout
by Ok2bout

I purchased the 14,000 BTU unit 2 years ago. This March (2012) we were having some hot days so I installed this unit in our master bedroom so we would not have to run our central air during the night. This unit performed well for 2 summers, but this year it ran for 2 days before failing. I contacted Haier to locate my local service center and took the unit in for service. The compressor along with 2 other internal parts needed replaced and were covered under the 5 years sealed unit warrany. This is where the horrible experience begins. The unit was dropped off a the repair center in March and as of July I am still awaiting a $10.00 part that continues to be backordered. I have made numerous calls to Haier demanding to speak to a supervisor and they will not let you do that. Everytime I called them the parts expected date to be in stock kept changing. At this rate it may be this fall/winter until the unit is repaired if that even happens since apparently Haier can just keep telling me the part is backordered and there is nothing I can do about it. Please read the numerous complaints that have been filed against Haier's customer service. Whats the use of getting a 5 year warranty if they can deliver the replacement parts. I purchased this unit for $479.99 and was required by the service center to dish out $250.00 in order for them to order the parts that continue to be backordered.

Was this review helpful? (70) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ok2bout
York, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Ineffective
5/29/2012

Customer review by Tybot

2.0 stars 5/29/2012 by Tybot
by Tybot

I bought this unit to cool a large living space (approximately 450sq') and have the option of moving to other rooms of the house as need-be. We have slider windows so our selection was limited. I have found that this unit is completely ineffective at cooling the larger space and even when moved to a small 12x12 bedroom the unit's performance is only average despite the 12,000 BTU rating. In my experience this unit is in no way comparable to a 12,000 BTU window unit. I will be returning it and replacing with a casement window unit. I would note recommend this unless you're putting in a room with zero options for a window unit, if so I wouldn't advise anything larger than 250sq'.

Was this review helpful? (41) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tybot
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Doesn't work well
6/25/2012

Customer review by magellica02

1.0 stars 6/25/2012 by magellica02
by magellica02

We bought the 14,000 BTU unit in this brand & style for one room upstairs. The review said that it would cool a 700 sq ft room. It doesn't. It looks nice and was easy installation, but we let it run for 2 days straight and the temp NEVER got below 78, therefore the thermostat never kicked off because it couldn't cool to the temperature that we wanted. We even tried using a ceiling fan & a floor fan to see if that would help circulate the air but alas, it still couldn't cool the room. All it really did was maintain a temperature about 8-10 degrees cooler then it was outside, but to us that was not cool. As a matter of fact, if you stand directly in front of it, it just feels like a really good fan. And yes, we double and triple checked to make sure we had the settings correct. It just isn't strong enough to cool the size room it was made for. Very disappointed, returning it to Wal-mart tomorrow.

Was this review helpful? (30) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
magellica02
Grayson, Ky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very Disappointing Performer
6/24/2012

Customer review by theairdog

1.0 stars 6/24/2012 by theairdog
by theairdog

I bought the 14,000 BTU version of this model which was supposed to cool up to 750 sq ft. (I see that model is no longer offered). The reality? It has trouble maintaining even a 25 degree difference between outside temperature in a 12x10 (120 sq ft) north facing bedrroom. On a 100 degree day, struggles to keep the bedroom at 75 degrees, and must run continually at high fan to do so. I don't know if this is a symptom of "portable" air conditioners in general, or just indicative of this brand, Haier, but I definitley feel that I did not recieve the value I wanted for the money paid (over $500). I paid top money to receive a performer, and did not recieve it.

Was this review helpful? (27) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
theairdog
Aurora, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
AWESOME!! <3 <3 <3 <3
3/5/2013

Customer review by Ranbreaux

5.0 stars 3/5/2013 by Ranbreaux
by Ranbreaux

Why people are reviewing the 14,000 BTU model when this IS the 12,000 BTU model is BEYOND me! I bought the 12,000 BTU MODEL (this one) and it meets my every expectation with an A+! The unit is not louder than you would expect from a 12,000 BTU A/C. I use it to cool 2 bedrooms and it does the job, EXCELLENT.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ranbreaux
Cleveland, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Dogs are loving this air conditioner
6/22/2012

Customer review by K9Kris

4.0 stars 6/22/2012 by K9Kris
by K9Kris

I wanted a portable air conditioner that could handle a medium to large room. This air conditioner handled the job. I loved the simple setup and it was easy to get working as soon as I got home with a simple slide to stick in the window. I could still have my screens in with this unit, so less bugs in the house!!:) This unit seemed slightly slower to bring the temp down, but once it got rolling it kept up well. I like that it has a remote and blue LED displaying the current temp. The dogs are loving it because it is on their level and they can stand in front of it too cool off. There is an adjustible vent flap at the top that directs the air at different angles. This unit kept my living room, my kitchen and even cooled off my bedroom some. The biggest disappointment was the PRICE....a little pricey compared to the window unit. I would still go back and buy a smaller size one for my bedroom. No more fighting to carry window units for me. This unit is getting rolled into a closet during the winter. I like that it has a dehumidifier in it too.

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
K9Kris
Port Matilda, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Just what I needed
10/31/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 10/31/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this unit at the local Walmart following Hurricane Isaac to use in the dehumidifier mode first, then the AC mode. We removed the sheetrock and insulation exposing the studs which had 7" of water during the storm. It was easy to install and dried out my 2-car garage. We ran it around the clock for weeks and the garage cooled tolerably well in the Louisiana summer. The homeowners association does not allow window units so this was the perfect solution because no parts extend outside beyond the window screen.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Southeast Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I love this
7/24/2013

Customer review by MetalMaiden11

5.0 stars 7/24/2013 by MetalMaiden11
by MetalMaiden11

It works great in my bedroom. My bedroom is usually 15 degrees hotter than my living room. So far, I only run this at night because I can't stand sleeping in hot weather. Even with my bedroom door cracked open so my pets can still eat and drink, my room still stays cold. I would recommend this product to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MetalMaiden11
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.