Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 183 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

183 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

183 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

76%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
61
4 stars
64
3 stars
21
2 stars
13
1 stars
24
1-20 of 170 total reviews
76%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 170 total reviews
1-20 of 170 reviews
Great desk but...
1/9/2012

Customer review by scorpiogirl18

4.0 stars 1/9/2012 by scorpiogirl18
by scorpiogirl18

Let me preface this review by saying I LOVE this desk. It's for my new home office, it's the beautiful chocolate brown color I'd expected, it was easy to assemble. My disappointment with this product is that while from the 'front', it's beautiful and professional, from the 'back' it's non painted pressboard. So while they show the desk in the middle of the room in the advertisement picture, you really CAN'T have that side of the desk exposed. It's clearly intended to be positioned up against a wall, which is not what I'd hoped for, which is why I only rated the appearance a 3 out of 5. I purchased the media center from this collection as well, and ironically the back of that is appropriately colored. Very sturdy and pretty product, just make sure you have a spot against a wall for the unattractive back side!

Was this review helpful? (271) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
scorpiogirl18
Franklin, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great home office in Kitchen
1/10/2012

Customer review by valuemomnj

5.0 stars 1/10/2012 by valuemomnj
by valuemomnj

So, I needed a desk that was going in our kitchen and this one is just perfect. It matches the black chairs in our Kitchen set. It is very good looking desk and has just about everything needed to run a house. I do wish it had a little tray for the pens, but thats so minor, it doesnt really count. My husband and I put it together in 2 hours and I love it. I can have my laptop, bills, school papers and I love the cubbies for those little extras. Overall, great desk for the money.

Was this review helpful? (53) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
valuemomnj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Desk for Price
2/23/2012

Customer review by BusinessWomanCDF

5.0 stars 2/23/2012 by BusinessWomanCDF
by BusinessWomanCDF

I purchased this desk at the beginning of February and it arrived on the date that Walmart indicated. I read the instructions, put it together, which took about 3-4 hours, not bad and then I was up and running. It is a great looking desk, however, the way it is instructed and after you finish building it, there is no back or finished back to the product. It is supposed to and looks like the image, however there is no back or what you see is the unfinished parts of the wood/board. Other than that, it is a great desk and I have received a lot of compliments.

Was this review helpful? (45) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BusinessWomanCDF
Grand Prairie, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Designed for failure even before use
10/17/2012

Customer review by Edislow

2.0 stars 10/17/2012 by Edislow
by Edislow

What a shame this beautiful desk wasn't designed for actual use....the lack of support for the side drawers means the top caves in (no kidding) and the drawers won't close (no kidding), even before I'd put a single thing in it or on it. Only by having my carpenter - who happened to be here - build two additional legs were we able to close the drawers properly. What would have happened if we'd put any weight into those "file" drawers without the extra support? I think the desk would have broken apart in the middle. Since this wasn't a junk piece, and I needed it for real use, this lack of engineering is preposterous. And given that it took me most of a day to assemble -- with skimpy directions and half the parts unidentified -- I'm backpedaling a lot on this purchase. You might want to think twice about this one....which is otherwise quite lovely. It's just silly that such an obvious lack of structural engineering resulted in an inoperative item.

Was this review helpful? (33) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Edislow
Edisto Island, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
For the love of all things holy do not buy this.
8/8/2013

Customer review by midisurf

1.0 stars 8/8/2013 by midisurf
by midisurf

I am the first one to expect very little when buying furniture like this but in this case, its way worse than expected. We bought this for my wife. I was going to convert it into a makeup vanity since she just had to have massive drawers. It wasn't too bad to assemble. The instructions were, surprisingly, very comprehensive although some of the parts did not have labels. The hardware which was included also was not too bad. The problem is the material. It's like the thing is made out of match sticks. Any wrong move and you will break a lot of important pieces. We scratched the finish during assembly. We just covered that with a place mat. Now the major problem was when we had to move the desk into its permanent home. A little resistance from the carpet and the whole right side of the desk started crumbling like a cookie in a fat kids mouth. If you can manage to assemble this thing in the most delicate fashion. Move it into place without destroying the base structure, and never ever set anything on it, it actually looks like it is well built and has a nice finish. Yet, all of that would be a lie. This desk is worth maybe 30 bucks.

Was this review helpful? (25) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
midisurf
kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love this!
3/8/2012

Customer review by Rachx09

5.0 stars 3/8/2012 by Rachx09
by Rachx09

I love this desk. Took my fiancee awhile to get it together but it was all well worth it in the end. I love Sauder & I will be purchasing more of their products for my future home!

Was this review helpful? (20) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rachx09
Lima, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love it!
6/29/2012

Customer review by KLS84

5.0 stars 6/29/2012 by KLS84
by KLS84

Love my desk! Great desk for the price, and looks much more expensive. It's just what I was looking for! Color matches all the other dark wood furniture in my house.

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KLS84
Corpus Christi, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very poor instructions
9/17/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 9/17/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Let me first start out by saying that the image for this is desk is great and that’s what sold me on the item but after that there isn’t much to get exciting about. Upon arrival from Wal-Mart the desk was damaged with a couple of tears in the box but I pressed on thinking it was only a slight nick. Well the instructions were not very clear and most of the pieces didn’t have the correct or no labels to mark which pieces they were; now I have put together quite a few of these type desk together over the years so following the instructions wasn't the problem. Now after about 2+ hours I was able to get the desk together completely and was somewhat pleased with the look and feel of the desk but I after all the labor I wouldn't recommend this desk not because of the quality because you can’t expect too much for $149 but because of the poor instructions it made the experience labor intensive and took the fun out of getting something new but I would say if you enjoy putting together jigsaw puzzles you will certainly enjoy this desk.

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Woodstock, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very Pleased!!!
11/13/2012

Customer review by StayAtHomeZooKeeper

4.0 stars 11/13/2012 by StayAtHomeZooKeeper
by StayAtHomeZooKeeper

After reading some of the reviews online, I decided to take a chance on this desk and I am SO glad I did. It's exactly what we were looking for! Although it took a bit of patience and re-reading the directions to get it put together, it was well worth it. This desk is very sturdy and solid! There is no finished backing in case you wanted to place it in the center of a room or facing outward, however, ours is against a wall so it wasn't an issue for us. I would have given it 5 stars except on the website it stated it had 4 drawers, but only has 3. Not an issue here because it still has great storage space. Overall, I am convinced that you could not find a better desk for this price.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
StayAtHomeZooKeeper
Travelers Rest, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Soooo Disappointed!
1/22/2014

Customer review by TJBP

1.0 stars 1/22/2014 by TJBP
by TJBP

I love love love the look of this desk, but it's really poorly made. There are four legs holding up the desk, but there really should be six legs. The drawers are buckling in the center because they don't have legs to support them. If they were going to design the desk this way than the drawers should be screwed into the desktop for support, but they aren't. I had to stack books between the floor and the bottom drawer to keep the drawer up! And mind you there's nothing in the drawers! they're empty! So you can't argue that they're being weighed down by to much stuff in them. I'm so disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TJBP
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
very bad piece of a desk. particle board!
7/5/2012

Customer review by batavus

1.0 stars 7/5/2012 by batavus
by batavus

This desk looks good but when I recieved it it is a substandard particle board and many of the pieces crumbled and fell apart when assembling. This will not last long and was poorly packaged upon shipment with dents and cracks. very displeased with this product.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
batavus
nashville tenn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice desk, take a little more time to assembly
1/27/2012

Customer review by ab0604

4.0 stars 1/27/2012 by ab0604
by ab0604

This is a nice looking desk, and it has 3 drawers which meet my needs (I thought there are 4 drawers from the picture). However, it took us several hours to assembly it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ab0604
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A Desk with character.
5/8/2012

Customer review by Dee8100

4.0 stars 5/8/2012 by Dee8100
by Dee8100

The desk is beautiful and everything I wanted. Unfortunately It wasn't well packed and protected, because there were three scrapes and dents on the some parts. The plastic bag in which the screws are stored was torn, which caused all of it to spill in the box. Other than that, the desk looks great.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dee8100
Very good desk
12/4/2013

Customer review by Vandelay

4.0 stars 12/4/2013 by Vandelay
by Vandelay

I'm a huge fan of the small hutch - it's not a huge piece but makes for nice extra storage and hideaway space. Setup was pretty average - nothing hard, it can just take some time if you do it by yourself. It looks great. The only complaint is that what looks like 3 drawers on the side is actually 2- the front makes it look like 2 smaller drawers are on top, but it's one deeper drawer. Nothing major though. Also on the topic of drawers, a plus is that the drawer above the open area for your legs is actually a drawer, not one of those slide out keyboard shelves that just looks like a regular drawer.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Vandelay
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great product for the price.
8/1/2012

Customer review by HoosierDadda

5.0 stars 8/1/2012 by HoosierDadda
by HoosierDadda

This desk is actually quite nice for the very reasonable price. It was delivered to the store about a week later than expected, but that was my only problem (not a very big one). It took me about 3 hours to put together (would have been done faster, but had a 5 and 1 year old helping me). The drawers line up great and it seems really solid as a whole.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HoosierDadda
LaGrange, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great desk, Great Value
7/9/2012

Customer review by RemyK

5.0 stars 7/9/2012 by RemyK
by RemyK

This is a gorgeous, sturdy desk. Of course, like all "cheap" desks, it is made out of MDF. What makes this desk worth the price is the very nice laminate and finish on each of the panels. Construction is straightforward provided that you read the directions carefully, don't overtighten anything, and screw things in carefully so things align correctly. Even so, the holes were drilled in such a way to give plenty of leeway and the drawers have a cam that can be adjusted in case you didn't align the rails perfectly. My only problem is that there are actually only TWO drawers. One of the drawers has a facade with two handles. Looks nice, but I would have rather have two small and one large drawer vs two large ones. I bought this RIGHT before the rollback, so I am a little disappointed I didn't just wait.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RemyK
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice desk for the price
12/28/2013

Customer review by peeps169

4.0 stars 12/28/2013 by peeps169
by peeps169

Overall, I am please with the desk. I had actually found the same identical desk on another website for more money. I feel I did get the best price available for it. It arrived earlier than expected, which was a nice surprise. My son was able to put the desk together fairly quickly using the directions provided. The only bad thing was when the desk arrived, it appeared one of the front corners was chipped. We were able to conceal it with wood touch-up stain. Overall, however, the desk is very nice and I'm pleasantly happy with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
peeps169
Dalmatia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
didn't go together as easily as expected
6/28/2012

Customer review by naste

3.0 stars 6/28/2012 by naste
by naste

great desk they forgot to label all the parts the drawers were really tough

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
naste
st.peters
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Do not buy this desk!
7/17/2014

Customer review by BPEPH

1.0 stars 7/17/2014 by BPEPH
by BPEPH

I have just come home from returning this desk to the store. After spending all afternoon putting it together, when I got to the drawers I discovered they were stained on the wrong side! This desk is a hunk of junk! After all my work I had to take it back to the store. Don't be fooled by the pictures as I was!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BPEPH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good desk for the price
4/15/2014

Customer review by Anjell

4.0 stars 4/15/2014 by Anjell
by Anjell

I was disappointed about two things when this arrived; 1. I received broken pieces & 2. the top "two" draws are actually one. When I found this desk, I searched for it specifically to find it available through other vendors, some had better descriptions than others, or better pictures, but none could beat the price. Upon opening the box, the first thing I pulled out were two completely crushed draw sides. I called Sauder & getting the replacement parts was super simple & painless. Luckily the parts that were broken did not affect my ability to put together the rest of the desk. I may have read that it said somewhere that this unit had 3 draws, I guess that didn't register since the picture clearly shows 4, but I can assure you the picture is deceiving; it is a total of 3 draws, including the pencil draw. Overall, the unit feels sturdy, looks expensive, & does what I wanted it to do.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Anjell
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
1-20 of 170 total reviews
1-20 of 170 reviews