Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4out of 5 stars
4 out of 5 | 57 reviews
5 stars
30
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 stars
5
Sort by: 
1-20 of 38 reviews
1-20 of 38 reviews
Great streamer Great price
11/5/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is a great little streamer. I picked this up for my girlfriend and she loves it. It may be small but if you're looking for an inexpensive way to stream Netflix this is really all you would ever need. It has 2 outputs: HDMI and the (yellow, white and red) plugs if you have an older non HD tv. No need for wireless adapters...this streamer already has the wi-fi built in. It will also work on a wired (LAN) connection. I'm using the wired connection so I can't comment on it's wi-fi performance. (the wi-fi menu on the streamer was able to pick-up 4 routers in my neighborhood lol) What I prob like the most about this streamer is the menu system for Netflix. It breaks down the movies into genres, allows you to access your Q and best of all, allows you to Search. The search feature is so nice!! I have an older Sony blu-ray player which only allows access to my Q on netflix and no searching. You can also access Youtube, Pandora, Blockbuster along with many others. Comes with a very easy to use remote and a cool little bracket if you wanted to mount the streamer on the wall.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (147)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good Media Streamer
11/17/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Pretty much a plug 'n play streamer. Can stream in HD with HDMI hookup. I hooked it up via an Ethernet cable, not the wireless way. Wished it got MLB.com but happy with the 8 channel it does play. Netflix streams with no problems. Cheap price, too.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (76)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Awesome Product!
1/25/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Out of the box, connected with provided rca cables (hdmi port is there as well, but no cable), plugged it in and turned it on with the included remote not mentioned in the description! Went into setup (simple via setup user menu), and entered my wireless internet password. Selected netflix & activated. All of five minutes out of the box and it was streaming movies great, better than expected! Only complaint is it looks like this item is discontinued because I could the only other place I could find it was at Target.Com for 69.99 and its out of stock online and their stores. Walmart.com shows online but not in stores and you can only order one at a time online - likely due to their limited stock as they are probably not re-stocking as they go off the shelf. Ashame, this thing is cheap and great - rare. Buy one why you can, hopefully you are not too late!!! I just ordered another one...
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
DOES NOT WORK FOR HULU PLUS
11/11/2011
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this with the intention of being able to watch netflix and hulu plus in one of the bedrooms. Walmart does state that this box is for use with netflix, pandora, blockbuster, etc. and HULU PLUS. It is not, I was confused so i went to magnavox's website. A FAQ and answer follows: What features will be available after I connect to the Internet? Answer You can connect to internet services including Netflix, Film Fresh, Blockbuster, VUDU and Pandora. Will be returning for a Roku or another Blu Ray player. Otherwise, great little device if you don't have hulu plus. easy set up, wi-fi worked fine. Walmart needs to change the product description. Also, why anyone would make a media streaming device without access to that is just strange.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (67)No (16)
Report
Was this review helpful?
11/23/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I debated what kind of media streaming device to purchase for a long time and was really set on getting the low end Roku. However, I happened to come across this item on the site and that made my decision more difficult. Netflix is the only subscription I already had, but with their recent changes in price I'm not certain I will keep them; although my original purpose was to stream Netflix to the TV. So the Magnavox appealed because it seemed to have access to more sites. I checked what kind of availability Vudu, Blockbuster have, and I really wanted Pandora. The Roku has access to many more channels, but not necessarily ones that I'm familiar with or would be interested in. And the Magnavox was less expensive. It was a nail biter decision since there were zero reviews available at the time, but I believe it was worth the purchase. I will say that I had the darnedest time connecting it at first. The router was new as well, so I don't know if it was the router or the player. After the 1st few weeks of frustration, it's almost as if it needed to learn our home. It gets played more than the TV by itself, but I do wish I was able to access Amazon streaming, maybe Huluplus but not sure that additional subscription cost is worth it to me. I may still get Roku for the bedroom. Frankly I wish these things could access all streaming sites, but I'm sure there's some non-competitive contracting going on there. I guess that's called being techy enough/care enough to hook the PC to the TV directly. For our limited cable channel only home, the Magnavox was a good investment in our entertainment.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (66)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Extremely Happy!!!
1/15/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Color me grateful. Grateful for the ease of installing. I'm afraid of tech stuff, I always come out loser, lol. Not this time. It took me longer to order this unit then to get it up and running. Super sharp picture. The other "popular" brand begining with a "R", was more expensive and more difficult to get going. The remote is easy to use as well with big fat buttons. The remote is half the size of any TV remote. The unit itself is very very tiny, takes up no room at all. I wanted Netflix, UTUBE and Pandora; I have them and 3 other ones including Vudu and Blockbuster. Walmart was fast too. They told me 19 days to begin with and it arrived in nine. Site to Store only way to go.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
AWESOME!!!...Has What Roku is Missing!
12/9/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this because it has Vudu and Blockbuster - NOT AVAILABLE ON ROKU - it also has Vudu apps - which looks like it could give Roku a run-for-the-money in the future - not as many channels as Roku, but very interesting!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great product for less money
11/29/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I am a middle-aged non-techie person so I read the reviews carefully for the Magnavox and the better known Roku brands of streaming devices. The reviews for both seem to point to the products being good and also easy to setup which was very important to me. The only difference I can see is the Roku pulls in more viewing channels, some free and some that cost money to view. I find quite a lot to watch on Netflix and YouTube so I went with the Magnavox to save money. It was easy to setup, works like a charm. I'd never heard of Pandora, the music channel, and it appears to be free but requires signing up at their website. That is the only thing I would like to see changed: if it's free, why can't I just select it and use it right from the streaming device? Keep it simple, is my motto. So someday when I feel like creating yet another account with somebody, I may try Pandora. But for now, I am too busy streaming videos, woo hoo!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
1/5/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love the item and the price. I purchased it for netflix only but now I enjoy listening to Pandaro. I used the wireless connection with no problems. I am going to purchase another one for my other room.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Little Box
1/4/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is a neat little box for streaming video. Easy set up and does what it's meant to do. You won't be sorry you purchased.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good Basic Streaming
12/31/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I bought this device on the advice of a friend who has 2 and assured me how easy it was to install. Installation was extremely challenging for me because it would not read my router. There was a WEP v. WPA problem. Fortunately, I have a friend who is an IT person. It took him an hour to figure out the inability to connect. Making matters worse, the day after I installed mine NETFLIX had a problem and I thought the device had a glitch in it. Once NETFLIX corrected their problem the device started working properly. After a week of use, we are enjoying the ability to stream directly to our TV. My one warning to potential buyers is that the directions in the package and on line are not very explicit. You kind of need to feel your way around.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
love this machine!
5/12/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
this took only a few minutes for me to set up(and i am an old lady that usually needs help with everything!). all you need is in the box, the instructions were easy to follow and the player works great. was also less expensive then the roku i was considering. if you use netflix a lot this is great, menu is easy, and you can access your que.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Died after a week.
8/7/2012
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have a Roku, but wanted a "streamer" that supports Vudu and Youtube. The reviews for the Magnavox HD Streaming Videoo Player TB600MG2F were positive, it supports both Vudu and Youtube and it's cheap, so I ordered one (in June). Received the unit, hooked it up to my TV via HDMI cable and then connected it to my wireless network. Wireless setup was pretty quick and simple, no problems there. I then streamed some videos via Netflix, Youtube and Vudu. Still, no problems. I then left the unit alone. A week passes and I decided to "play" with the TB600MG2F again. I grabbed the remote, pressed the "Power" button and nothing. Yep, the unit was dead and I only had it for a week. I still have it (don't want to bother with sending it back). I guess you get what you pay for.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
2/23/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Great Value and was easy to set up to my wireless network
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Stop Working!
1/14/2012
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I had this product for three weeks and it was really great. The picture quality was good and I would use it everyday. But then it just doesn't turn on! I don't know why the control works fine but it wont turn on the device just don't know. So I'm going to return it. I wish I didn't have too but it doesn't turn on anymore.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
SLOW
4/9/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It is SOOOO slow and I know its not my internet access because I had used my Wii before to watch Netflix and it works fast with that. I also have to start my Netflix videos over a lot because the screen in just black although you can hear it. Very disappointed. Just shell out the extra $50 and get apple TV. That is what I wish I would have done!!!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
1/30/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Very easy setup, streaming Netflix, Blockbuster and Vudu is excellent on this unit, works great connected to Ethernet port on the router (using Ethernet cable) or wireless in another room.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
1/26/2012
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Operates well, great HD picture. Wish I could add and/or remove apps though.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good buy for the cost
2/25/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've used this product now for about 2 weeks and it's does the job. I've mainly been using Netflix so far. The movies load without a problem and have experienced no freezing up.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Magnabox Streamer
3/30/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It was a fairly easy set up, until I got into the programming part of it. I am not a techie, and I am still a bit confused as to how to use it. I would like to stream programs from my PC, but still don't know how to do that. For me, the manual was hard to read. Too technical. I have an old TV, and did not know what a LAN cord was, and guessed only based on my son's XBOX set up. For now, I use it for Netflix, until I get the rest of it figured out.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640661, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-