Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 52 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

52 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

52 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
33
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-20 of 35 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews
Exceptional GPS exceeds all expectations!
12/29/2011

Customer review by PlanetWallyWorld

5.0 stars 12/29/2011 by PlanetWallyWorld
by PlanetWallyWorld

I first bought a "refurbished" Garmin Nuvi 3790LMT that all reviews (written when the unit was first introduced) indicated was the best available. Apparently, it was originally returned for corrupt software issues. These were never corrected before the unit was offered for resale. I recommend never buying refurbished goods. Further research revealed that this unit has a history of problems not mentioned in any of the reviews I read. Unable to correct these issues, Garmin has dropped that model from its 2012 line. My research indicates that the best 4.3 "road-ready" GPS is now Garmin's Nuvi 3490LMT, which I purchased new. I have no problem with the "higher" price, considering the amount of time, effort, research, software programming and satellite acquisition software required for it's manufacture and continuing performance. It performs as well as I expected it to. I am very satisfied with this unit.

Was this review helpful? (48) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PlanetWallyWorld
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Bit high priced but good
3/1/2012

Customer review by FGGS

5.0 stars 3/1/2012 by FGGS
by FGGS

Other than the price which I will say "is worth it", The time it takes to download this maps unlike Tom Tom, is way, way longer. The features like voice recognition with just a key word (no touching the screen) is awesome. If you have a smartphone, you will also get weather and other. Bottom line I'm very happy with my investment.

Was this review helpful? (26) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FGGS
Miami, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Works great ! Very Functional
12/27/2011

Customer review by GairBair

5.0 stars 12/27/2011 by GairBair
by GairBair

Compared to OEM 06 Lexus GPS this is much more user friendly and the voice commands are outstanding! My only other unit was a cheap Nuvi 200 and it was about the same as my car's. Traffic mode is spot on. The life time upgrades and free traffic are very nice features. Only negative i can comment on; is the very very long time to down load map up dates 4 hours !

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GairBair
Silicon Valley
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best GPS Device on the market
6/13/2013

Customer review by Pgh2Shopper

5.0 stars 6/13/2013 by Pgh2Shopper
by Pgh2Shopper

I bought this one to give to my sister after buying one for myself in Jan 13. Pros: Free, lifetime map updates. When you deviate from the route, rather than that annoying "recalculating", the voice just gives directions from the deviation. Announces turns in plenty of time to execute the turn without having to make a sudden drastic maneuver. Real time traffic updates are awesome (this is the only unit that doesn't include advertising). Recently a tunnel was closed in Pittsburgh just over the weekend, starting at 10pm on a Friday. I came through town at 10:50 pm, planning to just follow detour signs, but the Garmin told me there was a detour ahead and took me a different, much better way! Paired my blackberry with it via bluetooth and can now use my phone handsfree! When on a highway, shows a photo of the exit sign alongside the map view. Very helpful for ensuring that the exit is correct. Cons When entering an address, it predicts the town/state based on the street address, but for me it's often wrong. It's hard to get it to stop doing that. I'd rather just enter the whole address. (Need to read the manual to see if I can disable.) Takes a long time (several hours) to update maps.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pgh2Shopper
Monroeville, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Should work as good for $
12/16/2011

Customer review by lostontheroadwithoutgps

4.0 stars 12/16/2011 by lostontheroadwithoutgps
by lostontheroadwithoutgps

Unit works fine, connects fast, bright good screen, recalculates fast. After old Garmin this one shows too many numbers, old Garmin Nuvi 501 is more intuitive (user friendly). Voice feature is marginal, understands basic commands (like "go home") , but not spoken addresses. Overall, for $400 unit should work as it is. So I'm OK with it.

Was this review helpful? (11) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lostontheroadwithoutgps
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works well -When it works
1/4/2013

Customer review by MJHAZ

3.0 stars 1/4/2013 by MJHAZ
by MJHAZ

I have had this Garmin since Dec. 24, 2012. It is a great improvement in voice activated navigation - when it works. Issues so far ( freeze problems; directing me to take Off Ramp then go right back on ON Ramp; inoperative on/off function), required Garmin (I had to contact them already) to suggest a 'Master Reset' be done then a software update ( after 3 weeks?) So far it's too soon to say if the 'fix' has worked long term - 2 days - so far so good. This version has a lot of things to recommend it - if they can keep it working to specs. It's light, thin, great graphics, clear voice and easy voice recognition, very good traffic reports/ road closures, great customer service. This is my third Garmin. I upgrade for new technology. If the Master Reset woks long term I would rate this Garmin five star. Now how about a wireless model Garmin?

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MJHAZ
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Appears to be discontinued for 2013 do not wait
2/17/2013

Customer review by productuserwalmart

3.0 stars 2/17/2013 by productuserwalmart
by productuserwalmart

I am still learning how this unit works and how to use all of it's numerious features. Walmarts price is one of the lowest I could find for a new in the box unit and I have been pleased buying from them on line before. I could not find this unit listed in the 2013 line of Garmin models. This may be a close out price and was excellent compared to the original MSRP. A few local stores are selling it at a discount price of $349.00, $100 more than I payed. Several other local stores did carry it but are not getting new inventory for it. I upgraded from my older TOMTOM for the digital traffic. The digital HD signal is strong on the I-5 corridor as shown on the coverage map shown on the Garmin site and updates quickly as advertised by Garmin. I am disappointed that Garmin did not use a visual map of traffic similar to WSDOT. You have to be analytical with the information you hunt for on various traffic menu option ICONS. The voice recognition for the Bluetooth is lacking at best. I had to scramble quickly several times to stop it from dailing out to an incorrectly identified voice request. I feel this is a very good unit for the discounted price. I would not buy one for MSRP. If you want one with these features at this price you may need to buy it soon or end up paying for the much more expensive 5" models with the same features.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
productuserwalmart
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Does what it supposed to do
11/8/2013

Customer review by tech650

4.0 stars 11/8/2013 by tech650
by tech650

Does what it supposed to do, there is a learning curve. Software for updates is terrible, but there is more than one way to update.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tech650
08724
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
overall satisfied
2/18/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 2/18/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I purchased this GPS in support of a vacation trip to ireland based on recommendation from CR. There were a few glitches on the way to getting it to work correctly. First, the registration and set up of the unit failed the first couple of times I tried but I eventually got it to work. Second, I had one initial experience in Ireland during which the unit was unable to calculate a route correctly, but after a full power down reset it seemed to correct itself and performed flawlessly after that. The voice feature is nice and allows substantial hand free operations; for instance I was able to locate and drive to a filling station in Dublin using only voice commands. An absolute must to successfully navigate to car drop off in Dublin. Overall very happy.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Panhandle FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
4/20/2012

Customer review by Giggens

4.0 stars 4/20/2012 by Giggens
by Giggens

I've only had this item for about two months. It seems to be an excellent product so far. The only complaint I have is it should have came with a dash mount also for the price it cost. Thats the reason I only give it 4 stars.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Giggens
Canton, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
I like my Garmin!
11/12/2013

Customer review by Duty105

3.0 stars 11/12/2013 by Duty105
by Duty105

I've found that some of the maps are not accurate even after updates.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Duty105
Hendersonville, Tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product
4/6/2013

Customer review by herking

5.0 stars 4/6/2013 by herking
by herking

I love my new Garmin my girlfriend brought me. The slim, sleek design is stylish and convenient. The screen is a nice size to view while driving. The whole functionality of this device is just awesome.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
herking
Ft. Polk, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome GPS Unit
3/21/2013

Customer review by RockNRobSLC

5.0 stars 3/21/2013 by RockNRobSLC
by RockNRobSLC

Love the size, the lane assist, the portrait view for walking. It's awesome!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RockNRobSLC
Salt Lake City, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome GPS w/maps & traffic
1/21/2013

Customer review by Pgh1Shopper

5.0 stars 1/21/2013 by Pgh1Shopper
by Pgh1Shopper

Best of its class. This extremely thin GPS has everything I need. Lifetime maps free updates for me forever and traffic without commercials. It recently came down in price by nearly $100. Also has bluetooth to sync with phone for handsfree speaker phone operation and will read audio books which is awesome for long trips. Replaced a nuvi that was five years old with this model. I didn't have lifetime maps on the old nuvi, so there were times when I couldn't locate the address I needed due to the address being too new. Also annoying on the old nuvi was when stopping for gas en-route, the nuvi would constantly say "recalculating." This one doesn't do that.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pgh1Shopper
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Buying a second one for a gift!
3/20/2013

Customer review by Nashvilleman

5.0 stars 3/20/2013 by Nashvilleman
by Nashvilleman

I've had mine for over a year and I love it! Never had any problems. Don't use it everyday but when I do it's great! Just loaded the latest updates today. Very easy. Sometimes I have to repeat the address 3 times to get it right but that's not a problem for me, better than typing it in. Also, I love knowing what restaurants are coming up. Tomorrow I'll get my brother the same model for his birthday.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nashvilleman
Nashville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Garmin Nuvi 3490LMT.
1/17/2013

Customer review by Iam001

4.0 stars 1/17/2013 by Iam001
by Iam001

I have used Garmin product for many years so this was to replace my 265WT, which is very good but I gave it away to my niece. The 3490LMT is better, faster and better resolution with glass screen. Boot up and acquiring signal is fast, calculating route is fast and no more voice say calculating route, traffic works fine. I live in Southern California where traffic GPS is very helpful. I had no issues in registering, updating maps and all those sort of things, everything working good. The missing SW part in this model that No Screen Lock to secure your GPS as it used to be in prior models, which means anybody steal it and its their's. There is only one available voice for speaking street names, I tried download more but Garmin don't have good options for now. I would recommend it anyone looking for high end GPS, since Garmin web site showing newer models and they probably trying to clean out this model. Good Luck.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Iam001
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great deal vs buying from garmin directly
12/14/2012

Customer review by 1outboard

5.0 stars 12/14/2012 by 1outboard
by 1outboard

Saved over $100 purchasing this from walmart.com.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1outboard
richmond VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/24/2013

Customer review by AA007

1.0 stars 3/24/2013 by AA007
by AA007

When I try to enter my house on the GPS, it can't find my house. One time the exit to the highway was on the right, as was also clearly indicated on the the GPS screen. However, as I approached the exit (off-ramp), the voice kept telling me that the exit was on the left. And almost all the time say the wrong side to arrive on the right side - for destination on left side. Did you know Walmart.com return policy on GPS is only 15 days? DON'T BUY IT you are not going to like it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AA007
Champaign, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Works great.....
9/15/2013

Customer review by bigmac72956

5.0 stars 9/15/2013 by bigmac72956
by bigmac72956

I haven't used this very much but it seems to work great and gets me to where i need to go.....

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bigmac72956
Van Buren, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best Price on an Excellent GPS
12/27/2012

Customer review by MXBM

5.0 stars 12/27/2012 by MXBM
by MXBM

This GPS is highly rated by Consumer Reports. I thought it would be too expensive but I searched and found a great price at Walmart. I received it in 4 days. I had a little difficulty setting it up because all the text menus were in the Finnish language. The manual and online help were not very helpful. I called Garmin tech support and they helped me correct the problem in a few minutes. I highly recommend this GPS from Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MXBM
Toledo, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews