Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.6out of 5 stars
3.6 out of 5 | 65 reviews
5 stars
33
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
17
Sort by: 
1-20 of 58 reviews
1-20 of 58 reviews
Ruined my chair!
1/14/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Leaves a tacky residue. Once you sit on it (and I waited a full day) it starts to look cloudy and peel from the corners. Then it keeps peeling off, just like rubber cement, except it doesn't come off in some places! So my chair now looks like it has balled rubber cement all over it and I can't get the rest off, so I have to throw the chair out. DON'T BUY
Was this review helpful?
Yes (58)No (18)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The product is great. It is as advertised
3/15/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I used this product to repair canvas on a pop up camper. It had lots of rips where the canvas goes over the pop out bed. I found the same colored canvas at Jo Ann Fabrics. I cut a 2 inch wide strip of the repair material and applied the tear mender to the patch and more mender to the original canvas. The temp was in the 50 so it didn't setup really fast. I pulled the ripped canvas together over the internal patch and held it for a couple of minutes, or let it partially dry so it was stick and then press it together, and it stayed. It took overnight to dry. I did find the mender is pretty runny. I did get an old tooth brush to smooth the mender out and work it into the fabric. This worked much better than just dribbling it out of the bottle. If too much of the mender was applied it had a tendency to leak thru the canvas. It did leave a wet look after it was dried and in a few areas there was a white rubbery looking residue. However, the seams and the patches are VERY strong. NO sewing required. AND I can us the camper again.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great find!
12/30/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I tried this product on the recommendation of a wall tent repair shop, he said he could fix the tent but we could use this for much cheaper. He was right! I've put several patches on the tent since then. They hold amazingly well, I love this product. Since then I've used it to repair work coats, jeans, vehicle seats, just about anything that you can't fit in the sewing machine. This is my 4th bottle of Tear Mender, I love it and have told a lot of people about this...wishing someone had told me earlier! The only thing I experience disappointment over is the fact that it usually starts to dry up before I get the whole bottle used. I've tried both the flip top and the nozzle screw top, both with the same results. That's the only reason I gave it 4 starts instead of 5.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Hardens in bottles
2/7/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Used once. Tried again about a year later, both large and small bottles had completely hardened. Plan to use once, then throw container away.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Tear Mender Fabric & Leather Adhesive
5/29/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is a great product, capable of fastening a sole that has split on a shoe. Whether rubber, leather, works fantastic. Been around for many years and still does the job!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (73)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Put back in stores!!!
9/25/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
By far the best fabric mender on the market! I have used this product on a wide variety of fabrics and as long as it was a porous material I used it on, it has never let me down. My only complaint is that it is not found in stores anymore. Working as a supervisor for a big-box retailer myself, I understand the economics of why, but it works so well and lasts so long that you don't need to buy it very often. It would still be nice, however, if I could go to the store and get a new bottle instead of ordering it online as I do not want to wait for it or pay shipping so I guess I will try a new product that is available in the stores. So sad.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (35)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Would not buy again.
1/24/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It did not work for my fabric couch. Also left a very tacky residue on the couch that is almost impossible to get out and makes the whole look dirty.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Pleasantly surprised, it really worked!
7/22/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
First off, this glue is VERY drippy and messy and can be very difficult to work with as such. It is not a typical glue consistency, much more liquidy and because it contains latex, it kind of feels like a liquified rubber glove (NOT recommended for people with latex allergies, there is a warning on the bottle but not in the advertising before ordering). I wouldn't recommend it for all purposes, and I wouldn't use it on clothing, however... I have a huge suitcase that had a zipper torn away (the zipper was functional, just not attached to the suitcase any longer), I thought for sure the suitcase was a goner and it would've been a small fortune to have professionally repaired. Thought I would give this stuff a shot before tossing it -- I was very pleasantly surprised, it actually worked!!! It states it would be washable, though I don't have a need for washability so I can't speak to that aspect. But it did rescue my suitcase and I attempted to tear it away to see if it would come apart and it is still holding well. It does dry relatively clear, I used it on a dark color suitcase, something lighter you may see some of the residue but it mostly disappears. Depending on your purpose, I would definitely recommend this stuff for your heavy duty repairs. Just be prepared that it will be messy!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
excellent product
8/14/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I am very pleased with this product. It has been used on leather and I highly recommend it. It has strength and is durable. We are so pleased with this, we ordered more! You get more for your money with ordering this through Wal-Mart!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (32)No (11)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nothing like I expected.
7/21/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I must have received an older version as the labeling is completely different. I shook It for a couple of minutes and tried applying it several different ways as there were no instructions. I discovered that even after it dries over night if you apply more afterwards to spots that may not have stuck very well it softens all the dried areas it touches. It leaves a ridge and even after it has fired for days the adhesive to the sides of the repair tend to roll up towards the repaired edge and either adds to the ridge (which is shiny against a matte finish leather) or begins to peal off. The ridge is softer/more pliable that a hard cement would have been so it doesn't cause a pressure point but it doesn't look great either although so far it is holding the two parts together. I had intended to repair a small tear in my daughters car seat but after testing on my recliner chair arm I am so glad I tested it first so I didn't make her small problem worse. I'm really not sure of what I did that was so different from all the positive reviewers that helped convince me to buy this but I cannot in all honesty recommend this to any non-expert in furniture/fabric repair.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
GREAT PRODUCT. 55 YEARS, I HAVE BEEN USEING IT !!!
3/27/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
MY PRIMARY USE OF TEAR MENDER , IS TO PUT IT ON ALL THE SEAMS AT THE END OF MY AMERICAN FLAG. I LIVE IN A WINDY LOCATION AND MY FLAGS LAST A LOT LONGER.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (23)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Really Works
8/11/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This glue works really well on the right type of fabric. The fabric cannot be real thin but works great on jeans and other heavier fabric.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Mends almost anything
1/13/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
My husband had a huge rip in his canvas boat cover and this fixed it in seconds. It also mended the leather strap on my purse. For those of you who are having problems with it working, try adding a little more and holding the fabric in the position you want it to mend for a few seconds. Ladies a quick tip. I had a small run in my hose and I dabbed a little on the run and the run has stopped and I am still able to wear the hose.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (36)No (19)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Awesome Results!
5/11/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This product is amazing. I tore my fur coat. I knew if I took it to a professional or the designer showroom that manufactured the coat, it would be an expensive repair. So, I went out on a limb and tried this product based on consumer reviews. It seamlessly fixed my coat better than new. I know little something about sewing, so I took my time, bought a few things and went ahead with the repair. I definitely recommend this product. But, proceed with caution. Once it bonds, the seam cannot be undone. Good luck!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Fix a tear on car leather seat - it works!
11/13/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I have a small tear in the leather passenger seat of my 2003 Mercedes S500. I placed a small amount of Tear Mender on the tear. The tear is holding up well and the mended area remains flexible. So far, so good.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great product
12/27/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Did some research online before I bought this glue from Wal-mart, online order, but only too a couple days to arrive Wal-mart has always been swift on ship-to-store orders, thanks). Used the glue to fix a small tear on my leather jacket, worked very well and only took about 5 minutes. Great product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Tear Mender is EXCELLENT!
3/7/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Some friends bought a bottle of this for me years ago...and it lasted a long time. It's great for many things. I have used it to hem a pair of jeans, to repair upholstery on furniture, and to "tack" curtains up and keep them off the floor or away from a heat/AC vent. You will be surprised at the things you can use it for!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Job and holds well
11/21/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Used on leather sofa arm and it was still a bit tacky after a couple of days, but it did hold and dried clear so there was no need to be concerned about matching the color as with other products.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Holds well.
10/14/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Product works well. I used it on my snowmobile seat. Make sure you tuck a denim patch behind the tear, then apply the product to the backside of the tear and to the denim patch and hold for a few minutes. Water proof and ready in 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Received different product
4/6/2013
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Same name but different brand. I ordered from Walmart instead of amazon because reviewers on amazon we receiving the same one I was shipped. It is still basically the same type of product expect the one I received dries white instead of clear. I was using it to fix a tear in leather sofa so it would of be better to be clear.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642870, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-