Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 45 reviews | 2.6 out of 5

2.5 stars

45 reviews | 2.6 out of 5

5 stars
12
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
6
1 stars
21
40%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 39 total reviews
okay, but need longer pieces
1/26/2012

Customer review by bestmamaw

2.0 stars by bestmamaw

this product was okay, but they really need to have longer pieces available so you can attach buttons or other stuff to heavier things. Right now if you are going to try to use it on anything heavier than a dress shirt, it will not work. so if anyone knows where you can get refills that are longer it would be wonderful.

Was this review helpful? (31) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
bestmamaw
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
4/19/2013

Customer review by FLORIDARASCAL

5.0 stars by FLORIDARASCAL

I have owned a Butoneer for over 10 years and it still works. I have used it for shirts and thicker material such as pants and jeans. The trick to working with thicker material is to push the material from the back side with tweezers to make sure the prongs completely prodrude through the material and is snug against the buttoneer before you squeeze the trigger. My wife keeps stealing it! Finding refills can be tricky.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
FLORIDARASCAL
Orlando, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
An old but proven product
10/1/2013

Customer review by grandpawBob

5.0 stars by grandpawBob

I was getting to be not as adept at sewing on buttons like I was when I was younger...hard to thread that needle,finding the right button and right color thread etc. So I asked my wife if we had a "buttoneer". She looked all over and decided we never had one but knew what I meant.So I googled it and found Wal Mart had it online. I ordered it and three days later it was in the mailbox. I opened it up and tried it on a pair of shorts..they had the thick material where the button went so I loaded the buttoneer and went at it. Well I tried to poke it through the thick cotton to no avail...so I got the bright idea of getting a large needle to pre punch the material...it was all I needed to do! I put that button on lickity split! You might have to support the back of thick fabrics with tweezrs or a thimble but that's no big deal. For the price it still works like advertised long ago! Get one, you won't regret it. By the way i ordered extra fasteners also.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
grandpawBob
Ft Worth Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/20/2012

Customer review by Koumba

5.0 stars by Koumba

This item is no longer in stores. I was very happy to find it online with Walmart

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Koumba
Richmond, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Not as good as the Original Buttoneer
12/7/2013

Customer review by Dimosthenes

2.0 stars by Dimosthenes

The design of the instrument is different and now does not let the user select the length of the fastener and you get far fewer fasteners than the original had. The concept is the same but the redesign of the tool and fasteners make it a less useful item. If I had not used multiple fasteners trying to get a button fastened I would return it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Dimosthenes
Bellingham, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/8/2012

Customer review by aruhle

1.0 stars by aruhle

This can only be used with very thin material...not very secure fastener.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
aruhle
Freeport, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
11/7/2012

Customer review by kekell

5.0 stars by kekell

This is the best I've seen for fixing lost bottons, attaching items for quick fixes that will last without needing to get out a needle and thread!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
kekell
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Horrible product!
10/8/2013

Customer review by Deansdoe

1.0 stars by Deansdoe

I reluctantly bought the Buttoneer even though it had mixed reviews. I can now say that this is one of the worst products I've ever encountered. It won't even fasten a button through 1 layer of material. I will be returning it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Deansdoe
Disheartened USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Horrible, product is flimsy
8/30/2013

Customer review by AnyCustomer

1.0 stars by AnyCustomer

This was a horrible experience, I ordered the Buttoneer and when I clicked on submit the web site just hung there for over 5 min. After closing the web page and waiting for about 15 min I never received a confirmation email that my ordered was completed. Not knowing the status of the order and not having a confirmation number to check on I opened the page again and ordered because it was apparent that my order never went through. After clicking on submit this time I received 2 separate confirmation emails within seconds of each other each with different confirmation numbers. This told me that I had doubled ordered and the first order from over 20 min ago came through the same time as the most recent order 2 min ago. This was just the ordering portion, when the product arrived it is good for putting buttons on shirts but the needles are simply not strong enough to put buttons on pants. I tried on Khaki cotton material but it broke the needle so this product is useless to me and now I have two of them because of the web site fiasco. In the future I will stick with Amazon because of their return policy, this was simply too frustrating. Hope this helps for future customers.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
AnyCustomer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
PIECE OF GARBAGE
3/22/2013

Customer review by Gumby4549

1.0 stars by Gumby4549

THE BUTTONEER IS THE MOST WORTHLESS PIECE OF GARBAGE THAT I EVER WASTED MY HARD EARNED MONEY ON. I WENT THROUGH TWO OF THE INSERTS AND EACH AND EVERY ONE JUST BROKE OFF. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS PIECE OF GARBAGE TO MY WORST ENEMY.

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Gumby4549
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Forget sewing buttons
2/12/2015

Customer review by Jose

5.0 stars by Jose

As a senior, my fingers are not as supple as they used to be so sewing on buttons becomes a difficult task: threading a needle, pushing the needle through fabric, tieing off the thread at the end is troublesome. Using the Buttoneer only requires pushing the fastener into the device, putting the button on the device, pushing the device against the fabric and pulling the trigger; a two or three minute task. As a former traveling business manager I would have appreciated having a Buttoneeer in my suitcase.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Jose
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wonderful and handy little tool for buttons
2/1/2014

Customer review by pjp2201

5.0 stars by pjp2201

I am a crafter and was sewing alot of buttons on things when a friend suggested a Buttoneer. I had heard of them but was not even sure they were still being made. Much to my delight I found it on Walmart.com and it works beautifully. Now I can attach a button in literally 30 seconds instead of it taking 5 minutes. Well worth the minimal $10 investment.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
pjp2201
Ft Myers, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A great quick fix!!
9/22/2013

Customer review by SugarLandTX2

5.0 stars by SugarLandTX2

I have had my Buttoneer for many years!! I loved how quick I could re-attach buttons. I misplaced that Buttoneer some time ago, and have been keeping my eyes open in my mail order catalogues. However, Google did it again...I found it here at Walmart. I am going to buy several, plus several refills as well. The Singer brand button fixer (can't remember its name) is VERY complicated to use. It's also sharp and dangerous to use as well.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
SugarLandTX2
Sugar Land, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
I had one before and misplaced it.
1/23/2014

Customer review by moose682012

5.0 stars by moose682012

this works great as I misplaced my first one and had to get another one. works great, nothing hard about how it works. Directions are very simple and it works very quickly. And it beats a needle and thread.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
moose682012
Memphis, Tenn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love it
8/14/2013

Customer review by Justme4

5.0 stars by Justme4

Glad we were able to find it again

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Justme4
Washington, IL.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
smashed, but ok
11/9/2014

Customer review by marvin05

4.0 stars by marvin05

product, price & delivery were fine, although box was smashed, product was undamaged

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
marvin05
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It's ba-a-ack!
10/13/2014

Customer review by quixoticman

4.0 stars by quixoticman

The Buttoneer never went away, but they can disappear and after a couple of years you have to get another one. They can be a pain to use occasionally, but they usually work and they sure make life easier for those of us who seem to pop buttons off everything. Anything but a flat surface is an opportunity to knock a button off and I can sew, but I can do 10 Buttoneer buttons in the time I can sew one on.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
quixoticman
dallas, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/30/2013

Customer review by nonameforthis

3.0 stars by nonameforthis

This is nothing like my original buttoneer. My original one had only one prong and was more sturdy. Pushing two prongs though material is harder. It is a hit or miss getting it to work right, with both ends of the plastic to go to the other side of the material. The plastic is also very short. It would NOT work for a thick button on a coat front.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
nonameforthis
NH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Hard to use
8/13/2013

Customer review by BobTheNob

2.0 stars by BobTheNob

I had high expectations this would solve a lot of craft problems but it just didn't match expectations. VERY difficult to load the fasteners correctly, and half the time they don't attach properly. No doubt I'll get better with practice but after an hour of using it I'm ready to stick it in a drawer and go back to needle & thread. Too bad. A great idea that didn't pan out.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
BobTheNob
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
definitely not the original
3/5/2014

Customer review by ria331

2.0 stars by ria331

I actually have the "original" buttoneer and needed some refills but needed diff colors and sizes and opted to purchase this item. So disappointed because it is totally different from the one I have had since the 70's. Mine uses an "I" shaped connector and came in all colors and lengths. This item uses a "U" type -I havent tried it yet but not very hopeful that it will work on my jacket buttons which also have a button behind them.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ria331
NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 39 total reviews