Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 466 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

466 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

466 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
298
4 stars
116
3 stars
15
2 stars
12
1 stars
25
1-20 of 351 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 351 total reviews
1-20 of 351 reviews
Outstanding Value
12/3/2011

Customer review by Rich002

5.0 stars 12/3/2011 by Rich002
by Rich002

I love this GPS. The 5" width makes it much easier to see. It almost instantly picks up all satellites when it is turned on. Routing is rapid. It also recalculates a new direction rapidly if you miss a turn. It is lightweight and worked great right out of the box. I updated the maps with no problems. Garmin has taken the guesswork out of doing it. ALso the Garmin 50LM is one of the latest models that Garmin has made. I almost forgot...the lane assist is REALLY great

Was this review helpful? (346) (47)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rich002
Winston Salem NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I Love it!!!
12/4/2011

Customer review by Zan29

5.0 stars 12/4/2011 by Zan29
by Zan29

This is my first GPS unit and soon as i got it home i plugged it in to charge on my computer, Very Easy to update the unit!!! Once I unplugged it i had no problem at all Putting in my home information and a destination. I'd try a tomtom in the past and i fought trying to figure out how to program the thing. Garmin it was very quick and painless to figrue it out. I would defiantly recommend it to friends specially fro the price!!!

Was this review helpful? (232) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Zan29
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
For the money this unit is excellent
2/12/2012

Customer review by IBMITTECH

5.0 stars 2/12/2012 by IBMITTECH
by IBMITTECH

Recently purchased the Nuvi 50LM from Walmart. Everything worked as expected. I did have a bit of a problem when I first connected the unit to my PC but a reboot fixed evrything. I read a lot of reviews and the 4... 1 star reviews for this item on the Walmart site have NO merit. I believe the users don't know how to down load the software. One person said the unit wouldn't turn on ... well, it does NOT come with the battery charged so you have to charge it before you can use it. Another said it locked up his computer .... did you try a reboot. Your computer most likely did not recognize the device the first time around. Sometimes that happens ... it was your computer not the Garmin. I could go on but let me summarize with this. The unit is great. The sound is good, the street names are pronounced funny at times but are understandable, the unit is dead on accurate, etc. Finally and most importantly it takes a long time to download the maps ... there is a lot of data and after they download, there is a long wait for the verify. Be patient, it is worth it .....

Was this review helpful? (130) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IBMITTECH
Greeneville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Piece of junk!
12/19/2011

Customer review by ChrisFromBoston

1.0 stars 12/19/2011 by ChrisFromBoston
by ChrisFromBoston

I bought the Garmin 50LM GPS on Black Friday 2011 to upgrade a 2+ year old Garmin that I was happy with but was just getting old and not worth paying for a map update. Plus I really wanted a 5" screen. Outwardly, the 50LM looks great. Unfortunately, it was laggy and kept switching itself to GPS Simulator mode and getting stuck there. It wouldn't let me disable simulator mode in the setup screen. Updating the software didn't help, nor did several calls to Garmin. They said it's a common problem and they had no solution other than a series of resets which only worked a couple of times. I can't imagine the frustration if I had bought this as a gift instead of for myself. Garmin makes great products, but this one was a huge disappointment. I ended up returning it and getting a 1450LMT for only $20 more. It's a far better GPS and the lifetime traffic was well worth the extra investment.

Was this review helpful? (217) (36)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChrisFromBoston
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
wonderful gps
8/18/2012

Customer review by stevenchadg

5.0 stars 8/18/2012 by stevenchadg
by stevenchadg

if u need a basic gps that has a huge screen then you have found it its got juction view which is wonderful becuse you can see the exit u need to get off on and it tells you what lane you need to be in. it speaks street names so u dont have to look at it to see what street you on my favorite feature and the reason why i bought it was city expoler it does cost extra to download the map you need i will explane if you dont know what this is lets say if u plan on going to new york city ok go to garmin find the city expoler maps section find new york download now you have a walking city guide to everything you wont or need it covers everything and tells the location and distance so if u need to get to anything in new york city find it on here what i love is if u need to find a place to eat u can located on this city expoler tap it you will bring up a triple aaa guide it will show reviews ,price,details of it if you like to travel and expoler new place then u have found the gps u need its woth the money

Was this review helpful? (87) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stevenchadg
boaz al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
5/12/2012

Customer review by Merbro

5.0 stars 5/12/2012 by Merbro
by Merbro

I had to replace the Garmin nuvi that was stolen out of my vehicle about six months ago. I absolutely loved the Garmin I had. I was so afraid I would never be able to find one that I would be that happy with. Boy, was I wrong. I took my time and researched all the different types of GPS systems available. When I read the rave reviews from people that had purchased the "Garmin nuvi 50LM 5" Portable GPS with Lifetime MAP UPDATES," I knew this was the right one for me. Boy, was I right! I love this one more than the one I had stolen. It is so easy to use! The big 5" screen makes a big difference. It is very fast to calculate a new route and I am so happy it doesn't say "recalculating" anymore like my other one. I love how the screen splits to show where to turn. It shows what the legal speed limit for the road your on and what speed you are traveling at. I would highly recommend this product to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (89) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Merbro
Englewood, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Huge screen, satellite response, lifetime maps
12/12/2011

Customer review by jimsrod

5.0 stars 12/12/2011 by jimsrod
by jimsrod

I've been using Garmin's for years now and this one is the best value so far. The screen is great compared to 3.5 inch models that I'm used to. It's almost like going HDTV compared to standard definition just because the overall screen size is so much larger. It quickly recalculates when a turn is missed...way faster than any other navi I've had. Easy to use interface...the Nuvi 50LM doesn't have tools I'm used to though: no calculator, currency converter, etc. But to be honest I really didn't use those much and would rather pay less to get a larger screen and lifetime maps. Plus some of the newer models like this one have a new feature that shows you exactly what lane to be in when on highways and such while navigating so there is much less chance to miss turns.

Was this review helpful? (44) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jimsrod
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not as Good as you would think
8/27/2012

Customer review by spectrex

2.0 stars 8/27/2012 by spectrex
by spectrex

Purchased this model and used it on a trip to Chicago. Map updates were more difficult than a TomTom. Requires creating an account to a web site, then it download three different software modules that download updates for the device. No CD is included, you have to have an internet connection. When going off route the device has planned for you, it will take about 10-15 miles before the device figures out that it needs to re-route you. This device is is very laggy. The lane assistance is a good feature though. I recommend finding a device with live traffic updates. This device did not know that Wacker Drive in Chicago was under construction and ran us into a construction zone that was a dead ended/closed. I had to return this and get a TomTom that has Live Traffic updates over an antenna and Lifetime Map updates. It re-routes instantly and will be able to get the construction areas and traffic information on the fly and it was $10 less, only missing feature is the Lane assistance.

Was this review helpful? (46) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
spectrex
Sterling, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Love it!
12/3/2011

Customer review by seneuk

5.0 stars 12/3/2011 by seneuk
by seneuk

My first GPS-so far-I love it! Easy to use and easy to get started and just plain old easy!

Was this review helpful? (66) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
seneuk
Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not what they use to be.
12/2/2011

Customer review by Ledguy

2.0 stars 12/2/2011 by Ledguy
by Ledguy

I have praised garmin for years, now it looks like they are going down hill. My older units had removable batteries, these new ones do not. Once in a blue moon, it would lock up, and removing the battery was the only way to really reset it. What do I do now? A lot of time, I just have the gps on just to see the surrounding streets, that way I learn the area. Now in these new units, it no longer shows the names of those streets, I called garmin, they said that was a update that customers wanted! Tell me, who would ask for a gps that does not show the names???? They could have put that as a option in the how much detail to show, but no, even in high detail, no names. It does not even show the name of the street you are on, but will show the name of a up coming street, which is very distracting as it keeps flashing the next street name. I'm sorry Garmin, I can't say tell people how good you are anymore. ps, at least the unit will get you to your location, unlike the tomtom.

Was this review helpful? (148) (59)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ledguy
Columbia SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I like it!!
12/19/2011

Customer review by Hiwayman

5.0 stars 12/19/2011 by Hiwayman
by Hiwayman

The 50 LM is the second garmin I have purchased. The first was a 350 five years ago. This one is so much better than the 350. I really like the instant on feature. There is no waiting for searching for a signal. I also like the 5" size. I purchased a new car and didn't order the built in GPS. I was able to velcro the unit perfectly above the radio and hide the cord down to the 12 v plug. It even announces red light camera's. I have made several trips with this unit and it is great. No problems yet. Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.

Was this review helpful? (28) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hiwayman
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
My new best friend
5/14/2014

Customer review by kfargo

5.0 stars 5/14/2014 by kfargo
by kfargo

LOVE this Garmin. It was on sale and highly rated so I ordered it. It came the day promised, right to my house. It was easy to install, charge, register, use. I went on my first short trip today to Gainesville. My Garmin got me there in time. Very easy to follow the directions. And it got me out of town and back home in record time. Yeah! No more wasted time and gas doubling back, making wrong turns, taking wrong lanes. I love that it tells you what lane to be in for your upcoming turn. And how far the next turn is and which direction. I did not use the speaking option. Just referred to the screen and it's perfect. My only problem was in ordering. This Wal-Mart page did not indicate that the mounting device and car charger is included in the price. So I ordered them. And then returned them to my local Wal-Mart since they were included in the Garmin box. I highly recommend this little gadget!

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kfargo
St. Augustine, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good GPS
10/24/2013

Customer review by Bonymaroni

4.0 stars 10/24/2013 by Bonymaroni
by Bonymaroni

It was found that a lot of time was spent updating the maps after purchase. Whoever buys one of these needs to be aware that a major map update will need to be done.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bonymaroni
Richmond, Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GREAT PRODUCT
12/7/2011

Customer review by RA22

5.0 stars 12/7/2011 by RA22
by RA22

Bought the gps on sale love the product clear voice on the turn by turn direction I like the 5 in screen.This is my secound Garmin product they keep getting better

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RA22
bURLINGTON N C
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome GPS for any traveler!!
1/23/2012

Customer review by Subhayes

5.0 stars 1/23/2012 by Subhayes
by Subhayes

Landed in TX and my older Nuvi I paid $350 for 4 years ago in Maine died....I am from KY, so Dallas ain't really like these parts. Well went into the local Walmart and bam there she was for $99.99 Not sure why the such a markup on-line but still just $99.99 at my Walmart as of 1/23/12. Anyway, right out the box she started to save my life. My house is less than 5 year neighborhood and this GPS can find it....Awesome for $99.99 and Lifetime Maps you just cant pass that up!!!

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Subhayes
KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Fell short of expectations
12/31/2011

Customer review by R67VET

3.0 stars 12/31/2011 by R67VET
by R67VET

Replaced an earlier model Garmin that gave good service for several years, but lacked turn-by-turn spoken street names and a map upgrade was $89. Purchased a 50LM and updated the maps as advised when I started the unit, and was required to register it as well. That process was not smooth. The 50LM was advertized to provide turn-by-turn street names and it did not after testing it for a couple of days in several locations. Also discovered you need to spend $89 to get Canadian maps, when the 50LM was purchased for $99. A differet version is available elsewhere for $10 more, but not Wal-mart, that comes with Cdn maps. Decided to return the 50LM and ordered a 1350LMT, after seeing a friend's 1350LMT, which I know provides the spoken street names properly, includes Canadian maps, traffic updates, pedestrian mode, picture viewer and several other great features. The 50LM is a nice GPS, but limited functions compared to Magellan or Tom Tom for about the same price or a little less. Trusted Garmin would do what I expected, think the 1350LMT will meet expectations!

Was this review helpful? (22) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
R67VET
Phoenix Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great product
5/30/2012

Customer review by tvwatcheralso

5.0 stars 5/30/2012 by tvwatcheralso
by tvwatcheralso

I used this on a trip from N. Ohio to Memphis Tn. and it did not miss a beat. Not only advised of lane to be in and turns to make but shows lanes coming up and highlights the proper lane to move into about a mile before you need to make the turn. I was amazed that estimated time of arrival at destination was accurate within about 2 min. I would not hesitate to purchase again.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tvwatcheralso
Copley, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Walmart associate
waste of time
12/10/2011

Customer review by Fixitomorrow

1.0 stars 12/10/2011 by Fixitomorrow
by Fixitomorrow

This could be an excellent product except for the poor quality control on the part of the manufacturer (no fault of Walmart). The unit performed well right out of the box, but failed after just a few minutes of operation. The unit stopped acquiring satelite signals. After spending half a day updating the software, maps and performing a master reset, all at the direction of the Garmin website, the unit remained in failure. Back to Walmart for a refund. This was my first and probably my last Garmin product. Would have been a great deal at $99.99 with the free shipping, if it actually worked.

Was this review helpful? (30) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fixitomorrow
Roanoke, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Decent GPS for the Price
8/16/2012

Customer review by kanaugle

4.0 stars 8/16/2012 by kanaugle
by kanaugle

My older model is a 1300LM. This model has about the same interface. Things I like about are 1. the ease of setting waypoints. It may be the same with the older model, but I never figured it out with that one. 2. shows picture graphic of complicated intersections, and which lane you should be in. 3. lifetime map downloads. Garmin program allows you to register multiple gps's so I don't have to download separate software for each device I own. 4. the microSD slot allows for a memory slot to save routes, custom voices, and so forth. I don't use this, but it is nice to have the option. As with all GPSs I own, this one sometimes suggests out of the way routes to get somewhere. Once you know the terrain, the ability to override the route with your own waypoints is essential. This one has it, so I like it.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kanaugle
Lynchburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
A Bit Of A Disappointment
11/14/2012

Customer review by JAG74

3.0 stars 11/14/2012 by JAG74
by JAG74

I have owned many portable GPS Units including Magellan and Garmin. My last Garmin was over 4 years old and I figured with the new screen sizes available I would give this a shot. I purchased it last year during Black Friday (2011) for $99.00. A decent price with free lifetime updates how could that be bad. I use the unit a lot so here is my good and bad... Good Nice Size Screen Speaker Is Loud Enough To Hear Turn By Turn Instructions Very Bright Display at Night (at 100%) Signal Reception is Very Good Bad Takes To Long Boot (Start up) And Acquire GPS Satellites When You First Boot Up Recalculation Takes To Long Compared To My Older Garmin/Magellan Battery Life Is Terrible. It States Two Hour Battery Time. I Have Not Been Able To Get 30 Minutes On The Battery with The Display at 50% and Map with as Minimum Detail. I don't know what happened when Garmin made this unit. Maybe it's a software issue as far as how the unit operates. My older units worked better than this. Maybe I received a bum unit? I cannot tell but I would look into other units before purchasing this one. Read and do some research. I hope this review will help...

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JAG74
MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 351 total reviews
1-20 of 351 reviews