Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 83 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

83 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

83 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

72%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
30
4 stars
25
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 stars
18
1-20 of 69 total reviews
72%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 69 total reviews
1-20 of 69 reviews
Worth three times what I paid for it!
3/16/2012

Customer review by NintendoPower

5.0 stars 3/16/2012 by NintendoPower
by NintendoPower

I have had bad experiences with DVD recorders in the past, so I never saw myself ever buying another one. However, my dad recently passed away and left behind several VHS tapes of old family reunions, etc. that I felt needed to be preserved before they were lost forever (some of them as old as 1987!) I looked into computer USB kits and standalone TV-top burners, and finally decided to buy this one at my local Wal-Mart. Let me just say I had it out of the box and recording old VHS tapes in less than 20 minutes. It is so easy to use...after the one-time initial setup, all you have to do is put in the disc (I highly recommend DVD+RW, although any kind will work), let it format which only takes a few seconds, then set your record speed (You can record anywhere from 1 hour to 6 hours...you do need to know ahead of time how long your VHS tape is). So the first one I tried was a 2 hour tape, so I set the DVD speed to 2 hours. Then you just hit play on the VCR and record on teh DVD burner, sit back and enjoy the memories. When you're done, you either finalize (if you're use -R media# or protect the disc #if you're using +RW media# and you have no preserved your memories digitally. This burner doesn't have any of the flaws I've seen in other burners #shutting off after only a few seconds or everytime the media shakes slightly, media error messages, taking forever to do anything, etc.). One common complaint is that it doesn't have a digital display....it does have an on-screen display, which is good enough for me. If you are like me and have had bad luck with DVD burners in the past, have some faith and buy this one. This is one of the most positive experiences I've ever had with a new product right out of the box.

Was this review helpful? (170) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NintendoPower
Creston, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1/5/2012

Customer review by babypuss

5.0 stars 1/5/2012 by babypuss
by babypuss

This is the best dvd recorder I've every had. I bought two, one for me and another for my son. Its compack. It fit well in my tv stand. Great for only 98.00.

Was this review helpful? (129) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
babypuss
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Basic and Functional
2/16/2012

Customer review by OmegaGammaDelta74

4.0 stars 2/16/2012 by OmegaGammaDelta74
by OmegaGammaDelta74

I have had this recorder for over 6 months with no problems. Great price on sale. Agree with others that it is unfortunate that it does not have an external timer display, but it is easy to set up and to use once your used to it. I bought 2, one for me and one for brother in Montana. Bought it through my BOA Master Cards shopping page and recieved extra 5% off, and 1 extra years worth of warranty. I use Verbatim - R DVD's that I also bought from Walmart. They are superior to most, I have gotten no coasters out of the 100 I have used. Best recording quality on the shorter recording speeds 2 1/2, 3, 4 hour settings, but 6 hours comes out well also. Have read many good and bad reviews on this machine. My experience is a positive one.

Was this review helpful? (71) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OmegaGammaDelta74
South West Suffolk Co., L.I., New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great recorder for the price.
2/9/2012

Customer review by Kismet05

5.0 stars 2/9/2012 by Kismet05
by Kismet05

Easy to set up and very easy to record programs and movies from the TV.

Was this review helpful? (76) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kismet05
Alamogordo, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
won't work with comcast supplied digital converter
7/9/2012

Customer review by grandmamean

1.0 stars 7/9/2012 by grandmamean
by grandmamean

This unit can only be used if the source is AV1, AV2, etc. Will not run with channel 3 or 4 (any numbered channel)as the source. As the digital converter supplied by Comcast can only be set on numbered channels, you cannot set up this unit. I called Magnavox before purchasing this unit and they said it would work but I didn't think to mention that the digital converter couldn't be set to anything but numbered channels. I am returning the set after 2 days of trying. Hoping to save someon else the time and energy.

Was this review helpful? (28) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
grandmamean
La Salle, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
10/14/2012

Customer review by verge34

5.0 stars 10/14/2012 by verge34
by verge34

I'm happy w. product. Does not have a tuner. I hooked it up to my old VCR in a way that I can watch and record at the same time, though it says you can't. Runs fine, instructions are a little lenthy but needed, price was right and I am satisfied with it's performance. Would recommended to others if they want to figure out how to use it to their advantage. I am perfectly satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
verge34
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
4/19/2012

Customer review by staticlinet10

4.0 stars 4/19/2012 by staticlinet10
by staticlinet10

I heard recently, from a friend who sells electronics, that dvd recorders are in short supply. I have been burning disks for years, and this one seems to be one of the few that are dependable as far as accepting most disk formats, and playback on most other players. I still don't understand why some players refuse to play a finalized disk though, and am worried that this model may become obsolete.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
staticlinet10
Mtn. Grove, Mo.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Machine
4/8/2012

Customer review by mrmojo4477

5.0 stars 4/8/2012 by mrmojo4477
by mrmojo4477

I had the original version of this(same model number but without the "B" at the end). It works exactly the same as the older version, the only difference is the remote control. They moved some of the buttons around so I'm not used to it. I used to be able to use the remote in the dark, but now I have to relearn. I read the reviews on the older unit and one of the biggest complaints was the lack of a display. True there is no display on the unit, but there is the onscreen display which can be brought up by pushing the "Display" button. Maybe these people didn't see that button, but I sure have. By the way, if you buy this instore rather than online, the price is only $78. At that price I may go buy a backup unit since my original one had failed due to overuse.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mrmojo4477
Howell,NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
No display?
2/4/2012

Customer review by tnitemare

1.0 stars 2/4/2012 by tnitemare
by tnitemare

This product did not work for me. There was no display and it kept shutting off by itself for no reason. I returned it. I may have gotten a defective unit but if a product works like that with my first try, I usually don't give it a second chance. This does not mean it won't work for you.

Was this review helpful? (28) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tnitemare
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Lives up to expectations
3/3/2012

Customer review by Cycomps

5.0 stars 3/3/2012 by Cycomps
by Cycomps

This video recorder is one of the best I have owned. It is very simple to use and has features that more expensive units have, especially the menu creation. I recommend it to anyone who is looking for good results at a value price.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cycomps
Burleson, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
5/16/2012

Customer review by PRW1

5.0 stars 5/16/2012 by PRW1
by PRW1

Easy to use. Didnt even read the booklet. Everything is on screen.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PRW1
Milledgeville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Pretty easy to use
7/10/2012

Customer review by GreenEyes1969AL

4.0 stars 7/10/2012 by GreenEyes1969AL
by GreenEyes1969AL

Still learning, but was able to transfer 4 or 5 home videos to dvd. My husband is very good with electronics, but I am not. Since his schedule has been very busy, I did most of this myself after he set it up. It is nice to be able to turn the display on and off using the remote. The only problem I had was finding the "finalize" option. The instructions in the book did not work. The only way I have been able to get to that menu is to open and close the dvd tray, THEN press menu while the dvd is loading. Today I had to try several times, and had to press the menu button repeatedly to get to the finalize screen. Wish the finalize menu was a little easier to access, but am very pleased that we have dvd's of our old videos. And they do work on other players!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GreenEyes1969AL
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
DVR/DVD
3/26/2012

Customer review by Martel827

5.0 stars 3/26/2012 by Martel827
by Martel827

It's easy to use and is great! I love it!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Martel827
Hammond, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great Value
7/27/2012

Customer review by dinoman4

5.0 stars 7/27/2012 by dinoman4
by dinoman4

This recorder is excellent. It has new multiple recording modes such as SPP, which is 2.5 hrs. on 12 cm disc.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dinoman4
North Liberty, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A no frills DVD recorder
5/5/2012

Customer review by Bo73

5.0 stars 5/5/2012 by Bo73
by Bo73

It works as expected with no surprises and I'm glad I bought it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bo73
PR
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
7/31/2012

Customer review by doobiedoo1944

5.0 stars 7/31/2012 by doobiedoo1944
by doobiedoo1944

this DVD recorder/player works very good I use it to when I leave my apartment I can record my camera for security up to 6 hr, the only complaint is I cant record my TV , most of the newer TV's does not have an line a line out, just a line in for TV signal,,, I think a TV tuner on my cable spliter would work for me, their is nothing at all wrong with this recorder / player and I would reccomend it A+. doobiedoo1944

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
doobiedoo1944
bluegrass state
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Like it very much.
8/2/2012

Customer review by Captain1939

5.0 stars 8/2/2012 by Captain1939
by Captain1939

For basic recording on what you have on your DVR or what is playing of TV, it is easy to do and it is easy to hook up with their directions. More sophisticated actions such as making chapter headings, I found the instructions difficult to understand. But that is not what I need anywat

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Captain1939
Hilton Head Island, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Does everything I need
10/16/2012

Customer review by us56353

4.0 stars 10/16/2012 by us56353
by us56353

This is a good DVD Recorder for the money. I little tricky to figure out. Very poor instructions but nothing I couldn't figure out. When not recording or set to record, I take out the DVD because it doesn't seem to shut down all the way. For the price, this records good. Wal-Mart shipped fast and the price was right. We record in-line and bring the Player and DVD's to the cabin. Would I buy this again... YES! Cheap enough as a DVD player and I can record to boot.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
us56353
MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Love it
8/20/2012

Customer review by Bikercowgril69

4.0 stars 8/20/2012 by Bikercowgril69
by Bikercowgril69

It does everything in the description. I like the fact that you can connect to a converter box and record shows with the timer. This was a difficult function to find on a DVD recorder. The unit is small and has excellent quality recording.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bikercowgril69
Shelocta, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great DVD Recorder
5/24/2012

Customer review by Katiexyz

5.0 stars 5/24/2012 by Katiexyz
by Katiexyz

I have had many DVD recorders in the pass and this one is the very easy to work and the price is great the delivery was perfect I would recommend this to anyone that records on to a dvd.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Katiexyz
Farmingdale, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 69 total reviews
1-20 of 69 reviews