Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 755 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

755 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

755 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
519
4 stars
155
3 stars
22
2 stars
13
1 stars
46
1-20 of 640 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 640 total reviews
1-20 of 640 reviews
Happy with it
6/23/2012

Customer review by TagetFan

5.0 stars 6/23/2012 by TagetFan
by TagetFan

My concern before I bought this was that it might open every time someone walked by it due to where I planned to locate it, but that has not been the case. They have done a good job with the sensor. The fee to ship this was only about $3... surprising low for something this big. My only complaint is that the Nine Stars warranty registration process needs improvement. The paper form does not list the address to which you should send it, and the web site would not accept the date of purchase when I entered it. Note--you'll need the product's UPC (bar code) number for the registration, so copy it down if you're going to throw out the box right away.

Was this review helpful? (105) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TagetFan
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This Nine Star Sensored Trash Can Worth Ten Stars!
8/29/2012

Customer review by MrTecraman

5.0 stars 8/29/2012 by MrTecraman
by MrTecraman

I had been looking for a nice reliable sensor trash can for our kitchen. I relied on many of the consumer ratings to assess which one to select and decided to go for the Nine Star 3.2 gallon stainless steel oval trash can. I shopped around on the internet and found the best price with shipping was with Walmart. It arrived quickly and nicely packaged. It was easy to assemble but the battery insertion required a bit of extra pressue to snap it in. Not only does it work like a charm but it looks great too. The lid opens as it's suppose to and closes tightly. It never shuts prematurely or opens erroneously. It's so much fun to use you will almost look forward to making garbage just so you can use it. I would highly recommend it without hesitation.

Was this review helpful? (55) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrTecraman
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sensored trash can is the best.
4/2/2014

Customer review by ILoveMyTwoKids

4.0 stars 4/2/2014 by ILoveMyTwoKids
by ILoveMyTwoKids

I had a sensored trash can but it broke. The lid no longer opened on its own even after I changed the battery. So, I bought a new one & it's much nicer looking and better than the last. The mouth of this trash can is wide which makes big to-go boxes easy to fit inside the can. Once you go with a sensored trash can you won't want to ever get any other kind. It's perfect for when you're cooking & your hands are full or dirty.

Was this review helpful? (32) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ILoveMyTwoKids
Augusta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This stainless steel trash can is just great!
10/9/2012

Customer review by onnlineshopper

4.0 stars 10/9/2012 by onnlineshopper
by onnlineshopper

The only concerns I have are that we went through C batteries needed pretty quick. Also it takes a bit of motion for the sensor to read and open the lid. I got the stainless lid because I wanted the look however it is very thin. It does however look good. I would buy another one and certainly recommend it to a friend.

Was this review helpful? (36) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
onnlineshopper
vermont northeast kingdom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
works better than my previous one!
10/24/2012

Customer review by RDHinNY

5.0 stars 10/24/2012 by RDHinNY
by RDHinNY

Sensor is great, doesn't open every time you walk by like my previous one did (different brand). Looks great, easy to change bag (last one had suction problem and was hard to remove garbage bag when full). Stainless is slightly thinner than would expect for trash can, did come with small dents on side. Possibly from travel?? But not too noticeable. Otherwise LOVE my new trash can!!

Was this review helpful? (43) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RDHinNY
Churchville, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome Non-Touch Stainless Steel Trash Can
3/6/2014

Customer review by WorkFromHome2012

5.0 stars 3/6/2014 by WorkFromHome2012
by WorkFromHome2012

Awesome Non-Touch Stainless Steel Trash Can! Fits more trash than I expected and keeps smell in!

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WorkFromHome2012
Covington, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/2/2012

Customer review by Purchaserguy

5.0 stars 11/2/2012 by Purchaserguy
by Purchaserguy

I needed a kitchen can with a lid because I have dogs. I used to have my garbage can under the kitchen sink on a pull-out, but that is not convenient since usually your hands are messy, so then the door handle and can would get dirty. This was the perfect solution. The sensor works great and it is a large capacity. The appearance is nice and matches my stainless steel appliances. Durability remains to be seen, as I have only had it for about a month. Hopefully it holds up.

Was this review helpful? (53) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Purchaserguy
United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Every household should have this! Great buy!
12/20/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/20/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

For the value it was one of our great buy this year! I think every household should have this. My kids call it the magic trash can!

Was this review helpful? (21) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I like it
5/14/2014

Customer review by Ojib

4.0 stars 5/14/2014 by Ojib
by Ojib

I've had this trash can for over a week now and so far it's been working like a charm. It's nice to have the trash lid open automatically when disposing the trash. It is wide enough to put large size objects such as a milk carton or similar size. The lid stays open till you move away from it which is cool or you can touch the open button to make it remain open then you touch the close button and it will go back to its auto open settings. I bought this when it was on sale for $49.99 now it's back to it original price of $69.99. I was surprise also how fast I got this 3 days and for a shipping price of $6 to $7. All in all very happy with this Trash Can and you will to if you buy it,but wait till it's on sale again.

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ojib
Huntington Beach,CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/12/2012

Customer review by bug50

5.0 stars 10/12/2012 by bug50
by bug50

Only had this trash can for two or three weeks so can't vouch for durability. However, it works fine and looks great! Holds much more trash than I expected. Very pleased so far.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bug50
New Castle, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
nothing but trouble
3/22/2014

Customer review by onlyone122001

1.0 stars 3/22/2014 by onlyone122001
by onlyone122001

I waited almost a year to write this review figuring I would give it some time to see how it holds up and it has been horrible. First one I got the lid stop working about 2 /12 months into it, lucky Walmart sent me a replacement trashcan since it was before 90 days. The second worked fine for about 5 months then the lid stop working again it would just open half way and close and it just kept doing that( no it wasn't the batteries changed them) finally it just gave out. I figured if I paid $60 for a trashcan that it would work for quit awhile, had no problems with the can itself just the darn lid. So I decided to get another lid I called nine star customer service and the representative ( horrible customer service he was so confused about his own product) I ordered a replacement lid, thinking I would give it one more try it cost $40 for the lid, which was still cheaper than buying a whole new trash can. They told me a week and half it would be delivered a month later I was still waiting so I called them back and they said they package were hung up in customs and they would refund me my money which took almost another two weeks to get refunded, I was starting to think they were not going to refund me. SO now I have a trashcan with a broken lid that is a pain in the rear to open when you need to throw something away. I would not recommend this trash can it has been one big huge headache!!!!

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
onlyone122001
clarinda IA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/27/2012

Customer review by jaden26

4.0 stars 11/27/2012 by jaden26
by jaden26

The trash can is very big and beautiful but yes it does drain the batteries very fast..

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jaden26
houston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good after we fixed a battery glitch ourselves
3/14/2014

Customer review by ProMakeupArtist2

4.0 stars 3/14/2014 by ProMakeupArtist2
by ProMakeupArtist2

Pros: streamlined appearance that can fit into small places. Quiet as far as I can tell, I have never owned a sensor lid before. The lid function works wonderful and is not too sensitive ( which I've read is an issue with other brands) it has a manual function open/close button for leaving the lid open for a longer period of time. Easy bag access that is hidden by the lid. Easy clean with simple wiping off. Cons: Husband had to fix the space where the batteries are inserted because they didn't connect all the way across to get power. That was a pain because we tried everything and had no power until he "rigged" it so the batteries would fit snug. No paperwork arrived from Walmart with it so we didn't want to deal with the company # as it would've been expensive to return. I haven't read any other issues with that so it was probably a fluke lid. It works fine and looks great other than that issue.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ProMakeupArtist2
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/29/2012

Customer review by Hart1

5.0 stars 11/29/2012 by Hart1
by Hart1

I had received a nine star stainless steel trash can as a gift almost five years ago and it worked great with no problems. A guest broke our lid by pulling it back that is why we ordered another nine star. This time we went with a 13 gallon. It looks great and is working with the same great quality as our previous nine star. I'm very satisfied with the price and quality!

Was this review helpful? (14) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hart1
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good value
12/16/2013

Customer review by Southernoak

5.0 stars 12/16/2013 by Southernoak
by Southernoak

I purchased this item to replace our five year old touchless can because it finally quit (plastic hinges broke again). We really like the larger opening, quieter mechanism, sturdier hinges and modern appearance of this Nine Star brand. I'm hoping the lighter lid will prevent the hinges from breaking as quickly. We all LOVE not having to touch a trash can lid to throw stuff away - especially when our Granddaughter spends the night. It's so much healthier than a regular trash can that we purchased one for our daughter as well. As far as the durability it's way too soon to tell right now since it's only been in use for four days. So far we are impressed and are keeping our fingers crossed that we'll get the same usage as we did with the other brand. We would recommend it to a friend at this price.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Southernoak
southernoak, Southeastern USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Looks and works great
3/17/2014

Customer review by prim

5.0 stars 3/17/2014 by prim
by prim

We are very happy with this product. It looks great in the kitchen and it works very well. It is just the right size for tall kitchen garbage bags. It looks as nice as the ones at double the price at Bed Bath and Beyond that didn't have the automatic open and close feature. I would recommended purchasing this trash can.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
prim
Flushing MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love this and it looks great
4/12/2014

Customer review by Katla46

4.0 stars 4/12/2014 by Katla46
by Katla46

I really wanted a clean and neat looking trash container this works perfect

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Katla46
North of Boston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So far, so good...
10/3/2012

Customer review by Deevadi

5.0 stars 10/3/2012 by Deevadi
by Deevadi

We've had it about a month and it serves it's purpose. We like the oval shape, especially the wider opening. Unlike some other reviewers' experiences, our can frequently opens when you walk by it. Yet it sometimes takes a few passes over the sensor before it'll open. It does tend to stay open a tad longer than our previous can, allowing enough time to swipe a plate of leftovers into it. We got it on sale ($10 off) and so far, we're happy with our purchase.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Deevadi
Colleyville, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Worked awesome for 7 years so far
3/19/2014

Customer review by PilotguyPA28

5.0 stars 3/19/2014 by PilotguyPA28
by PilotguyPA28

All I've had to do with this is change the batteries 2-3 times in 7 years. Best trash can I've ever had. Visitors love it but I love it better!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PilotguyPA28
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Seems to work fine, about what we expected.
1/8/2013

Customer review by JFster

3.0 stars 1/8/2013 by JFster
by JFster

Didn't work on arrival, had to adjust the positive battery contact, has worked fine ever since. Not sure yet as to the battery usage, hope it's not too great. Wife likes that I now have to walk over to deposit items rather than tossing them across the kitchen using the stove as a backboard.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JFster
Peshtigo, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 640 total reviews
1-20 of 640 reviews