Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 61 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

61 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

61 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

56%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
22
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 stars
18
1-20 of 61 total reviews
56%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 61 total reviews
1-20 of 61 reviews
Poor Perfmance
7/30/2012

Customer review by Russ2

1.0 stars 7/30/2012 by Russ2
by Russ2

I could't agree more with previous reviewers with respect to poor cutting perfomance with this razor. I purchased this razor, model F4790, 6 months ago when my old Remington, model MS2-370, started to die. I had the old model for many years, so I was not surprised. You would think that over the years, a product would improve. My old Remington, model MS2-370, performed much better. The very first Remington Microscreen razors were the best. They keep going down hill. Why? I don't know. Fortunately I was able to order my old model Remington, MS2-370, which apparently is no longer made, over the internet. They are still available at a reasonable prices if you search around. I suspect that the people who engineered the new models don't use them. I wish that they would take one home and live with it for a while. Even using a good pre-shave lotion and well lubed screens cutting performace is lousy at best. My advise is to look for and purchase one of the "old" MS models. They are much better.

Russ2
Prior Lake, MN, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
I should have stuck with the brand I had before
11/4/2011

Customer review by Hornet

1.0 stars 11/4/2011 by Hornet
by Hornet

I purchased this new a few months ago after I unfortunately forgot the recharger to my previous shaver (of another brand) at a hotel just prior to deploying. I should have been willing to pony up the difference in cost and stuck with that brand. This Remington shaver is inexpensive because it is cheaply designed and built. The hair pocket extends too far beyond the foils and the edges are not rounded well enough to prevent it from abrading your face while you shave. The foils are tearing after just 3 months of use; my other brand's foils could easily last over a year, and that was without the plastic protective hood this shaver has. Even prior to the foils becoming torn, my face would feel abused through the rest of the day in a way that I never recall with my other shaver. This shaver does hold a charge well, but that's not enough to give a positive rating. I can't say you should stay away from a Remington shaver, but your should defintely stay away from this model.

Hornet
Afghanistan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Best shaving razor on the market
4/5/2012

Customer review by Bassenboy

5.0 stars 4/5/2012 by Bassenboy
by Bassenboy

No bells & whistles ,just a great shave. Don't press too hard are you'll shave shin. It out shaves my German brand (now American) razor. It will not shave for saven days. Probably five. Make sure you charge it for twenty four hours before using and after that it dosen't need more then two hours when the charge light goes on. It needs a case. A hard shell case. Walmart sells the replacement heads , screen and blade combos for $15 on line. Great deal , great razor.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bassenboy
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Purchase
2/11/2012

Customer review by rakster

5.0 stars 2/11/2012 by rakster
by rakster

I was a bit skeptical buying a $40 cordless, but this purchase goes beyond my expectations. It gives a great close shave, better than my last one (I now wish the old one had died sooner). This is my fourth cordless, and none do a great job on those pesky neck hairs (don't know why), but i've found that a couple seconds with a disposable is the way to go there. I've had it for only a few days but am very satisfied. I'm also pleased that it will run directly off AC power for those times I let the battery get too low.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rakster
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Clean shave
2/1/2012

Customer review by TKNH

4.0 stars 2/1/2012 by TKNH
by TKNH

Nice shave for the price. Smooth on the face and it holds a good charge

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TKNH
Utica, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
2/1/2012

Customer review by wildmustang2012

5.0 stars 2/1/2012 by wildmustang2012
by wildmustang2012

It was a great buy!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wildmustang2012
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I like for ease of use, great shave & cleanability
3/18/2012

Customer review by Jim61

5.0 stars 3/18/2012 by Jim61
by Jim61

I traded shavers with my Dad in Sept. 2011. He shaves every 4 days ; I had decided to buy a Norelco model #8240 rotary shaver last July (2011) to try after having shaved with the original Remington TCT foil microscreen since 2000. It was a great shaver but the pop up trimmer just gave out. I liked the Norelco very much but it does not shave as close as the model my dad bought, the Remington Foil - F4790, 3 years ago. I am shaving with the original blades and still get a fantastic shave. For those who might have had issues with this or any foil shaver, you have to pull you skin to realize the most from any shaver, rotary included. And, you don't need to press too hard - actually works against receiving the best shave possible. Also, I highly endorse using a preshave - Parks preshave, it's the best. Regardless of the cost of a shaver, for me this is the best foil shaver on the market.

Jim61
Avon Lake, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great Little Razor
6/23/2012

Customer review by brokenhip

4.0 stars 6/23/2012 by brokenhip
by brokenhip

I have had several and different brands Self Cleaning and all but I like this one better and would recommend it above all the high dollar ones.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
brokenhip
Pahrump Nv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
VERY DISAPOINTED
9/4/2012

Customer review by Unhappyconsumer2

1.0 stars 9/4/2012 by Unhappyconsumer2
by Unhappyconsumer2

Funny thing, first time I looked at the reviews on this shaver, there were only three. Two rated it horrible, one rated it so so and neither would recommend it. When I tried to write my own review it showed three different reviews all good. Hmmm… I have been very disappointed in this shaver and whish I had never purchased it. The blades and shaving head are very hard to clean. As any previous Remington electric razor user knows, if you brush the blades without holding onto them, they pop off and eventually won’t stay in their spot. With the fixed guard/head on this one, you can’t hold the blades while cleaning them. Nor can you brush out the head with the blades in place. The pivoting head is more of a hassle than help. I doubt anyone and at Remington ever actually used this razor before they put it on the market. And good luck finding replacement foils for the razor!

Unhappyconsumer2
Fort Worth, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Frustrating
11/6/2012

Customer review by emtechs

2.0 stars 11/6/2012 by emtechs
by emtechs

Forgot my shaver at home when leaving for a trip, so I picked this up at a nearby store. I've been content with Remington razors I've used before, and to be fair, this razor was only 15% the cost of the razor I normally use. Still, it featured cordless rechargeable operation, and had two foil heads with a clipper between to get the longer hairs. Unfortunately, this razor is loud, clunky, and I have to shave areas repeatedly to get a smooth face. It's a worse shaving experience than any Remington I've ever had, and even worse than a cheap battery operated foil travel razor I've used on occasion. A real, irritating disappointment. I only have this 2 days, and had to leave it charge 24 hours before the first use, so I really don't know about durability...but it seems sturdy enough. I'll use it to get through this trip, but will get rid of it as soon as I get home.

emtechs
Zebulon, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Good recommendation from Remington customer service
11/9/2012

Customer review by Musiclover1916

4.0 stars 11/9/2012 by Musiclover1916
by Musiclover1916

I bought this for my husband. Unfortunately I am not sure I can find one that will totally please him as they "aren't like the older ones they made". The one thing I notice is that it's difficult to clean. If the blades turned on the axis so that they would spin outward it would be much easier to clean in under and around the blades. the blades themselves and the screen clean easily enough. It will need to be washed more often than once a month, though, to get a good shave. He says it doesn't shave close, but it's because he does poorly cleaning it, so I'm keeping it clean for him. It may take time before he is satisfied. Personally, I appreciate the help from customer service to find the type of electric shaver we'd been searching for, and I think it's a very good buy. But I am not the one who has to use it; although I'm the one who's going to clean it.

Musiclover1916
New Hampshire, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Not a comfortable shave.
3/14/2013

Customer review by Kevin089

2.0 stars 3/14/2013 by Kevin089
by Kevin089

I've only had this shaver for less than a month but am disappointed with the discomfort I experience while using it. I am very, very saddened that I'm unable to purchase replacement kits for my Remington Micro Screen II DA 107 shaver. I'm told that you have changed the design of the head which makes my reliable shaver useless. The F4790 Pivot and Flex Dual Foil Shaver gives a close shave but is much heavier (I understand that this is because of the battery) and the ends of the head that holds the screen, stick out past the screens a lot making it feel like I'm being scraped by these protruding edges. All I wanted was to have a corded shaver that was as close and comfortable as my old reliable DA 107. If I were able to purchase the proper replacement kits for this shaver, I would be a very happy man. Even if I could purchase a new replacement head for my DA 107 that would allow me to utilize the replacement kits for the "new" DA 107 head so that I could still use my old shaver, that would also make me happy. Sorry for this bad review but I would not recommend this shaver to anyone who asked me my opinion only because of my preferences.

Kevin089
Florida, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Improvement over previous models
5/31/2012

Customer review by rdm49

5.0 stars 5/31/2012 by rdm49
by rdm49

This review is by 63 year old man that has only used electric razors and Remington’s beginning with the XLR. I bought the F4790 to replace my MicroScreen 2 TCT model MS2-100. I’ve had the new razor less than a month. A big improvement is that the “Hair Pocket,” the plastic part that holds the screens, is now one piece with the screens. With my previous Remingtons, when the Hair Pocket became worn, the life of the screens would be shortened. Before I noticed the worn Hair Pocket on my MS2, I went threw 2 sets of screens. I bought this razor instead of buying a 3rd set of screens and a new Hair Pocket. The closeness of the shave seems to be the same as the MicroScreen 2 TCT. The TCT model was a big improvement in closeness from the XLR and the 1st MicroScreen 2. The trimmer works the same as on previous models. In the up position it is level with the head so you can shave and cut the long hairs. However when extended, the “pivot” is locked. The pivoting head does keep both screens on your face. The razor is larger than previous models and does not come with a travel case. It’s too big for the old cases. Overall, I’m satisfied and think this model is an improvement.

rdm49
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Cutter assembly pops off after two years of light use
8/29/2012

Customer review by Barky

2.0 stars 8/29/2012 by Barky
by Barky

From the beginning I disliked the cutter assembly (should be called the foil assembly but I'm using terminology from the instructions. My old Remington from the 1980s had a button for releasing the assembly that worked great, but with the 4790 you have you give it a good yank to get two flat springs out of two holes. Getting it back on is like flipping a coin. There's no clear indication of where the front of the cutter assembly is but it only goes on one way. Worst of all, I had it for two weeks past the 2 year warranty when the flat springs stopped holding the cutter assembly in place. It kept popping off while shaving, posing a risk of injury from the exposed cutters. I took out my mini-screwdrivers and accessed the springs and tried seating them differently but the cover still wouldn't stay on. Over the two years I used it, I shaved every other or every third day. Two years isn't a long enough life with that kind of use. I see Remington has a model called F4790GB now. I wonder if the problem is fixed in the GB version, but I'm not going to risk it. Hard to comment on closeness of shave because I think it's harder with any electric razor when you shave days-old growth, but it didn't shave well for me.

Barky
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Excellent
10/14/2012

Customer review by ElStratto

5.0 stars 10/14/2012 by ElStratto
by ElStratto

Very good shaver, meets my expectations. I had a very old Remington that finally wore out so I tried some diffferent ones. Should have stuck with Remington. This one is excellent and does a very good job. Holds charge a long time. My only complaint is that the protective head cover doesn't fit too well and I'm never sure it's on securely. But overall a very good value.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ElStratto
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Disappointed once again
7/6/2012

Customer review by Shaverola

1.0 stars 7/6/2012 by Shaverola
by Shaverola

I've been shaving with the F4790 for 3 months and the foil already has two small holes in it. I bought this shaver at the same time as I bought replacement foil and blades for my Remington DA307. The replacement foil for the DA307 developed holes after just 5 months, yet the original lasted close to 9 months. Then I started using the new F4790 in late April 2012 and the same holes developed. I'm really careful with my shaver and clean it as recommended. There is definitely some quality control problem on foils or else they're being made you know where. I just may be switching over to Braun, whose foils always lasted well over a year.

Shaverola
San Diego CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Not worth the money
1/13/2012

Customer review by rvrvrvrv

1.0 stars 1/13/2012 by rvrvrvrv
by rvrvrvrv

The shaver is loud, it does a poor job of cutting whiskers and almost always misses some that show up as long hairs the next day. I would add a little more money and buy a cheap Braun which is a much better deal (I've owned 3 Brauns).

Was this review helpful? (6) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rvrvrvrv
Oak Island, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
The best of a long usage of Remington electric shavers
2/5/2012

Customer review by amereng

5.0 stars 2/5/2012 by amereng
by amereng

I have been using Remington electric shavers for approxiimately 40 years. The models have changed a lot but this model is the best. My previous model ,still operating ,tends to irritate the skin. I use it however and a good after shave product to reduce the razer burn. I find in the past the battery life was always the problem. I have tried various things to help extend the life with some success. I found using to exhaustion gave the best battery life. The memory from the battery usually causes the problem. I had hoped you would eventually use lithium ion batteries to extend the life. Best Jim Bradley

amereng
San Antonio Texas USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Disappointed
1/30/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 1/30/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Used it less than a month before a slight rip in the foil cut my face. When I went to order a replacement foil it was temporarily out of stock. Luckily I still had my old Reminigton in which the shaver head was one unit and not the foil which cannot take any pressure. Much, much preferred the old model but they no longer manufacture that type of razor. Unforunate and I hope they will reconsider. I looked everywhere but could not find a suitable replacement so I am circling back to give this foil shaver a second try since the replacement parts are now available.

An anonymous customer
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
This is a great investment if you want a great product
4/27/2011

Customer review by CasseynSam2011

5.0 stars 4/27/2011 by CasseynSam2011
by CasseynSam2011

I bought this product for my husband who is over seas. He loves it and it is the only razor he will use now. It holds its charge very well, and it shaves really close. He says that he only has to go over his face one time with it because it shave so great. That is a good thing two because he has to be ready to go pretty fast in the mornings. Buying this has saved us so much money because we do not have to buy disposable razors any more. My husband and I would recommend this razor to everybody. It is a great investment, and it is very inexpensive.

CasseynSam2011
Flag Pond, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
1-20 of 61 total reviews
1-20 of 61 reviews