Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 212 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

212 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

212 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
195
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
5
1-20 of 212 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 212 total reviews
1-20 of 212 reviews
Wow, Greatly Exceeded Expectations
1/27/2014

Customer review by BigMac36

5.0 stars 1/27/2014 by BigMac36
by BigMac36

Having been a professional carpet cleaner every summer throughout college, I have experience cleaning carpets. The machines I used back then were all truck mounted and ran off of the transmission of the truck. They created high pressure, high temperature solution introduction with near complete extraction that left the carpet virtually dry. So, I had read all the reviews of this product, and figured the product would be good, but it has greatly exceeded my expectations. Knowing that the extraction process is the most important aspect of cleaning, I didn't use any carpet solution in the machine. I loaded the machine with scorching hot tap water only. However, I pretreated the carpets with a solution from a pump sprayer that consisted of 2 Gallons of warm water, mixed with 1 cup of simple green and 1/4 cup of oxy clean. After moistening the carpet with this solution, I brushed it with a medium bristly deck brush. I let the solution sit for about 10 minutes, and then began using the machine. The goal is to get all of the cleaning solution out of the carpet to avoid any residues. The result was pretty amazing. As good as a truck mounted cleaning? No, but pretty darn close. The amount of dirt that came out of the carpets was alarming, and the carpets look considerably better. The carpets were definitely more moist using this machine than when I used the professional machines, but I put my Shop Vac Mighty Mini on the areas as I finished them to assist in drying. I also turned on ceiling fans in rooms where I had them. I paid about $400 for this unit after getting a $350 quote to have my carpets professionally cleaned using a truck mounted cleaner. My solution cost is minimal, but the time commitment was clearly more than having it done by a professional. But being able to use this machine over and over again, and clean furniture and automotive upholstery...this is a no brainer in the money saving arena. The machine was easy to use. It was easy to empty and refill, and it is pretty light given its size. The only issue that I can speak to is the inability to get in close to the baseboards of the walls. In this area I used the hand held tool and actually used my shop vac with a crevice tool to ensure a better cleaning.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigMac36
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Best machine ever
12/13/2012

Customer review by Mac

5.0 stars 12/13/2012 by Mac
by Mac

I purchased the Big Green Deep Cleaning Machine on 12/2/2012. It was shipped even before their estimated shipment date. I have cream colored carpeting in my whole house. I have 2 cats and 2 dogs that sometimes will get sick and stain the carpet. I have tried every stain cleaner imaginable. I even had a Bissel Pro steam. This past weekend I decided to clean the carpets. I took the machine out of the box and it was already assembled. The tanks were much larger making less filling and less emptying. The machine was easy to operate and I was amazed that all the stains came out and my carpet and looks like new again. I took pictures before and after and my friends couldn't believe the difference. A friend of mine owns rental properties and she said she will be getting one after I showed her the pictures. You may think that its pricey but it is well worth the money and will pay for itself in no time. I was a skeptic after reading the reviews thinking nothing could be this good but I am not a skeptic any longer.

Mac
Cleveland, OH, USA
Gender:Female
Simply THE BEST Carpet Deep Cleaner Out There!
1/30/2012

Customer review by Stickler for Quality and Value

5.0 stars 1/30/2012 by Stickler for Quality and Value
by Stickler for Quality and Value

The Big Green Clean Machine is the best carpet shampooer I ever used. The heavy-duty quality construction, efficient design, ease of use, & unbelievable cleaning effectiveness make this carpet shampooer the best one on the market today. It was a snap to use & even got out soap and grime left behind by another brand machine. The sample of the Bissell professional strength cleaning solution that came with the machine was outstanding. Less cleaning solution cleaned better than any other product I had used before & did not require the use of a defoamer like the other brand did. I was amazed how thoroughly Big Green cleaned the carpet & totally vacuumed up the water. It was phenomenal how dry the carpet was immediately after shampooing. It dried completely in just a few hours. (I mention this fact because the other brand of machine that I had used before left my rug so wet that I had to use my utility vacuum to vacuum up the water it left behind--even after all that, it still took a long time to dry,) With Big Green, my carpet was clean, dry, & looked as close to new as could be expected with a lot less effort (fewer strokes) & time. I love that I have my own Big Green Machine in house that I can use any time I need too. It also comes with an portable cleaning tool & hose which are also of a heavy duty construction. Don't waste your money on services or other brands of cleaners--GO BIG GREEN CLEAN MACHINE!

Stickler for Quality and Value
Plano, TX, USA
Gender:Female
One of the best purchases ever!!
12/22/2012

Customer review by House with 3 Dogs

5.0 stars 12/22/2012 by House with 3 Dogs
by House with 3 Dogs

I had done some research on carpet cleaners and decided to rent the Bissell Big Green from Lowes. My carpets looked awesome!! I usually have them professionally cleaned but decided to do it myself this time; they looked every bit as good or better than when the pros clean. I loved it so much and it was so easy I decided to buy the Big Green. Definately worth it if you clean your carpets 3-4 times a year like I do. I have no regrets!!

House with 3 Dogs
St Louis
Gender:Female
The BEST out there...
12/1/2012

Customer review by kansasgirl1971

5.0 stars 12/1/2012 by kansasgirl1971
by kansasgirl1971

I've been renting this machine from Lowe's for rental properties that we own. I've decided to take the leap and just purchase one. When the carpets need cleaned it's inconvenient to go to Lowe's and make sure it's back on time. This beast has cleaned some pretty gnarly, nasty and stained carpets. This is the best cleaning tool in my arsenal. You can't go wrong. It's very easy to use and not very heavy. Be sure to use the carpet cleaner that is recommended and you won't be sorry. Superior quality and excellent product. Thanks Bissell!

kansasgirl1971
Salina, KS, USA
Gender:Female
Very good product
10/7/2012

Customer review by Andrei

5.0 stars 10/7/2012 by Andrei
by Andrei

Very good product. Clean very nice old carpets. As a result dirty water and clean carpet :)

Andrei
Gender:Male
You won't find a better machine
11/23/2012

Customer review by Brian0

5.0 stars 11/23/2012 by Brian0
by Brian0

This is the best Commercial Machine you can purchase on the Market today...the Rug Doctor does not even come close to the quality of this m/c..I don't know why Bissell does not have these replacing every Rug Doctor in the country. Less fillings by 2 to 1 over the Rug Doctor & except for possibly a gasket...I don't see anything that can break, if you maintain it. Only thing better my be a truck mounted steam cleaner.

Brian0
NC
Fantastic Work
11/12/2012

Customer review by Joy

5.0 stars 11/12/2012 by Joy
by Joy

I brought the Big Green Machine because I have two little grandchildren and Ecru carpet. Between the sandbox and the wood chips, my carpet truly needed some help. So two weeks ago I brought the Big Green Machine... I used it for the first time last weekend and it I could not believe my eyes. My carpet looks fantastic. It worked the first time and I am so glad I saw the demo on TV. Big Green cleaned better than I expected.

Joy
California, USA
Gender:Female
Well made.
12/31/2012

Customer review by TNT

5.0 stars 12/31/2012 by TNT
by TNT

I have cleaned all my carpets with my new Big Green and I love it. It is made so much better than the Cheaper home models of cleaners I have been buying that only last about 3 Yrs. Works so much better also. Great product. Easy to handle too. Well worth the price.

TNT
Minnesota
Gender:Female
Whoa!!!!
9/23/2012

Customer review by Trent Enu

5.0 stars 9/23/2012 by Trent Enu
by Trent Enu

No long drawn out review to read here. This thing works great!!! Not to heavy, easy to fill up and empty out. A product that actually does what it's supposed to do and does it very well at that. Works better then the rental machines (rug doctors)

Trent Enu
Vegas
Gender:Male
big green deep cleaning machine
1/31/2012

Customer review by joe

5.0 stars 1/31/2012 by joe
by joe

this unit is the Best that i have used out of all the others there is no comparison words cant really describe the way it cleans the BEST can't be beat

joe
Atlanta Georgia
Gender:Male
Best carpet cleaner ever!
1/17/2012

Customer review by R.M.

5.0 stars 1/17/2012 by R.M.
by R.M.

We bought a 20 yr old house that was previously a rental, and parts of the high traffic areas were black. We suspected the carpet hasn't ever been cleaned. I was skeptical at first about whether or not it would work, or help the look of our carpet. We used the big green machine on 4 rooms, and what came out of the carpet after each change, was - shocking. The water was opaque and black. I have never seen water that dirty, and was ill that it was in the carpet. I was skeptical no more! The carpet looks much better now and the whole house smelled wonderful after cleaning too! The Big Green machine is simple to use and WORTH every penny. This is the only cleaner you will ever need. I now want to own one, and will sometime this year. Thank you Bissell for such a great product!

R.M.
Indiana, USA
Gender:Female
Love the machine! Worth the investment for sure!
8/7/2012

Customer review by clean freak

5.0 stars 8/7/2012 by clean freak
by clean freak

Professionally clean carpets!! Yahoo! The machine is easy to use -- was a snap to assemble -- did a fantastic job cleaning my carpets @ home and @ the cottage! The attachment hose also worked fantastic to clean a fabric chair! Very pleased with purchase!

clean freak
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Gender:Female
Mr
5/20/2012

Customer review by Robert Weers

5.0 stars 5/20/2012 by Robert Weers
by Robert Weers

Very happy with my Green Deep Cleaning Machine. Easier to use than my old machine and removes more of the moisture from the cleaned area.Tanks are easy to empty and refill.

Robert Weers
Ponca City, OK, USA
Gender:Male
Dirt and Dog Hair Carpets You have met you MATCH!
2/19/2012

Customer review by BM Big Green

5.0 stars 2/19/2012 by BM Big Green
by BM Big Green

I bought this machine today and just cleaned my entire house took me about 3-4 hours to do but my carpets are finally clean. (Carpeted area in the house is about 1500 sq.ft.) But I vacuumed and vacuumed and still don't think anything could pull out as much hair as this thing did. I recently bought the house, I am living in I don't think the people who lived in the house before me every shampooed the carpet and probably did not even vacuum that well. The tank almost looked black with all the dirt and grim that was in these carpets yet the carpet is only 2 years old. I would highly recommend the BIG GREEN to anyone after using it. Especially since I was considering purchasing a rug doctor and when comparing the two machines there is no comparison. The rug doctor has flimsy hoses that connect to the tank and the big green does not less moving parts mean less likely to break. Need I mention that the Rug doctor that I looked at on display that was new and never used already had cracked hoses (the biggest complaint on the Rug Doctor website as well). So I must say to close my comment out "Bissell you have out done yourself with this cleaner and with the Big Green and my will to clean even the dirtiest carpets nothing stands a chance, but clean carpets in the end!"

BM Big Green
Grand Prairie, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Great machine
1/24/2012

Customer review by Ginger

5.0 stars 1/24/2012 by Ginger
by Ginger

Best cleaning unit I've ever used. Tried just about every cleaning machine out there and this one beats them all. I even cleaned my mother-in-laws condo. She couldn't believe it! Better than the professionals! the hose is easy to use so cleaning stairs was easier than I thought and when i had to clean it OMgosh I didn't have to take it outside or lift the entire unit. Thank you Bissell.

Ginger
Seattle
Gender:Female
Best cleaner EVER..get what you pay for /this one
8/5/2012

Customer review by Big Green Girl

5.0 stars 8/5/2012 by Big Green Girl
by Big Green Girl

I love this cleaner..I am an old Bissell customer who has the old original canister round big green machine and it still works and has not died. I needed another one for my condo at the beach, needless to say I decided to buy the 2X proheat based on the consumer reports and was very dissappointed, I ended up returning it and got my money back. That did not live up to the reviews. I finally decided to bite the bullet and pay the extra and get the follow-on to the Big Green machine I've had for 10+ years. This new one was the best purchase I've ever made for my home, I am a clean freak and like to keep the house clean and this baby is the answer to carpets. It actually does better than a professional carpet cleaner which I've hired multiple times at the beach house. The carpets look brand new and all spots, etc. are gone in a couple of sweeps over the carpet. It fluffs the carpet as well making it feel great afterwards. The water container capacity is wonderful allowing you to do several rooms without having to dump and refill constantly like I had to do with the 2x Proheat. The assembly was nothing! My husband loved that, just pulled it out of the box and its ready to go. The instructions are simple, if you can't work this one, you don't need to be using a cleaner! The drying time for this cleaner is also the best I've experienced EVER, including a professional cleaner. It's a little heavy but I have had back problems and this machine didn't bother me one bit, I used 2 hands and that worked great. If you are wanting a great cleaning machine and don't mind the extra cost please buy this one...HANDS DOWN THE BEST CLEANER...take it from me, consumer Guide reports was wrong!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! They are going on cost, I'm going on getting the job done and this machine will do that for you. You won't be sorry you bought it!

Big Green Girl
NC
Gender:Female
Purchased Big Green Deep Cleaning Machine
8/21/2012

Customer review by Denny

5.0 stars 8/21/2012 by Denny
by Denny

We purchased the Big Green Cleaning Machine and we are very happy we did. We should have purchased one of there years ago. It's easy to use, easy to fill, easy to clean and does a great job of cleaning the carpets. It also works very good on your hard floors. We have a lot of tile floors and it just cleans them very well. It will pick up all the dirt and cleaning solution and the floors are dry when you finish. This is a great product and you won't be disapointed with your results.

Denny
Portland Oregon
Gender:Male
Dogs, Kids & Dirt
2/11/2012

Customer review by Mom

5.0 stars 2/11/2012 by Mom
by Mom

I have owned many carpet cleaners, uprights, cannisters and some were " other brands" but I always come back to Bissell. What I have paid in the last 10 years for cleaners more then covers this one. With a 5 year warranty it is worth every penny. My carpets take a beating and the day this arrived I used it in my worst room the family room. The amount of dirt I removed hurt my feelings but the fact that the carpets were clean and dry in 2 hours was worth the hurt feelings. The suction does very well at removing the dirty water and leaving it SLIGHTLY damp. I will recommend this to everyone I know!!!

Mom
NH
Gender:Female
pro.cleaner 2012 bissell big green one of the best cleaners
6/16/2012

Customer review by robert

5.0 stars 6/16/2012 by robert
by robert

I am a professional carpet cleaner for about, 20yr. and can say this machine really works, but it can be better with a little more work, but i like it!! i have one and it do clean like the big boys; it just need heat in it and it will be the best machine out there .!!!

robert
Dolton, IL, USA
Gender:Male
1-20 of 212 total reviews
1-20 of 212 reviews