Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 161 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

161 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

161 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
128
4 stars
21
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 stars
4
1-20 of 160 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 160 total reviews
1-20 of 160 reviews
HP Touchsmart 520
1/29/2012

Customer review by suemitch65

5.0 stars 1/29/2012 by suemitch65
by suemitch65

Purchased the Touchsmart for myself for christmas. I do a lot of computer graphics,blogging and designs and with the this computer I have no problems. Right out the box, its super easy to set up and get going. The processer is quick and the graphics are great. The touch system takes a bit of getting use to,but you get use to it very quick. It has lots of storage for images....and it has Beats By Dre speakers..they are awesome. I plug in my Wacom tablet and can see what I doing with such detail on the 23" screen. Its also great for me because I have arthritis and when I'm tired for using the keyboard I can switch to the on-screen keyboard in a snap. Overall it a great buy for the money. And since its an All-in-One I have plenty of space for everything I need to work with. So glad to get rid of the bulky CPU!. The cost is within range for this product. You definately get your monies worth.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
suemitch65
Lancaster,Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I'm glad I did it !!
2/3/2012

Customer review by Supracom

5.0 stars 2/3/2012 by Supracom
by Supracom

The 520-1070f has been a great addition to our home.. I love the large screen and the ability to adjust it for others to see. Wish it had a VGA port as I use multiple screens when I work.. This was all solved, however, with the addition of a $50 USB to VGA adapter. The 520-1070 took less than 15 minutes to set up and most of that time was due to my not having security codes at my fingertips. The product is fast and has been a pleasant experience so far... Can't run 'Magic Canvas' with a dual display but that's ok since I don't see any major value to it anyway other than the interesting displays it provides. After using Easy Transfer to move files, I've lost the 'HP Linkup' function.. Hope Hp can help me with this.. I don't use this computer for Gaming so I can't evaluate its performance from that perspective.. Highly recommend this computer... If I had it to do over again, I WOULD definitely pull the trigger.. Only change I might make would be to select the new 27" version, the OMNI QUAD Series... Good Computing !!!

Supracom
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Neat idea space saver
10/28/2012

Customer review by Cynbee58

4.0 stars 10/28/2012 by Cynbee58
by Cynbee58

I have only touched the surface of what this PC can do..I am looking forwards to getting into all the features it has..For now I like what I see. The speakers are the only thing I see that could be improved for me anyway. They don't seem to be as loud and full, perhaps due to the fact they are all in one line. I hooked up peripheral speakers, ahh they sound much better. The features are pretty neat, the touch screen is cool, needing to get used to the fact it can do that I always seem to reach for the mouse. I like the "wire free" unit. Only one wire for power..to me that is awesome. I have a hard time with a messy desk top so the photos and other things on the screen need to be organized. I will learn about that when I can ..I am usually on the regular type desk top. I think HP his on the right track with this idea, I am sure they are taking this idea to new levels...I like what I see so far. Have no complaints, like I mentioned haven't really dove into all the features yet... Thanks for the opportunity to voice my opinion.

Cynbee58
Bentonville AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Nice machine---BUT
3/12/2012

Customer review by ironbutt

4.0 stars 3/12/2012 by ironbutt
by ironbutt

I'd recommend this computer, if you don't want the brightness available in other Touchsmarts. I had two 20" 300-1223 Touchsmarts one of which failed and after two months and three trips to repair HP replaced with this much upgraded model. Upon set up I found the brightness much duller than the remaining 20" model. The brightness adjustment on the keyboard using Fn and F10 or F11 worked but the brightness control that is supposed to be in the control panel under Power Options just isn't there. Won't do the long story but waited two months for updates after talking to support--which was incorrect. Spend 10 or 12 hours recently working with support including installing a new operating system from discs they provided. Finally got a support tech who knew what was going on and this was verified by a Case Manager. They was a factory error and this feature was never put in . I'm told I can't get a different version of the operating system that can be loaded in the computer to fix the issue---and am not technical enough to know if this is true.

ironbutt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
3/13/2012

Customer review by Micheleandang

4.0 stars 3/13/2012 by Micheleandang
by Micheleandang

This computer is great with lots of good features. The Touchsmart screen is really nice. Our only problem came when trying to transfer some programs from our old computer. Our old computer had Microsoft Works and the new one doesn't. Our programs would not transfer. Before I realized what the problem was I called HP for advise. I got someone with an Indian accent that I could barely understand. I had to ask them to repeat and repeat what they said. After one hour they could not help me. They wanted to transfer me to someone in the Software Dept., but said it would cost me $54.00 to talk to them. I declined. I took the computer to a computer repair shop the next day and was told what the problem was. They installed Microsoft Works for me and I have not had any further problems.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Micheleandang
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
To Touchsmart or Not
4/8/2012

Customer review by Jeanbird

5.0 stars 4/8/2012 by Jeanbird
by Jeanbird

Have you ever just couldn't make up your mind. That was my problem. I wanted the touchsmart, but was afraid because I have always had a tower. So do you stay with the tower and wires and space issue or just go touchsmart. It took me months then one day I just said I'm going to get it. I LOVE MY TOUCHSMART . I don't love it for the touchsmart, but I love it for everything else. Space is number one. I am now totally wireless is 2. The increase in speed because of technology. The monitor is as big as the flatscreen in my bedroom, and the touchsmart is just a really cool feature. Don't take as long as I did in making up your mind, just go ahead and do it. Will this product stand the test of time as my last 2 pc's? Time will tell, but it certainly was less expensive. I'm only sorry now that I waited so long. I will not tell you about my new GE Washer and Dryer because I have nothing good to say about that except - don't buy GE...

Jeanbird
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Top Notch All-In-One
8/31/2012

Customer review by RetiredPCGuy

5.0 stars 8/31/2012 by RetiredPCGuy
by RetiredPCGuy

The build quality of the HP TouchSmart 520-1070 is really good, and the perforrmance is top-notch. I delliberately ran a couple of very intensive tasks at the same time and found that this unit did not "skip a beat". The screen image quality is excellent. There is no way I could sit so close to a 23" screen and not experience eye strain otherwise. I like the way I can easily switch from a conventional Windows desktop to the touch screen mode and back. There are times I prefer to use the mouse and other times I like using the PC as a large tablet. It really gives you the best of both worlds. The Beats Audio sound is good, especially when hooked up to my subwoofer and satellite speakers. The only feature that has not worked as well for me, personally, is the HD TV antenna/ reception.. However, that is more likely due to where the unit is located in my house and not being south-facing. I write this review as a retired computer professional who is demanding of computer equipment. It has to work and perform well. I can definitely say this about this unit.

RetiredPCGuy
Yardley, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
nothing else compares
2/13/2012

Customer review by gettyfalls

5.0 stars 2/13/2012 by gettyfalls
by gettyfalls

I bought this computer, trying to replace an older computer i had had for years. This computer blew me away as soon as i plugged it in! The processer is lightning fast, and the "back lit" HD screen is enourmous. the graphics are beyond what my poor little eyes can handle. and for being a very screen, it takes up NO room. everything is wireless also, which is a real space saver

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gettyfalls
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Really Nice!
6/11/2012

Customer review by Balby

4.0 stars 6/11/2012 by Balby
by Balby

1. So easy to setup, about 20 minutes and your done (mostly because I kept thinking that I had to be missing something...and re-looked everything over & over), otherwise maybe could be setup in 5 minutes. 2. Aesthetically pleasing to the eye. 3. Almost sound free, except when waking it up I can hear the DVD drive making a fan sound for about 2 seconds. 4. Great price point. 5. Touchscreen is not much of an advantage point yet, but impressive to friends or family when showing off the new system. 6. Biggest flaw so far: As mentioned in other reviews, no HDMI port. This poses a problem for me because my Directv box only has an HDMI port...which essentially means that I have no way to utilize the built-in HD tuner. It's possible that I'm not setting it up correctly, but I've looked everywhere for support on the HP website under the user manuals, with no success. Prior to purchasing the computer, an agent on the HP website through online Chat said that I would be able to use the HD tuner, but I'm pretty sure they gave me misinformation. In the end, a bummer but not a big deal because I planned on only occasionally using the computer for the TV signal.

Balby
Long Beach, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great computer
2/10/2012

Customer review by Bill10

5.0 stars 2/10/2012 by Bill10
by Bill10

My previous computer (HP Pavilion) was 7 years old running XP os and was in need of an upgrade. The HP 520-1070f touchsmart was more than I needed to do my home financial tracking, but I liked the all in one wireless feature. I have been thoroughly impressed with the machine from the first time I started it up. File transfer from my old machine to the new machine was simple. I enjoy the touch screen feature and use it more frequently than I thought I would. I got rid of the rat's nest of wires underneath my desk. The desk area is very clean now. The machine's performance is superb. The 23" screen has enough area to view multiple columns of data. I ordered the machine on Wednesday evening from work and it was delivered Friday morning. Overall, a great shopping experience.

Bill10
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great computer with a lots of features
2/15/2012

Customer review by Freddi61

5.0 stars 2/15/2012 by Freddi61
by Freddi61

The HP computer was my first computer purchase in 10 years. I wanted to get all the latest gadgets. The included utilities (drive partition, image download) with the computer were easy to use and effective. I upgraded to windows 7 professional, because I wished to run some of my old Window XP programs on the computer through virtual XP mode. A problem I had in the beginning was a name change for logging on. The information from Microsoft and the forums were confusing and very self-assuming. I finally had to start from scratch. The internal HP-windows restart program worked great. I originally wanted an HP 520-1050, Based on a faster processor, bigger hard drive, and better graphics, I switched to HP 520-1070. I am pleased with my purchase and I would recommend it.

Freddi61
Queens, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Best computer I have onwed
1/29/2012

Customer review by Dynamo

5.0 stars 1/29/2012 by Dynamo
by Dynamo

From the box, fully operational and registered in about 1 hour. I purchased this computer and couple it with a doc-sis 3.0 modem and a N900 router for better WIFI. From a distance of about 25 Ft I am getting speeds of over 34MBPS wireless ( my service provider claims I am only getting 20 MBPS ? ). I am simply amazed as to how fast this system is. Set up is a breeze probably the easiest system I ever worked with ...... I am new to windows 7 and also touch smart screens although, I must say that the software is so intuitive I hardly have to consult the help manual to get proficiency. The screen resolution is phenomenal with an abundance of colors, good match with the radeom video card. This has got to be one of the best computers I have ever owned.

Dynamo
colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great TV replacement
3/18/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 3/18/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

We don't have cable.This unit has replaced our laptop/HDMI cable/TV setup for watching Hulu and Netflix via the web and playing DVDs. Its stable base means no concerns about pets or kids knocking it off its low stand. The screen is large enough for comfortable across the room viewing. The touch interface, coupled with shortcuts to streaming radio and various video services, makes it easy to start watching a program without locating the mouse or keyboard. Somtimes it's a little wonky and double-clicks are hard to time correctly, but for the most part still easier than using the mouse. Another plus is the wide volume range ... you can play music pretty loud without distortion using the built-in speakers ... something our laptops all fail to do. My main complaint is with volume leveling. The volume varies widely from Hulu to Netflix to PBS video to Pandora to streaming radio to DVD. Ads on some services are especially loud. This PC does not "level volume" as effectively as our Acer or Dell laptop. Also, for some reason the volume buttons on the unit's side do not work in PC mode. Since the unit lacks a remote volume control, it is necessary to located the mouse, minimize the window, adjust the volume etc. or use the touchscreen.

An anonymous customer
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent, fast computer.
4/11/2012

Customer review by 2ndbaseman

5.0 stars 4/11/2012 by 2ndbaseman
by 2ndbaseman

Haven't used the touchscreen as much as I thought I would but I'm still getting used to it. Very fast and beautiful colors. Large screen monitor is great.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2ndbaseman
Palm Coast, Fl.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Above and beyond
2/28/2012

Customer review by jayforshee34

5.0 stars 2/28/2012 by jayforshee34
by jayforshee34

The 520t touchsmart desktop that I ordered from HP was by far the best computer I have owned. It exceeded my expectations in every concievable way. HP support also went above and beyond even the highest standards. The 520t production was finished about 24hrs past their estimated date (which was of no great concern to me) but HP support went the extra mile by emailing me a detailed explanation and giving me a %15 discount code on my next HP product purchase! I might add that I didn't even email them a complaint or anything prior to their email. Thats what I call dedicated support. I will be a HP customer for life and will spread the word! Thanks HP for an unbelievable desktop and world class customer support!!!

jayforshee34
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Lovin' it..
8/1/2012

Customer review by catelizb16

5.0 stars 8/1/2012 by catelizb16
by catelizb16

I was counting down the days until I received my new hp all in one. It replaced an old Dell laptop that was about to die any day. The screen is amazing, I can see even more pinterest posts than I could ever imagine at one time and it is fast. I love the minimalistic look it really makes my desk clutter free which is good for an OCD person like myself. I haven't really played with the touch screen, still seems odd to touch the screen and most times I am sitting at the desk using the keyboard and mouse and don't really need to use the touch feature. But it definitely adds a cool factor. New visitors seems to be jealous and I have been recommending it all my friends and family.

catelizb16
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Touchsmart 520z is Amazing
11/26/2011

Customer review by PerfectoOrange

5.0 stars 11/26/2011 by PerfectoOrange
by PerfectoOrange

I have been pleasantly surprised with my 23 inch touchsmart 520z, I was going to buy an imac but decided to try out the HP instead and I am very happy with my purchase. The quad core processor keeps things running smoothly even when I am running itunes skype, chrome and office. I plan to give it a run for its money with the Adobe creative suite and some web design. the USB 3.0 is super fast for uploading pictures and music from my back up drive. The beats audio is great and the 23inch screen is amazing. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a new computer. The best part is you get to save all of that space that the tower used to take up. Merry Christmas to me!

PerfectoOrange
Orange County, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Excellent products...
8/3/2012

Customer review by Vwake

5.0 stars 8/3/2012 by Vwake
by Vwake

I have been using the HP Touchsmart 520-1070 for one month. The placing of order and the shipping were excellent. The follow up calls from the HP customer reps were breeze. HP has come a long way from when I hate to talk to the customer representatives on phone for two to three hours. Out of the box, the touchsmart sprang to life with first few steps of installation. Touch screen is pretty responsive. I love the magic canvas. Except for the weird mild noise it makes at the starting, possibily the blu-ray loader is the one making that noise, it performs mellifluously. I highly recommend it to anyone who wants a system to perform all at home office functions.

Vwake
Del Rio, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Amazing computer
3/1/2012

Customer review by CrDave

5.0 stars 3/1/2012 by CrDave
by CrDave

This computer is very amazing, it is like a 23" Smart Phone. The HP Magic Canvas makes the Desktop like my Android phone, where you can scroll the desktop screen making it huge. You can toggle between the Magic Canvas and a regular Windows desktop but I prefer the Magic Canvas. The touch feature is great. Anything you can do with the mouse you can do with your finger. I tried it on several websites and the touch feature works great. This computer is also super fast. The screen resolution is very very good. The computer is very compact, so much so that I have it in my kitchen desk/nook. Very pleased. Wouldn't buy any other brand.

CrDave
LA, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Wonderful Computer
6/9/2012

Customer review by Wanda61

5.0 stars 6/9/2012 by Wanda61
by Wanda61

I had been watching the touchsmart computers for 6 months just waiting until I could figure out what one I wanted. I LOVE not having a tower. The speakers that are part of the computer work just fine for me. Now IF I listened to music from the computer, I might want to buy speakers. This was EXTREMELY easy to set up, I had no issues doing it at all. Set up & was ready to go in about 10 minutes. I'm still working my through programs understanding them (all that is new with windows 7)..........hopefully the learning curve isn't too too hard for me to learn! Love this computer & have had no issues with it at all. Quiet & beautiful.

Wanda61
Monte Vista, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
1-20 of 160 total reviews
1-20 of 160 reviews