Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 135 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

135 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

135 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
83
4 stars
31
3 stars
11
2 stars
2
1 stars
8
1-20 of 134 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 134 total reviews
1-20 of 134 reviews
Controls take getting used to, but great telescope
6/20/2012

Customer review by moviebuffnm

5.0 stars 6/20/2012 by moviebuffnm
by moviebuffnm

This telescope was my first, and I hoped it would provide great views, and it has. It was easy to set up, and after a few minutes of use, I could easily keep a star in the field of view. Packaging was adequate, and the instructions were clear. For a beginner like myself this is an amazing telescope, however more advanced users may want to opt for a motorized telescope, and perhaps more lenses to include some Barlow Lenses. Overall a great investment in my eyes though.

Was this review helpful? (56) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
moviebuffnm
Clovis, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:25 - 34
Great first scope.
12/22/2012

Customer review by Betaboy

4.0 stars 12/22/2012 by Betaboy
by Betaboy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Having never used a telescope before, the learning curve was very easy and short to begin viewing objects in space. The telescope arrived in good condition and did not need collimation. The first time I scoped the moon I was amazed. Other than the moon the only other thing I have had time to look at is Jupiter. You can see it, and it's moons pretty well, looking close you can see the orange banding as well. Shipping was amazing with this purchase as it came two days prior to the earliest estimated delivery. The only cons I can speak of would be the finder scope is less than perfect and needs to be adjusted more often than I would like. The equatorial mount works good, but is a little bit wobbly but does not inhibit viewing of faint stars. Having an equatorial mount I would recommend getting the drive motor as well for easier and less shaky constant viewing. Bottom line, you can't go wrong with this telescope for the price.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Betaboy
MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:25 - 34
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good product for the price
3/15/2011

Customer review by Jtorgo

4.0 stars 3/15/2011 by Jtorgo
by Jtorgo

Very good value for the price. I was hoping to be able to see a little more, but I got what I paid for. Dont expect any of the planets to fill your eyepiece; saturn looked like a star with a halo around it. it is still very cool to see stars that seemed to not exist without the telescope, and the moon is very detailed. It can be difficult to locate specific objects in the sky, but I am still learning how everything works. The starfinder was difficult to use at first, but it gets easier with practice. If you are planning on viewing the moon, be sure to buy a moon filter because the brightness can start to hurt your eye after just a few seconds. I also tried to view nebulae, and so far I have only been able to locate the Orion Nebula. It is kind of boring through normal telescopes, it basically looked like a star with a cloud on one side. I would definatly recomend this telescope to people who just want something simple to start off in astronomy, but if you want something that is higher quality, you are going to have to look at higher prices.

Jtorgo
Chaska, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great price, shipping should be more careful
9/23/2012

Customer review by leoshopper

4.0 stars 9/23/2012 by leoshopper
by leoshopper

got the item, the only problem is the shipping, the telescope has 2 mirrors & if one is not aligned, then it has to be readjusted !! soooo during shipping, the primary mirror had been shaken loose, sooooooooooo, i had to readjust the mirrors ( what a hassle !) so anyone who orders these telescopes, get ready to make adjustments !!!

Was this review helpful? (14) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
leoshopper
tonyv53
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
Really Good Value, Nice Scope
12/24/2016

Customer review by AlanSr

5.0 stars 12/24/2016 by AlanSr
by AlanSr
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

For an entry-level Newtonian scope, this is pretty nice. Came securely packaged, and was reasonably easy to set up. The main Guide was much more helpful than the Quick Setup guide...as this was our first telescope, they assumed we knew a lot more of the terminology than we did. We got it sighted-in fine, and the first night of star-gazing was truly fun. I also ordered the little motor drive for the scope, but have yet to figure out where it installs, which bracket to use, etc. We'll figure it out one day, I suppose. The enclosed instructions are about useless to us. Even going on YouTube for installation videos, we found nothing helpful. Still, once we get it all put together, I know we'll love this. It's surprisingly good quality for the money.

AlanSr
Myrtle Beach, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Beginner scope? This is more
2/15/2013

Customer review by Joseph

5.0 stars 2/15/2013 by Joseph
by Joseph
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I went into this purchase thinking that this would be a nice beginner scope to replace my existing beginner scope (Galileo Reflector). I would now classify the Galileo as beginner, and this telescope as Beginner / Intermediate with incredible potential. The difference I see is the ease of adjustment, the counterweights, and the quality construction of these parts. The tripod is quite light compared with the rest, so the whole assembly on 3 legs is quite top heavy so be advised with relocating it. I am the type of person who sets up viewings in different locations, so for ease of transport, this telescope can be a bit difficult. Basically, I appreciate the quality of construction of this scope. I wish it could bring in some more light, but it does quite well. I understand its higher shelf price, but love the discounted price I received for the bundle and just couldn't pass it up. I think past this telescope and the 130 that is similar, you must be an enthusiast who knows what he/she is doing more than just a hobby. For everyone else, there's this scope.

Joseph
DUBUQUE,IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Gift
2/25/2017

Customer review by Barbara

3.0 stars 2/25/2017 by Barbara
by Barbara
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Gave as a gift. It seems difficult to set up.

Barbara
undisclosed
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Thrilled!
11/22/2010

Customer review by SadieKY

4.0 stars 11/22/2010 by SadieKY
by SadieKY

Assembly was pretty straight forward. I had some difficulty getting started with this telescope - it is my first - but my brother has a little experience and gave me a couple of pointers. My first view of the moon had me just ecstatic. We were also able to see Jupiter, 3 of it's moons AND the most prominent of it's bands!! This was all with the standard eyepiece and no filters. We live in a small town about a half block from a well lit Kroger parking lot and there are street lights out front but this did not seem to be a problem. One word of caution - familiarize yourself with the different knobs, etc, before you are out in the dark - I almost dropped the telescope because I loosened the wrong thing! Also, if you are a first-timer, DEFINITELY grab someone who knows a little bit to show you the ropes! All that said, this was a gift from my mom which I picked out and I wanted to get something that I will be happy with for years to come - not outgrow in the first couple - so I picked something I thought was a little advanced. AND I LOVE IT!! Happy star hunting!

SadieKY
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
very nice
11/20/2012

Customer review by wallyworldcustomer9246

5.0 stars 11/20/2012 by wallyworldcustomer9246
by wallyworldcustomer9246
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a very nice telescope. My only worry was that I bought it through walmart.com from plumstruck.com. But no problems as this telescope arrived at my home in good condition. I'm no expert on astrology but I kind of know what im looking for in observing the planets and this telescope works just fine. Spend a little extra for the motorized version though, as it is well worth it.

Was this review helpful? (12) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wallyworldcustomer9246
YAKIMA, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A little difficult, but worth it!
12/31/2013

Customer review by Jules

5.0 stars 12/31/2013 by Jules
by Jules

Got this for my 14 yr old for Christmas. Took it out Christmas night and couldn't get anything in the eyepiece (moonless night). Very discouraged. Tried aligning the star finder on an object the next day. I think the finder is very hard to align...but that night we were able to get the brightest thing in the sky in the eyepiece. We brought up the star mapping software (which is great) to discover it was Jupiter. WOW - we could see 2 distinct cloud bands and 4 moons. It was the coolest thing any of us have ever seen. We are hooked. The software even labeled the moons and showed them in the exact configuration we were seeing. Fantastic! It's a keeper. We haven't even installed the motor drive yet, just kept adjusting the scope...it worked fine. I wanted so much to capture a photo of that image so I ordered a zhumell digiscoping adapter for point and shoot digital cameras. Can't wait to try it out.

Jules
Crowley, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great product for the price
1/11/2017

Customer review by Amaya

4.0 stars 1/11/2017 by Amaya
by Amaya
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

looking forward to seeing the next meteor shower w/ this

Amaya
undisclosed
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Beautiful
1/8/2017

Customer review by Great Scope

5.0 stars 1/8/2017 by Great Scope
by Great Scope
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

looks great and very classy. Great value and great views of the stars above

Great Scope
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I would recommend this telescope
12/23/2016

Customer review by Gail

5.0 stars 12/23/2016 by Gail
by Gail
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have been looking for a telescope and saw this one on other sites. I bought this telescope when Hayneedle had iit for a great price. We have not used it yet but assembling it was not difficult. Directions were clear and easy to follow. We plan on using it this weekend when our grandchildren come for the holidays.

Gail
undisclosed
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great telescope for the novice or intermediate
12/27/2016

Customer review by Themattbat

5.0 stars 12/27/2016 by Themattbat
by Themattbat
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Like any telescope there is a lot to learn, but this is a great telescope for the beginning astronomer or curious person. You can see many planets and stars clearly. It comes with two eye pieces giving up to 100x magnification as well.

Themattbat
Seattle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great
12/8/2012

Customer review by SlickRick1

5.0 stars 12/8/2012 by SlickRick1
by SlickRick1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great telescope! Was a gift for my Wife , and she loves it. Purchased at around $180 less than anywhere else, so, I was very happy too.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SlickRick1
Brighton, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great gift!
12/20/2016

Customer review by Julie

5.0 stars 12/20/2016 by Julie
by Julie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We bought this as a Christmas gift for our boys, 8, 5 and 3. It's a great practical scope for backyard viewing off our deck! It's very sturdy, we will get a lot of use from it. Customer service was exceptional and it atried well before expected. Very pleased with the purchase.

Julie
undisclosed
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Enjoyment
12/26/2016

Customer review by Cynthia

5.0 stars 12/26/2016 by Cynthia
by Cynthia
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Good product. My fiancé loves it and is using it a something to bond over with our 2 yr old daughter who loves the moon. Now she can look at it closer than ever!

Cynthia
undisclosed
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A must have!!
12/18/2016

Customer review by Gregory

5.0 stars 12/18/2016 by Gregory
by Gregory
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Awesome! I cannot believe how far I can see with this. A must have.

Gregory
undisclosed
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Had to return it...
3/16/2009

Customer review by DrF

3.0 stars 3/16/2009 by DrF
by DrF
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

When I bought this scope I had expectations but it did not live up to them. The packaging from Celestron was amazing and the instructions were very good. But as soon as I put it on the tripod and aimed it at the moon I discovered problems. The most important was stability at high magnifications. Just a touch of the cables (they were too short) and the 114-EQ would vibrate a lot despite the fact that all the screws and knobs were tight. There was no problem at low magnifications. Next, a better quality focuser would have also helped in focusing that was not as good as expected. Then there was the starfinder; it's not too bright as many claim but it takes too long to adjust it properly. Last, the included eyepieces were of poor quality. And to top it all my Zhumell eyepiece kit did not work with this scope. Everything was reversed due to the design of the 114-EQ. The Zhumell eyepieces work fine with other scopes though. The materials used to construct the 114-EQ were very good but the end result was not. It did not feel cheap at all but I would only buy it for a child to use. On the other hand if you just want to observe the moon it's perfect.

DrF
Claremont, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Looks great
12/2/2016

Customer review by Teresa

4.0 stars 12/2/2016 by Teresa
by Teresa
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Christmas present

Teresa
undisclosed
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 134 total reviews
1-20 of 134 reviews