Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 206 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

206 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

206 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

77%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
69
4 stars
72
3 stars
24
2 stars
15
1 stars
26
1-20 of 193 total reviews
77%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 193 total reviews
1-20 of 193 reviews
Great desk but...
1/9/2012

Customer review by scorpiogirl18

4.0 stars 1/9/2012 by scorpiogirl18
by scorpiogirl18

Let me preface this review by saying I LOVE this desk. It's for my new home office, it's the beautiful chocolate brown color I'd expected, it was easy to assemble. My disappointment with this product is that while from the 'front', it's beautiful and professional, from the 'back' it's non painted pressboard. So while they show the desk in the middle of the room in the advertisement picture, you really CAN'T have that side of the desk exposed. It's clearly intended to be positioned up against a wall, which is not what I'd hoped for, which is why I only rated the appearance a 3 out of 5. I purchased the media center from this collection as well, and ironically the back of that is appropriately colored. Very sturdy and pretty product, just make sure you have a spot against a wall for the unattractive back side!

Was this review helpful? (338) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
scorpiogirl18
Franklin, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love it!
6/29/2012

Customer review by KLS84

5.0 stars 6/29/2012 by KLS84
by KLS84

Love my desk! Great desk for the price, and looks much more expensive. It's just what I was looking for! Color matches all the other dark wood furniture in my house.

Was this review helpful? (26) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KLS84
Corpus Christi, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Designed for failure even before use
10/17/2012

Customer review by Edislow

2.0 stars 10/17/2012 by Edislow
by Edislow

What a shame this beautiful desk wasn't designed for actual use....the lack of support for the side drawers means the top caves in (no kidding) and the drawers won't close (no kidding), even before I'd put a single thing in it or on it. Only by having my carpenter - who happened to be here - build two additional legs were we able to close the drawers properly. What would have happened if we'd put any weight into those "file" drawers without the extra support? I think the desk would have broken apart in the middle. Since this wasn't a junk piece, and I needed it for real use, this lack of engineering is preposterous. And given that it took me most of a day to assemble -- with skimpy directions and half the parts unidentified -- I'm backpedaling a lot on this purchase. You might want to think twice about this one....which is otherwise quite lovely. It's just silly that such an obvious lack of structural engineering resulted in an inoperative item.

Was this review helpful? (51) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Edislow
Edisto Island, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love this desk!!!
3/15/2016

Customer review by momof3

5.0 stars 3/15/2016 by momof3
by momof3

I loved the very dark mocha brown (almost black) color of this desk. It matched perfectly in my home office. The size was perfect, not to big like the desk I replaced with the drawers on both sides. I liked the fact that there are 3 drawers, 1 shallow one for pencils, pens and staplers and tape, then there is a deep drawer for larger supplies and then the file drawer which holds all letter size folders. I purchased this desk along with the Utility stand file cabinet and both were easy to put together. The directions were very straight forward and all pieces and screws came in the box. This furniture is well made and the drawers are very sturdy. You will need a second person to assist with putting this desk together about mid way through. The product was also very well packaged. I have been using this furniture for a week now and I am very happy and would definitely recommend this to others!

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
momof3
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very poor instructions
9/17/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 9/17/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Let me first start out by saying that the image for this is desk is great and that’s what sold me on the item but after that there isn’t much to get exciting about. Upon arrival from Wal-Mart the desk was damaged with a couple of tears in the box but I pressed on thinking it was only a slight nick. Well the instructions were not very clear and most of the pieces didn’t have the correct or no labels to mark which pieces they were; now I have put together quite a few of these type desk together over the years so following the instructions wasn't the problem. Now after about 2+ hours I was able to get the desk together completely and was somewhat pleased with the look and feel of the desk but I after all the labor I wouldn't recommend this desk not because of the quality because you can’t expect too much for $149 but because of the poor instructions it made the experience labor intensive and took the fun out of getting something new but I would say if you enjoy putting together jigsaw puzzles you will certainly enjoy this desk.

Was this review helpful? (17) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Woodstock, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Damaged goods?
4/11/2016

Customer review by Tina

2.0 stars 4/11/2016 by Tina
by Tina

So I'm waiting for this desk to arrive and I'm very excited when I get an email telling me it's ready for pick up. When I get the desk to my upstairs apartment, one it was very heavy. Two, the assembly took about 4 hours, and three, parts of the desk were deeply scratched. I was very upset to discover that three different parts of this desk were so deeply scratched and they are parts that are visible to the eye. I'm not sure if this damage was because of walmart or Sauder but I won't be purchasing anything else from them in the future. I wish I could attach the photos I took of the desk to this review.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Looks great!
7/7/2016

Customer review by Happycamper

4.0 stars 7/7/2016 by Happycamper
by Happycamper
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great value. This is the 3rd piece of the Sauder collection we have purchased. Looks great. Some pieces have small scratches- easy fix. Looking forward to picking up last piece to finish room.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Happycamper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
For the love of all things holy do not buy this.
8/8/2013

Customer review by midisurf

1.0 stars 8/8/2013 by midisurf
by midisurf
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am the first one to expect very little when buying furniture like this but in this case, its way worse than expected. We bought this for my wife. I was going to convert it into a makeup vanity since she just had to have massive drawers. It wasn't too bad to assemble. The instructions were, surprisingly, very comprehensive although some of the parts did not have labels. The hardware which was included also was not too bad. The problem is the material. It's like the thing is made out of match sticks. Any wrong move and you will break a lot of important pieces. We scratched the finish during assembly. We just covered that with a place mat. Now the major problem was when we had to move the desk into its permanent home. A little resistance from the carpet and the whole right side of the desk started crumbling like a cookie in a fat kids mouth. If you can manage to assemble this thing in the most delicate fashion. Move it into place without destroying the base structure, and never ever set anything on it, it actually looks like it is well built and has a nice finish. Yet, all of that would be a lie. This desk is worth maybe 30 bucks.

Was this review helpful? (33) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
midisurf
kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood
7/6/2016

Customer review by inspector458

2.0 stars 7/6/2016 by inspector458
by inspector458
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I ordered this desk after reading the full explanation from the manufacture. I bought it for my office to sit in the middle of the room, facing the entry door. I assembled it according to the instructions, which were good. As I was finishing it, I kept going back to the box to see if there was a finished panel for the front of the desk. Not once in any description of this product did it mention you must put it against the wall. Poor quality design in the product has the outer side of the desk UNFINISHED. I bought this desk because of the beautiful finish. I am now STUCK with this desk against the wall.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
inspector458
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great home office in Kitchen
1/10/2012

Customer review by valuemomnj

5.0 stars 1/10/2012 by valuemomnj
by valuemomnj

So, I needed a desk that was going in our kitchen and this one is just perfect. It matches the black chairs in our Kitchen set. It is very good looking desk and has just about everything needed to run a house. I do wish it had a little tray for the pens, but thats so minor, it doesnt really count. My husband and I put it together in 2 hours and I love it. I can have my laptop, bills, school papers and I love the cubbies for those little extras. Overall, great desk for the money.

Was this review helpful? (57) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
valuemomnj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Disappointed
1/28/2016

Customer review by Disappointed

1.0 stars 1/28/2016 by Disappointed
by Disappointed

Desk arrived with damage to the shipping box. As a result, numerous screws were missing and the surface of the desk damaged. Once put together, it was not well produced. The back is completely unfinished, a fact not contained in the website. Absolutely not for a professional environment. The manufacturer was responsive to replacement parts and offered a rebate on a future purchase. I declined a coupon as I see no future purchase at any time. Seller refunded promptly. Not a high quality product at all.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Disappointed
Would recommend to a friend? No
Sauder Shoal Creek Desk, Jamocha Wood
6/29/2016

Customer review by RNW56

5.0 stars 6/29/2016 by RNW56
by RNW56
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My only problem was I was missing screws to put drawers together. Luckily, I had a collection of screws and other parts that I have collected from previous furniture that was put together.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RNW56
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
No recomended
7/1/2016

Customer review by Martha

3.0 stars 7/1/2016 by Martha
by Martha
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Assembled so complicated,also the surface was broken

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Martha
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Soooo Disappointed!
1/22/2014

Customer review by TJBP

1.0 stars 1/22/2014 by TJBP
by TJBP

I love love love the look of this desk, but it's really poorly made. There are four legs holding up the desk, but there really should be six legs. The drawers are buckling in the center because they don't have legs to support them. If they were going to design the desk this way than the drawers should be screwed into the desktop for support, but they aren't. I had to stack books between the floor and the bottom drawer to keep the drawer up! And mind you there's nothing in the drawers! they're empty! So you can't argue that they're being weighed down by to much stuff in them. I'm so disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TJBP
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very Pleased!!!
11/13/2012

Customer review by StayAtHomeZooKeeper

4.0 stars 11/13/2012 by StayAtHomeZooKeeper
by StayAtHomeZooKeeper
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After reading some of the reviews online, I decided to take a chance on this desk and I am SO glad I did. It's exactly what we were looking for! Although it took a bit of patience and re-reading the directions to get it put together, it was well worth it. This desk is very sturdy and solid! There is no finished backing in case you wanted to place it in the center of a room or facing outward, however, ours is against a wall so it wasn't an issue for us. I would have given it 5 stars except on the website it stated it had 4 drawers, but only has 3. Not an issue here because it still has great storage space. Overall, I am convinced that you could not find a better desk for this price.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
StayAtHomeZooKeeper
Travelers Rest, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Shorted on hardware, hard to replace
6/25/2014

Customer review by 2MuchFun4Now

2.0 stars 6/25/2014 by 2MuchFun4Now
by 2MuchFun4Now
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Although the desk wasn't that difficult to assemble, especially with two people, the project ended on a sour note when they shorted us on 6 small screws to attach the rails for the desk drawer. I first tried screws I had on hand but they were either too long (broke through to the inside of the drawer and ruined the inside) or they did not countersink and the rail didn't work. Went to the hardware store and they didn't have anything that was wide enough and short enough. So I ended up finding a small screw that would fit, but not tight, and then taped it so it would work. Very frustrating experience. This is the first time I've ordered from Walmart online. The order initially didn't go through and I had to call the credit card company to authorize as I guess Walmart gets a lot of fraud. I've never had this experience with any other online purchase. Quite a lot of effort for rather mediocre results.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2MuchFun4Now
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Desk for Price
2/23/2012

Customer review by BusinessWomanCDF

5.0 stars 2/23/2012 by BusinessWomanCDF
by BusinessWomanCDF

I purchased this desk at the beginning of February and it arrived on the date that Walmart indicated. I read the instructions, put it together, which took about 3-4 hours, not bad and then I was up and running. It is a great looking desk, however, the way it is instructed and after you finish building it, there is no back or finished back to the product. It is supposed to and looks like the image, however there is no back or what you see is the unfinished parts of the wood/board. Other than that, it is a great desk and I have received a lot of compliments.

Was this review helpful? (49) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BusinessWomanCDF
Grand Prairie, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great desk, Great Value
7/9/2012

Customer review by RemyK

5.0 stars 7/9/2012 by RemyK
by RemyK

This is a gorgeous, sturdy desk. Of course, like all "cheap" desks, it is made out of MDF. What makes this desk worth the price is the very nice laminate and finish on each of the panels. Construction is straightforward provided that you read the directions carefully, don't overtighten anything, and screw things in carefully so things align correctly. Even so, the holes were drilled in such a way to give plenty of leeway and the drawers have a cam that can be adjusted in case you didn't align the rails perfectly. My only problem is that there are actually only TWO drawers. One of the drawers has a facade with two handles. Looks nice, but I would have rather have two small and one large drawer vs two large ones. I bought this RIGHT before the rollback, so I am a little disappointed I didn't just wait.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RemyK
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Shoal Creek Desk
6/18/2016

Customer review by TNGA

4.0 stars 6/18/2016 by TNGA
by TNGA
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Went together fairly easy and looks good.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TNGA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Beautiful for the price, but top lifts off
4/18/2016

Customer review by natalieo

3.0 stars 4/18/2016 by natalieo
by natalieo

The hardware to put this together is horrible. We put it together then went to move it to the room and the top lifted right off. We purchased L brackets and reinforced everything. You can't put anything heavy on the top shelf like a monitor, it bows. We had to put an additional support. It's beautiful for the price, you just have to rig it to work. It's just how things are made these days.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
natalieo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 193 total reviews
1-20 of 193 reviews