Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 161 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

161 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

161 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
128
4 stars
21
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 stars
4
1-20 of 160 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 160 total reviews
1-20 of 160 reviews
I'm glad I did it !!
2/3/2012

Customer review by Supracom

5.0 stars 2/3/2012 by Supracom
by Supracom

The 520-1070f has been a great addition to our home.. I love the large screen and the ability to adjust it for others to see. Wish it had a VGA port as I use multiple screens when I work.. This was all solved, however, with the addition of a $50 USB to VGA adapter. The 520-1070 took less than 15 minutes to set up and most of that time was due to my not having security codes at my fingertips. The product is fast and has been a pleasant experience so far... Can't run 'Magic Canvas' with a dual display but that's ok since I don't see any major value to it anyway other than the interesting displays it provides. After using Easy Transfer to move files, I've lost the 'HP Linkup' function.. Hope Hp can help me with this.. I don't use this computer for Gaming so I can't evaluate its performance from that perspective.. Highly recommend this computer... If I had it to do over again, I WOULD definitely pull the trigger.. Only change I might make would be to select the new 27" version, the OMNI QUAD Series... Good Computing !!!

Supracom
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Neat idea space saver
10/28/2012

Customer review by Cynbee58

4.0 stars 10/28/2012 by Cynbee58
by Cynbee58

I have only touched the surface of what this PC can do..I am looking forwards to getting into all the features it has..For now I like what I see. The speakers are the only thing I see that could be improved for me anyway. They don't seem to be as loud and full, perhaps due to the fact they are all in one line. I hooked up peripheral speakers, ahh they sound much better. The features are pretty neat, the touch screen is cool, needing to get used to the fact it can do that I always seem to reach for the mouse. I like the "wire free" unit. Only one wire for power..to me that is awesome. I have a hard time with a messy desk top so the photos and other things on the screen need to be organized. I will learn about that when I can ..I am usually on the regular type desk top. I think HP his on the right track with this idea, I am sure they are taking this idea to new levels...I like what I see so far. Have no complaints, like I mentioned haven't really dove into all the features yet... Thanks for the opportunity to voice my opinion.

Cynbee58
Bentonville AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Nice machine---BUT
3/12/2012

Customer review by ironbutt

4.0 stars 3/12/2012 by ironbutt
by ironbutt

I'd recommend this computer, if you don't want the brightness available in other Touchsmarts. I had two 20" 300-1223 Touchsmarts one of which failed and after two months and three trips to repair HP replaced with this much upgraded model. Upon set up I found the brightness much duller than the remaining 20" model. The brightness adjustment on the keyboard using Fn and F10 or F11 worked but the brightness control that is supposed to be in the control panel under Power Options just isn't there. Won't do the long story but waited two months for updates after talking to support--which was incorrect. Spend 10 or 12 hours recently working with support including installing a new operating system from discs they provided. Finally got a support tech who knew what was going on and this was verified by a Case Manager. They was a factory error and this feature was never put in . I'm told I can't get a different version of the operating system that can be loaded in the computer to fix the issue---and am not technical enough to know if this is true.

ironbutt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
To Touchsmart or Not
4/8/2012

Customer review by Jeanbird

5.0 stars 4/8/2012 by Jeanbird
by Jeanbird

Have you ever just couldn't make up your mind. That was my problem. I wanted the touchsmart, but was afraid because I have always had a tower. So do you stay with the tower and wires and space issue or just go touchsmart. It took me months then one day I just said I'm going to get it. I LOVE MY TOUCHSMART . I don't love it for the touchsmart, but I love it for everything else. Space is number one. I am now totally wireless is 2. The increase in speed because of technology. The monitor is as big as the flatscreen in my bedroom, and the touchsmart is just a really cool feature. Don't take as long as I did in making up your mind, just go ahead and do it. Will this product stand the test of time as my last 2 pc's? Time will tell, but it certainly was less expensive. I'm only sorry now that I waited so long. I will not tell you about my new GE Washer and Dryer because I have nothing good to say about that except - don't buy GE...

Jeanbird
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Top Notch All-In-One
8/31/2012

Customer review by RetiredPCGuy

5.0 stars 8/31/2012 by RetiredPCGuy
by RetiredPCGuy

The build quality of the HP TouchSmart 520-1070 is really good, and the perforrmance is top-notch. I delliberately ran a couple of very intensive tasks at the same time and found that this unit did not "skip a beat". The screen image quality is excellent. There is no way I could sit so close to a 23" screen and not experience eye strain otherwise. I like the way I can easily switch from a conventional Windows desktop to the touch screen mode and back. There are times I prefer to use the mouse and other times I like using the PC as a large tablet. It really gives you the best of both worlds. The Beats Audio sound is good, especially when hooked up to my subwoofer and satellite speakers. The only feature that has not worked as well for me, personally, is the HD TV antenna/ reception.. However, that is more likely due to where the unit is located in my house and not being south-facing. I write this review as a retired computer professional who is demanding of computer equipment. It has to work and perform well. I can definitely say this about this unit.

RetiredPCGuy
Yardley, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Really Nice!
6/11/2012

Customer review by Balby

4.0 stars 6/11/2012 by Balby
by Balby

1. So easy to setup, about 20 minutes and your done (mostly because I kept thinking that I had to be missing something...and re-looked everything over & over), otherwise maybe could be setup in 5 minutes. 2. Aesthetically pleasing to the eye. 3. Almost sound free, except when waking it up I can hear the DVD drive making a fan sound for about 2 seconds. 4. Great price point. 5. Touchscreen is not much of an advantage point yet, but impressive to friends or family when showing off the new system. 6. Biggest flaw so far: As mentioned in other reviews, no HDMI port. This poses a problem for me because my Directv box only has an HDMI port...which essentially means that I have no way to utilize the built-in HD tuner. It's possible that I'm not setting it up correctly, but I've looked everywhere for support on the HP website under the user manuals, with no success. Prior to purchasing the computer, an agent on the HP website through online Chat said that I would be able to use the HD tuner, but I'm pretty sure they gave me misinformation. In the end, a bummer but not a big deal because I planned on only occasionally using the computer for the TV signal.

Balby
Long Beach, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great computer
2/10/2012

Customer review by Bill10

5.0 stars 2/10/2012 by Bill10
by Bill10

My previous computer (HP Pavilion) was 7 years old running XP os and was in need of an upgrade. The HP 520-1070f touchsmart was more than I needed to do my home financial tracking, but I liked the all in one wireless feature. I have been thoroughly impressed with the machine from the first time I started it up. File transfer from my old machine to the new machine was simple. I enjoy the touch screen feature and use it more frequently than I thought I would. I got rid of the rat's nest of wires underneath my desk. The desk area is very clean now. The machine's performance is superb. The 23" screen has enough area to view multiple columns of data. I ordered the machine on Wednesday evening from work and it was delivered Friday morning. Overall, a great shopping experience.

Bill10
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great computer with a lots of features
2/15/2012

Customer review by Freddi61

5.0 stars 2/15/2012 by Freddi61
by Freddi61

The HP computer was my first computer purchase in 10 years. I wanted to get all the latest gadgets. The included utilities (drive partition, image download) with the computer were easy to use and effective. I upgraded to windows 7 professional, because I wished to run some of my old Window XP programs on the computer through virtual XP mode. A problem I had in the beginning was a name change for logging on. The information from Microsoft and the forums were confusing and very self-assuming. I finally had to start from scratch. The internal HP-windows restart program worked great. I originally wanted an HP 520-1050, Based on a faster processor, bigger hard drive, and better graphics, I switched to HP 520-1070. I am pleased with my purchase and I would recommend it.

Freddi61
Queens, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Best computer I have onwed
1/29/2012

Customer review by Dynamo

5.0 stars 1/29/2012 by Dynamo
by Dynamo

From the box, fully operational and registered in about 1 hour. I purchased this computer and couple it with a doc-sis 3.0 modem and a N900 router for better WIFI. From a distance of about 25 Ft I am getting speeds of over 34MBPS wireless ( my service provider claims I am only getting 20 MBPS ? ). I am simply amazed as to how fast this system is. Set up is a breeze probably the easiest system I ever worked with ...... I am new to windows 7 and also touch smart screens although, I must say that the software is so intuitive I hardly have to consult the help manual to get proficiency. The screen resolution is phenomenal with an abundance of colors, good match with the radeom video card. This has got to be one of the best computers I have ever owned.

Dynamo
colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great TV replacement
3/18/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 3/18/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

We don't have cable.This unit has replaced our laptop/HDMI cable/TV setup for watching Hulu and Netflix via the web and playing DVDs. Its stable base means no concerns about pets or kids knocking it off its low stand. The screen is large enough for comfortable across the room viewing. The touch interface, coupled with shortcuts to streaming radio and various video services, makes it easy to start watching a program without locating the mouse or keyboard. Somtimes it's a little wonky and double-clicks are hard to time correctly, but for the most part still easier than using the mouse. Another plus is the wide volume range ... you can play music pretty loud without distortion using the built-in speakers ... something our laptops all fail to do. My main complaint is with volume leveling. The volume varies widely from Hulu to Netflix to PBS video to Pandora to streaming radio to DVD. Ads on some services are especially loud. This PC does not "level volume" as effectively as our Acer or Dell laptop. Also, for some reason the volume buttons on the unit's side do not work in PC mode. Since the unit lacks a remote volume control, it is necessary to located the mouse, minimize the window, adjust the volume etc. or use the touchscreen.

An anonymous customer
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Above and beyond
2/28/2012

Customer review by jayforshee34

5.0 stars 2/28/2012 by jayforshee34
by jayforshee34

The 520t touchsmart desktop that I ordered from HP was by far the best computer I have owned. It exceeded my expectations in every concievable way. HP support also went above and beyond even the highest standards. The 520t production was finished about 24hrs past their estimated date (which was of no great concern to me) but HP support went the extra mile by emailing me a detailed explanation and giving me a %15 discount code on my next HP product purchase! I might add that I didn't even email them a complaint or anything prior to their email. Thats what I call dedicated support. I will be a HP customer for life and will spread the word! Thanks HP for an unbelievable desktop and world class customer support!!!

jayforshee34
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Lovin' it..
8/1/2012

Customer review by catelizb16

5.0 stars 8/1/2012 by catelizb16
by catelizb16

I was counting down the days until I received my new hp all in one. It replaced an old Dell laptop that was about to die any day. The screen is amazing, I can see even more pinterest posts than I could ever imagine at one time and it is fast. I love the minimalistic look it really makes my desk clutter free which is good for an OCD person like myself. I haven't really played with the touch screen, still seems odd to touch the screen and most times I am sitting at the desk using the keyboard and mouse and don't really need to use the touch feature. But it definitely adds a cool factor. New visitors seems to be jealous and I have been recommending it all my friends and family.

catelizb16
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Touchsmart 520z is Amazing
11/26/2011

Customer review by PerfectoOrange

5.0 stars 11/26/2011 by PerfectoOrange
by PerfectoOrange

I have been pleasantly surprised with my 23 inch touchsmart 520z, I was going to buy an imac but decided to try out the HP instead and I am very happy with my purchase. The quad core processor keeps things running smoothly even when I am running itunes skype, chrome and office. I plan to give it a run for its money with the Adobe creative suite and some web design. the USB 3.0 is super fast for uploading pictures and music from my back up drive. The beats audio is great and the 23inch screen is amazing. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a new computer. The best part is you get to save all of that space that the tower used to take up. Merry Christmas to me!

PerfectoOrange
Orange County, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Excellent products...
8/3/2012

Customer review by Vwake

5.0 stars 8/3/2012 by Vwake
by Vwake

I have been using the HP Touchsmart 520-1070 for one month. The placing of order and the shipping were excellent. The follow up calls from the HP customer reps were breeze. HP has come a long way from when I hate to talk to the customer representatives on phone for two to three hours. Out of the box, the touchsmart sprang to life with first few steps of installation. Touch screen is pretty responsive. I love the magic canvas. Except for the weird mild noise it makes at the starting, possibily the blu-ray loader is the one making that noise, it performs mellifluously. I highly recommend it to anyone who wants a system to perform all at home office functions.

Vwake
Del Rio, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Amazing computer
3/1/2012

Customer review by CrDave

5.0 stars 3/1/2012 by CrDave
by CrDave

This computer is very amazing, it is like a 23" Smart Phone. The HP Magic Canvas makes the Desktop like my Android phone, where you can scroll the desktop screen making it huge. You can toggle between the Magic Canvas and a regular Windows desktop but I prefer the Magic Canvas. The touch feature is great. Anything you can do with the mouse you can do with your finger. I tried it on several websites and the touch feature works great. This computer is also super fast. The screen resolution is very very good. The computer is very compact, so much so that I have it in my kitchen desk/nook. Very pleased. Wouldn't buy any other brand.

CrDave
LA, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Wonderful Computer
6/9/2012

Customer review by Wanda61

5.0 stars 6/9/2012 by Wanda61
by Wanda61

I had been watching the touchsmart computers for 6 months just waiting until I could figure out what one I wanted. I LOVE not having a tower. The speakers that are part of the computer work just fine for me. Now IF I listened to music from the computer, I might want to buy speakers. This was EXTREMELY easy to set up, I had no issues doing it at all. Set up & was ready to go in about 10 minutes. I'm still working my through programs understanding them (all that is new with windows 7)..........hopefully the learning curve isn't too too hard for me to learn! Love this computer & have had no issues with it at all. Quiet & beautiful.

Wanda61
Monte Vista, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great form factor and screen, but imperfections
12/21/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 12/21/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The computer itself is great. out of the box worked, relatively little bloatware (what was there was easily removed, other than Norton of course, which required a little extra cleaning) and performance has been very good. the 520 has not yet broken a sweat. questionable build quality of the actual back case. under fan load, there is a loud audible vibration coming from the plastic that only goes away by squeezing the top. looking for a solution, whether glue of some kind of wedge to get it quiet. It isnt enough to send it back, but slightly annoying. overall very positive. Great setup when paired with a digital tuner.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
All I can say is "WOW"
7/17/2012

Customer review by Oregonian1

5.0 stars 7/17/2012 by Oregonian1
by Oregonian1

Well, that's not all I can say. I agree with the other reviewers: this all-in-one is really, really nice. This is like going from driving a (70's era) Honda Civic to driving a Cadillac Fleetwood (ok, I'm dating myself but...) Excellent computer. Like other reviewers, I am SO glad I spent a little more & got this configuration than going with something less expensive. I shopped around and compared prices, features, etc. and ordering this from HP was something I did after tremendous research. I would much rather buy from the source! This was purchased for personal, home buisness, and college use. I haven't even begun to use all of the features but did quite a bit of exploring the first day I set it up. In regard to set up: What set up??? I have NEVER had anything so easy to get up-and-running in my life (and I've been around awhile - obviously from the 1970's automobile comment). I don't use the touchscreen much (yet) but am pleased it's there. The Beats Audio is incredible, the webcam is great. My 19 year old, when I give him permission to use it, thinks it's awesome. Delivery was on time & everything was packaged very well. Okay, you get my point. This might not be the most-techie-type review but if you're on the fence, jump off it and just buy this! I took the other reviewers' advice & I am very happy to add mine to the list of happy, happy customers.

Oregonian1
Portland-Metro Area, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Nice Machine - HP Support Very Helpful
8/19/2012

Customer review by SamG

5.0 stars 8/19/2012 by SamG
by SamG

I'm a long-time Dell User buying first HP machine. Very satisfied with tech support. All India so far but very knowledgeable about both HP hardware and software. No problem there. This Touchsmart system makes a great first impression. 23" screen is amazing. Machine is fast with I5 optional processor. No complaints. HP did an admirable job providing recovery capabilities. More than compensates for the bloatware they installed. It was very important to me to have at least 6 USB ports and to HP's discredit most of the reps I spoke with confirmed that it only came with two 3.0 ports on the left side. I wouldn't have bought it if that were true but I happened onto a schematic of the motherboard which clearly shows 4 2.0 USB ports on the rear. Their "specifications" as shown on the web site are incorrect for most Touchsmart models. The wireless keyboard/mouse combo does not have an obvious "receiver". Their setup instructions are non-existent but did have a picture indicating insertion of the receiver as a requirement. Turns out it was preinstalled by the factory in a hidden compartment on the back of the case. It uses a motherboard port so that you still have 6 USB ports available. I would recommend their Touchsmart series of machines to anyone but especially to a person using a computer for the first time. It's set up well and will assist their learning process.

SamG
Philadelphia PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Average for the Price
12/28/2011

Customer review by ragrad

3.0 stars 12/28/2011 by ragrad
by ragrad

I was very excited to get the touchsmart 520t and customized to my liking. However few features that I thought will work are giving me trouble. I use the webcam to talk to my family in India extensively, and to my horror found that Yahoo Messenger webcam does not work.. I have tried everything but the webcam is not recognized. Other than that the features and performance are OK. I bought a TV tuner along with the build, but, there is no antenna supplied. Documentation is also missing (everything on the PC). Would I buy a HP all in one again? Not likely, should have stuck to a tower desktop

ragrad
Plano, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
1-20 of 160 total reviews
1-20 of 160 reviews