Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 64 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

64 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

64 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

70%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
28
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 stars
18
1-20 of 51 total reviews
70%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 51 total reviews
1-20 of 51 reviews
Great price for a good TV
5/4/2013

Customer review by RJG1985

5.0 stars 5/4/2013 by RJG1985
by RJG1985

I bought my first Sanyo, a 47" LCD 1080i, in 2007 and at first we thought it was going bad but found out it was actually the cable itslef pixelating. This was our living room TV up until recently because we upgraded to the new Sanyo 55" LCD 1080i HD model. Both my kids have the 32" 720p in their rooms, one being 2yrs old the other a week so they are a little different, one a little more upgraded but both are great. The one thing I can't stand is the remotes look like they light up or glow but the don't! My 55" is actually has all black and grey buttons while two others have the big bulky square remote and the newest 32" has a nice little one. Other then that I have had no issues with any of these units and refuse to pay more for a bigger name brand just because it may have a few extra features. These sets always go on sale at Walmart and that's when I get them. If your looking for something nice, simple and reliable this brands for you.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RJG1985
Naples FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Did not work at all
12/22/2011

Customer review by Prithis

1.0 stars 12/22/2011 by Prithis
by Prithis

I purchased this 46' Sanyo TV from walmart.com as it was only $549, and I thought it was a great price. The unit arrived on time. I took it out of the box and started setting it up. The first thing I noticed that the setup screens did not work. The cursor had a mind of its own and would not obey the commands issued through the remote control. The cursor kept scrolling across the screens and it was impossible trying to get it to Auto program. I called Sanyo tech support. The guy on the phone was clueless. He was reading out from the manual which I already had. He then escalated the issue and said that I would get a call back in 24 hours. I never did. After a day I called back. The agent (a different one) tried to do some troubleshooting, which never worked, as the cursor did not obey any commands from the remote. He told me that he would escalate it further. I told him to forget it. I re-packed the TV and returned it to my local Walmart store for a refund. I then purchased a Sony 46' TV, and it worked right out of the box.

Was this review helpful? (92) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Prithis
Bolingbrook, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
I won't do it again!
7/20/2012

Customer review by Boomish

2.0 stars 7/20/2012 by Boomish
by Boomish

This television worked well out of the box. I followed the directions and was happy with our purchase even though the picture left a bit to be desired. 7 days later the television stopped connecting to the internet. That's the good part! I contacted Sanyo help/service. In fact I've contact 3 times in the last 5 days. I'm told I need to be contacted by their "level 3 tech", and that I "would be contacted the next day, within the next 24-48 hours". That of course makes no sense. Still no contact, no reason for no contact except "they are analyzing my problem", how I'm not sure, since no one has contacted me to troubleshoot the problem. The product is sub-standard and the technical service is the absolute worst. I'll never buy another Sanyo product. Anyone can produce a lemon. Also, anyone can tell the truth and offer truthful answers to customer's questions. Off to my nearest Wal-mart store to return tomorrow and try another product line!

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Boomish
Columbia, MO.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good TV for the price,Great TV if all optons work!
1/10/2012

Customer review by Mrhighdef

4.0 stars 1/10/2012 by Mrhighdef
by Mrhighdef

I had to do an in store comparison on the 42” model because the 46" was not in stock in the store and I ordered on line. The picture is good, sound is great but there is a slight delay in remote response & the usb ports are a bit tight to plug into. I received the TV a week ago and was excited about the wireless internet feature and viewing videos through the usb with the intentions of streaming Netflix and watching movies stored directly on a flash drive. (the main reason I choose this model) Unfortunately the TV will pick up my wireless signal but won’t connect, and I can view pics but videos or movies will show in the folder but will not play. I called customer service a day later & he was no help and said he would pass it on to upper management, who called 2 days later @ 9am while I’m @ work no where near the TV & told me they would call in the evening, still waiting. Bottom line, good TV bad customer service.

Was this review helpful? (35) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mrhighdef
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent tv!!
1/6/2013

Customer review by leopard889

5.0 stars 1/6/2013 by leopard889
by leopard889

I was almost afraid to order this because of the bad reviews. But the price was so good and I have waited so long for the prices to come down on the big tvs that I had to try it. I don't know if the other people had a different tv or what. But this tv is perfect. My other one is a Samsung 1080p 120mhz. I can see no difference in the quality of the picture and that one cost me 1500 dollars several years back. You would never know this had been refurbished, whatever that means. It comes like new out of the box. It is easy to set up and if not you can call Sanyo customer service and they will help you. I had a few questions and they were very nice. Make sure you point the remote at the lower left hand corner of the tv where the green light is. You can't do wrong with this tv, similar models are from 700 to 1000. I think Wal mart has a great price and a great sale in this tv and I am very glad I got it for myself for Christmas. Bring on the super bowl! Yes it is great for watching football on!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
leopard889
Arlington, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
WARNING: DO NOT BUY
7/1/2012

Customer review by Cornmom2010

1.0 stars 7/1/2012 by Cornmom2010
by Cornmom2010

This product is junk! I purchased it from Wal-Mart is Feburary 2011 it was just over $700. Just over a year later the sound started increasing and decreasing unvoluntarily! Then, it started turning on and off on its own. These problems were inconvient but they soon subsided. We couldn't take it back because the warrenty was up and it was past Wal-Marts 30 day policy! Just resently, the screen started skipping; like you were channel surfing. The only difference is that it was staying on the same channel! After about 15 minutes that picture finally came in normal. The real problem is that the only button on the TV/remote that works is the on/off! Now, when you turnt the TV on, it just a black screen!!! It is not even two years old yet!! Save your money and buy a different brand!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (27) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cornmom2010
Centeral, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent TV
12/24/2012

Customer review by TomJulie

5.0 stars 12/24/2012 by TomJulie
by TomJulie

Picture quality...The picture on our 46" Sanyo is top notch. The eyes of my wife and I couldn't detect any noticeable difference between the under $500 Sanyo and the much more expensive Sony's, LG's and Samsung's, and we looked hard at all of them. Weight...For a 46" it's very light weight. I was expecting a wrestling match bringing the 46" inside our home. But, my wife and I had no trouble at all manhandling it from the bed of our pick-up to the bedroom. The stand...The 1 piece stand is solid plastic but works like a champ. Set the stand on the floor and slowly drop the TV on. Then, connect the 4 supplied screws and it becomes as solid as a rock. If you think setting the TV on the stand is hard, you're wrong. Piece of cake. Sound...I seen a few reviews saying the sound wasn't good. Well, I guess those reviewers have a different Sanyo 46" TV then what we purchased. The sound on ours is every bit as good as our $2,050 Samsung in our living room. I have no reservations at all giving this TV a 5 star.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TomJulie
Wichita Falls, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/29/2011

Customer review by DrVoorhees

5.0 stars 12/29/2011 by DrVoorhees
by DrVoorhees

After searching for the right price for a flat screen with all the bells and whistles that I wanted, I found this TV. It is great! It comes with the stand, a wireless USB connector and I after a 15 minute easy set up, the TV found all all Digital and Anolog TV stations. A few minutes later I had activated my netflix account with the TV to watch Netflix online! Overall, I am very pleased with this TV. You can not beat it for the price!

Was this review helpful? (57) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DrVoorhees
Scottsdale, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Just bought this t.v last night
10/5/2012

Customer review by DisappointedwithTV

1.0 stars 10/5/2012 by DisappointedwithTV
by DisappointedwithTV

I was reading reviews and most of them were positive and troubles only seemed to be with the remote. Unfortunately I was disappointed as soon as we set it up. The picture is blurry and we even played with all the settings and it still didn't meet our expectations. The sound is just not very good. It sounds like someone talking through a small tunnel. The only positive thing is we only paid 478.00 but overall I would rather spend that extra $100.00 on a t.v that meets my expectations. So if you are looking into buying this t.v I would really weigh the pros and cons. Do you want to wait to buy a new one or can you get over the low quality of the sound and picture? I am about to return it right now after less than 12hours of buying it. A waste of time really.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DisappointedwithTV
South Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
didn't last
7/21/2012

Customer review by iwillnotuseanickname

1.0 stars 7/21/2012 by iwillnotuseanickname
by iwillnotuseanickname

I was thrilled with this tv for months, but now I get black strilps that extend from the right of the screen sometimes. Other times I have a strip about 6 inches wide that has a 'snow' effect overlaying the photo on that side. These 2 problems started in the last month. At first, when the tv had been on for a half hour or more, then the picture returned to normal. Now the right side is messed up all the time. I did not get the tv on sale, and got it when it first came out so I paid $1000 (Ouch) and now I have to replace it..would NOT recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
iwillnotuseanickname
El Cajon, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Would definately not recommend
3/21/2012

Customer review by Louisianamommaof2

1.0 stars 3/21/2012 by Louisianamommaof2
by Louisianamommaof2

Bought this TV two years ago and it is now history, picture started going dark on one side and eventually covered the whole screen. Took it to a repairman and he said it can't be fixed. I apparently I got one with a bad screen and there is nothing to do but trash it. The sound was never good on it. I think a TV this size and price should last longer than two years!!

Was this review helpful? (53) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Louisianamommaof2
Would recommend to a friend? No
It is JUNK!!! Buyer Beware!
9/17/2012

Customer review by belle4350

1.0 stars 9/17/2012 by belle4350
by belle4350

I bought this TV Feb 2011 right after the 1 yr was up. It started turning off by it's self while watching netflix or a dvd. Called Sanyo and was told to do lots of things!! Nothing has helped Tv is still turning off, I did a internet search & found this web site. www.consumeraffairs.com found 345 complaints about these Sanyo Tv bought from Walmart & Sanyo isnt helping at all to fix them and parts for them running months!! on waiting for them & 100's of dollars to fix!! LOVED it at 1st now it is just a waste of money!! I dont have the money for a new one. Wish I would of seen the reveiws from internet sooner :( should of lasted more than 14 months extended wartenty dosnt help when you have to wait MONTHS for it to be fixed

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
belle4350
Jackson TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
DO NOT BUY
8/25/2012

Customer review by jman1561

1.0 stars 8/25/2012 by jman1561
by jman1561

I purchased this product in December 2010. In June of 2011 it started randomly turning off. Prior to this point it had worked flawlessly and I was extremely pleased with my purchase. But, the issue persisted. In particular it increased in frequency when using Xbox 360. Now, if you are playing Xbox, it will turn off within two minutes. Researching issues I found out that it is a design flaw in Sanyo televisions with the control board. I contacted Sanyo and the first question they asked was if I purchased the extended warranty. Of course I didn't. I expected the television to last longer than 19 months. To my dismay I was told the television would need to be repaired, that I would be responsible for the repair, and the nearest Sanyo repair location was 110 miles from my residence. Are you kidding me!? I called the repair shop and got the scoop. It was just as the other complaints had detailed the part was a design flaw and necessitated replacement at a cost of $637! That's almost what I paid for the television! Now I'm stuck with a TV that less than two years old that can't be watched and costs more to fix than what a new one would cost. I will NEVER purchase another Sanyo product!! I would advise you to do the same.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jman1561
Stephenville, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
best tv i have ever owned
7/18/2012

Customer review by yorric

5.0 stars 7/18/2012 by yorric
by yorric

Picture quality is incredible, HD is sparkling clear...awesome. Called support at Sanyo to help with setup, knew it would be easier than bumbling through myself...answered promptly from service center in America (CA), was extremely helpful and patient, and walked me through everything. NICE to have internet capable and ready with included dongle, not having to have another piece of equipment simply to stream video is great, and added to the value! Has been a joy to watch. I have another HD tv, but this picture is incomparable. Before, I could see a difference and begrudgingly paid for HD service, but with this TV, I would never give HD up unless I absolutely had to. Can't wait to watch the upcoming Olympics on this tv.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
yorric
greeneville, tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Don't buy Sanyo products!!
2/23/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 2/23/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought a 47' Sanyo and it was doing good up until it hit its 2 year mark. The screen started having black and white lines on one side, now half of the screen flickers black. I emailed Sanyo Costumer Service and it was the worst Comstumer Service ever. Never apologized for their product failing me after only 2 years. Their emails back were literally only 5 words. After complaining again with bad Costumer Service they sent another email with a repair guys number, I called the guy and the guy told me to fix it would cost more than the tv itself, that it was best to buy another. I was so furious I contacted Sanyo again. This time my email was sent to the main headquarters and they DENIED me any extended warrenty for the tv. A manager called me and basically told me there was nothing they could do. So there goes money down the drain!! If you don't feel like replacing tvs every 2 years, I suggest not buy Sanyo!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great TV
1/4/2012

Customer review by wfdgr

5.0 stars 1/4/2012 by wfdgr
by wfdgr

Bout this tv just before Christmas. Easy to set up straight out of the box. Within minutes had the channel search done, netflix set up, and was watching some college football. This makes a great TV, and the prices makes it even better.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wfdgr
West Frankfort, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I would not buy Sanyo again.
2/26/2013

Customer review by MissouriWalMart

1.0 stars 2/26/2013 by MissouriWalMart
by MissouriWalMart

I rarely leave reviews unless I rave positively about something, but this is an exception. We bought two Sanyo televisions one smaller for a backroom and a larger 46 inch for the living room. Quickly after the warranty was out it began to go dark on one side and lines would appear across the top. It would go away after the set was on for a while so I thought well we can live with that, but it rapidly declined into being an unwatchable set. Living in a more rural area I don't have access to a lot of television repair options and from reading on the web many of these televisions did this (Sanyo should have recalled them and still should) and it would cost around the same price as just buying a new one. This is totally unacceptable. I don't expect for something like this to be as disposable as they've made it to be. Very disappointed in this product.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MissouriWalMart
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great buy for the price.
8/21/2013

Customer review by fatbuck

5.0 stars 8/21/2013 by fatbuck
by fatbuck

I had read some reviews on this site before buying this TV, and a few mentioned that the TV basically stopped working (picture cut out, etc.) within a year. So I wanted to wait at least a year to leave a review. It has been a year and a half, and we're still very happy with this TV. The best part was the price, of course, but it has a lot of funtionality (Netflix has become our primary means of TV entertainment). The picture is pretty good, not outstanding (there is some pixelation in dark / nighttime scenes, especially with a cable input) but as I say in the summary, great for the price. The picture is best for digital inputs, like Netflix, DVD players, or game consoles. I'm not a surround sound expert, but I haven't had any complaints with the sound. It has a good number of various inputs (AV, HD, HDMI, etc) and I've never run out of inputs for the number of external components I want to use. It has a VUDU application as well, which could be convenient, but we've never used it. If you're on a budget and looking for a good internet-capable TV I would recommend this Sanyo.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fatbuck
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
For the money its a great buy
12/30/2011

Customer review by Allforchrist

4.0 stars 12/30/2011 by Allforchrist
by Allforchrist

I bought this tv a few weeks before christmas, and i will have to say the picture is even better than i expected, i am very satisfied and im thinking about buying the 42" for my music room

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Allforchrist
28529
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Highly Recommended
10/24/2012

Customer review by RingoBonzai2001

5.0 stars 10/24/2012 by RingoBonzai2001
by RingoBonzai2001

This is my first +42" flat screen and I am very pleased. I have waited 90 days since I purchased it to write a review, just to make sure that all was good. To date, it is excellent. Setup after hooking up the cables was seamless. In fact, the default settings are pretty good. You can tweak them if you like, but you don't have to. The picture was not good when hooked up to the cable, but I ran composite from the cable box and it perked right up. It was probably my cable. Where this really shines (and why I got it) is for HDMI from the Blu-Ray. The picture is astounding. Anyone that complains about the sound just does not understand that you will not get booming base or great highs from small speakers that point straight down. It doesn't work that way. That is what your surround sound is for.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RingoBonzai2001
Chattanooga, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 51 total reviews
1-20 of 51 reviews