Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 317 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

317 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

317 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
202
4 stars
80
3 stars
13
2 stars
8
1 stars
14
1-20 of 218 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 218 total reviews
1-20 of 218 reviews
5"Screen Major +++
12/14/2011

Customer review by CaptKallisto75

5.0 stars 12/14/2011 by CaptKallisto75
by CaptKallisto75

The Nuvii 50 was an upgrade for my older and still functioning Nuvii 360. It was time to upgrade the maps on the older unit and the cost of a new Nuvii on sale out weighted purchasing a map upgrade or spending a few more bucks to get a new unit on sale @ Wally World. The bigger screen is a major plus and it seems to respond much faster than the older unit. The only downside that I really had was loading the lifetime maps the first time..this takes almost 3-4 hours depending on the connection you have. My connection was via a wireless hotspot so it took a good 3 hours. So be forewarned when you go to load your maps the first time..do it when you have some free time. After that you are done and its works amazingly fast and perfect. There are a few changes from the older Nuvii's that you have to get used too but the newer changes make it much simpler to operate. Overall I am overjoyed with my purchase and was extremely glad that Walmart carried this model since it did save me a few bucks in the long run.

Was this review helpful? (181) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CaptKallisto75
South Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
No Lifetime Maps
11/26/2012

Customer review by 5sigma

3.0 stars 11/26/2012 by 5sigma
by 5sigma

According to the Garmin website, there are no lifetime map updates for the Garmen nuvi 50 5". This may make a difference for this otherwise nice GPS.

Was this review helpful? (139) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
5sigma
Vermont
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Best GPS out there.
6/3/2012

Customer review by enialb

5.0 stars 6/3/2012 by enialb
by enialb

I had another brand previous to the Garmin. Truckers recommended it. If there were 2 streets close together you could take the wrong street. The Garmin in better because it verbally tells you the name of the street you should turn on. (Less chance of accidents)

Was this review helpful? (100) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
enialb
Dallas, Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Simple to use, accurate most of the time
11/30/2013

Customer review by starshine1951

5.0 stars 11/30/2013 by starshine1951
by starshine1951

I bought another model, the 40LM, but I had to write a review here after reading the complaints about the lack of Lifetime Maps. Duh? If the model number has LM after it, it comes with lifetime maps and a USB cable for updating. If it has a "t" in the model number, then it also comes with free traffic reports. Anyone who buys a product has the responsibility to do some basic research or shouldn't have a driver's license in the first place. Complaining that a GPS does not come with free lifetime map updates when it isn't advertised that way is like complaining that a 1 bedroom apartment doesn't have 2 bedrooms. Read the description!! Where does it say "comes with lifetime maps?" Anyway, for $69 this is a steal. I just got the 40LM and am thinking of exchanging it for this budget model. Maps don't change that much, although often points of interest do because businesses close or change location. Heck, I'm still using my 3.5" Nuvi 260 that I bought over 6 years ago and that cost me about $300 and it did not come with free map updates. In any case, no GPS is perfect, but a Garmin GPS is easy to use, speaks the street names, and usually lasts for years.

Was this review helpful? (58) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
starshine1951
Englewood, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Nice big screen, easy to see, easy to use format
12/26/2011

Customer review by Twentynineplus

5.0 stars 12/26/2011 by Twentynineplus
by Twentynineplus

Very user-friendly device. Easy to get started, easy-to-see screen, works well.

Was this review helpful? (46) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Twentynineplus
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Beware of false Walmart advertising
6/25/2013

Customer review by gobold

3.0 stars 6/25/2013 by gobold
by gobold

The local add said "includes lifetime maps". This model did not include lifetime maps, so I returned it on the same day I picked it up. I never used it, and can't really rate the product itself. Map updates cost almost as much as buying a new unit. I would never buy one without lifetime map updates again, so I wouldn't recommend this product to a friend.

Was this review helpful? (33) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gobold
florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Garmin Nuvi 50 5" Portable GPS
12/21/2012

Customer review by GWheez

5.0 stars 12/21/2012 by GWheez
by GWheez

Purchased this GPS during Cyber Week and I have not regretted it since. I didn't need an instruction manual to get me using this GPS. It came partially charged, I just clicked on the start button and everything was just as simple as touching the screen and typing in information. I love the 5" screen! It came with an attachable mount which works perfect and I can position it just near my rear view mirror and take it off when I'm done. I appreciate all the information it gives me such as the speed limit, the amount of time it will take to get to my destination and the length in miles/feet til I'm there. Yes, I recommend it!

Was this review helpful? (30) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GWheez
Shreveport, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Missing one key component
6/24/2013

Customer review by PeterRay

2.0 stars 6/24/2013 by PeterRay
by PeterRay

Unit comes with free lifetime map updates...but the box didn't include the cable one needs to connect the unit to your pc/laptop so you can get the map updates, and/or the "Dashboard", and/or the other features that are only available by connecting the unit to your pc and going online to Gamin. Was not informed/did not know that this key component was not included with the unit, and this cable is quite expensive. Unit works fine, but was quite frustrated to discover I'd have to make an additional cable purchase in order to get the "free" map updates - Garmin and WalMart, how is something "FREE" if I have to buy something to get it?????

Was this review helpful? (25) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PeterRay
Milton, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Does not state RECALCULATING.
12/9/2012

Customer review by songkrai

1.0 stars 12/9/2012 by songkrai
by songkrai

This is a good unit and works perfectly right out of the box. Large screen. Easy menu. A good value for a US streets GPS. No lifetime map updates. Apparently no current/newer Garmins state the word RECALCULATING. Some/many must have complained to Garmin as this long time Garmin feature has been eliminated from all newer Garmins. Unit does recalculate route but does so silently. My extensive driving does require the spoken word RECALCULATNG if I do get off route. This is a feature that I require for my driving needs. Some do not care for this feature so this Garmin model would be fine. The potential problem of not verbally stating the word RECALCULATING is that you could be off route for many streets making all sorts of turns and not even know you are off route unless you physically look at unit while driving. And even then you may not know why you are making all of these turns. I returned this Garmin model 50 and purchased a Garmin Model 1490LMT that does state the word RECALCULATING. If verbal recalculating is not a concern of yours this will make a fine GPS purchase. Garmin 50 worked perfectly right out of the box.

Was this review helpful? (26) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
songkrai
New England
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Need a 12 voltage receptacle
11/28/2012

Customer review by Name54

3.0 stars 11/28/2012 by Name54
by Name54

I recieved this product through the mail because I odered online. For about $74.00 with tax included. When I recieved it I had no idea I needed a 12 voltage receptor which my car dosn't have and it didn't include other chargers with the package. Other then that the product was fine.

Was this review helpful? (19) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Name54
Worthington, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Fine product, great price.
1/10/2012

Customer review by rjm959

5.0 stars 1/10/2012 by rjm959
by rjm959

Love the huge 5 inch screen.

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rjm959
Syracuse, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
The Garmin nuvi 50 GPS
11/12/2013

Customer review by bluestate1

5.0 stars 11/12/2013 by bluestate1
by bluestate1

This GPS has been a true life saver for me and the online service via WaMar t was superb

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bluestate1
Sequim, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good GPS for the money
6/20/2014

Customer review by ThoughtfulShopper3

4.0 stars 6/20/2014 by ThoughtfulShopper3
by ThoughtfulShopper3

We bought this to replace a prior 3-year old Garmin, that started having trouble acquiring satellites. This one gets satellites fast. We like the split display when we are approaching a major highway exit, and it even shows what the exit sign looks like. On the negative side: the instruction booklet is small and has no words-- it's all pictures, and was not at all clear. At a minimum, a "getting started" in English would have been useful. We had to log onto the website from our computer to get info about the device. Someone in a review said the product did not come with a dashboard mount, so I ordered one when I ordered the device. But this was NOT true-- the device did come with a dashboard mount, so now I have to return it. What one might want to order to go with it is: a USB cable and carrying case.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ThoughtfulShopper3
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Could not be happier with this product!
12/20/2012

Customer review by ellimac29

5.0 stars 12/20/2012 by ellimac29
by ellimac29

This review is for the Garmin Nuvi 50 which I purchased online on Cyber Monday from Walmart for $69.00. My wife and I could not be happier with this product. For us it is an updated 5 inch screen. At certain highway exits it turns into a split screen (right side showing a picture of the exit, signs and all). At certain intersections it even warns of traffic light cameras with a chime and small warning window. At most locations it shows you the current speed limit, the speed at which you are traveling at any given time, and shows your speed in RED if you are over the limit. A complete lengthy owners manual can be downloaded from Garmin online from their web site which I did. Since its' purchase I've ordered the friction (bean bag) dashboard mount and the leather side entry case specifically designed for the Garmin Nuvi 50 (also fits the Garmin Nuvi 50 LM with lifetime maps) from Amazon and couldn't be happier with those purchases also. My old Garmin Nuvi 200 still works flawlessly after four years which is why I stuck with a new Garmin GPS unit. By the way my wife wants to use it most of the time. Hope this helps if you're undecided. Gary

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ellimac29
Smyrna, Delaware
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I love the Garmin and was able to figure it out.
12/15/2012

Customer review by YiayiaNH

5.0 stars 12/15/2012 by YiayiaNH
by YiayiaNH

Walmart did NOT have enough information with the product. I returned 3 items. The dash holder because Garmin came with a window bracket. I returned the auto charger because that also comes with the Garmin. I also had to return the carry pouch because they sent the wrong size.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
YiayiaNH
03079
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not good if you travel to many destinations a day.
12/9/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 12/9/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

First off this was on sale and advertised as a $130(regular price) Garmin. I thought I was getting a high quality Garmin for a good price. It really is just like the cheap version. It is such a pain, because if you barely touch the screen it re-routes you to where ever you touched and does not even let you know that you route has been changed. I had On-star for the last 3 years at $299 a year, and it looks like I will go back to that. I am a hospice nurse and have to travel all over a large territory and visit patient's in their homes, so I have to have a dependable GPS. This thing has caused me a headache and loss of time with my patient's.

Was this review helpful? (11) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Alameda, ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Buy
10/31/2013

Customer review by Amaker

5.0 stars 10/31/2013 by Amaker
by Amaker

My GPS is my second bible dont go anywhere without it

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Amaker
Connecticut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice unit for the price
12/4/2013

Customer review by NIGHTHAWK8

5.0 stars 12/4/2013 by NIGHTHAWK8
by NIGHTHAWK8

I bought this unit online on Thanksgiving for $69 to replace my Tom Tom. My old unit has more options in the settings but this does come with lifetime maps in the lower 49 states only. You can purchase additional maps from other countries. The software to download from their website to update your unit is easy to use but make sure the usb cable is used for data transfer and not just charging. This has a nice large display and is simple to use. If you're looking for all the bells and whistles, this is not the unit. This is just a basic gps that will get the job done. By the way, this doesn't have an instruction booklet or a usb cable but when you download the software, there will be a booklet on your computer.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NIGHTHAWK8
Lancaster, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
good product
4/23/2013

Customer review by nobles

5.0 stars 4/23/2013 by nobles
by nobles

I traveled to another State and my other GPS was not working properly but I evenually fixed the problem. But I bought another GPS which was this one and I really liked the new features. The screen would spit to direct you where to turn on the highway. Also, it would indicate where a security camera was located. Very nice.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nobles
woodward, Ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Gets You Where You Want to Go
12/29/2012

Customer review by Dree24

4.0 stars 12/29/2012 by Dree24
by Dree24

This is a nice unit. No Protective screen so you have to purchase one... I bought for my husband and he likes the different views on the GPS. It's loud enough and allows you to see your speed. It was more accurate than the unit I have. This one gets me directly home vs the other one we have gets us close. Worth the money for 5' screen too

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dree24
Scottsdale, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 218 total reviews
1-20 of 218 reviews