Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 89 reviews | 2.3 out of 5

2.5 stars

89 reviews | 2.3 out of 5

2.5 stars

89 reviews | 2.3 out of 5

35%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
11
4 stars
14
3 stars
9
2 stars
9
1 stars
46
1-20 of 81 total reviews
35%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 81 total reviews
1-20 of 81 reviews
Well worth the money
12/16/2011

Customer review by SparklePenny

4.0 stars 12/16/2011 by SparklePenny
by SparklePenny

I have been reading these reviews for some time & felt the urge to comment. First of all as far as being hard to get a response from this, you DO NOT have to press hard. I too was pressing hard on this for the first couple of days. It requires a very light touch & responds quickly. A stylus is a great accessory & makes this much easier. As far as apps are concerned, no you can not do the Android Market (your device has to be pre-approved by Google) but there are several Android websites out there. Mobile24 is one that is good for both FREE ebooks & games. I had ordered the pink where there was only 2 color choices and when I saw more color choices I chose the green to replace the pink. I am glad I did. I gave this a 4 star instead of a 5 because I feel they could have explained the in & outs of this a lot clearer.

Was this review helpful? (25) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SparklePenny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great eReader!!! Not such a great tablet!!
12/7/2011

Customer review by nicj1224

5.0 stars 12/7/2011 by nicj1224
by nicj1224

I got this as an early christmas present, I have been wanting an eReader for a while. I saw this one and after using it I love it. The tablet part isn't a big deal to me since I have a laptop and an iPhone. It goes online without a problem. The one thing I didn't like was it doesn't have the android market as I thought it would since it uses the Android operating system. It is preloaded with a market that seems a little low scale, (it doesn't have the kindle or b&n app) So kobo is pretty much your only choice. Kobo seems to be great plus they offer lots of Free classics. Also the touch screen doesn't seem to be heat sensitive so you have to use a stylus or your fingernail works just fine too. I Love this eReader just what I was wanting!! Plus its listed for a great price so you cant beat the value!!

Was this review helpful? (22) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nicj1224
Seattle WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Frustrating
12/8/2011

Customer review by KEJChan

2.0 stars 12/8/2011 by KEJChan
by KEJChan

I don't claim to be a technology genius but I am usually pretty good with this kind of stuff. After 2 days of trying to figure all of this out I am returning it. (All 3 of them.) I bought them for my Mom and two of my children and if I am frustrated with it, there is no way I will give it to someone else. I was trying to get it ready for Christmas by putting some books and games on it. I finally deleted all of the foreign stuff and some sound clips. It was almost as if it was pre-owned because it didn't seem like something that would have came from the factory. I could not get it to display the weather in a city anywhere near me, not even Atlanta. I got the Adobe up and running, signed into the apps, email and Kobo. Email seemed to work fine, apps were listed in a foreign currency. I downloaded one game that seemed to work well. Then I went to Kobo, the main reason for buying this, and downloaded some books. When I went to read them it would give me a message that it could not display the material and they were working on fixing the problem. I did everything that the manual said and everything that I could think to make it work. The instruction manual is very vague. Overall I became very frustrated and put it back in the box. So diappointed because I wanted this to be a big hit Christmas morning.

Was this review helpful? (17) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KEJChan
Savannah, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Little Tablet!!
3/21/2012

Customer review by mcda23

5.0 stars 3/21/2012 by mcda23
by mcda23

This is the second one of these readers I have purchased. After getting the first for my wife I had to also have one. No problems getting it set-up. Has worked great for over a month with no glitches at all!! Highly recommend this eReader/Tablet !!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mcda23
Thornton, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/7/2011

Customer review by heyyou1234

1.0 stars 12/7/2011 by heyyou1234
by heyyou1234

I purchaced this product for the touch screen and ability to surf the web as well as read books. I can't say how it does for books because I never got that far. The product should be called the ereader push hard. Had alot of difficulty getting the screen to respond. Typing in a web page was almost impossible. I can't wait to return this product and would not recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (21) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
heyyou1234
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not Bad For Price
3/14/2012

Customer review by Queenbeecocoa

3.0 stars 3/14/2012 by Queenbeecocoa
by Queenbeecocoa

This was my first Ereader. Overall, I am pleased with what I paid for. It has a great screen quality. The internet is pretty good as long as you have a strong wi-fi connection. Books download easily to it but the organization of the books could be better. There are a couple downfalls of the product though. It does have a habit of restarting itself in the middle of reading a book. Once it restarts, you have to find the page you left off on so I suggest keeping track of your pages. Another downfall, it does tend to freeze up and the only option you have is to hit the reset button. Luckily this doesn't reset the whole system but rather just reloads the Ereader. I don't recommend loading a lot of books at one time to it either because it takes a while for the media library to update. Again, it's all about if you have patience or not. Other than that, I would recommend it if you have patience for the above mentioned downfalls and are looking at not spending a lot of money! It does it's job overall. Don't think I would buy another one though.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Queenbeecocoa
Sanford, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
love my ematic e-reader
12/19/2011

Customer review by MSWitchyWoman

5.0 stars 12/19/2011 by MSWitchyWoman
by MSWitchyWoman

I had wanted one of the more expensive e-readers but just couldn't see spending that much,so I looked to see if walmart had anything priced lower and I found the ematic e-reader. I have used it for about 3 days now and absolutely love it. It's perfect for what I need. I didn't need to be able to surf the internet or do anything fancy,I just wanted something to read on-although the one I purchased does have those capabilities. It does the job-it's easy to read,lightweight,very handy. I haven't tried videos yet but will soon. It's a great product at a great price. I might even get my son and husband one.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MSWitchyWoman
Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
disappointed
11/17/2011

Customer review by Momof2boys2011

1.0 stars 11/17/2011 by Momof2boys2011
by Momof2boys2011

The touch screen was so bad I thought it would break before I could get it to do anything. I tried to recalibrate the device but it only made it worse. I took it back to my local store, with no problem.

Was this review helpful? (37) (35)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Momof2boys2011
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
If you like to read ebooks . . . .
4/27/2012

Customer review by Shand

5.0 stars 4/27/2012 by Shand
by Shand

Then this is the product for you. You can download off of the slideme android market the free Kindle and B&N Nook apps for free. This has the sharpness of any color ebook reader on the market, and if you do get it, it does have a shiny screen protector on it (it is the clear plastic sheet on the screen with a red dot in the upper right corner. Do not take the clear plastic sheet off of the touch screen, you will regret it). And if you are a Harry Potter fan like I am, this will display the Harry Potter Ebooks in Adobe DRM epub just fine with the built-in Adobe Digital Editions software. I would also recommend that you get a hard leatherette case for it, so that you do not harm it in your purse ladies. Or for you guys, lugging it around the house or a private spot you know of to read at. This ebook reader does have a home charger (car charger is not included) and a USB 2.0 cable to transfer (copy) the books from your Free Adobe Digital Editions app on your Windows 7 desktop or laptop pc. But there is one drawback. The external microSD card that you can add must be only 16 GB, but hey, with the built-in 4 GB flash memory, that would be more than enough for your ebook collection via Amazon Kindle App or Barnes and Noble Nook app. The Kobo ebook reader app is included, so no need to download it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shand
Benton, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Ematic ereader
2/13/2012

Customer review by CrimsonHawk

5.0 stars 2/13/2012 by CrimsonHawk
by CrimsonHawk

Works great 4 months later, for the money very hard to beat lots of features battery doesnt last as long as sum of the other but sum of them also dont run in HD color screen or have as many features either, battery gets about 4-5 5hrs of life but hey who reads longer then 4-5 hrs at a time anyway. does hvae a "plastic type feel to them" but everything else including the screen is top notch. i give it a 4.5 out of 5 stars

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CrimsonHawk
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ok for inexpensive reader three stars at most
12/11/2011

Customer review by kty891

3.0 stars 12/11/2011 by kty891
by kty891

I am not a tech geek by any means. Have been able to load books & music, browse the web. Takes me a while as it seems some things have to be done twice to complete the action. The price was excellent but I am disappointed that I am not able to read in sunlight. With the brightness set at the highest level you can hardly tell there is anything on the page, let alone read it. Don't expect a lot of additional android apps to load--always says no device detected. I think this is a Google problem from searching for a fix. This is an OK reader to read indoors or while traveling, just don't expect to read on the beach. I did not want to spend $200 so this will suffice.

Was this review helpful? (9) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kty891
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/28/2011

Customer review by D721

5.0 stars 12/28/2011 by D721
by D721

I bought this for my 16 year old daughter for Christmas she loves it. Great value picks up wifi anywhere!!! Has all her pictures, music, books, etc... Great gift!!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
D721
Winter Springs, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Never again
12/6/2011

Customer review by Sacramentan

1.0 stars 12/6/2011 by Sacramentan
by Sacramentan

This product does not work at all , very big disappointment for my daughter birthday and for her sister and brother I bought 3 units not just one, they were so exited to get them but once they got them i was obligated to go to an other store and get something else that works, i will never recommend this product to any one period. i don't know what those 5* ratings were thinking? lol. This product does not work at all ,

Was this review helpful? (18) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sacramentan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Does NOT work period!
11/26/2011

Customer review by EMTchic911

1.0 stars 11/26/2011 by EMTchic911
by EMTchic911

I'm not the smartest when it comes to electronics, however, this does not work period. The screen is flickering and the item says 4 GB and it's only 2GB.... This was my 24th birthday gift and I waited a week for it to get here... My hearts broken b/c it doesn't even work! Never will I get an Ematic item again! :(

Was this review helpful? (23) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EMTchic911
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/6/2011

Customer review by GunnyJC

2.0 stars 12/6/2011 by GunnyJC
by GunnyJC

Inexpensive and easy to get up and running. I had problems with the touchscreen. I had to tap (and sometimes push hard) off to the side or below what I was actually trying to tap. Multiple attempts at synchronizing the touchscreen proved fruitless. It may have been an individual device issue but, I returned it nonetheless.

Was this review helpful? (8) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GunnyJC
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/18/2011

Customer review by SmileyFaceGirl

5.0 stars 12/18/2011 by SmileyFaceGirl
by SmileyFaceGirl

Bought one for my kids, loved it so much, going back to buy myself one.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SmileyFaceGirl
Toledo, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not worth the money, buy a Kindle or Nook
6/18/2012

Customer review by BestTeacher07

1.0 stars 6/18/2012 by BestTeacher07
by BestTeacher07

My husband has a Nook Tablet and my 9 year old son uses it quite a bit. So, for his birthday, I purchased this one because it got pretty good reviews and was half the price of the Nook. We have had the device for almost 3 months now and I am very disappointed with the device. The touch screen doesn't respond about 90% of the time. We have recalibrated it several times but it makes no difference. When you try to type on the keyboard, it can't sense which letter you are touching so it types incorrect letters. Many android applications are not compatable (Angry Birds is not compatable#. It is very slow to respond and the only way I can get books he likes is to sync it with the computer through Barnes and Noble and download items I purchased for the NOOK. The Kobo ereader site is horrible. It is very limited on sorting and searching and it hardly has any good kids books. In addition, when you go into the applications app and search for free content, many adult applications come up. I have to go searching for apps myself because there is no way to set a filter. I am extremely disappointed with this tablet and tried to return it to walmart but I was past the 15 day return period. I purchased a month early so I would have it in time for his birthday and didn't realize there was only a 15 day return period on electronics #I thought it was 90 days). Anyway, don't spend your money on this. It would be better to invest a bit more and get something more dependable and usable.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BestTeacher07
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
12/25/2011

Customer review by Sha01

5.0 stars 12/25/2011 by Sha01
by Sha01

X-mas gift for my 10 yo. Could'nt afford the pricey one, but this one is perfect. More than I expected.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sha01
Winston Salem, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
sexual explicit apps
1/29/2012

Customer review by notsohappymomof3

1.0 stars 1/29/2012 by notsohappymomof3
by notsohappymomof3

VERY UNHAPPY with the apps available for this. There is so much XRATED content. Not very good for young children.

Was this review helpful? (8) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
notsohappymomof3
Would recommend to a friend? No
Waste of money
6/15/2012

Customer review by KJPA

1.0 stars 6/15/2012 by KJPA
by KJPA

I wanted a tablet for my 3 girls who are homeschooled. We got excited about these because of the price. I should have known better! The touch screen is not accurate; it does not perform the function at the spot that you touch, but over to the side... It is hard to press, so much so that I thought that I would hurt the screen. It was SLOW for basic functions, and extremely difficult - if not impossible to type on. It is not compatible with my library checkout eBook system either. Very upset about my decision to purchase these! I would take these back, if it were not for the special 15 day return policy just for electronics and Ematics... These are substandard products and should not be sold at WALMART!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KJPA
WV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 81 total reviews
1-20 of 81 reviews