Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 56 reviews | 2.5 out of 5

2.5 stars

56 reviews | 2.5 out of 5

2.5 stars

56 reviews | 2.5 out of 5

39%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
13
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
7
1 stars
27
1-20 of 50 total reviews
39%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 50 total reviews
1-20 of 50 reviews
An old but proven product
10/1/2013

Customer review by grandpawBob

5.0 stars 10/1/2013 by grandpawBob
by grandpawBob
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was getting to be not as adept at sewing on buttons like I was when I was younger...hard to thread that needle,finding the right button and right color thread etc. So I asked my wife if we had a "buttoneer". She looked all over and decided we never had one but knew what I meant.So I googled it and found Wal Mart had it online. I ordered it and three days later it was in the mailbox. I opened it up and tried it on a pair of shorts..they had the thick material where the button went so I loaded the buttoneer and went at it. Well I tried to poke it through the thick cotton to no avail...so I got the bright idea of getting a large needle to pre punch the material...it was all I needed to do! I put that button on lickity split! You might have to support the back of thick fabrics with tweezrs or a thimble but that's no big deal. For the price it still works like advertised long ago! Get one, you won't regret it. By the way i ordered extra fasteners also.

Was this review helpful? (26) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
grandpawBob
Ft Worth Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Can't Sew???
4/25/2016

Customer review by MaryJane

5.0 stars 4/25/2016 by MaryJane
by MaryJane

I have been using the Buttoneer for years. I finally ran out of clips and decided to order a new Buttoneer and the extra clips. Puts buttons on in a snap without a needle and thread. The plastic clips last much longer than thread also. I would recommend to everyone. Great invention.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MaryJane
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
okay, but need longer pieces
1/26/2012

Customer review by bestmamaw

2.0 stars 1/26/2012 by bestmamaw
by bestmamaw

this product was okay, but they really need to have longer pieces available so you can attach buttons or other stuff to heavier things. Right now if you are going to try to use it on anything heavier than a dress shirt, it will not work. so if anyone knows where you can get refills that are longer it would be wonderful.

Was this review helpful? (54) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bestmamaw
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
4/19/2013

Customer review by FLORIDARASCAL

5.0 stars 4/19/2013 by FLORIDARASCAL
by FLORIDARASCAL

I have owned a Butoneer for over 10 years and it still works. I have used it for shirts and thicker material such as pants and jeans. The trick to working with thicker material is to push the material from the back side with tweezers to make sure the prongs completely prodrude through the material and is snug against the buttoneer before you squeeze the trigger. My wife keeps stealing it! Finding refills can be tricky.

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FLORIDARASCAL
Orlando, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
10/20/2012

Customer review by Koumba

5.0 stars 10/20/2012 by Koumba
by Koumba

This item is no longer in stores. I was very happy to find it online with Walmart

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Koumba
Richmond, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Not as good as the Original Buttoneer
12/7/2013

Customer review by Dimosthenes

2.0 stars 12/7/2013 by Dimosthenes
by Dimosthenes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The design of the instrument is different and now does not let the user select the length of the fastener and you get far fewer fasteners than the original had. The concept is the same but the redesign of the tool and fasteners make it a less useful item. If I had not used multiple fasteners trying to get a button fastened I would return it.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dimosthenes
Bellingham, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Directions
4/11/2016

Customer review by PatNC

2.0 stars 4/11/2016 by PatNC
by PatNC

They are hard to read and I never did get it to work.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PatNC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good Buy
4/3/2016

Customer review by None

4.0 stars 4/3/2016 by None
by None

Does exactly what it is suppose to.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
None
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Horrible, product is flimsy
8/30/2013

Customer review by AnyCustomer

1.0 stars 8/30/2013 by AnyCustomer
by AnyCustomer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This was a horrible experience, I ordered the Buttoneer and when I clicked on submit the web site just hung there for over 5 min. After closing the web page and waiting for about 15 min I never received a confirmation email that my ordered was completed. Not knowing the status of the order and not having a confirmation number to check on I opened the page again and ordered because it was apparent that my order never went through. After clicking on submit this time I received 2 separate confirmation emails within seconds of each other each with different confirmation numbers. This told me that I had doubled ordered and the first order from over 20 min ago came through the same time as the most recent order 2 min ago. This was just the ordering portion, when the product arrived it is good for putting buttons on shirts but the needles are simply not strong enough to put buttons on pants. I tried on Khaki cotton material but it broke the needle so this product is useless to me and now I have two of them because of the web site fiasco. In the future I will stick with Amazon because of their return policy, this was simply too frustrating. Hope this helps for future customers.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AnyCustomer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
this is a terrible device that does not work
3/18/2016

Customer review by davy

1.0 stars 3/18/2016 by davy
by davy

it ddoes not work it wont even grab the cloth with no button will not sew any button on no matter the size

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
davy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Disappointment!
5/27/2015

Customer review by Debi

1.0 stars 5/27/2015 by Debi
by Debi

What a let down. I thought "wonderful, it's still around after all these years!" when I found the Buttoneer on Walmart.com. But this is not the same Buttoneer and was an absolute disappointment in it's huge inability to help me attach six buttons. The plastic tabs that you slip into the loading part of the mechanism and supposedly use to attach the buttons to the garment continually failed to do so time after time after time after time. The material that I was trying so hard to attach the buttons to was NOT thick and the buttons were flat. If I had had some choices in the size of the tabs that may have helped but alas there was only one size to choose from. Overall the Buttoneer was a complete disappointment!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Debi
Would recommend to a friend? No
10/8/2012

Customer review by aruhle

1.0 stars 10/8/2012 by aruhle
by aruhle

This can only be used with very thin material...not very secure fastener.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
aruhle
Freeport, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Very Cheaply made. Does not work.
2/8/2014

Customer review by Anthonyalso

1.0 stars 2/8/2014 by Anthonyalso
by Anthonyalso
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My mom had one when I was a child. It worked great. The fasteners were various sizes and even different colors to match clothing just as thread is different colors to match the materiel being stitched, It was easy to load and worked on everything. This is not true for the original buttoneer. The fasteners are clear and very flimsy, similar to the plastic used to fasten price tags to clothing in department stores. They break in the buttoneer before the button is ever attached. The buttoneer my mom had could do all kinds of buttons. This buttoneer, if it worked has a limit to a two hole or four hole button. I have to return it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Anthonyalso
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Useless implement
9/10/2013

Customer review by JungleStud

1.0 stars 9/10/2013 by JungleStud
by JungleStud
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Don't waste your money. It does a very poor job of attaching buttons. If you manage to attach a button, it will only be temporary - less than two minutes. I will be returning mine. I am very disappointed. It was delivered very quickly though.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JungleStud
Sycamore, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Horrible product!
10/8/2013

Customer review by Deansdoe

1.0 stars 10/8/2013 by Deansdoe
by Deansdoe
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I reluctantly bought the Buttoneer even though it had mixed reviews. I can now say that this is one of the worst products I've ever encountered. It won't even fasten a button through 1 layer of material. I will be returning it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Deansdoe
Disheartened USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Piece of Garbage
7/27/2015

Customer review by netnet1465

1.0 stars 7/27/2015 by netnet1465
by netnet1465

It took longer to figure out how to work this flimsy piece of junk than it would have taken to sew the buttons onto my item. On top of that, it is not designed to work on pearl buttons, only flat buttons. Once I finally got the flat button onto my eye, all it took was the slightest twist and the plastic fastener fell apart. I have already returned this item to Walmart. Typical "as seen on tv" item. they never work like they do on tv. Don't waste your money.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
netnet1465
Would recommend to a friend? No
11/7/2012

Customer review by kekell

5.0 stars 11/7/2012 by kekell
by kekell
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is the best I've seen for fixing lost bottons, attaching items for quick fixes that will last without needing to get out a needle and thread!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kekell
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
JUNK!
7/17/2015

Customer review by LOVEwalmart

1.0 stars 7/17/2015 by LOVEwalmart
by LOVEwalmart

This has to go down as the biggest piece of junk I have ever purchased! I managed to get one button on after 10 tries and it came off as soon as a pulled the fabric away from the tool needles ... JUNK! JUNK! JUNK!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LOVEwalmart
Would recommend to a friend? No
Garbage
9/21/2014

Customer review by NotHappyInCleveland

1.0 stars 9/21/2014 by NotHappyInCleveland
by NotHappyInCleveland
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This product does not work at all! Ordered this for a friend who had the REAL "ORIGINAL" buttoneer. This was nothing at all like the "ORIGINAL" as stated in the name. And it would not fasten the buttons.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NotHappyInCleveland
Cleveland, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not the Buttoneer I remember
8/24/2015

Customer review by robtog

1.0 stars 8/24/2015 by robtog
by robtog

I wish someone had told me how poorly the new Buttoneer is. I remember the one that had assorted lengths of plastic fasteners that were like the plastic fasteners you see on clothing tags, with the ends that make it look like a "T". This one is very difficult to use and only works for small buttons, if it works at all. The very short fasteners break when you try to install them. My old one had one needle and you fastened them one at a time, but you could choose the length you needed and that made the button as tight or loose as you desired. Hope WalMart will let me return this one

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
robtog
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 50 total reviews
1-20 of 50 reviews