Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 14 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

14 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

14 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-10 of 10 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

No complaints, does what I want it to
7/4/2012

Customer review by Kooluh

5.0 stars 7/4/2012 by Kooluh
by Kooluh

This phone does exactly what I need it to. I switched to the PayGo plan to save money and so far I have had no problems. The call quality on this phone is better than my previous smart phone. Everything is basic but that's to be expected. The camera isn't that great. Pics are pretty poor quality. The bluetooth feature is a bonus. I was actually able to connect it to my Macbook and transfer iTunes songs I can use as ringtones. Web browsing is pretty slow but still works. I just need the phone to text and talk so it works great for me.

Was this review helpful? (147) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kooluh
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very happy with this phone.
8/27/2012

Customer review by Mizhu

4.0 stars 8/27/2012 by Mizhu
by Mizhu

After the torture of using a Samsung "t139" (stone-age interface phone from t-mobile) I am SO PLEASED with the CHRONO (and Cricket service) I like the convenient camera access + shoot button (located on the outside of case). I like the color display and the many other smart and handy features. It's also nice, after all these years, to have a ringtone like a traditional "ring-a-ling-a-ling" rotary phone as an option rather than a bunch of musical assaults announcing a caller. The voice service is pretty cool but I'm still getting familiar with it -like when it announces the number or name on your caller ID just before the ringing begins. My only complaints are that the text entry has no speed adjustment option (just SLOW). The battery drains fast and phone needs recharging about every other day or less. However this phone is EASY to turn-off and on during long periods of inactivity (such as sleeping hours!) so this can extend time between recharges. Also the camera doesn't ZOOM or crop images. Internet access (my first time from a phone!) is pretty easy but most images can't be viewed due to small phone memory . So it seems mostly usefull for viewing text documents and line-art illustrations while on the Internet. Unlike my other super-stupid phone, "T-9 text input" is OPTIONAL on the Chrono - a huge relief for me since I prefer to THINK for myself when I 'write' !! I also like the local weather feature (new for me!)that gets updated periodically and shows current temp + forecasted Highs and Lows! On this phone there are a bunch of other features and operations that I have yet to discover and use so my 'review' here isn't totally comprehensive. Overall I'm very happy with this phone and for $25.00 total (in our wmart) I may buy a 2nd one - in case this one gets lost or stolen!

Was this review helpful? (59) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mizhu
High Point, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
10/14/2012

Customer review by icj9

4.0 stars 10/14/2012 by icj9
by icj9

My daughter's Android phone kept overheating & it broke, so we purchased this phone temporarily until I could save up some money to purchase her another one. She wants an iphone for Christmas. Either way, this phone has worked well - does not lose signal, texting, pictures and phone reception is good. This phone is serving her well for now. . . We purchased the phone and it took about 4 days to arrive. We then took it to our local Cricket store which charged only $15 to connect the phone to her old phone number. We have had it about 1 1/2 months and is doing very well. . We saw this SAME phone in the Cricket store for $49.99. So we saved money by purchasing this product through WalMart.com.

Was this review helpful? (33) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
icj9
Harlingen, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Pathetic phone from a pathetic company - Cricket
3/18/2013

Customer review by namecantbeblank

1.0 stars 3/18/2013 by namecantbeblank
by namecantbeblank

The overall quality of this phone is dreadful. The sound quality makes it seem like you're calling from the moon with a string and a can! The phone has basic features. Nothing fancy. Buttons are big enough for large hands. Using the speakerphone is a hassle and makes the sound quality even worse - if that's even possible. You can't change the font on the display. You can't change the icon display. The camera doesn't have a flash, but you can do some basic photos with it. Good for if you are in an accident and need a camera. No video. Easy transfer of contacts with Bluetooth. The "buttons" surrounding the "OK" button don't illuminate which can make for tricky navigation with low/no lighting. The plastic case won't last more than a couple of dings here and there because it's so cheap. And there is no 3.5 or 2.5 mm jack for your headphones. They use micro USB, but don't even think about getting the cool Motorola converter, as it won't work with a Samsung phone. And here's the kicker, you can only use the T9 feature while texting. (See photo) It is not an option while using the browser. That was a deal breaker for me. Hopefully I can return it to Walmart and get a refund for the phone. (I am getting screwed with the minutes on the return, but it only cost me $25, so it's not that big of a deal.) Can you imagine typing in street names the old way? It's just pathetic. And the browser is very slow and will just get stuck every now and again. I did like the fact that there were some basic free apps, but the sound quality for the direction is absolutely horrendous. It's like having Charlie Brown's teacher give your directions to THE WRONG HOUSE! As for the service itself, the coverage can be spotty and the call quality is very poor. I used to have a Straight Talk plan and after this month, I may consider going back to it. My LG phones didn't last with Straight Talk, but the call quality was far superior to this piece of junk. I used it in D.C., so I am near every carrier with full coverage for every plan, so I expected better quality. The tech support is typical third rate service with people who can barely speak basic English - one of whom told me flat out that she didn't know which phones used the T9 feature while browsing. HINT: It's not on the website and there is no way of knowing. She told me she would physically have to go through each phone they offer to figure it out. No thanks. I'll just get another phone and try my luck with another company. I am going to find a TracFone because I would only use the phone in actual emergencies. It will force me to keep close track of my phone usage. Or better yet, I'll just buy a Mi-Fi from T-Mobile for $35/60days (DEAL ONLY AVAILABLE @ WALMART) and continue to use my iPod touch as my phone. (They have FREE apps for that.) It's basically like an iPhone without the cost. I don't use the phone minutes that much anyway and texting is very easy with the iPod. In Europe, I was able to Wi-Fi my way around, but in the U.S. that's almost impossible. Overall, a big disappointment for a phone that is supposed to be basic. You would think that such a basic phone would at least focus on sound and call quality since there's not much else offered. You can do better.

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
namecantbeblank
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
If you just need a simple phone......
6/2/2013

Customer review by Jpr100rt

5.0 stars 6/2/2013 by Jpr100rt
by Jpr100rt

Great little phone with a great price. 2nd one I've had. I bought this as a replacement phone should the original die on me. As I really only need it for a phone and it's my only phone, I wanted one on hand for a quick activation and I'm back in business. It's small and fits in the watch pocket of my jeans. It has a fair amount of features without being difficult to operate. I bought my mother one for christmas as she just wanted a cell phone for emergency use. The monthly service fee is as low as any I have seen.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jpr100rt
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The Phone was meant to be a gift
11/25/2012

Customer review by Jintasumba

4.0 stars 11/25/2012 by Jintasumba
by Jintasumba

The phone was meant to be a gift but the senior recipient wanted a phone with larger number keys so the phone was returned. JR

Was this review helpful? (9) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jintasumba
Boston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Gets the job done
4/29/2013

Customer review by Shoppertime2

5.0 stars 4/29/2013 by Shoppertime2
by Shoppertime2

I needed this phone on the go. Ordered it from Walmart and it arrived early. I haven't had any issues with it at all. Does what I need it to do and cricket service is actually pretty good.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shoppertime2
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
not what i had ordered
6/23/2013

Customer review by victimoffalseadvertizing

1.0 stars 6/23/2013 by victimoffalseadvertizing
by victimoffalseadvertizing

I ordered a pay-as-you-go phone. Pay-as-you-go means NO monthly fee. The phone arrived and I logged on to activate it. Then I found there was a monthly fee. I called cricket and they (not very helpfully) explained that they no longer dealt with pay-as-you-go phones, no matter what their ads say. The phone is useless to me. I demanded a refund and they gave me an address to send the phone to. I will send it back and see how long it takes for a refund.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
victimoffalseadvertizing
west new york, nj
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This phone was so much better than I anticipated,
7/18/2013

Customer review by deserthorseman

5.0 stars 7/18/2013 by deserthorseman
by deserthorseman

Cricket was also better than I expected, I got a plan that was much lower also than I expected. I would highly recommend this phone for people who are not technology geniuses, as it is very easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
deserthorseman
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Phone works ok, the buttons are small for seniors.
6/18/2013

Customer review by dcaa

3.0 stars 6/18/2013 by dcaa
by dcaa

Must use finger nail to use mostly, but does work and text ok.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dcaa
92545
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 500 contributor