Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 65 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

65 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

5 stars
37
4 stars
17
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 stars
7
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 54 total reviews
1/2/2013

Customer review by KikisPet

5.0 stars by KikisPet

While I have been a passenger for some with GPS systems, i had never actually used one myself. It was a pleasant surprise to find one under the tree this past Christmas. I began "playing" with it immediately and was intrigued. I used it for trips of which i was very familiar. It actually used the best routes I already used and when I deviated, it simply gave me directions from there...no "recalculating." When I went shopping to use a gift card, the unit located the store and got me there. While I was having fun using it, I wasn't yet convinced of its real value until I used it in a section of LA in which I was always getting confused. There are many turns and subtle street changes of which LA is abundantly blessed#?#. As I entered the area I felt my usual anxiety, but it was all for naught. The Garmin Nuvi 40 guided me accurately - by voice. The VOCAL part was the key, because I was able to concentrate on the correct lane, just as it directed me. Needless to say, the entire drive was a pleasure. The accuracy and voice made the trip even more fun. Reccommend it? I will shout it out...YES!!!

Was this review helpful? (55) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
KikisPet
Hesperia, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Reliable GPS at a budget price.
3/28/2013

Customer review by Tunkhannock

5.0 stars by Tunkhannock

I have had GPS's for years and Garmin is by far the easiest and most reliable. It comes with many great features that make it easy to program in a location. My favorite feature, which I have not found in other brands, is just touching the car when at a spot I want to save. I can then save it into my favorites. This is helpful when living in a rural area that does not have an actual address. Finding the location the first time may be difficult, but once arrived, I can save the location and have it always. A new feature with this model is the double screen. At times a turn can be confusing, especially on large highways. This model continues to give the directions on the left screen, but the right screen differentiates exactly what lane to take. Finally, my favorite part of this inexpensive and reliable model is the lifetime updates. That alone used to cost what this model cost new at Walmart. I highly recommend this any Garmin GPS and this model for those want to get where they are going at a budget price. Yes, I would buy again!

Was this review helpful? (60) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Tunkhannock
Tunkhannock
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good for everyday driving
12/28/2011

Customer review by taxi1

4.0 stars by taxi1

im a cab driver , its a good gps but it doesnt signal when u have to make a turn. i had another gps that beeped when i approached my turns to let me know

Was this review helpful? (44) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
taxi1
ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Great no download to use
12/28/2012

Customer review by VacationDreamer79

5.0 stars by VacationDreamer79

My family and I were on a road trip to Florida in December and our old Garmin 255 stopped working in Minneapolis at about 3 a.m. We made it to Rochester , which was on the way, and stopped at the first Walmart we saw to get a new GPS. The Garmin 40 was the cheapest one they had at the time and we felt it would be ok because we were familiar with how they worked. This little thing made out trip to Disney World an easy drive. It has a split screen that showes you what lane to be in and does not say "Recalculating" when you miss a turn. (Very big deal when you are stressed in traffic.) It got us in and out of Atlanta and it's 7 lanes very easily with no misshapps. This os a great great investment for the casual vacationer but would get you to any destination great. All I with wish is that it came with unlimited maps.

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
VacationDreamer79
Bismarck, ND
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Exactly as I expected. It's a Garmin.
8/16/2012

Customer review by Elpupito

5.0 stars by Elpupito

In addition to the quality that Garmin products have, I must give a thumbs-up to Walmart. My Nuvi 40 GPS product arrived really fast! Since I needed the unit for a car trip and its start date was fast-approaching, I ordered the exact same unit from another seller. Walmart's shipment arrived days before the other one. In addition, Walmart's price was cheaper!!! From now on I will prefer Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (22) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Elpupito
Norman, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
5/21/2012

Customer review by Boogerwead

5.0 stars by Boogerwead

I now have two. Will buy one again when I need a third one. It is the simplest one Garmin makes and it does everything I need it to do. Walmart internet order store pickup had the best price anywhere and I find it very convenient to pick up at store.

Was this review helpful? (17) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Boogerwead
Kingsport, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Easy to use and follow directions.
4/27/2014

Customer review by BSHO

4.0 stars by BSHO

Had a more expensive GPS that was not easy to use. Two other family members have this same product. I would recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
BSHO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for the price
3/17/2014

Customer review by chlcashal

5.0 stars by chlcashal

Bought his for my husband who does a lot of traveling for his job, he loves the Garmin this is his third one and would highly recommend. He also has a Tom Tom which he doesn't like....so Garmin is the one..

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
chlcashal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product
4/7/2013

Customer review by Orapol

5.0 stars by Orapol

Upgraded from an old Garmin. The new features are awesome! Easy to use and so very helpful!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Orapol
Cleveland,
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not easy to use and hard to get updates correctly
12/28/2011

Customer review by pchoutx

1.0 stars by pchoutx

Open from the box turned it on and it does not recognize the city of Houston Texas as existing. Even with updates, still does not work. User interface is not user friendly really when connecting to your app on the pc. I prefer the Tom Tom XXL 550 over this unit any day!

Was this review helpful? (18) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
pchoutx
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
For the money you can't beat this product
4/18/2014

Customer review by Homer17402

5.0 stars by Homer17402

The only downside is it does not have lifetime maps. I had bought one a year earlier with lifetime maps. I wanted a second one because my son took the first one back to school. The split screen when you approach exits is really great. It will also alert you when you have traffic cameras around. Pretty unbelievable for seventy bucks.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Homer17402
York PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It is very helpful product
3/7/2014

Customer review by VChinni

4.0 stars by VChinni

It's very helpful product on this range and value. Liked it...USB charger is not available with the kit. If you are not looking for USB charger with the kit then you can go for it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
VChinni
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
2/19/2013

Customer review by ontrainingwheels

2.0 stars by ontrainingwheels

there is no manual with this item so it is hard to figure it out it could be me but mine was about a mile ahead of me while driving then when I did something wrong it couldnt help me find my way I had to stop and get directions for a very popular location

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ontrainingwheels
toledo ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So far so good
4/1/2014

Customer review by KShort

4.0 stars by KShort

So far I've only saved favorite addresses and played around with the features of locating places (I don't drive but purchased it for family who is coming in to town from other states). So far I'm enjoying this and it seems to be efficient.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
KShort
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Terribly inaccurate
1/3/2013

Customer review by 1nicole1

1.0 stars by 1nicole1

I purchased this GPS for a trip from Atlanta to Orlando. It gave us incredibly terribly directions on local roads (I used it locally for a few days prior to leaving town). It didn't show side streets and often wouldn't even show the road I was currently driving on. Once in Orlando (with bumper to bumper traffic), it gave us directions at an intersection to go straight for about 7 miles and take 3 rights to travel in a perfect loop when I could have just turned left at the intersection I began at!!! Thankfully, in looking at the GPS I was like, "ummm, why is this taking us in a big circle?" and I just made the left turn, saving me probably about an hour of sitting in my car. I am so glad I could return this piece of junk!!!! Go with a different brand or model. I've had good success with Magellan.

Was this review helpful? (6) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
1nicole1
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
3/23/2013

Customer review by kiwi53

1.0 stars by kiwi53

I BUY THIS TO GO FLORIDA ,NORMALLY IT TAKE 2 DAYS MAX,IT TAKE ME 3 DAYS WITH LONG DAYS DRIVING, I DO THIS EVERY 6 MONTH FOR MANY TIME,I WAS LOST ,HE ASK TO TURN LEFT WHEN THERE NO ROAD AT THE LEFT, HE DOES NOT KNOW ROAD NAME, IN PORT CHARLOTTE FL,I HAVE TO CALL TO FIND A BANK,BECAUSE WITH THE ADRESS HE CAN FIND IT, I RELOAD MAD FOR 2013 AND HE STILL CONFUSE, I MISS MY OLD GARMIN THAT WAS STOLEN IN MY CARE,OLD FEW YEARS.

Was this review helpful? (4) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
kiwi53
arcadia fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great quality and easy to use
3/11/2014

Customer review by TD71

5.0 stars by TD71

Great product with all the basic features. The only down fall for my use, is it does not tell you the street you r on.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TD71
Northern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great basic GPS
4/20/2014

Customer review by tarheel23

5.0 stars by tarheel23

An excellent GPS. Provides for quick and easy address entry, the map display is clear, the street designations and directions are accurate, and the audio commands are precise and timely in order to take the appropriate turns. Much better than using the printed directions from MapQuest or Google Maps and trying to read the directions while driving. I highly recommend this unit. The price is right and the size is just right for a portable unit. I ordered the Garmin nuvi 40 using the Internet purchase and had the item delivered for free to the Walmart store location. It was delivered two days prior to the expected delivery date. Overall an excellent experience.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
tarheel23
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/8/2013

Customer review by beck99

5.0 stars by beck99

Easy to use. Not a large screen, but not microscopic. It was a little smaller than I expected, but I didn't guesstimate well based off of the online description and I hadn't seen one this size in person before. Turns out that the size is fine. Plenty big enough for the driver to see, and combined with the voice, it's perfect. Came with the window suction mount and a power cord. All you need in one little box. Great value, and essential for folks who are directionally challenged like me!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
beck99
Asheville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great for people who get lost easily
1/7/2014

Customer review by distractions

4.0 stars by distractions

Having the GPS tell me when im in the right area, when to turn and how long the trip is going to take and how many miles and is nice when planning trips long and local.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
distractions
cherry valley, il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 54 total reviews