Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 26 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

26 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

26 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
20
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-20 of 26 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 26 total reviews
1-20 of 26 reviews
WOW!My 7 Y/O Daughter Caught an 18 inch Rainbow
7/17/2014

Customer review by Skippy666

5.0 stars 7/17/2014 by Skippy666
by Skippy666

Incredible little fishing rod. I was a little skeptical at first because it didn't come with a real. This is the first fishing pole I have ever purchased that did not have a real on it. So I bought a Shakespeare Contender 20. A nice little real that looks like it was made just for this little rod. The very first day out I put on a small little hook and one green power egg for my Daughter Gracie. Within 4 minutes she had a huge 18.5 inch Rainbow Trout hooked up. She cranked and cranked and finally landed this beautiful big trout. She actually caught her limit of 5 fish that day and she is hounded me relentlessly to take her out again. So not only is this a superb fishing pole, it actually brings Daddy's and Daughters together. Shakespeare isn't just about selling fishing gear... They are also about family, and bringing family together. Now that's the kind of company I am happy to spend my dollars with! Keep up the great work Shakespeare! Looks like you have a brand new customer for life. Her name is Gracie Joy, she is 7 years old, and she just loves your fishing pole and reel. -Jason (40 y/o in Cornelius, Oregon)

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Skippy666
Forest Grove, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this rod!
9/13/2014

Customer review by GET1THE1NET

5.0 stars 9/13/2014 by GET1THE1NET
by GET1THE1NET
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love this rod! Nice balance, light weight, and nice feel. My go to rod for trout and bass. Inexpensive too. Great value. Compared it to more expensive Fenwick and St Croix rods at another store and I prefer this rod. Like it so much that I own three rods. You can't go wrong on this rod at this price. It easily handled this chunky carp!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GET1THE1NET
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
You don't need to spend any more on an ultralight
6/4/2012

Customer review by HAMFIST

5.0 stars 6/4/2012 by HAMFIST
by HAMFIST

I bought this rod just about one year ago as a father's day present for myself. I fished it extensively in our home waters. It handled bass, bluegill, crappie, everything I threw at it. It tossed lures into the wind, horsed fish out of weeds (or wrapped in weeds). And it was sensitive, light and a joy to fish with. Good to see cork grips on this rod ... I feel this transmits vibrations from the end of the line better than those foam grips. I speak about the rod in the past tense. That is because today, after landing a sizable largemouth on the rod, I bumped it and it fell out of my square back canoe into 8 feet of water. I was not upset. Because I knew the rod did not cost much money and I could go right back to Walmart and buy another just like it. Which I did. I also bought the 5'6" Micro Graphite as I am impressed with this product line and thought it would be good to have a longer rod for the purposes of line control. I look forward to seeing how it performs, and expect good things. Just spooled both rods up ...

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HAMFIST
Delafield, Wis.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Some of the best rods I've ever owned
1/8/2016

Customer review by Wulfman

5.0 stars 1/8/2016 by Wulfman
by Wulfman
Spark Reviewer - received free product

I own 10 of the "Micro Graphite" Spinning (previous model) and 2 of the "Micro Series" Spinning (current model) rods (all 7-foot versions) and they're some of the best rods I've ever owned. They're perfect for trout fishing. You can feel anything that goes for your bait.......great sensitivity. I like the length of the fore-grip and the shape and length of the rear grip. I like the reel seats, guides, everything. Not only do they have superb handling characteristics, but they're very affordable. You can buy many of these rods for what other higher-priced rods sell for. And, they're extremely durable. I just can't say enough about how much I love these rods.

Wulfman
N.W. Wyoming
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Spark Reviewer - received free product
Very good rod
1/8/2016

Customer review by John46

4.0 stars 1/8/2016 by John46
by John46
Spark Reviewer - received free product

I bought my 4'6" ultra light action Micro Series spinning rod 3 years ago and have caught trout and small mouth bass on it. It is my go to rod for trout using all kind of bait. It has never left me down.

John46
Lancaster County, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Spark Reviewer - received free product
This rod lands them all!
8/11/2015

Customer review by Revilo

5.0 stars 8/11/2015 by Revilo
by Revilo

I can't say enough about the great qualities of this low-priced ultra-light. It has great sensitivity and a fast action that lets you feel and set the hook on the lightest of bites. It's my son's favorite rod, and for good reason. While he usually uses it for pan fish, bass, and trout in our local ponds and streams, last fall he took it along when we visited family on Hilton Head Island, South Carolina. The Micro gave a great performance handling 10"-14" sea trout, but that was nothing compared to the 27" red drum that my son also landed. I've never seen a rod bend the way it did with that fish, and I was sure it was going to snap, but it held true and wore that fish down. Some other reviews have mentioned that the tip of this rod it too flimsy and breaks easily. I agree with this; I've had to re-pair the tip or replace the rod three times. However, each issue stemmed from careless handling of the rod, not a flaw in the design. Be careful with your gear and manage your drag wisely, and you'll land scores of keepers with the Micro all season long!

Revilo
Lynchburg, VA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great 7-foot Micro Rod
12/4/2015

Customer review by lobear00

5.0 stars 12/4/2015 by lobear00
by lobear00

I purchased this rod in August and last month I was catching 3-4 lb Northern Pike from fishing pier with the water being cold the Northerns are running slower. Using 4-lb test line with a 20-lb braid leader the rod is handling the fish very well.

lobear00
Shoreview, MN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Best rod under $30 (and it's only about $15)
6/25/2013

Customer review by swmpthng88

5.0 stars 6/25/2013 by swmpthng88
by swmpthng88
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

A friend sat on my older micro graphite, so I went out looking for a new rod. I couldn't find anything I liked as much under $30, so I went and bought 2 more of these. I have gone through quite a few rods, and my favorite under a budget is still the Shakespeare Micro Graphite. I Have both the 5' and the 5'6" rods. They are almost as flexible as the more expensive Ugly Stick, and gives great feeling. I find the rod is easy to use crankbaits, spinners, and finesse baits without a problem. I would highly recommend! Walmart however needed to work on their packaging, my first rod arrived broken and I had to send the broken rod back and wait for the replacement.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
swmpthng88
Concord, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wonderful Ultralight Rod!
10/19/2015

Customer review by Spindaddy

5.0 stars 10/19/2015 by Spindaddy
by Spindaddy

I'm impressed! My little 5 ft rod has exceeded my expectations...it'll launch lures as light as 1/32 oz and handle the occasional 4 lb bass or 4 lb catfish that decides to hit those little lures! I married my rod to a Shimano Sienna (size 500)...and it is a nice light rig. It's also an attractive rod. The blank is not shiny (to prevent spooking fish) and the line guides are sleek and uncluttered. I may purchase another rod from this series, should they discontinue the series. I have owned other Shakespeare spinning rods, but I believe they have improved the quality with this series. My gratitude to Shakespeare for producing quality products that have enhanced my angling experiences!

Spindaddy
eastern North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Weak tips
9/9/2015

Customer review by Thisasianguy32

1.0 stars 9/9/2015 by Thisasianguy32
by Thisasianguy32

This rod is garbage,the rod tip broke to a small blue gill while taking the family out fishing. I use the bottom half as a homemade fly swapper now because i lost the receipt. My family like using the rod swapper allot i guess it serve its purpose well. Any way i do own the older version rod and i got to say they are 10 times better.

Thisasianguy32
Fresno, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
9/21/2015

Customer review by Karlowich

5.0 stars 9/21/2015 by Karlowich
by Karlowich
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The best spinning rod for midle size fish I ever had

Karlowich
Stamford, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Small rod, big fish
2/27/2014

Customer review by arlingtonfisher

5.0 stars 2/27/2014 by arlingtonfisher
by arlingtonfisher

I reeled in a 20" stripped bass against the current of the incoming tide into a stream mouth using the 5'6" version of this rod. I did have a an 8 lbs Berkely Fireline to keep the line from breaking.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
arlingtonfisher
Arlington, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
These rods are AMAZING.
6/8/2015

Customer review by RoswellDude88

5.0 stars 6/8/2015 by RoswellDude88
by RoswellDude88

These rods are amazing when used in combination with the smallest size open face reel you can buy. I use 4 pound test mono and am capable of catching everything from 2 inch long fish to 5 pound largemouth bass. The ONLY downside of these rods is because they are so incredibly sensitive that they are also in quite fragile. I have broken the tip off of my first 7.6 ultralight and a friend of mine broke the tip off of my other 7.6 ultralight. But if you are careful with your rod it will amaze you every time you take it out.

RoswellDude88
Pittsboro, NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Too flimsy--don't buy!
6/24/2015

Customer review by gam231300

1.0 stars 6/24/2015 by gam231300
by gam231300
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I put 4lb test on this rod. First time out, got it caught on a branch. The rod snapped in half. The line was fine.

gam231300
East Troy, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great little rod
5/1/2015

Customer review by davehcolso

5.0 stars 5/1/2015 by davehcolso
by davehcolso

I was replacing a 40 yr old UL rod that was just plain worn out and all i could find were the new, really stiff rods with great big handles and no action. was at wal-mart and saw this little rod and it was exactly what i wanted. i've learned that if you see something that you like, buy it because you might not be able to find another later so i did. got it home, put my 308 on it and some new 4# line and it really casts well. just like the old one that is, of course, no longer made. if you want a UL rod with some action, better get one of these before they stop making them.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
davehcolso
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love the rod but!
4/27/2015

Customer review by Walleyeman

4.0 stars 4/27/2015 by Walleyeman
by Walleyeman
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

bought two rods love the action 8 inch gills feel like monsters but one rod came without ceramic insert in tip contacting customer service to see what to do so make sure you inspect before hitting the water.

Walleyeman
Wisconsin, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Hats Off !!
9/17/2014

Customer review by ntcl4

5.0 stars 9/17/2014 by ntcl4
by ntcl4
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have been ultra lite fishing for years and shakespear has earned a definite life time spot with my other poles. They have made good quality rods for a price ,that any man on a moderate budget, it would be a sad day to see him pass up a deal like shakespear. Note: I do not work for Shakespear I just really admire there rods! Although I have Not been able to try my new micro rod since my foot is broken, I am writing this review based on my passed experience, and other reviews. But i will definitely Update the review Dec or Jan , hopefully I will be walking by then.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ntcl4
New Braunfels
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Greatest little rod-ever in shallow waters.
9/1/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 9/1/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

You can reel in the big ones with no problem, and feels great when used in shallow waters with one ounce sinkers.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Massapequa, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Very pleased
12/27/2014

Customer review by mkr44

5.0 stars 12/27/2014 by mkr44
by mkr44
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We haven't had a chance to use the pole. it looks and feels great

mkr44
Boulder County, CO, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Rod
6/27/2014

Customer review by Coach013

5.0 stars 6/27/2014 by Coach013
by Coach013
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The reason why I had to purchase a new rod, the old one I had for over twenty years. My grandson took it fish in and the fish was so large it snapped it. Otherwise, the rod was one of my best and favorite for fresh water fish in. Follow the manufacturer's information and the rod will last forever with the correct care.

Coach013
Milford, CT, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 26 total reviews
1-20 of 26 reviews