Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 22 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

22 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

22 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
16
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
4
1-20 of 22 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 22 total reviews
1-20 of 22 reviews
Looking for A Specialty Rods
6/11/2016

Customer review by Jig fishin

5.0 stars 6/11/2016 by Jig fishin
by Jig fishin
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was searching the internet for a good dock shooting rod and checked out many rods that were available. I even went to the local sports stores that carried all types of rods as well. None had the lengths nor the exact specs that I was searching for until I came across the Micro rods that Shakespeare had. After much thinking about the right specs I was looking for, I went ahead and ordered both the 5'-6" length and the 6'-6" for an upcoming trip. When they came in and I tested them out in the driveway with shooting a 1/16 oz jig into a 5 gallon bucket from 30" away. I was amazed at the loading power and ease both rods did the job. Today almost 10 days now after receiving the rods, I went on my fishing trip and tested both rods out. They passed the test with flying colors and would recommend these to everyone. For the price, you cannot beat them.

Jig fishin
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very LITE
6/15/2016

Customer review by Carcias

5.0 stars 6/15/2016 by Carcias
by Carcias
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great for all day fishing.VERY, VERY, VERY, VERY, LITE.LITE.

Carcias
Flint, Mich.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Will buy again! Great experience!
6/10/2016

Customer review by Levimh1

5.0 stars 6/10/2016 by Levimh1
by Levimh1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased the micro series 7ft ultralight about 2 weeks ago. I am very happy with the sensitivity and build quality of this rod! Shipping was very fast and it was packaged extremely well! Thanks Shakespeare

Levimh1
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
not happy
6/5/2016

Customer review by ron69

1.0 stars 6/5/2016 by ron69
by ron69

bought less than a month ago, made four or five cast, caught a small bass and while trying to land upper end of rod broke. not happy with quality.

ron69
krum, tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Great rod for the price.
5/12/2016

Customer review by Hapoycampur

5.0 stars 5/12/2016 by Hapoycampur
by Hapoycampur

I've fished this rod line for over two years I have four different ones. I've never had an issue with them; two I use for the rivers, one for the lakes, and ones a fly rod, all good. I recommend these rods they have great parabolic capabilities and are a fun to catch fish on. I've only had one break and that's because it didn't like my truck's door being closed on it.

Hapoycampur
Bakersfield, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
This rod lands them all!
8/11/2015

Customer review by Revilo

5.0 stars 8/11/2015 by Revilo
by Revilo

I can't say enough about the great qualities of this low-priced ultra-light. It has great sensitivity and a fast action that lets you feel and set the hook on the lightest of bites. It's my son's favorite rod, and for good reason. While he usually uses it for pan fish, bass, and trout in our local ponds and streams, last fall he took it along when we visited family on Hilton Head Island, South Carolina. The Micro gave a great performance handling 10"-14" sea trout, but that was nothing compared to the 27" red drum that my son also landed. I've never seen a rod bend the way it did with that fish, and I was sure it was going to snap, but it held true and wore that fish down. Some other reviews have mentioned that the tip of this rod it too flimsy and breaks easily. I agree with this; I've had to re-pair the tip or replace the rod three times. However, each issue stemmed from careless handling of the rod, not a flaw in the design. Be careful with your gear and manage your drag wisely, and you'll land scores of keepers with the Micro all season long!

Revilo
Lynchburg, VA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
incredible product
5/4/2016

Customer review by stingey steve

5.0 stars 5/4/2016 by stingey steve
by stingey steve

I have many ugly stiks in my arsenal but I bought a 4' ultra light rod about three years ago and have landed everything from tiny sunfish in michigans upper peninsula to a 95 lb bull shark on the gulf coast of florida with it and I'd have to say the men and women behind ugly stiks are doing a great job keeping durability and reliability in check.

stingey steve
Mt Clemens, MI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Received free product:Yes
Saw it and grabbed it!
5/5/2016

Customer review by BradinAriz

5.0 stars 5/5/2016 by BradinAriz
by BradinAriz

Saw this rod at a larger retailer and the price was right! I've been using it now for a few months and it casts great, light but not too light. Shakespear make good products for reasonable prices. Good job!

BradinAriz
Mesa, AZ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Shakespear micro fishing rod
4/3/2016

Customer review by Gulfstreamgary

5.0 stars 4/3/2016 by Gulfstreamgary
by Gulfstreamgary
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Perfect for the 2-3 lb bass in my lake. Too bad it wasn't made in the US !

Gulfstreamgary
Akron, Ohio, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It broke very easy
3/29/2016

Customer review by Deer_hunter_3333

1.0 stars 3/29/2016 by Deer_hunter_3333
by Deer_hunter_3333

It broke before i got to even go fishing with it. It is a nice looking rod it just needs to be a lot more durable. Also i will not be buying another one of the rods.

Deer_hunter_3333
Gastonia, NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Some of the best rods I've ever owned
1/8/2016

Customer review by Wulfman

5.0 stars 1/8/2016 by Wulfman
by Wulfman

I own 10 of the "Micro Graphite" Spinning (previous model) and 2 of the "Micro Series" Spinning (current model) rods (all 7-foot versions) and they're some of the best rods I've ever owned. They're perfect for trout fishing. You can feel anything that goes for your bait.......great sensitivity. I like the length of the fore-grip and the shape and length of the rear grip. I like the reel seats, guides, everything. Not only do they have superb handling characteristics, but they're very affordable. You can buy many of these rods for what other higher-priced rods sell for. And, they're extremely durable. I just can't say enough about how much I love these rods.

Wulfman
N.W. Wyoming
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Received free product:Yes
Wonderful Ultralight Rod!
10/19/2015

Customer review by Spindaddy

5.0 stars 10/19/2015 by Spindaddy
by Spindaddy

I'm impressed! My little 5 ft rod has exceeded my expectations...it'll launch lures as light as 1/32 oz and handle the occasional 4 lb bass or 4 lb catfish that decides to hit those little lures! I married my rod to a Shimano Sienna (size 500)...and it is a nice light rig. It's also an attractive rod. The blank is not shiny (to prevent spooking fish) and the line guides are sleek and uncluttered. I may purchase another rod from this series, should they discontinue the series. I have owned other Shakespeare spinning rods, but I believe they have improved the quality with this series. My gratitude to Shakespeare for producing quality products that have enhanced my angling experiences!

Spindaddy
eastern North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Very good rod
1/8/2016

Customer review by John46

4.0 stars 1/8/2016 by John46
by John46

I bought my 4'6" ultra light action Micro Series spinning rod 3 years ago and have caught trout and small mouth bass on it. It is my go to rod for trout using all kind of bait. It has never left me down.

John46
Lancaster County, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Received free product:Yes
Great 7-foot Micro Rod
12/4/2015

Customer review by lobear00

5.0 stars 12/4/2015 by lobear00
by lobear00

I purchased this rod in August and last month I was catching 3-4 lb Northern Pike from fishing pier with the water being cold the Northerns are running slower. Using 4-lb test line with a 20-lb braid leader the rod is handling the fish very well.

lobear00
Shoreview, MN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
These rods are AMAZING.
6/8/2015

Customer review by RoswellDude88

5.0 stars 6/8/2015 by RoswellDude88
by RoswellDude88

These rods are amazing when used in combination with the smallest size open face reel you can buy. I use 4 pound test mono and am capable of catching everything from 2 inch long fish to 5 pound largemouth bass. The ONLY downside of these rods is because they are so incredibly sensitive that they are also in quite fragile. I have broken the tip off of my first 7.6 ultralight and a friend of mine broke the tip off of my other 7.6 ultralight. But if you are careful with your rod it will amaze you every time you take it out.

RoswellDude88
Pittsboro, NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Weak tips
9/9/2015

Customer review by Thisasianguy32

1.0 stars 9/9/2015 by Thisasianguy32
by Thisasianguy32

This rod is garbage,the rod tip broke to a small blue gill while taking the family out fishing. I use the bottom half as a homemade fly swapper now because i lost the receipt. My family like using the rod swapper allot i guess it serve its purpose well. Any way i do own the older version rod and i got to say they are 10 times better.

Thisasianguy32
Fresno, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
9/21/2015

Customer review by Karlowich

5.0 stars 9/21/2015 by Karlowich
by Karlowich
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The best spinning rod for midle size fish I ever had

Karlowich
Stamford, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Too flimsy--don't buy!
6/24/2015

Customer review by gam231300

1.0 stars 6/24/2015 by gam231300
by gam231300
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I put 4lb test on this rod. First time out, got it caught on a branch. The rod snapped in half. The line was fine.

gam231300
East Troy, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love the rod but!
4/27/2015

Customer review by Walleyeman

4.0 stars 4/27/2015 by Walleyeman
by Walleyeman
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

bought two rods love the action 8 inch gills feel like monsters but one rod came without ceramic insert in tip contacting customer service to see what to do so make sure you inspect before hitting the water.

Walleyeman
Wisconsin, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Micro graphite fishing rod
12/18/2012

Customer review by NautiBuoys

5.0 stars 12/18/2012 by NautiBuoys
by NautiBuoys

Bought a pair of the 6' 6" rods for the kids; ended up buying a few more and even a 5 1/2' as they are surprising very good. Cast great, handle fish well and are durable for little money-something I did not think was possible.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NautiBuoys
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 22 total reviews
1-20 of 22 reviews