Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 84 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

84 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

84 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
44
4 stars
15
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 stars
15
1-20 of 75 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 75 total reviews
1-20 of 75 reviews
Not Just an E-Reader!
1/17/2012

Customer review by moderatelywise

5.0 stars 1/17/2012 by moderatelywise
by moderatelywise

I must say I am pleasantly surprised as I ordered this product quite by accident. I had intended to order the Nook Tablet and mistakenly ordered the Nook Color instead. Upon arrival I realized the error, however not wanting to go to the trouble of returning it, I decided to give it a try. To my surprise it worked wonderfully! As an e-reader it's excellent, but better than that I was able to easily download several free apps that had me reading email and facebooking friends without difficulty. I can even watch my favorite tv shows and movies on Netflix and the screen resolution is fabulous. Really for the small price tag I expected much less. Though the Netflix movies do take a moment longer than I'd like to load, the image and sound are first rate. Also Pandora for music is nice. Of course, it's not an ipad but for those of us who are somewhat tech savy but budget short, this is a nice alternative. Oh, did I mention I can also surf the web with wifi and visit all my favorite sites?! Really, this little guy is quite the bargain!

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
moderatelywise
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
This refurb a disappointment. Buy new one.
2/13/2012

Customer review by Ebookfan

1.0 stars 2/13/2012 by Ebookfan
by Ebookfan

My first Nook Color was purcchased new and was much better. My grand kids loved it so much I gave it to them. I jumped on the refurb opportunity because of price, but it has flaws. At first it was useless: did not respond to keystrokes, ran thru various functions erratically with no rhyme or reason, then settled down to function as a reader, with one minor hitch -- the pages would only go backwards. Unbelievable. After a few failed attempts and rebooting each time, it finally began to work fine, but very slow to respond to touch. I've adapted to it, but when the grandsons come over and use this Refurbed Nook, it is too slow for them to read kids' read-to-me books and they lose patience and quit. Apps and anything web-based is out of the question, and I have a very fast modem. Very short battery life; turn off wi-fi when not needed. I'm using it as my main reader, but only as a reader. I like that it is backlit so I can read in bed without a lamp. Buy a NookColor, but save up for a new one.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ebookfan
Edmond, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1/5/2012

Customer review by JCTee

1.0 stars 1/5/2012 by JCTee
by JCTee

I bought a refurbished Nook for a Christmas gift and it did not work correctly. The touchscreen keyboard did not work. I could click on a book or something fine but if I tried to type anything it all came out as b's (example: bbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbb.) I returned the Nook at the store and recieved a refund, I then went on-line and purchased a second refurbished Nook. It also did not work. The touchscreen quit working, which you need to use the touchscreen to turn off the Nook so it took me 1/2 an hour to turn off the Nook. I guess I was hoping it was just a glitch and if we tried again it would work, it did not. Sometimes the touchscreen works but most the time it does not. I will be returning the Nook tomorrow. This was a gift for my daughter, I have a Nook and it works great. When I returned the first Nook no one asked me if I was returning it because it did not work or just did not want it. It appears their refurbished Nooks are in reality just broken Nooks. Needless to say, I will not be purchasing another.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JCTee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Even though it was refurbished I could not tell it
12/10/2011

Customer review by primalrage99

5.0 stars 12/10/2011 by primalrage99
by primalrage99

Even though it was refurbished it looked new. Works great!

Was this review helpful? (40) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
primalrage99
Baghdad, Iraq
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Deal!
12/9/2011

Customer review by BBall22

5.0 stars 12/9/2011 by BBall22
by BBall22

I bought 3 for Christmas presents. Saved over $50 each, quick and free shipping! Works perfectly.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BBall22
Paragould, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
11/28/2011

Customer review by kh30620

5.0 stars 11/28/2011 by kh30620
by kh30620

Works great. It was a great purchase for me and anyone else that reads a lot.

Was this review helpful? (40) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kh30620
Bethlehem
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Shop experience good, minor Nook disappointment
1/31/2012

Customer review by BankMenace

4.0 stars 1/31/2012 by BankMenace
by BankMenace

I ordered a refurb Nook Color and when I got it my laptop with Windows 7 Professional would not recognize it, though the WiFi worked fine. I called support and after some standard tests to get it to work, it didn't. The tech guy was going to send a new cable, but I had him wait. I went to a friend's and he has the same operating system and a Nook Color. His Nook worked with my cable, so I ended up ordering another refurb Nook Color (kept the first unit until the second was received). Got it in good time, just like the first one. The second one showed up just fine on the laptop as it should and I was able to load a software update, which installed OK also. I have now returned the first Nook for credit with no problem. My only qualm is that the first Nook apparently was not properly tested before being reissued as a certified refurbished unit (not WalMart's fault). My ratings are only valid for my experience with the first unit for about 2 weeks and now only a day and a half with the second unit. The online purchase experience from WalMart was great.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BankMenace
Collinsville, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Addictive.
1/28/2012

Customer review by rantorrave

5.0 stars 1/28/2012 by rantorrave
by rantorrave

I find it hard to put down! A great reader. I first bought the "Simple Touch Reader" by NOOK, but the Nook color really adds a new dimension. Ease of use and connectivity with Wi-Fi is great. Ability to read in the dark without any light is cool. Great features in e-mail, wallpaper, photos, on line shopping etc etc. Like I said it's addictive.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rantorrave
Lexington, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1/4/2012

Customer review by skyekat

5.0 stars 1/4/2012 by skyekat
by skyekat

I would never have known that this item was reconditioned. I looks and works perfect and my grandson loves it!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
skyekat
Puyallup WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Refurbished Nook Color
11/10/2011

Customer review by 1KraftyKraut

2.0 stars 11/10/2011 by 1KraftyKraut
by 1KraftyKraut

It worked great for two days. The connection to recharge the battery no longer worked and I returned it. Bought another and it works great.

Was this review helpful? (147) (54)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1KraftyKraut
Escondido CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
1/25/2012

Customer review by mycque

4.0 stars 1/25/2012 by mycque
by mycque

Battery life could be a little better, but all in all a good deal. Especially when for a $14 memory card it turns into a dual boot android tablet too.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mycque
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good price point for a reader/browser
12/5/2011

Customer review by sgdlu

4.0 stars 12/5/2011 by sgdlu
by sgdlu

The device shipped on time, and they discounted my the $ delta when the price dropped from $180 to $150. It definitely was used, but worked fine for my purposes with the Android market option. The device still had great battery life and a great screen.

Was this review helpful? (33) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sgdlu
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product.
3/4/2012

Customer review by bekalyn

5.0 stars 3/4/2012 by bekalyn
by bekalyn

This Nook was like new when I recieved it. I couldn't tell it was refurbished. It has worked perfect. No problems whatsoever. I highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bekalyn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/30/2011

Customer review by elvira2468

5.0 stars 12/30/2011 by elvira2468
by elvira2468

Use my Nook for reading, email, music, and videos so far and I love it! It was a great buy at $149 refurbished and I've found no issues with it at all.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
elvira2468
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/26/2011

Customer review by kris2207

5.0 stars 12/26/2011 by kris2207
by kris2207

I'm really happy with the nook. I got it for my daughter for Xmas. She spends most of her time playing games on it. Just an FYI most of the apps/games are not free. For her its a nice alternative to a laptop. She can get online with it, play games, and read books.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kris2207
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good basic tablet with great potential
1/10/2012

Customer review by SuperTux

5.0 stars 1/10/2012 by SuperTux
by SuperTux

Bought refurbished version sold by this site @ 145. Store pickup was quick and easy. The product was in pristine shape with even the foil packing in place. no sign of any usage . The power supply was used but who cares for this price. My plan was to root the unit. Even stock OS with unit with a softroot was doing good. but I went to the full rooting and everything is fine here. You loose some options in stock like reading the children comic books. But all the rest of features can be obtained by using nook app. Now I love my tab for checking on email / Youtube and web browsing easy from my couch. Audio player is good built in speaker is kind of weak. No skype as no camera and MIC builtin. Bluetooth available after rooting but not got it working yet. Satisfactory battery life with standby for 3 to 4 days.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SuperTux
Chcago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
2/15/2012

Customer review by damous

5.0 stars 2/15/2012 by damous
by damous

easy for my 7 year old to use, makes her want to read.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
damous
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Re-furbished....Awesome
1/2/2012

Customer review by TheBink

5.0 stars 1/2/2012 by TheBink
by TheBink

Bought this re-furbished model for my granddaughter. She's 10. Was worried about it being refurbished, but when I received it, It looked just like a brand new one, packaging and all. I saved about 50 bucks and she loves this thing!! I bought the colored nook and played before I gave it to her and it was awesome! Color was great. To me re-furbished means: Something was wrong and got sent back. It was looked over and checked out and fixed if needed. So in the end, refurbished was actually checked out twice! I will always look for re-burbished items now!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheBink
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1/6/2012

Customer review by Buckeyesue

5.0 stars 1/6/2012 by Buckeyesue
by Buckeyesue

I mainly wanted an e-reader but wanted something that did a little more. After looking @ kindle Fires I found what I wanted in the Nook Color. After siting up your account with Banes and Noble downloading books is a snap. I can also surf the web and check e-mail facebook,weather....anything I can do on the web with my computer I do with my nook. Reading books is great and I can also so read in low light without any problem. After having it for 2 weeks i have had no problems.In fact I am thinking of getting one for my husband.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Buckeyesue
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent product, excellent price.
1/4/2012

Customer review by cek1014

5.0 stars 1/4/2012 by cek1014
by cek1014

I was a little nervous about purchasing this Nook since it was refurbished. Brand new ones were $200 and this one was $145, so I decided to take a chance. To my surprise, it came in a regular box and was packaged as if it was brand new. It looks brand new and works as though it is brand new. I have been using it for about a month now and haven't had a single problem. I love having the ability to turn the wifi on and off, and there is a large selection of apps and books to purchase. There are a few apps already on it, such as Pandora and some games like crossword puzzles, sudoku, and chess. Also, you can download samples of the books you are interested in to read before you actually purchase them. I would definitely recommend the Nook Color to everyone!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cek1014
St. Clairsville, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 75 total reviews
1-20 of 75 reviews