Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 14 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

14 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

14 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
2
1-14 of 14 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Remington 770 308 win
9/9/2016

Customer review by Tobyboy50

5.0 stars 9/9/2016 by Tobyboy50
by Tobyboy50

I just bought a Remington 770 308 win Sept 3rd 2016 the price was nice. The reviews on this rifle was not so good one problem was the bolt action was not smooth and sticking so I fixed that I clean of the oil they put on the rifle when they ship it so it wouldn't rust after that I got a artist paint brush (medium tip) got some STP oil treatment and brushed some on the bolt very light coating MAN the bolt is so slick and moves so easy its like a had a $700 rifle the clip isn't the best but go on You Tube and the video shows how to fix the problem on the mag. So for the price its well worth the money So don't believe what you read about the Remington 770 308 is a e good rifle!!!

Was this review helpful? (68) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tobyboy50
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good, low budget, starter package w/ quality issue
1/26/2012

Customer review by SmArmsExpert

3.0 stars 1/26/2012 by SmArmsExpert
by SmArmsExpert

My prior experience with Reminton arms has always been good. Remington makes some of the best shooting rifles. The Remington 770 was there venture to provide a low cost hunting rifle to a demographic of new hunters or shooters. They hit the mark as far as providing a low cost, accurate rifle. However, Remington seems to have sacrificed on the quality standard to make this mark. The scope is a modest beginner and was very close to dialed in out of the box. With a little tweaking, it was dead on at 100 yards. Shot after shot grouped in at about 2 and a half inches. (It could be tighter with a little work, probably on my part.) The dissappointing part...the bolt. There is an incredible ammount of friction in this bolt assembly. The bolt doesn't seat very securely and has a tendency to ratchet when ejecting and seating. This can be reduced with liberal ammounts of oil and a steady hand, but don't get in a hurry to get off a second shot. The feed from the magwell is pretty rough and takes a little force to seat in the next round. I'm not sure what is causing this problem...the mag or the bolt dragging. In short, if you're looking for a cheap hunting rifle package...you should be happy with this. If you love to shoot fine firearms...well, you get what you pay for, duh.

Was this review helpful? (145) (36)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SmArmsExpert
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Awesome Rifle
10/2/2012

Customer review by SmeleeHunter

5.0 stars 10/2/2012 by SmeleeHunter
by SmeleeHunter

I have owned and operated a number of rifles, shotguns, and exotic firearms and this is a very good quality rifle...The bolt was a little rough and stiff at first but using and breaking in and few lubes later very smooth and reliable, I've claimed 20 coyotes, 5 bears, 5 whitetail, and 3 moose with this rifle. while not completely zero'd it was pretty close right out of the box 1 hour at the range and it was sighted in optics very reliable I love bushnell. This package I recomend to all ranges of hunters from those starting out to the most seasoned and experienced....HAPPY HUNTING YALL!!

Was this review helpful? (117) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SmeleeHunter
Rogers, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Rifle for a great price
1/20/2012

Customer review by Armysniper

5.0 stars 1/20/2012 by Armysniper
by Armysniper

I bought a Rem 770 the other day at Walmart. I was not real sure about the scope but it works great its a Bushnell product. I bore sighted it and went to the range yesterday. at 100 yrds 4 shots touching each other in the bullseye. I have fired alot of weapons but this 308 is great. If you are looking for a great all around Rifle this is it. I shot through a tree and still hit a target.

Was this review helpful? (202) (50)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Armysniper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Disregard the negativity
1/19/2013

Customer review by jrhodes97

5.0 stars 1/19/2013 by jrhodes97
by jrhodes97

The Remington 770, I bought my son, right out the box, 9 rounds to zero. gave the rifle to him, he shot 3 rounds touching each other at 100 Yards. Today is the first time that he has ever "seriously" shot. usually just plinks with the .22. If you are looking for an affordable rifle, that is reliable, or first timers hunting rifle, I would recommend it. the "sticky" in the bolt can be gotten rid of by simply removing the bolt, and applying some elbow grease, and Hoppes.

Was this review helpful? (43) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jrhodes97
Milford,OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
I own the 30-06 and the .270 calibers
5/23/2016

Customer review by JReynolds78

5.0 stars 5/23/2016 by JReynolds78
by JReynolds78

I own two model 770s. The 30-06 and the .270 both have served well for over 5 years. Sure it's not as smooth as a $1000 rifle but it's not intended to be. A great bush gun that I can not worry about scratches or weather. Admit it guys.. you'll scratch that beloved rifle every time you turn around. I am glad they made a wear me out throw away rifle that shoots very well.

Was this review helpful? (40) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JReynolds78
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great .308 rifle for youth
10/29/2012

Customer review by TennesseeDad510

5.0 stars 10/29/2012 by TennesseeDad510
by TennesseeDad510

Bought this gun in .308 for my 11 yr old son. Takes a little fine tuning out of box to zero in the scope. Recoil is comparable to .410 shotgun when using 150 gr. ammo in the rifle. Youth in the 10 yr old and up range should be able to handle this rifle fine when shooting from a blind with a rail or other type prop. The bolt is not smooth but working it and applying oil will definitely help this out and improve the action on the rifle. My son got his first deer with this gun and made a beautiful shot from about 65 yards. Well worth the money and will last them for years.

Was this review helpful? (59) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TennesseeDad510
West Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Almost perfect
12/24/2013

Customer review by Larry496

4.0 stars 12/24/2013 by Larry496
by Larry496

Like others I also had sticky/stiff bolt issues. What I did was used some 1500 grit wet/dry sandpaper available at any auto parts store and used it with Remington gun oil to polish up the bolt. Took about 30 min or so and now it cycles as smooth as a hot knife thru butter. Why Remington never added that polishing step in their machining process I dont know, would have only added a few min per batch of bolts in a tumbler. If not for that I'd have rated it a solid 5 as the rifle shoots super accurate if you miss your shot with it it's all on you not the rifle. I plan on getting another one in a 30.06

Was this review helpful? (40) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Larry496
Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Out-the box satisfaction
11/11/2012

Customer review by GMack27377

4.0 stars 11/11/2012 by GMack27377
by GMack27377

Purchased one 11//9/12. License 11/9/12. First time hunter. Clean wiped bolt and bolt slide area. Tested slide action repeatedly for 5 minutes. Got up the next morning to go with friends for opening day of deer season here in NC. Test fired my new, out the box rifle against small 2-cycle oil container (4.5" tall) at 60 yards. Out-the-box... aimed for screw top... hit screw top on first shot. Sights factory bored-in. I am not an advid hunter, gun enthusiast or end-of-the-world guy. No kill on day, but after 10 rounds and 8/10 on-point hits between me and 2 other true marksmen in our group, all of us were impressed. G Mack

Was this review helpful? (40) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GMack27377
Greensboro, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
good first big bore rifle
1/3/2013

Customer review by stikmann

5.0 stars 1/3/2013 by stikmann
by stikmann

was looking for a .308 rifle due to military experience. I knew of Remington's reputation.couldn't quite afford a model 700. Purchased the model 770 in .308. I am not sorry that I did. The rifle does everything that I ask of it. As with all new rifles, make sure you break the barrel in properly.

Was this review helpful? (42) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
stikmann
iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Great Starter Gun
5/26/2014

Customer review by Kycruiser1

5.0 stars 5/26/2014 by Kycruiser1
by Kycruiser1

The model 770 is a great gun with a great price. It was not meant to take over the market but an entry level shooting experience. The only problem I found with the gun is what most others have found and that is the bolt action. This was remedied on my gun simply by a good cleaning and using a good gun oil. Many like to down the gun but this is most likely due to their inexperience with weapons. If you want to start out with the top of the line go with the model 700 but expect to pay much more for the gun.

Was this review helpful? (30) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kycruiser1
Middlesboro, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
9/17/2012

Customer review by AverageHunter

1.0 stars 9/17/2012 by AverageHunter
by AverageHunter

If you are looking for an economicaly priced gun buy a Savage or Marlin, I recently bought this gun just because it had the Remington name and was expecting to get a quality product, boy was I wrong. The bolt works very rough and the magazine is hard to insert. After deciding to trade the 770, several dealers would not even talk about trading this gun. I did manage to trade up but took a big loss.

Was this review helpful? (41) (51)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AverageHunter
WV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Don't waste your money!!!!
4/28/2013

Customer review by livingwithRob

1.0 stars 4/28/2013 by livingwithRob
by livingwithRob

Bought this rifle for my son last month in 30-06. Took the rifle out to the range for sighting today and discovered how badly built this Remington 770 is! I am a former competetion shooter and have owned a Remington 700 (Fine rifle) for over two decades. Very disappointed that Remington would sell a rifle with the low quality bolt and milling as I currently find in the 770. I will be returning this junk to Remington and will pay the difference to get a model 700. I recommend that you skip the 770 and pony up a few more dollars and get a 700, you will be pleased.

Was this review helpful? (23) (40)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
livingwithRob
Southwest Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Do not buy.
5/15/2013

Customer review by LoveMyWifeAndBoys

2.0 stars 5/15/2013 by LoveMyWifeAndBoys
by LoveMyWifeAndBoys

Pros: Out of the box you can shoot .308 with a very inexpensive rifle. If you are going hunting this is a very good first gun Cons: The scope is garbage. The front sling mount will break if you attempt to affix a bipod. The bolt is not smooth at all. The stock can basically never be replaced (without contacting Remington and they will likely want almost half what you paid for the gun as payment). In short, do not buy this gun. Save your pennies and buy the much more reliable Remington 700.

Was this review helpful? (27) (50)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LoveMyWifeAndBoys
Springfield, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month