Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 64 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

64 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

64 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

70%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
28
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 stars
18
1-20 of 51 total reviews
70%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 51 total reviews
1-20 of 51 reviews
12/29/2011

Customer review by DrVoorhees

5.0 stars 12/29/2011 by DrVoorhees
by DrVoorhees

After searching for the right price for a flat screen with all the bells and whistles that I wanted, I found this TV. It is great! It comes with the stand, a wireless USB connector and I after a 15 minute easy set up, the TV found all all Digital and Anolog TV stations. A few minutes later I had activated my netflix account with the TV to watch Netflix online! Overall, I am very pleased with this TV. You can not beat it for the price!

Was this review helpful? (57) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DrVoorhees
Scottsdale, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Did not work at all
12/22/2011

Customer review by Prithis

1.0 stars 12/22/2011 by Prithis
by Prithis

I purchased this 46' Sanyo TV from walmart.com as it was only $549, and I thought it was a great price. The unit arrived on time. I took it out of the box and started setting it up. The first thing I noticed that the setup screens did not work. The cursor had a mind of its own and would not obey the commands issued through the remote control. The cursor kept scrolling across the screens and it was impossible trying to get it to Auto program. I called Sanyo tech support. The guy on the phone was clueless. He was reading out from the manual which I already had. He then escalated the issue and said that I would get a call back in 24 hours. I never did. After a day I called back. The agent (a different one) tried to do some troubleshooting, which never worked, as the cursor did not obey any commands from the remote. He told me that he would escalate it further. I told him to forget it. I re-packed the TV and returned it to my local Walmart store for a refund. I then purchased a Sony 46' TV, and it worked right out of the box.

Was this review helpful? (92) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Prithis
Bolingbrook, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Would definately not recommend
3/21/2012

Customer review by Louisianamommaof2

1.0 stars 3/21/2012 by Louisianamommaof2
by Louisianamommaof2

Bought this TV two years ago and it is now history, picture started going dark on one side and eventually covered the whole screen. Took it to a repairman and he said it can't be fixed. I apparently I got one with a bad screen and there is nothing to do but trash it. The sound was never good on it. I think a TV this size and price should last longer than two years!!

Was this review helpful? (53) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Louisianamommaof2
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good TV for the price,Great TV if all optons work!
1/10/2012

Customer review by Mrhighdef

4.0 stars 1/10/2012 by Mrhighdef
by Mrhighdef

I had to do an in store comparison on the 42” model because the 46" was not in stock in the store and I ordered on line. The picture is good, sound is great but there is a slight delay in remote response & the usb ports are a bit tight to plug into. I received the TV a week ago and was excited about the wireless internet feature and viewing videos through the usb with the intentions of streaming Netflix and watching movies stored directly on a flash drive. (the main reason I choose this model) Unfortunately the TV will pick up my wireless signal but won’t connect, and I can view pics but videos or movies will show in the folder but will not play. I called customer service a day later & he was no help and said he would pass it on to upper management, who called 2 days later @ 9am while I’m @ work no where near the TV & told me they would call in the evening, still waiting. Bottom line, good TV bad customer service.

Was this review helpful? (35) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mrhighdef
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
WARNING: DO NOT BUY
7/1/2012

Customer review by Cornmom2010

1.0 stars 7/1/2012 by Cornmom2010
by Cornmom2010

This product is junk! I purchased it from Wal-Mart is Feburary 2011 it was just over $700. Just over a year later the sound started increasing and decreasing unvoluntarily! Then, it started turning on and off on its own. These problems were inconvient but they soon subsided. We couldn't take it back because the warrenty was up and it was past Wal-Marts 30 day policy! Just resently, the screen started skipping; like you were channel surfing. The only difference is that it was staying on the same channel! After about 15 minutes that picture finally came in normal. The real problem is that the only button on the TV/remote that works is the on/off! Now, when you turnt the TV on, it just a black screen!!! It is not even two years old yet!! Save your money and buy a different brand!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (27) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cornmom2010
Centeral, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I won't do it again!
7/20/2012

Customer review by Boomish

2.0 stars 7/20/2012 by Boomish
by Boomish

This television worked well out of the box. I followed the directions and was happy with our purchase even though the picture left a bit to be desired. 7 days later the television stopped connecting to the internet. That's the good part! I contacted Sanyo help/service. In fact I've contact 3 times in the last 5 days. I'm told I need to be contacted by their "level 3 tech", and that I "would be contacted the next day, within the next 24-48 hours". That of course makes no sense. Still no contact, no reason for no contact except "they are analyzing my problem", how I'm not sure, since no one has contacted me to troubleshoot the problem. The product is sub-standard and the technical service is the absolute worst. I'll never buy another Sanyo product. Anyone can produce a lemon. Also, anyone can tell the truth and offer truthful answers to customer's questions. Off to my nearest Wal-mart store to return tomorrow and try another product line!

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Boomish
Columbia, MO.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
didn't last
7/21/2012

Customer review by iwillnotuseanickname

1.0 stars 7/21/2012 by iwillnotuseanickname
by iwillnotuseanickname

I was thrilled with this tv for months, but now I get black strilps that extend from the right of the screen sometimes. Other times I have a strip about 6 inches wide that has a 'snow' effect overlaying the photo on that side. These 2 problems started in the last month. At first, when the tv had been on for a half hour or more, then the picture returned to normal. Now the right side is messed up all the time. I did not get the tv on sale, and got it when it first came out so I paid $1000 (Ouch) and now I have to replace it..would NOT recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
iwillnotuseanickname
El Cajon, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
For the money its a great buy
12/30/2011

Customer review by Allforchrist

4.0 stars 12/30/2011 by Allforchrist
by Allforchrist

I bought this tv a few weeks before christmas, and i will have to say the picture is even better than i expected, i am very satisfied and im thinking about buying the 42" for my music room

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Allforchrist
28529
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Just bought this t.v last night
10/5/2012

Customer review by DisappointedwithTV

1.0 stars 10/5/2012 by DisappointedwithTV
by DisappointedwithTV

I was reading reviews and most of them were positive and troubles only seemed to be with the remote. Unfortunately I was disappointed as soon as we set it up. The picture is blurry and we even played with all the settings and it still didn't meet our expectations. The sound is just not very good. It sounds like someone talking through a small tunnel. The only positive thing is we only paid 478.00 but overall I would rather spend that extra $100.00 on a t.v that meets my expectations. So if you are looking into buying this t.v I would really weigh the pros and cons. Do you want to wait to buy a new one or can you get over the low quality of the sound and picture? I am about to return it right now after less than 12hours of buying it. A waste of time really.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DisappointedwithTV
South Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
It is JUNK!!! Buyer Beware!
9/17/2012

Customer review by belle4350

1.0 stars 9/17/2012 by belle4350
by belle4350

I bought this TV Feb 2011 right after the 1 yr was up. It started turning off by it's self while watching netflix or a dvd. Called Sanyo and was told to do lots of things!! Nothing has helped Tv is still turning off, I did a internet search & found this web site. www.consumeraffairs.com found 345 complaints about these Sanyo Tv bought from Walmart & Sanyo isnt helping at all to fix them and parts for them running months!! on waiting for them & 100's of dollars to fix!! LOVED it at 1st now it is just a waste of money!! I dont have the money for a new one. Wish I would of seen the reveiws from internet sooner :( should of lasted more than 14 months extended wartenty dosnt help when you have to wait MONTHS for it to be fixed

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
belle4350
Jackson TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great TV
1/4/2012

Customer review by wfdgr

5.0 stars 1/4/2012 by wfdgr
by wfdgr

Bout this tv just before Christmas. Easy to set up straight out of the box. Within minutes had the channel search done, netflix set up, and was watching some college football. This makes a great TV, and the prices makes it even better.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wfdgr
West Frankfort, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
But With Exceptions
6/21/2012

Customer review by jpris

3.0 stars 6/21/2012 by jpris
by jpris

It 'is' big. I don't think the picture is as good as my 26" Vizio. I think the remote control is Easier to use than my Vizio. The only thing I'm missing, so far, is when clicking 'info' for tv schedule, it only shows what's on right now! Nothing later. And it doesn't change until the program is on. So in flipping channels to see what's on, I miss the first of whatever show I end up watching. Oh, I also miss clicking 'info' and being able to see what time it is. It doesn't give the time.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jpris
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
DO NOT BUY
8/25/2012

Customer review by jman1561

1.0 stars 8/25/2012 by jman1561
by jman1561

I purchased this product in December 2010. In June of 2011 it started randomly turning off. Prior to this point it had worked flawlessly and I was extremely pleased with my purchase. But, the issue persisted. In particular it increased in frequency when using Xbox 360. Now, if you are playing Xbox, it will turn off within two minutes. Researching issues I found out that it is a design flaw in Sanyo televisions with the control board. I contacted Sanyo and the first question they asked was if I purchased the extended warranty. Of course I didn't. I expected the television to last longer than 19 months. To my dismay I was told the television would need to be repaired, that I would be responsible for the repair, and the nearest Sanyo repair location was 110 miles from my residence. Are you kidding me!? I called the repair shop and got the scoop. It was just as the other complaints had detailed the part was a design flaw and necessitated replacement at a cost of $637! That's almost what I paid for the television! Now I'm stuck with a TV that less than two years old that can't be watched and costs more to fix than what a new one would cost. I will NEVER purchase another Sanyo product!! I would advise you to do the same.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jman1561
Stephenville, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
best tv i have ever owned
7/18/2012

Customer review by yorric

5.0 stars 7/18/2012 by yorric
by yorric

Picture quality is incredible, HD is sparkling clear...awesome. Called support at Sanyo to help with setup, knew it would be easier than bumbling through myself...answered promptly from service center in America (CA), was extremely helpful and patient, and walked me through everything. NICE to have internet capable and ready with included dongle, not having to have another piece of equipment simply to stream video is great, and added to the value! Has been a joy to watch. I have another HD tv, but this picture is incomparable. Before, I could see a difference and begrudgingly paid for HD service, but with this TV, I would never give HD up unless I absolutely had to. Can't wait to watch the upcoming Olympics on this tv.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
yorric
greeneville, tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A Best Buy
7/8/2012

Customer review by dnebaugh

5.0 stars 7/8/2012 by dnebaugh
by dnebaugh

We recently bought this TV. We love it! To get a TV that connects to the internet by itself is awesome. The price was great, the picture was great, and easy to hook up. Two things that we don't like is the noise it makes when it's not on signal. It's suppose to mute the fuzz noise but it don't work and the volume is not very loud. Needs a sound bar.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dnebaugh
Buckeye, Az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good value for the features.
11/9/2012

Customer review by fstedyrv

5.0 stars 11/9/2012 by fstedyrv
by fstedyrv

Upfront controls on lower rt front handy. Picture quality and sound very good. The initial setup was very easy.There are plenty of input connections easily located on left front side. The paper owners manual sheet is basic without much detail. The pix shape settings does give preferred settings. The explanation is generic.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fstedyrv
Millsboro, DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
6/28/2012

Customer review by missourialane

5.0 stars 6/28/2012 by missourialane
by missourialane

excellant buy:), Set up was VERY user friendly, I had the TV hooked up and running within minutes of removing it from the box. hook up to the internet was easy and simple with my wifi home connection. picture and sound quality is excellent. I highly recommand this tv.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
missourialane
loris, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
very nice set for the price
1/4/2012

Customer review by wombat43402

4.0 stars 1/4/2012 by wombat43402
by wombat43402

I love the Internet ready feature but the interface is very archaic and slow. Hunt and peck keyboard with the directional pad on remote which is extremely slow because Netflix begins to filter on each letter rather than waiting for you to click OK after you have a majority of the title you are looking for. Also, USB ports very unreachable on back for advertising that TV is compatible with USB memory cards for views photos and movie files. Seems to be about a 3-4 second pause with any remote control function request. I would totally recommend this unit they were just a little short on making this set excellent.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wombat43402
Bowling Green, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Highly Recommended
10/24/2012

Customer review by RingoBonzai2001

5.0 stars 10/24/2012 by RingoBonzai2001
by RingoBonzai2001

This is my first +42" flat screen and I am very pleased. I have waited 90 days since I purchased it to write a review, just to make sure that all was good. To date, it is excellent. Setup after hooking up the cables was seamless. In fact, the default settings are pretty good. You can tweak them if you like, but you don't have to. The picture was not good when hooked up to the cable, but I ran composite from the cable box and it perked right up. It was probably my cable. Where this really shines (and why I got it) is for HDMI from the Blu-Ray. The picture is astounding. Anyone that complains about the sound just does not understand that you will not get booming base or great highs from small speakers that point straight down. It doesn't work that way. That is what your surround sound is for.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RingoBonzai2001
Chattanooga, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Do not buy!
11/1/2012

Customer review by mheyin1

1.0 stars 11/1/2012 by mheyin1
by mheyin1

I bought this before the major price reduction 4 years ago. One year ago a black stripe about 7 inches thick showed up at the top of the screen. Now the right half of the TV is black. I contacted Sanyo but they wouldn't do anything since the TV was out of warranty. A TV should last more than 3 years!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mheyin1
Lathrop, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 51 total reviews
1-20 of 51 reviews