Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 19 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

19 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

19 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
15
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-19 of 19 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

You don't need to spend any more on an ultralight
6/4/2012

Customer review by HAMFIST

5.0 stars 6/4/2012 by HAMFIST
by HAMFIST

I bought this rod just about one year ago as a father's day present for myself. I fished it extensively in our home waters. It handled bass, bluegill, crappie, everything I threw at it. It tossed lures into the wind, horsed fish out of weeds (or wrapped in weeds). And it was sensitive, light and a joy to fish with. Good to see cork grips on this rod ... I feel this transmits vibrations from the end of the line better than those foam grips. I speak about the rod in the past tense. That is because today, after landing a sizable largemouth on the rod, I bumped it and it fell out of my square back canoe into 8 feet of water. I was not upset. Because I knew the rod did not cost much money and I could go right back to Walmart and buy another just like it. Which I did. I also bought the 5'6" Micro Graphite as I am impressed with this product line and thought it would be good to have a longer rod for the purposes of line control. I look forward to seeing how it performs, and expect good things. Just spooled both rods up ...

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HAMFIST
Delafield, Wis.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Best rod under $30 (and it's only about $15)
6/25/2013

Customer review by swmpthng88

5.0 stars 6/25/2013 by swmpthng88
by swmpthng88

A friend sat on my older micro graphite, so I went out looking for a new rod. I couldn't find anything I liked as much under $30, so I went and bought 2 more of these. I have gone through quite a few rods, and my favorite under a budget is still the Shakespeare Micro Graphite. I Have both the 5' and the 5'6" rods. They are almost as flexible as the more expensive Ugly Stick, and gives great feeling. I find the rod is easy to use crankbaits, spinners, and finesse baits without a problem. I would highly recommend! Walmart however needed to work on their packaging, my first rod arrived broken and I had to send the broken rod back and wait for the replacement.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
swmpthng88
Concord, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Small rod, big fish
2/27/2014

Customer review by arlingtonfisher

5.0 stars 2/27/2014 by arlingtonfisher
by arlingtonfisher

I reeled in a 20" stripped bass against the current of the incoming tide into a stream mouth using the 5'6" version of this rod. I did have a an 8 lbs Berkely Fireline to keep the line from breaking.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
arlingtonfisher
Arlington, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Greatest little rod-ever in shallow waters.
9/1/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 9/1/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

You can reel in the big ones with no problem, and feels great when used in shallow waters with one ounce sinkers.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Massapequa, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
WOW!My 7 Y/O Daughter Caught an 18 inch Rainbow
7/17/2014

Customer review by Skippy666

5.0 stars 7/17/2014 by Skippy666
by Skippy666

Incredible little fishing rod. I was a little skeptical at first because it didn't come with a real. This is the first fishing pole I have ever purchased that did not have a real on it. So I bought a Shakespeare Contender 20. A nice little real that looks like it was made just for this little rod. The very first day out I put on a small little hook and one green power egg for my Daughter Gracie. Within 4 minutes she had a huge 18.5 inch Rainbow Trout hooked up. She cranked and cranked and finally landed this beautiful big trout. She actually caught her limit of 5 fish that day and she is hounded me relentlessly to take her out again. So not only is this a superb fishing pole, it actually brings Daddy's and Daughters together. Shakespeare isn't just about selling fishing gear... They are also about family, and bringing family together. Now that's the kind of company I am happy to spend my dollars with! Keep up the great work Shakespeare! Looks like you have a brand new customer for life. Her name is Gracie Joy, she is 7 years old, and she just loves your fishing pole and reel. -Jason (40 y/o in Cornelius, Oregon)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Skippy666
Forest Grove, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this rod!
9/13/2014

Customer review by GET1THE1NET

5.0 stars 9/13/2014 by GET1THE1NET
by GET1THE1NET

I love this rod! Nice balance, light weight, and nice feel. My go to rod for trout and bass. Inexpensive too. Great value. Compared it to more expensive Fenwick and St Croix rods at another store and I prefer this rod. Like it so much that I own three rods. You can't go wrong on this rod at this price. It easily handled this chunky carp!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GET1THE1NET
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great little rod
5/1/2015

Customer review by davehcolso

5.0 stars 5/1/2015 by davehcolso
by davehcolso

I was replacing a 40 yr old UL rod that was just plain worn out and all i could find were the new, really stiff rods with great big handles and no action. was at wal-mart and saw this little rod and it was exactly what i wanted. i've learned that if you see something that you like, buy it because you might not be able to find another later so i did. got it home, put my 308 on it and some new 4# line and it really casts well. just like the old one that is, of course, no longer made. if you want a UL rod with some action, better get one of these before they stop making them.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
davehcolso
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Hats Off !!
9/17/2014

Customer review by ntcl4

5.0 stars 9/17/2014 by ntcl4
by ntcl4

I have been ultra lite fishing for years and shakespear has earned a definite life time spot with my other poles. They have made good quality rods for a price ,that any man on a moderate budget, it would be a sad day to see him pass up a deal like shakespear. Note: I do not work for Shakespear I just really admire there rods! Although I have Not been able to try my new micro rod since my foot is broken, I am writing this review based on my passed experience, and other reviews. But i will definitely Update the review Dec or Jan , hopefully I will be walking by then.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ntcl4
New Braunfels
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great action , light weight , and affordable
8/26/2014

Customer review by chuck58

5.0 stars 8/26/2014 by chuck58
by chuck58

Its is really nice Rod , great for Pan Fish and Crappie , i also have Braid on about 4lb. in DIA. with a 20in. leader about 6-8 lb. test so if i have a Bass or a Walleye i can handle it

chuck58
Sanford Mi,United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great rod and service!
4/4/2014

Customer review by werjr

5.0 stars 4/4/2014 by werjr
by werjr

Went out fishing within a week of getting my new micro series rod and caught my first Redear. Rod performed great and had a wonderful panfishing day.

werjr
Katy, TX, United States
Gender:Male
grandiose
6/12/2014

Customer review by Josemonzon

5.0 stars 6/12/2014 by Josemonzon
by Josemonzon

Last week i used is very good & very easy to use!!

Josemonzon
California, Estados Unidos
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Rod
6/27/2014

Customer review by Coach013

5.0 stars 6/27/2014 by Coach013
by Coach013

The reason why I had to purchase a new rod, the old one I had for over twenty years. My grandson took it fish in and the fish was so large it snapped it. Otherwise, the rod was one of my best and favorite for fresh water fish in. Follow the manufacturer's information and the rod will last forever with the correct care.

Coach013
Milford, CT, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fun Rod!
7/25/2014

Customer review by mjlleafs

5.0 stars 7/25/2014 by mjlleafs
by mjlleafs

I bought the 7'6 ultra light rod about 3 weeks ago. At first I was a little concerned that it didn't have enough back bone to hook a fish, but after landing several 17 inch bass, it is a blast to fish with. I will probably get the 7 foot rod too.

mjlleafs
jackson, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very pleased
12/27/2014

Customer review by mkr44

5.0 stars 12/27/2014 by mkr44
by mkr44

We haven't had a chance to use the pole. it looks and feels great

mkr44
Boulder County, CO, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
These rods are AMAZING.
6/8/2015

Customer review by RoswellDude88

5.0 stars 6/8/2015 by RoswellDude88
by RoswellDude88

These rods are amazing when used in combination with the smallest size open face reel you can buy. I use 4 pound test mono and am capable of catching everything from 2 inch long fish to 5 pound largemouth bass. The ONLY downside of these rods is because they are so incredibly sensitive that they are also in quite fragile. I have broken the tip off of my first 7.6 ultralight and a friend of mine broke the tip off of my other 7.6 ultralight. But if you are careful with your rod it will amaze you every time you take it out.

RoswellDude88
Pittsboro, NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Nice little rod
6/13/2014

Customer review by MrTU

4.0 stars 6/13/2014 by MrTU
by MrTU

This is a great little rod for trout and pan fish I have also used it to fish and cats to just have some fun and to see if the short rod and four pound test would do the job. I did will with fish up about five pounds or so I think the handle could be a little shorter for my taste but over all it a nice little rod

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrTU
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
just what i was looking for!!
2/22/2014

Customer review by stone

4.0 stars 2/22/2014 by stone
by stone

Was looking for a new crappie rod..wanted 6.6-7ft..light action..looked around and found shorter rods or way to expensive ones.. found micro series and its perfect. 

stone
Lincoln, NE, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Love the rod but!
4/27/2015

Customer review by Walleyeman

4.0 stars 4/27/2015 by Walleyeman
by Walleyeman

bought two rods love the action 8 inch gills feel like monsters but one rod came without ceramic insert in tip contacting customer service to see what to do so make sure you inspect before hitting the water.

Walleyeman
Wisconsin, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Too flimsy--don't buy!
6/24/2015

Customer review by gam231300

1.0 stars 6/24/2015 by gam231300
by gam231300

I put 4lb test on this rod. First time out, got it caught on a branch. The rod snapped in half. The line was fine.

gam231300
East Troy, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.