Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 67 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

67 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

67 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

62%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
29
4 stars
11
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 stars
17
1-20 of 67 total reviews
62%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 67 total reviews
1-20 of 67 reviews
Great Deal and Good for Everyday Cleaning!
7/18/2016

Customer review by Kimberly2

5.0 stars 7/18/2016 by Kimberly2
by Kimberly2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I gave this a great rating because it does the job well even though it's not the deluxe model with the rotating brushes underneath. I wanted cheap, and effective. I definitely got that! I've used it a couple times since I moved into a new place and it's getting up grime from the old residents who had the carpets "professionally cleaned." I feel comfortable lying on the carpet now. I happened to get the package deal that Walmart was offering that came with an $8 bottle of the solution too for only a couple dollars more than the sale price on the carpet cleaner. The only hassle I had was getting the stuff?! It was supposed to be delivered on a holiday (which I thought was weird, so gave the benefit of the doubt and an extra day in my mind)...but no show. The cleaning solution was supposedly delivered 2 times (with specific times noted) but it was never here and I was home? Finally, after some follow up each item did arrive. Then, they arrived again? Geez. I did send the extra one back. Karma. Sigh. Should've kept it for what I went through getting it! Well worth the delay and follow up in the end.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kimberly2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Borrowed from a friend.
8/25/2013

Customer review by Lhawke

4.0 stars 8/25/2013 by Lhawke
by Lhawke

I borrowed this from a friend and I was surprised. I use a borax mixture (probably voids the warranty but she does too.) and I can't begin to tell you how horrified I am at my carpets. I had rented a rug doctor for two a little while ago. For two days worth of cleaning (and doing more passes than I should of# the carpet became a lighter brown. Using this ceaner, the hoover, it came lighter #also should mention I used the rug doctor cleaner with the rug doctor and borax with the hoover# in about 20 minutes. It does pick up the water really well too. My only thing is I dislike the filter in the dirty tank. I suppose if I did buy this one instead of borrowing it, I would have extras to clean in between uses. #I'd use it alot as I a have two toddlers). But over all, it's a great cleaner. I have to say that sometimes damages happen, and if something is broken out of box, it could of been shipping that broke it. So perhaps they should just exchange it for another one?

Was this review helpful? (29) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lhawke
nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Say what?
5/24/2016

Customer review by Sinkers

5.0 stars 5/24/2016 by Sinkers
by Sinkers
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It worked.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sinkers
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good
6/4/2016

Customer review by Lucy

5.0 stars 6/4/2016 by Lucy
by Lucy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Easy to assemble Good vacuum

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lucy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The Best!!!
2/21/2016

Customer review by ALICE

5.0 stars 2/21/2016 by ALICE
by ALICE

Excellent! You will not be disappointed...made our old carpet look fluffy and clean!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ALICE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
7/1/2013

Customer review by anottap

5.0 stars 7/1/2013 by anottap
by anottap
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This carpet cleaner was purchased to replace the Hoover that died after being used for over 15 years. This machine is similar in style. It is easy to use and does a very good job. I'm expecting this machine to last a long time too. I would highly recommend this machine.

Was this review helpful? (42) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
anottap
Bradenton, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fine Results - May Be Better With a Little Help
9/26/2014

Customer review by BubbaNort

3.0 stars 9/26/2014 by BubbaNort
by BubbaNort
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I opted for this model to clean carpet only - no need for attachments to clean stairs or other small areas. It did in fact clean carpet almost as well as larger commercial rental machines. It didn't erase some obvious, concentrated stains but I hope it will do better next time when I have Hoover spot and stain remover (currently on order) to pretreat. Overall, left carpet bright (and smelling nice, too). One caution: The generic instruction manual mentions a low cleaner level automatic cutoff but this basic model does not have that feature; keep an eye on that cleaner reservoir!

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 10/30/2014

Hi BubbaNort! Pre-treating your carpets will definitely help with those concentrated stains. The automatic shut off is just to let you know it's time to empty that dirty water. Thanks for your feedback! <br /><br />-Giselle <br />Hoover Customer Care

BubbaNort
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Basic Hoover shampooer
6/9/2016

Customer review by MaraT

4.0 stars 6/9/2016 by MaraT
by MaraT
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The machine works very well. However, I wasn't impressed by the small bottle of cleaner that came with it. Luckily, I bought another Hoover cleaner that fit the bill.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MaraT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
terrible service
3/21/2016

Customer review by fate

1.0 stars 3/21/2016 by fate
by fate

Got it from pickup ay WalMart and mice chewed hole in box and destroyed all the foam and their was mouse dropping all in the deeper

Was this review helpful? (6) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 3/24/2016

Hi fate! Oh no, that is completely unacceptable. Please contact your local retailer regarding this concern for a proper resolution. Thank you for your time! -Karissa, Hoover Customer Care

fate
Would recommend to a friend? No
Steam vacuum
4/24/2016

Customer review by Hoover

5.0 stars 4/24/2016 by Hoover
by Hoover

Great for spills and cleaning the carpet. Remove spots gradually after several weeks completely.

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hoover
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good product
1/29/2015

Customer review by Paul

5.0 stars 1/29/2015 by Paul
by Paul

Gets the job done. Easy to use and operate. I'd rate it as a best buy. Good value.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Paul
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good cleaner for the money
10/9/2013

Customer review by Becky1961

4.0 stars 10/9/2013 by Becky1961
by Becky1961
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this because my Bissel carpet cleaner was sucking the soap down too fast and it was costing too much money to clean the carpet. My coworker has this style and I liked it so much better when I had borrowed it. Just read your descriptions of the product, however, I had to return this to the store and get a different model because I thought it had the stairs attachment, and it didn't come with it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Becky1961
Troy, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
defective!!!
6/21/2013

Customer review by Stenphen835

1.0 stars 6/21/2013 by Stenphen835
by Stenphen835

Right out of the box, the trigger is broken or defective, any way, after squeezing it, it doesn't rebound, no soaped water dispensed. Go back to return it tomorrow.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Stenphen835
Sacramento CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Simple to use, light weight and does the job
1/10/2014

Customer review by CleanLass

4.0 stars 1/10/2014 by CleanLass
by CleanLass

Purchased about a month ago and I am so happy I did. Now, I have to wait for the bare floor attachment to come that was missing from the box, so I can really tell you how it works on bare floors. Purchased to clean light colored carpeting and to do bare flooring. Actually, my friends had a similar model that was made of more durable heavier materials, under similar name, but older version. I liked using their cleaner from time to time. So much so, that I decided to get one for myself. This newer model is lighter. There is a yin and yang to this difference. It is simple to use, simple to put away. Does the job. Would like to see Hoover have manufacturing and distribution in U.S., as clearly the content was missing upon arrival. Glad the customer service representative was located in Ohio and was right on the situation. Overall, the machine does suction up dirt from being embedded in the carpet beautifully. Figure that just three or four uses, it pays for itself. Sure beats going to the rental place and lugging one of those huge monster machines back and forth. It is light, simple to use and does the job!

CleanLass
Maryland, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great no frills carpet cleaner
7/8/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/8/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

For what I paid, [$], I don't think there is a better carpet shampooer available. While it is a bare bones, no frills unit, it does the job very well. It has excellent suction and cleans the carpet very well. My carpet was completely dry after a few hours. It is simple to assemble and clean. It doesn't heat the water but the cleaning tank is small enough that the water is still very warm as it's finishing. Even at the regular price, I'm not sure you can do better. It is able to clean stains my entry level Bissell upright could not. My only gripe is the recovery tank has a smaller capacity than the water/solution tank. This is a very stupid decision by Hoover. You're forced to stop cleaning 3/4 of the way in to empty the tank. This gives the cleaning mix more time to cool; not good. But despite this one design flaw, I'm very pleased with this cleaner.

An anonymous customer
Bayonne, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great no frills carpet cleaner
7/10/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/10/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

For what I paid, [$], I don't think there is a better carpet shampooer available. While it is a bare bones, no frills unit, it does the job very well. It has excellent suction and cleans the carpet very well. My carpet was completely dry after a few hours. It is simple to assemble and clean. It doesn't heat the water but the cleaning tank is small enough that the water is still very warm as it's finishing. Even at the regular price, I'm not sure you can do better. It is able to clean stains my entry level Bissell upright could not. My only gripe is the recovery tank has a smaller capacity than the water/solution tank. This is a very stupid decision by Hoover. You're forced to stop cleaning 3/4 of the way in to empty the tank. This gives the cleaning mix more time to cool; not good. But despite this one design flaw, I'm very pleased with this cleaner.

An anonymous customer
Bayonne, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good for a Light Touch Up
1/12/2012

Customer review by Rolexboy

2.0 stars 1/12/2012 by Rolexboy
by Rolexboy

I bought this for [$] at Herberger on Black Friday. It came with a bottle of carpet shampoo, which costs $18.99 regular price. It was easy to install. I took less than 5 minutes to put it together. You just put on the handle and screw it in. It is fairly easy to use. The instructions in the book are not the best. If it stop sucking up water, it means that you need to dump the water in the bottom container out before it continues even though the container is only 70% full. It. When you start out, if it doesn't work, you need to take the bottom container out as if you need to dump the dirty water. Then you put it back in, and it will start to work. It doesn't clean as well as I had expected, you might need to do some pre-treatment or self scrubbing on slightly tougher area, such as stain from your shoes walking in the rain (no mud), which is pretty sad. The water is only as hot as your hot tap water. Because it is not as powerful as some of the expensive model, you need to an area a few time, so it ends up costing you more on the shampoo and time. I would recommend to rent a Rug Doctor at your local grocery store. It is much faster and clean a lot better.

Rolexboy
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Hoover steam vac
1/30/2016

Customer review by sherylwils1

5.0 stars 1/30/2016 by sherylwils1
by sherylwils1

I bought one 20 years ago with my first income tax. I'm sad that I can't use it anymore. The best carpet cleaner on the market..I had the Hoover steam cleaner..I want to try the Hoover spin scrub looks about the same but has spinning brushes. ..but I'll bet I'm going to love it also. .waiting ,hoping for a coupon.

sherylwils1
Pennsylvania, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
TOTAL FAILURE = except the refund went well!
6/22/2015

Customer review by ConnieW

1.0 stars 6/22/2015 by ConnieW
by ConnieW

Broken bottle of product was inside - empty, but with no residue !!! PACKED CRACKED AND EMPTY??? Must have been! But more importantly - while not looking opened (repackaged), it was missing all the attachments and even the rack that attaches to the machine and hold the attachments.... no hose, no nozzles, no rack...... all totaled MISSING 5 integral PIECES!!! It took longer to get to the store than stated and then it was unusable. It was in the house a grand total of 46 minutes... and we took it back. THE LOCAL STORE was great - good service picking it up and taking it back.... but NO MORE ONLINE purchases for me. REALLY??? Unknown if it's Hoover's fault of Wal-Mart's... I just know I made two trips to the store, waited well over a week for a 2-day delivery, and still ended up without any appliance..... NO MORE!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ConnieW
Would recommend to a friend? No
Lightweight and easy to use!!
12/15/2015

Customer review by Krystal T

5.0 stars 12/15/2015 by Krystal T
by Krystal T

I bought the Hoover on Black Friday because my two dogs always have accidents on my white carpet! This machine had no problem cleaning up dirt, dog urine, and old stains! My white carpets look new again and my house smells great! I would recommend this product to anyone. The only thing I do not like is not being able to buy attachments for the carpets and upholstery; otherwise this is a wonderful product! Thank you Hoover!!

Krystal T
Saint Paul, MN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 67 total reviews
1-20 of 67 reviews