Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 142 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

142 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

142 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
71
4 stars
47
3 stars
7
2 stars
9
1 stars
8
1-20 of 122 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 122 total reviews
1-20 of 122 reviews
Disapointed
5/2/2013

Customer review by shodo

2.0 stars 5/2/2013 by shodo
by shodo

As the title indicates, I am disappointed in the performance of my R8150. I was looking forward to receiving the razor as I was told that it had a powerful motor. I don't think so. It's very rough on my beard. The trim cutter doesn't cut. I don't understand, it just doesn't cut, doesn't trim. The razor doesn't come with a plastic protective cover either. That's remarkably cheap of Remington. Further, you can't just set the razor down on the counter, because the razor then falls on its side or worse, on the cutter head. Again, no protective cover! Your only real choice is to insert it back into its recharger. But then, if you ran hot water over the cutter assembly as per instructions to clean it, the razor is naturally wet and won't dry out unless you keep the cutter assembly open which you can't when you return it to it recharger. I think I should return it and get a better model, or return it and give up on Remington.

shodo
Green Valley, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
R8150 A Great Deal!
8/19/2012

Customer review by JimDinMD

5.0 stars 8/19/2012 by JimDinMD
by JimDinMD

I bought this shaver to replace my aging R5150 which wouldn't hold a decent charge after 2 years of travel and use (normally used 5 days a week). I couldn't locate it in a store so I bought it online - I received it quickly and in good condition. After charging it, it's been very easy to use and keep clean - even easier than my R5150. I like the rubberized textured grip - it doesn't slip even when my hand's wet. I like that I can charge it without using the charging stand, because I don't plan to carry the stand when I travel. I also like that it's dual voltage - I travel extensively overseas and have to have dual-voltage products. My only minor compliant would be that it didn't come with a protective cap for the blades, but I was able to buy one separately when I bought the R8150.

JimDinMD
Laurel, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Does the job on a tough beard
3/30/2012

Customer review by ManWithAToughBeard

4.0 stars 3/30/2012 by ManWithAToughBeard
by ManWithAToughBeard

I have a beard that many electric razors have been unable to cut, leaving thick stubble if they affected it at all. It threw the motors of my last razor out of alignment, and broke one of the heads. No, seriously. Granted, I've been trying to get by on cheap razors, but still. (My situation does not conveniently permit other shaving solutions.) This one has had few problems yet, and does not take very long either. Occasionally it will snag and pull a hair instead of cutting it, but that's only for a moment, and another pass does the job. It doesn't leave my skin perfectly smooth - I can still feel the stubble (a perfect 5 wouldn't even leave this much) - but it's close enough.

ManWithAToughBeard
Mountain View, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Product has changed?
9/6/2013

Customer review by TommyP

4.0 stars 9/6/2013 by TommyP
by TommyP

I realize most manufacturers change their products but I was replacing an R8150 that was wearing out (battery not holding charge) so I had thought that the new one would be exactly like the old one. This seems to be just a little different - the display is not LCD it is LED and doesn't seem to have some of the characters that the LCD afforded (the LCD would remind me to clean the razor of stubble after a few hours of use) and the body of the razor now has a black plastic back - I preferred the more metal body. I am of the impression that this unit seems to get warm faster than the previous model if shaving for over 5 mins.. I just hope it lasts as long as the previous model.

TommyP
West Valley City, UT, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great Features - Very Good Value
6/12/2012

Customer review by HJVA405

5.0 stars 6/12/2012 by HJVA405
by HJVA405

I was a 43 year "other brand" rotary person. Last model I bought was replaced twice because they would bog down & die after 6 month to a year. I gave up and got a Remington. I like the R8150 a lot. It doesn't seem to shave quite as close as my old lift&cut rotary but I am better learnig how to get a good & close shave with each use. So far it seems sturdy and does not at all bog down during the shave. I am still getting used to the way it shaves and the shaving comfort. I have great hopes for a long relationship with my R8150 and with Remington.

HJVA405
Virginia, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
It must be the Titanium Blades
11/7/2013

Customer review by RainFestMan

4.0 stars 11/7/2013 by RainFestMan
by RainFestMan

I just retired another brands top of the line shaver with cleaning unit after using it for just 7 months and returned to Remington again (other brand was a gift). This is my third Remington rotary head shaver in the last 20 or so years. Using the other brand shaver caused some kind of reaction with my skin. I had acne constantly over the last 7 months. As soon as I got back to the Remington shaver - the acne stopped. This model seems a bit more "plastic-y" than all my previous Remingtons, but seems to work just fine. Your mileage may vary.

RainFestMan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Electric - Never as close as a blade
5/28/2013

Customer review by Llama

4.0 stars 5/28/2013 by Llama
by Llama

I've been using electric razors for almost 30 years and I've finally reached the conclusion, no matter what the product claims, that no electric will ever shave as close as a blade. Once you come to that realization, it's easier to stop being disappointed. This is a good shaver, does reasonably well on my heavy beard and the battery is strong and durable. To get the closest shave I can, I must use both a rotary and straight electric razors. The two types of cuts compliment each other well enough to give an acceptable finish (rotary does well on the heavy beard while straight razors are better for finishing and trouble spaces like under the nose and chin angles.) I've been a long time Norelco rotary customer and decided to try Remington in my search for a closer shave. I find the Norelco is more sturdy and a good weight. I think the Remington feels a little too light and flimsy, but has superior power (RPM) for the blades. Neither gives a very close finish shave. For the cost, I find this a good value with decent performance, but I can't judge durability until I've had it for a couple of years or more. One suggestion is for a spring loaded release for the rotary head cover. It is a little difficult to get open and I usually like to discard my shavings everyday, but I normally skip that now because it takes too long to open up. The spring load also helps eject a lot of the loose clippings before brushing or running under water. Thanks...

Llama
Alexandria, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Good Value for the Buck
5/27/2013

Customer review by Chuck6969

5.0 stars 5/27/2013 by Chuck6969
by Chuck6969

I have been shaving with rotary shavers for over 20 years, and was reluctant to change brands. However, when I compared prices I saw that this Remington RB150 would cost me less than half of the cost of replacement when the former one wore out. I am pleased with the Remington and the close shave that it gives me. It is also easy to clean out daily and the battery charge display is very helpful. The only small complaints I have are that it is louder than I am used to and also does not come with a travel case. Neither is a deal-breaker.

Chuck6969
Cohoes, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great Razor
5/30/2011

Customer review by hedgehopper

5.0 stars 5/30/2011 by hedgehopper
by hedgehopper

Does a very good job on what I ask it to do. Gives a good smooth shave. I am just starting to use the cleaning system which came with the razor. So can not comment on that right now. But am expecting it to inhance the already good performance of the razor. Have been using the razor for about two weeks now. My prior razor was the same brand and simular style as this one,,,and was very satisfied with it as well. The company stands behind the two year warrenty full heartidly. It pays to buy the best....

hedgehopper
Bremen, Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great Father's Day Gift
6/17/2012

Customer review by SirLancelot

5.0 stars 6/17/2012 by SirLancelot
by SirLancelot

For many years I had a Norelco electric razor. Then I switched to razor blades, simply because I was going to my club every day and wanted something quick. About a month ago, I mentioned to my wife I wanted to go back to electric shaver, but my old Norelco was not working. So she purchased this R8150 Remington electric shaver and I really like it. Its light and fits well in my hand and leaves my face feeling really smooth. Thanx, Remington, for making such a fine electric shaver.

SirLancelot
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Very comfortable shave
3/20/2013

Customer review by Paul104

4.0 stars 3/20/2013 by Paul104
by Paul104

The only reason I did not give this shaver an excellent rating was that I have only had it for a few weeks and can not assess it's long term durability yet. Otherwise, the shave is very close, comfortable and amazingly quiet. I like that you can charge it with a cord and do not need to attach the shaver to the charging stand or bring it with you on trips. It is also very simple to clean as the housing holding the shaving heads easily pops up.

Paul104
White Plains, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Disappointing Shaver
5/20/2012

Customer review by Bruno

2.0 stars 5/20/2012 by Bruno
by Bruno

Because I had a Remington shaver for many years, the digital display for the battery charge sold me on this. The charge display is excellent, the shave is not. The floating head plus the floating cutters is now improvement over the types where only the cutters were floating. Even after going over the same area a number of times, you can still feel some stubble. If I had not bought it while on holiday in Florida, I would take it back.

Bruno
London, Ontario
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
REMINGTON ROCKS !!!!!!!
6/13/2011

Customer review by RemingtonFreak

5.0 stars 6/13/2011 by RemingtonFreak
by RemingtonFreak

I have used all sorts of electric shavers in my many years of shaving and I got to tell you that NOTHING beats the Renington R 8150. The motor is whisper quiet, the blades cut as close as a blade and leaves no irritation. It feels solid in your hands when you shave. Do your face a favor and but this razor and your face will thank you. Read the instruction book before first use.

RemingtonFreak
Acra NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Best Whisker Sniper
5/12/2013

Customer review by goforit2

5.0 stars 5/12/2013 by goforit2
by goforit2

I'm not a shaver type of guy and stand by using a razor. Circumstances led me to having to use a shaver for awhile and I am happy to say this little machine makes the switch a smooth transition. No pulls, bumps or grinds! Fits nicely in my hand, comfortable weight and keeps the facial forest down even after a few days of growing. You can't go wrong with this whisker sniper!

goforit2
Portland, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
A Very Nice Shaver
1/19/2013

Customer review by Paul76

5.0 stars 1/19/2013 by Paul76
by Paul76

This is a very nice shaver - does what it should do - gives a nice shave - clean - not scratchy or does not pull. A great buy for what it costs. I would recommend the shaver to anyone who just wants a good clean shave. I have a coarse beard and it shaves it clean and smooth. It is also a nice looking shaver, very easy to hold, and easy to clean. Nice job,Remington. Paul

Paul76
Walnut Creek, Ohio USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
GREAT IMPROVEMENT FROM THE RAZORS OF THE 70'S
4/2/2012

Customer review by RON66

5.0 stars 4/2/2012 by RON66
by RON66

VERY IMPRESSED WITH THIS SHAVER. ONLY CHANGE I WOULD MAKE IS TO PUT THE CHARGING UNIT IN THE HOLDER INSTEAD THE PLUG THAT GOES INTO THE WALL. NO NEED NOT TO HAVE A FULL CHARGE OF 60 MINUTES TO SHAVE, WITH A 60 MINUTE CHARGE YOU CAN GO ON TRAVEL AND SHAVE EVERY DAY FOR OVER A WEEK, IF YOU NEED MORE TIME, WHAT ARE YOU SHAVING THE NEIGHBORHOOD?

RON66
SURPRISE AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
very poor
5/21/2014

Customer review by Milo

1.0 stars 5/21/2014 by Milo
by Milo

I bought my husband a Remington R8150 shaver for his birthday. It turned out to be a great disappointment. We would never buy one again. The shaver head becomes hot during shaving and after the shave the face feels hot, flushed and burned. The shaver gave a very poor, stubbly shave, no comparison to my husbands old Remington shaver.

Milo
Alberta
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
An Old Friend
4/6/2013

Customer review by bjr711

5.0 stars 4/6/2013 by bjr711
by bjr711

I bought the R8150 for my husband--after 15 years his old Remington Razor finally bit the dust--he was sure the new one wouldn't be as good as his old friend. After one use he was sold on the new technology and the comfortable shave--He loves the longer battery life too! Thanks for making great products that last!

bjr711
Homosassa, FL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Close enough!!!
8/7/2014

Customer review by FuddyDuddy

4.0 stars 8/7/2014 by FuddyDuddy
by FuddyDuddy

There some shavers out there that will shave much closer. But for me and my delicate skin that usually causes irritation and it's painful. This is just close enough that I don't ever get the irritation the red skin and still close enough that my wife will stand to be around me. Also the battery life is great.

FuddyDuddy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great performance
11/23/2012

Customer review by tap1062

5.0 stars 11/23/2012 by tap1062
by tap1062

I have an old R5 for over 5yrs that did a great job at the time and I bought new blades for it. This R8150 is excellent for closeness, comfort and the price, me being an Afro American with grey stubborn hairs u don't have to run over the same spot as much as my previous shaver it does the job very well thanks.

tap1062
Harrisburg, PA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 122 total reviews
1-20 of 122 reviews