Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 28 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

28 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

28 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

71%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
15
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
7
1-20 of 28 total reviews
71%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 28 total reviews
1-20 of 28 reviews
Very surprised with quality and power of mower.
4/11/2012

Customer review by cowboy85

5.0 stars 4/11/2012 by cowboy85
by cowboy85

I was leary of buying a battery operated mower.Well this mower just blew me away.To begin it came fully assembledight out of box!Battery was even fully charged.It had alot more power than I thought it would.Plus the self propelled part of it was amazing.No having to push this mower,you have to walk fast to keep up.It went through long thick grass with no problem.One of the best buys I have made.

Was this review helpful? (35) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cowboy85
Pierre,SD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Awesome!
4/4/2012

Customer review by coletrain01

5.0 stars 4/4/2012 by coletrain01
by coletrain01

I just got Greenworks Self-Propelled Battery-Powered Lawn Mower today. I was a little skeptical at first, but it worked better than I thought it would. It was already charged out of the box. There was some assembly, but my six year old daughter did it in two minutes. The self-start up was amazing. I wanted to see how long the charge would last, so I mowed my lawn twice over and it still had a bit of a charge. It took me about 45 minutes to do this, so I'm guessing the charge would have lasted another 5-15 minutes before it would have died. It's very quiet, and a lot more relaxing than my last gas mower. It's amazing how good fresh cut grass smells without the smell of fumes.

Was this review helpful? (35) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
coletrain01
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
packaging is a joke - arrived damaged two times
4/6/2012

Customer review by catweasle

1.0 stars 4/6/2012 by catweasle
by catweasle

The first unit I got came with a broken handle bar. Ok, these things can happen - I returned it to the store and ordered a new one. The second mower had the engine cover cracked when I unpacked it. It's actually no surprise considered the extremely poor packaging. Inside the box is nothing - no styrofoam, bubble wrap nor anything else - that would hold the 100 lbs heavy unit in place and protect it from damage. Perhaps the flimsy cardboard box is not intended for individual shipment but Walmart does it anyway when you order it online. Unfortunately I can't say anything about the product itself since Walmart wasn't able to provide me a unit in working condition.

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
catweasle
Would recommend to a friend? No
I love this mower!
7/4/2012

Customer review by islandgirl567

5.0 stars 7/4/2012 by islandgirl567
by islandgirl567

I am recommending this mower to a friend and am sending her a link to this page. When I saw the negative reviews on here I just had to put in my 2 cents. I bought this mower a couple of months ago and have used it about 5 or 6 times so far. I am very happy with my purchase. It is a great mower! It seems well-constructed. Assembly was minor and easy. The battery charges fully with no problems. I have a medium-sized yard and can mow my whole yard on one charge and still have power left over. The self-propel feature works well and makes mowing much easier and faster. The mower does a great job of mulching. It even handles relatively tall grass without a hitch. One feature that I really love about this mower is that the battery is easily removed so you have the option of charging the battery outside of the mower. Just grab the handle on the battery and lift it up to remove. I store my mower in a shed without electricity, so the removable battery is great because I can bring the battery in the house and charge it overnight. The battery is heavy, but the handle makes it easy to carry. I am a small woman, but with the handle I can carry the battery with one hand, although it is easier to carry using two hands. The battery adds a lot of weight to the mower but I don't have any trouble pushing the mower even without engaging the self-propel feature. Another nice feature is that it has latches on the handle so that the handle can easily be folded down for storage. Just lift the latch on each side and the handle folds down. The best part of all is that it is electric and cordless. No gas to buy or store. No fumes. No maintenance other than sharpening the blade. It starts instantly with the push of a button. Sweet! The only negative thing I can say about this mower is that the manufacturer recommends that the battery be charged every two weeks, even when not in use. That will be a pain during the winter. However, since the battery is removable, the battery can be stored in the house or garage during the off-season for easy charging. I am very glad I bought this mower and I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
islandgirl567
Oak Harbor, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
DO NOT BUY
5/8/2012

Customer review by jerseygirrl

1.0 stars 5/8/2012 by jerseygirrl
by jerseygirrl

Came thru FedEx all damaged, mowed for 10 mins and machine died. Called Canada based mfg. to get it fixed, they couldn't find a service center in 100 miles radius....I live near Trenton, NJ. Worst company and bogus product. Just returned.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jerseygirrl
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Just what i wanted
5/11/2012

Customer review by Dixieland

5.0 stars 5/11/2012 by Dixieland
by Dixieland

I have mowed twice and no problems. I have already saved on gas and oil and over time i hope the savings will be more than enough to pay for it. Whats not to love about no fumes and loud noise compared to a gas mower. If i had a large area to mow i would have bought a riding one. I feel better about the footprint this leaves behind. I have one half acre and i mowed what i needed to on one 1 charge. Very sharp blade and nice clean cut to grass.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dixieland
Etowah, Tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Awesome Paperweight
4/24/2012

Customer review by onlyjames

1.0 stars 4/24/2012 by onlyjames
by onlyjames

If you are looking for a 90 pound paperweight then look no further! This has it all! I ordered this mower online with high hopes and ideals wanting to save the planet with my eco-consciousness. I had it shipped to my house and when I got there I opened it carefully savoring the greatness that this mower would be. It was VERY easy to to put together no real problems there. I plugged the battery in and went to bed with visions of mulch in short grass in my head. I awoke the next day extra early with excitement in my heart. I ran down the steps unplugged the battery put it in the mower and.....nothing.....uh oh. hmmm. Well I was in a hurry so I plugged it back in hoping this would fix it. Got home from work and tried again. Again nothing but silence. I called the company the next day and they referred me to a lawnmower company about an hour away to fix to it as it was most likely a loose wire. She said this very casually as this is the standard response. I assume this must happen a lot. So I got the information and called the repair place. On the phone I stated who I was and what my issue was...I was met with silence. It was like my mower worked for them! Are the robots taking over...is skynet becoming self aware? Finally I heard..."is that one of them lectric mowers?" I said "yes". He replied "Yeah I think we work on those some". I said thanks and just took the mower back to Wal Mart where they happily refunded my money. So if you are looking for a 90 pound paperweight or planter this is it. If you are looking for a functional mower I would try another brand. I hope it isn't just me though. But good luck!

Was this review helpful? (11) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
onlyjames
Ames, Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
5/17/2012

Customer review by redheadedtigger

1.0 stars 5/17/2012 by redheadedtigger
by redheadedtigger

Don't buy this product! On a positive note it was very easy to assemble. That is the only positive. Didn't even make through one grass cutting before the cushion on the handle started splitting. Then it just quit working. We returned it for a refund.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
redheadedtigger
Dawsonville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
5/1/2012

Customer review by patieh

5.0 stars 5/1/2012 by patieh
by patieh

Very happy with this mower - very little assembly - arrived on time - easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
patieh
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
Mows Low Shipped Haphazard
4/27/2012

Customer review by Teense

3.0 stars 4/27/2012 by Teense
by Teense

The charge allows the mowing in detail of a 50 x 100 foot lot. The raise on the wheels is low even at the highest setting. Be prepared to go slow or angle your cut if the grass is deep or wet or the ground is soft. The mulching is more like individual lumps of cut grass. Scrutinize your package if shipped to your store. Open and survey before you sign. The box was torn open in various locations. If there had been a warranty card or manual in the box, they never made it to the store. The lower edge of the deck was damaged and paint was off, as if lifted by a fork lift or a badly handle hand truck.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Teense
In a house
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
I now LOVE mowing my lawn!
6/16/2012

Customer review by ShortStuff53

5.0 stars 6/16/2012 by ShortStuff53
by ShortStuff53

I was at my wits end after four years of mowing my lawn with a manuel rotating clip mower. I only have .08 of an acre, but it was so difficult for me that I had to mow in 2 seperate days with 1 hour to do the front and 1 1/2 hours to do my back lawn. I was so exhausted after each session that I hated to mow the lawn twice a week, so I treated myself to a new mower. I didn't want to have to worry about gasoline or electric chords so I chose a chargable and self propelled mower. My Green Works mower is a g-d send. I charge the battery overnight and it takes me 1 hour and 15 minutes to do my whole lawn, without interruption of loosing power. The best part, is that I am not drained of energy. The easy button start is so quick with no pull string to yank. Plus, changing the cutting height is a breeze with a simple click of a lever and all four wheels are at the same height. My only issue is that after I picked up my mower from Walmart to get free shipping after ordering it online from walmart.com, when I opened the sealled box after I came home, it didn't contain a manual. I was able to find a version online to make sure I was using the mower correctly and then called the company the next morning and had a manuel mailed to my house for free. The mower was so easy to assemble too that even my husband, who can't hammer a nail in the wall without hitting his thumb, helped me. I love my Green Works mower and you will too.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShortStuff53
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Good for everyone.
6/1/2012

Customer review by Deadbuttwhole

5.0 stars 6/1/2012 by Deadbuttwhole
by Deadbuttwhole

It is great. A little hard pulling backwards.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Deadbuttwhole
NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Awesome Mower
7/28/2012

Customer review by OlderTex

4.0 stars 7/28/2012 by OlderTex
by OlderTex

Packaging of the product is inadequate. The box was ripped, bent, torn and otherwise beat up. The battery handle was damaged. Very easy to assemble. Took less than 5 minutes. The mower is extremely quiet, starts easily, and is self-powered. On the flat, haven't really had to use the self-power feature. No gasoline and no exhaust smell. If it weren't for the packaging problem, I would have rated this a 5 star.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OlderTex
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great lawnmower for the price
10/17/2012

Customer review by dfaskfjhasdkfjhasdjklh

4.0 stars 10/17/2012 by dfaskfjhasdkfjhasdjklh
by dfaskfjhasdkfjhasdjklh

This is a great lawnmower, it works well and my grass has never looked better. The battery charge time isn't the greatest, but not bad at all if you plan a day ahead. It is nice not having to deal with Gas and Oil, and the starting on this thing is fantastic. Push a button and pull a lever and you're off. I forewarning, it is HEAVY. Difficult to move backwards even when the self-propel isn't engaged. I have .2 acres and this thing works great, but when you get around curves on a flower bed (Not 90 degrees), it gets a little tricky. It will bog down in shin-high grass, and you are better off not using the self-propel to make sure you get everything cut. One thing to note, as when I was looking into buying this mower I found where it said Front-wheel drive, but it is in fact rear-wheel, which I find as no big deal because you can just drop the lever and disengage the self-propel.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dfaskfjhasdkfjhasdjklh
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
works good, but hard to steer
6/21/2012

Customer review by jalopyjimbo

4.0 stars 6/21/2012 by jalopyjimbo
by jalopyjimbo

I am very happy with the cutting ability of this mower. Ease of operation, but have a hard time with the self-propelled part. It pulls me around and is hard to turn unless in gear. Read the instruction booklet and not helpful at all. I have a hard time maneuvering around bushes and plants and cannot back up very well. But mows good and nice not to have to worry about gas/oil and stuff like that.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jalopyjimbo
Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Not worth the Money
5/15/2012

Customer review by Tonydtiger1971

1.0 stars 5/15/2012 by Tonydtiger1971
by Tonydtiger1971

Brought the mower home, charged for 15 hours, charged for another 10 hours, finally got a full charge. My son cut 1/2 of our yard and the battery dies, charge again and I take a turn. Cuts about 4 rows and dies, will not restart. Battery still says fully charged, no matter how many times I push the button and pull the handle, it will not start.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tonydtiger1971
Dawsonville, ga
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Not what I needed
4/7/2012

Customer review by OneMower

2.0 stars 4/7/2012 by OneMower
by OneMower

Ready to go right out of the box, however either the battery wasn't good or the charger was bad. Tried to charge it for 20 hours before I realized that the battery charger was not lighting up. Didn't have time to try to determine if it was a charger or battery problem. I returned it the next day and bought a gasoline mower.

Was this review helpful? (0) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OneMower
Would recommend to a friend? No
3/31/2012

Customer review by Walmartshopper987654

5.0 stars 3/31/2012 by Walmartshopper987654
by Walmartshopper987654

Neat!

Was this review helpful? (3) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Walmartshopper987654
austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Great Mower
9/6/2012

Customer review by walmartwallmartwallmart

5.0 stars 9/6/2012 by walmartwallmartwallmart
by walmartwallmartwallmart

I think this will work out just great. I am a senior and it needed to be easy to use and take care of, and it fits the bill. I've only had it a few weeks, I've used it twice already and everything went well. It was easy to unpack, easy directions, and came fully charged.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
walmartwallmartwallmart
AR.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Walmart associate
LOVE IT!!!
4/18/2013

Customer review by dee66044

5.0 stars 4/18/2013 by dee66044
by dee66044

its quiet, easy to push, easy to put together. worth every dime.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dee66044
kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 28 total reviews
1-20 of 28 reviews