Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 21 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

21 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

21 reviews | 3 out of 5

57%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
7
1-19 of 19 total reviews
57%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Beginner's Luck
7/25/2013

Customer review by Jerzhousewife

5.0 stars 7/25/2013 by Jerzhousewife
by Jerzhousewife

Telescope and tripod were easy to set up and use. I really love using the telescope on clear nights to stare at the sky. I am planning on introducing it to my niece who always has a question about the stars. As a beginner myself, I really appreciate the features and the price.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jerzhousewife
Little Egg Harbor, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Piece of Utter Junk
4/28/2013

Customer review by Kellymum

1.0 stars 4/28/2013 by Kellymum
by Kellymum

I purchased this telescope for my 7-year old, thinking that it would be simple enough to be a great beginner's telescope. First of all, when I got the telescope home and began to assemble it, INSTANTLY something broke. It is light as a feather and very cheaply made which I am very disappointed in Vivitar about. Secondly, most of the holes on the telescope that require a screw are too big and just appears to be a hole 'punched' through cheap plastic. Third, the telescope never fit properly on the tripod; you are required to screw the telescope onto the tripod but it became stripped after a few adjustments. Fourth, there are three connecters at the bottom of the tripod; one of the connecters broke (after observing the connecters on the tripod they appeared to be metal but were very cheap plastic as well). Fifth, we attempted to use the telescope to view very simple items in our backyard and could never really get it to focus well no matter how much we tried. It was very disappointing because we ordered it online, waited for it to arrive and my son really wanted to use it and couldn't. It's a very handsome telescope but we were truly deceived; the quality of this thing is sub-par.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kellymum
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
POOR Product
8/25/2012

Customer review by FordF150

1.0 stars 8/25/2012 by FordF150
by FordF150

JUNK - Hard to focus.Don't waste your money.

Was this review helpful? (14) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FordF150
Ocoee,FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Poor
1/31/2015

Customer review by consumer

1.0 stars 1/31/2015 by consumer
by consumer

I bought 1 to give as a gift. This telescope looks nice in the photo but does not work good. It could barely show the moon. Put more money on a high quality telescope cause this is not worth buying.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
consumer
Would recommend to a friend? No
12/23/2012

Customer review by phadrea

5.0 stars 12/23/2012 by phadrea
by phadrea

It is a great gift for our grandson.

Was this review helpful? (5) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
phadrea
nashville, tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect gift for an 8 year old.
1/3/2013

Customer review by WhiteStelarWarrior

5.0 stars 1/3/2013 by WhiteStelarWarrior
by WhiteStelarWarrior

Perfect for beginners, user friendly, easy to mount, easy to change optical, perfect color. Perfect for an 8 year old. My son's reaction was surprised and elated.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WhiteStelarWarrior
LaVerne
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Shipment was a disappointment!
11/19/2013

Customer review by SecretSanta6

4.0 stars 11/19/2013 by SecretSanta6
by SecretSanta6

The product itself was great. However, we ordered this as a Christmas gift for our children and it arrived in a box with a picture of the telescope. Not at all concealing its contents. If you're ordering for a gift you probably should have it shipped to another address. :-( Unhappy parents.

Was this review helpful? (4) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SecretSanta6
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for my 4yr old
11/22/2013

Customer review by Harnettctygirl

3.0 stars 11/22/2013 by Harnettctygirl
by Harnettctygirl

It wrk pretty good for my 4yr old who love stars and the moon....i had a,lil trouvle focusing it but I think it was the,operator...however I was very upset abt the condition of tge box I ordered it online and the box was demolished from the shipping I was very very disapointed luckily it was for my child and not a,present for sum1

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Harnettctygirl
Dunn nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Ok telescope
1/2/2014

Customer review by Lovely1313

3.0 stars 1/2/2014 by Lovely1313
by Lovely1313

Not too great of a product but perfect for my 5 year old. The bolts usually always come lose and need to be tightened often. The lens cap does get stuck when trying to take it off. It's perfectly her size. I really with it had a storage container for the extra little lenses on it somewhere so it's all in one spot.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lovely1313
Jonesboro, Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Telescope for a Beginner
11/21/2013

Customer review by Freckleslynn

5.0 stars 11/21/2013 by Freckleslynn
by Freckleslynn

My grandson is going to love this telescope. He is really into the stars and moon. Can't wait to see him open this up for Christmas.

Was this review helpful? (3) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Freckleslynn
Montgomery, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
horrible shipping/horrible product
1/26/2014

Customer review by nzzzzzzz

1.0 stars 1/26/2014 by nzzzzzzz
by nzzzzzzz

To begin with this package was left in front of my door in its original box and the box was destroyed. This was a christmas gift for my son and of course he was the one to find it. I was upset about that. When we first put it together everything seemed okay until we tried to look through thentelescope. It is pitch black and you can not see a thing. If I had saved the box this thing would be going back to the store. Horrible first time experience with this product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nzzzzzzz
san antonio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Great telescope for a 5 year old.
4/21/2014

Customer review by NBATNT

5.0 stars 4/21/2014 by NBATNT
by NBATNT

The product is great it did not get to my destination on time. It was a birthday present and it got to my niece the day after her birthday.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NBATNT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good enough for a beginner...
1/14/2015

Customer review by CoolyGirl

4.0 stars 1/14/2015 by CoolyGirl
by CoolyGirl

I gave this telescope as a gift and so far my aunt really likes it. No complaints so far...

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CoolyGirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
'scope ok but tripod broken
12/27/2014

Customer review by TransplantToTheSouth

3.0 stars 12/27/2014 by TransplantToTheSouth
by TransplantToTheSouth

Used in-store shipping but box was badly broken as was one of the tripod legs. The telescope itself seems ok, but useless without the tripod. Others commented on bad packaging which is why I had it shipped to the store...didn't work.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TransplantToTheSouth
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not durable
2/2/2014

Customer review by Karo1948

2.0 stars 2/2/2014 by Karo1948
by Karo1948

The levers on the legs break easily.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Karo1948
Lowell
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not great
1/19/2015

Customer review by Septemberlyn

2.0 stars 1/19/2015 by Septemberlyn
by Septemberlyn

You could see the stars better with your naked eye. Haven't tried it during the day yet.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Septemberlyn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Poor
3/15/2014

Customer review by 123Joseph

1.0 stars 3/15/2014 by 123Joseph
by 123Joseph

Walmart shipped a product that I think was returned. It had parts that were broken. Granddaughter got the present anyway because I had to get another and then return for store credit.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
123Joseph
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bad
5/12/2014

Customer review by Banad

1.0 stars 5/12/2014 by Banad
by Banad

Had to return the telescope because it was broken. Granddaughter was very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Banad
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
horrible delivery
12/31/2014

Customer review by Studen

1.0 stars 12/31/2014 by Studen
by Studen

Bought the item for christmas and oicked up from the store. The packaging was horrible. When we opened it the telescope was already broken. It looks fragile. We are exchanging it or returning it tom. Dont want to trust them with delivery anymore. Feel bad for not being able to try the product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Studen
Would recommend to a friend? No