Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 58 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

58 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

58 reviews | 4 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
32
4 stars
15
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 stars
9
1-20 of 43 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 43 total reviews
1-20 of 43 reviews
Outstanding product for an unbelieveable price!
12/18/2011

Customer review by Tootsiesmootsie

5.0 stars 12/18/2011 by Tootsiesmootsie
by Tootsiesmootsie

I have used a Singer sewing machine in the past but for the last 35 years I have used the brand name "White" sewing machine. As I have gotten older, it has gotten harder and more difficult to thread the machine so I have used it very little. Recently I set up the machine to overcast some pants for my husband that needed hemming. After several tries at threading the needle with the thread continually breaking, I was so frustrated that I decided to make myself have a Merry Christmas and buy a new machine. I read several descriptions for various brands but decided to go back with a Singer. Ordered this online and received it within three days with free shipping! I read the manual and watched the DVD to learn how to use the automatic threader. What a wonderful surprise when everything works even better than imagined. This is a true Godsend for me and I will highly recommend this to even someone that is just beginning to sew. Outstanding item at a super price. Walmart and Singer, you have done it again!!

Was this review helpful? (158) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tootsiesmootsie
Pilot Mountain, N.C.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
2/26/2012

Customer review by engeliz82

1.0 stars 2/26/2012 by engeliz82
by engeliz82

I got this machine to do piecing and possibly some quilting. I have an awesome Singer from the 60's so I was trying to remain loyal but I was SO disappointed with this machine. This is supposed to be a "pull it out of the box and get sewing right away" machine, but I had nothing but problems from the jump. The bobbin was difficult to get in and out. And I never got it to sew a proper stitch. The bottom would have loose stitches and it jammed constantly. I consider myself knowledgeable about troubleshooting machine problems but no matter what I did after SIX HOURS I couldn't get it to work. I'm taking it back tomorrow and getting a Brother that has a drop in bobbin and hopefully a simpler machine. I don't really need to fancy digital machine anyway. Maybe this one was just a dud, but the difficulty of loading the bobbin alone is enough for me to not get a second one to try.

Was this review helpful? (38) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
engeliz82
Would recommend to a friend? No
Error code & would not sew after 2 uses.
4/19/2012

Customer review by DeZooMT

1.0 stars 4/19/2012 by DeZooMT
by DeZooMT

Got this as a Christmas gift. Have used it twice since then for little things. Seemed to be fine. Decorative stitches worked and the straight stitches turned out good too. But didn't last. Just took it out to use on a bigger project and it just stopped sewing. The foot pedal wouldn't work at all. The back stitch button would sew though. If you tapped the pedal aggressively at times it would delay and then jump forward 3 stitches and then display the C3 error code saying the foot pedal was disconnected, which it clearly wasn't. Tried the Singer CS line. Was caller number 20, was on hold for 40 mins when I finally got down to caller number 4. All of a sudden the operator hung up the call and stated "their offices are now closed." I was furious. Needles to say, it went back to WalMart and I won't be buying another one.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DeZooMT
Montana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Decent starter machine, good for the price.
12/31/2011

Customer review by indaboo25

4.0 stars 12/31/2011 by indaboo25
by indaboo25

I received this machine as a Christmas present and initially loved it! I haven't used a sewing machine since my middle school home-ec classes, but I found it very easy to pick back up and immediately improve what little skill I had. It's very easy to thread, easy to switch stitches back and forth as often as you please, and very easy for a beginner (or someone like me, who is extremely rusty) to get accustomed to the basics. Adjusting the settings for different fabrics can be a little tricky, but just takes a little practice and the right needles to perfect. Cheap/lousy thread can be prone to catching and knotting in the machine, so spring for something slightly fancier than dollar-store stuff if you want it to work properly. I also wouldn't suggest using this for fleece or any really heavy fabric, as the foot sets very low and the feed dogs are weaker than most, but it seems to work well for about everything else, including the denim jeans and fleece pajamas I made for my daughter! I did have some problems at first; thread bunched and caught underneath the fabric, I couldn't adjust the tension right for any fabric of any thickness, and the pedal went out within two days of opening the box. However, I brought it back and exchanged for another of the same model and have had zero of issues since, so I am assuming the first machine was simply defective. Overall I'm very happy with this machine, but as I make children's clothes for extra income, I may upgrade to a more advanced model at some point to be able to use fleece and suede in my projects.

Was this review helpful? (54) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
indaboo25
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
This machine ROCKS!! I LOVE IT!!
12/27/2011

Customer review by lovingsun

5.0 stars 12/27/2011 by lovingsun
by lovingsun

Just got this machine for Christmas and it is fantastic!! Easy to use, great machine, and threads the needle for you! (:

Was this review helpful? (37) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lovingsun
Albany, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
3/27/2012

Customer review by tbluedolphin27

1.0 stars 3/27/2012 by tbluedolphin27
by tbluedolphin27

I bought this machine to sew my daughter some clothes. after getting it home and reading the instructions I was very excited to try it out. Much to my disappointment the foot pedal would not work. I gave it the benefit of the doubt and exchanged it for another one. My second one worked for a short time (1 day). This time is wasn't the foot pedal but the thread just kept tangling underneath the fabric. I had my mom come over (she is the expert). She said it was the tension but we tried to loosen and tighten both the manual tension as well as the bobbin tension and it didn't help. needless to say, this machine went back to walmart and I am looking for another one.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tbluedolphin27
colorado
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A lot of machine for the price!
2/8/2012

Customer review by FlagGeek

5.0 stars 2/8/2012 by FlagGeek
by FlagGeek

This is my first sewing machine for making American flags. It has more than I need but the easy threading for the needle and for the thread to the needle makes it easy to change colors. It will go through 6 layers of fabric and the ability to easily alter the stitches to my need make it the best value machine for the money that I have seen. It will hold 2 thread spools (1 horizontal and 1 vertical). Winding a bobbin is simple. It uses standard class15 bobbins and I have never had to adjust the tension. There are not a lot of accessories available for the machine but there are a few basic ones that can be found at Amazon. Not a real fast machine but really well worth the price.

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FlagGeek
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Love this machine!!!
12/26/2015

Customer review by Jackie

4.0 stars 12/26/2015 by Jackie
by Jackie

My husband bought me this machine a few years ago and it still works great. I have sewed many hours on it with very few problems. I have had problems at times with the stiches on the underside of my fabric bunching up after I changed bobbins. But I have learned to just rethread the top thread and it adjusts the tension and works great again. Occasionally, when I press the pedal nothing happens and I have to press it more than once to get it to go, but it only takes a second or two to get it going and doesn't slow me down that much. I have made quite a few projects with it, and I am still greatly satisfied with this machine!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jackie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Value
3/7/2012

Customer review by NAVY44

5.0 stars 3/7/2012 by NAVY44
by NAVY44

I bought this machine based on other reviews. Let's put it this way, when I was a child, I broke several needles on my mom's sewing machine and was banned from touching it. I have always wanted to sew, but was too afraid to try. Now I am married with two kids. Things come up and the need for sewing is there. So I decided to get this machine. I read through the directions and put it together. I am happy to say, it works and works well! I have done several stitching patterns and use different materials. I plan on making more things this week. The only thing that is bad for me, is that I don't have enough time and my neck hurts from sitting there so long. But if you don't like to sew that much, you won't have that problem.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NAVY44
Dahlgren, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Horrible Machine
2/21/2012

Customer review by jman81101

1.0 stars 2/21/2012 by jman81101
by jman81101

I bought this machine for my wife and straight out of the box, it's had nothing but problems. My wife is very thorough when it comes to directions and she follows them better than anyone I have ever met. She set the machine up after reading every piece of material that came with it, and watching the dvd. She was so excited to start using this machine because she hasn't had her own machine since long before her and I were married. The machine gives her an E6 error message when she tries to sew anything. We bought a very light material for her to practice on, and she all she gets is 3 or 4 stitches and then the E6 error comes on, shuts the machine down, and lets of an ear-drum piercing beep. She redid the tension according to the manual, and was finally able to get the machine to complete a set of stitches on the practice fabric. She then switched to something else she was going to make for her mom, never turning the machine off. Guess what....E6 all over again. So she redid the tension again, this time to no avail. This machine is going back and we're getting a Brother machine. Our old neighbor had one and she never had any problems with it. Bottom line, only buy this machine if you need either a door stop, or a wheel chuck to stop a vehicle from rolling.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jman81101
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
DO NOT BUY THIS MACHINE!!
12/18/2012

Customer review by Kitten44

1.0 stars 12/18/2012 by Kitten44
by Kitten44

I've owned mine for about a year now. It started giving me issues from the beginning I recieved as a gift so I couldnt return it so I called about the warrenty and the closest place to me was 3 hours away!! I guess they are very few and far between. Its been in and out of the place since then. I have had to send it and they send it back on their dime. So I thought if I drove it there they would send it back well haha no they dont if you drop it off. $40 to send each time just to have to send it back. My warrenty is up in a couple days and so they did extend my warrenty to get it fixed since ive had so many issues but of course they wont replace it or refund me at all. My mother in law bought one for herself when I got mine and she took hers back. Waste of money.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kitten44
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great sewing machine for the price.
3/8/2012

Customer review by flabutterfly

5.0 stars 3/8/2012 by flabutterfly
by flabutterfly

I just wanted something simple to do everyday sewing and mending and this has been wonderful. I have made drapes, aprons, mending, etc. and love it. Far exceeds what I was expecting.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
flabutterfly
Fort Myers, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
VERY DISAPPOINTED
3/1/2012

Customer review by Sarasan

2.0 stars 3/1/2012 by Sarasan
by Sarasan

I was very excited about this machine when I got it for Christmas. It was like a dream @ first....then I tried to zig zag stitch. No go!!! It would skip several stitches & connect randomly!!! No rhyme or reason. Many of the other specialty stitches were off as well. Multiple troubleshooting attempts, a call to singer, nothing helped. Very frustrating!!! Finally returned it & went back to my old clunker.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sarasan
upstate New York
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
12/15/2011

Customer review by Sewing63

2.0 stars 12/15/2011 by Sewing63
by Sewing63

Worked great for about 5 minutes then stitches would not connect and after looking at troubleshooting on manual and online gave up trying to get it to work. Machine is slow and manual is very light on the instructions. Not worth the price if its not going to work

Was this review helpful? (34) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sewing63
Would recommend to a friend? No
12/25/2012

Customer review by thetiredbuffalo

5.0 stars 12/25/2012 by thetiredbuffalo
by thetiredbuffalo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

FOUND IT TO BE MUCH BETTER THEN WHAT ONE MIGHT THINK FOR NO MORE THEN IT COST. VERY GOOD DEAL AND SUPER MACHINE,SO FAR.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
thetiredbuffalo
BEDFORD,KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/30/2013

Customer review by ironworks

5.0 stars 1/30/2013 by ironworks
by ironworks
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have only sewn very little since I purchased the machine 2 weeks ago, but what I have sewn has been very easy.This machine has many options available. When I have more time, I will experiment with more stitches. Getting the automatic needle threader to work, took a bit of time, I guess, I'm too old school, but when the needle was threaded, sewing was easy. This machine is quiet & doesn't dance on the table when in use. Great price. Very pleased with Walmart, as getting it sent to the store was very convenient also.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ironworks
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/2/2013

Customer review by Bahamapie

4.0 stars 3/2/2013 by Bahamapie
by Bahamapie

I purchased this machine a day ago and had major problems with the bobbin thread constantly breaking during stitching. I read many of the reviews and it said the same about the bobbin problems. As I live in the Bahamas it would be a problem to return the machine. If anyone encounters this problem simply remove the bobbin casing and turn the screw in the bobbin casing a little to the left to release the bobbin tension. Hope that this works for you.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bahamapie
Bahamas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Machine!
1/2/2013

Customer review by MamaPitt06

4.0 stars 1/2/2013 by MamaPitt06
by MamaPitt06

I recieved this machine from my husband as a Christmas present. My only piece of advise is to make sure you read the owners manual, because if you are used to using a more "simple" machine, things can get a little confusing. I am used to using my Grandmother's singer that does the bare minimum so things like where to put the bottom feeding bobbin and how to run the thread can be a little confusing, but otherwise, it is a great machine!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MamaPitt06
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Sewing Machine
12/24/2012

Customer review by pthappycamper

5.0 stars 12/24/2012 by pthappycamper
by pthappycamper
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Hope it holds up as well as it looks. It was a christmas present for my grandaughter and she was delighted with it. I am hoping it is what she wanted . I know the singer product and they are well made . I was very very pleased at the shipping of this product to my home it seemed like I had no more than hung up the phone than ups was knocking at my door with it. Very effecient . I would recommend very highly.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pthappycamper
Florence Al.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I love to sew again!
3/26/2013

Customer review by NCmomtomy2girls

4.0 stars 3/26/2013 by NCmomtomy2girls
by NCmomtomy2girls

I bought this after years of not sewing and I really did not want to invest in an expensive machine (in case I couldn't revive my old sewing skills). I am not disappointed. It has been a great value for what I needed it for. I was able to renew my sewing skills and I have not had any major problems. It has met my needs!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NCmomtomy2girls
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 43 total reviews
1-20 of 43 reviews