Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 236 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

236 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

236 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
155
4 stars
57
3 stars
8
2 stars
11
1 stars
5
1-20 of 194 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 194 total reviews
1-20 of 194 reviews
More features than expected
7/1/2012

Customer review by DFWTraveller

5.0 stars 7/1/2012 by DFWTraveller
by DFWTraveller

I read just enough about it to know I wanted this GPS but was pleasantly surprised to find more good features that I was expecting. The "red-light camera" warning is great. Now I only stop at red lights when there is a warning beep! No - just kidding! But it really is a neat feature. Great unit.

Was this review helpful? (95) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DFWTraveller
Dallas/Ft.Worth TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Garmin updated GPS
8/24/2012

Customer review by SammysStuff

5.0 stars 8/24/2012 by SammysStuff
by SammysStuff

Love my new Garmin GPS. More options than my last one (purchased two years ago). Easy to use, easy to read, more volume (and volume control). Love being told the final address as I am approaching my destination instead of having to look at the menu and find the actual house number. Great buy. Good value for the money. And, Garmin is the most user-friendly of all the GPS's. Thanks, Garmin.

Was this review helpful? (57) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SammysStuff
Kingsport, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Lifetime maps is the way to go! Great product.
8/5/2012

Customer review by cmstokes07

5.0 stars 8/5/2012 by cmstokes07
by cmstokes07

This product is wonderful for the money. Lifetime Map updates can be done 4 times a year and purchased individually they run $79.99 So if over the life of your Garmin, you update your map twice, you have paid for the device. It is fairly easy to use sometimes it can get a little confusing.

Was this review helpful? (49) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cmstokes07
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great GPS for the price!!
9/19/2012

Customer review by Zebragirl416

5.0 stars 9/19/2012 by Zebragirl416
by Zebragirl416

I love my new GPS! There are so many neat features on it!! And one of my favorite things is that it doesn't say "re-calculating" when you miss a turn. It just guides you to the next turn or exit. I wish I would have gotten this a long time ago!!

Was this review helpful? (45) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Zebragirl416
Central FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Worth the money
5/6/2013

Customer review by sarahebpm

4.0 stars 5/6/2013 by sarahebpm
by sarahebpm

This Garmin was an upgrade from our previous model that got stolen. I will say that I was unsure of features that would be with it reading the material send with it, but once tried it was surprisingly good. It was just like my old one and came with all the needed accessories. But the great part that drove me crazy with the old one is that it does NOT say recalculating for every wrong turn or if I pull into a gas station or restaurant. It just gives you the next direction to get to where you are going. It did confuse me a little 2ce, because streets were marked wrong on sign not GPS and it did tell me to turn on a street that was right in front of me. But I figured it out. The other bonus is that when you are exiting the highway it gives a more detailed view of the exit so you know exactly what side and what lane to get into. I think that this was a very good choice compared to other expensive ones and probably has the same features. Very simple to program as long as you have satellite connection (outside). Haven't used map updates yet but hopefully that works without any problems.

Was this review helpful? (31) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sarahebpm
Valdese, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product for the price
6/4/2014

Customer review by melroy

5.0 stars 6/4/2014 by melroy
by melroy

Was looking around for a new Garmin because of outdated maps on the one I have. The price of this Garmin was cheaper than updating the maps on my original and the new one has lifetime map updates. Seems to be much the same as the old one in ease of use. I think it will fit my needs perfectly.

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
melroy
Northern Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy setup and use
3/30/2014

Customer review by HangTough

4.0 stars 3/30/2014 by HangTough
by HangTough

Product performs as advertised. Simple setup, simple download of updated maps, simple entry of addresses or latitudes/longitude positions. Voice directions preclude having to take eyes from road. Mounting that comes with device works well on my vehicle. I did buy alternative mount that turned out to be unnecessary. Easy to remove from vehicle when not in use, easy to remount.

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HangTough
Tulsa, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value for money
11/19/2013

Customer review by TexasHillCountryTourist

5.0 stars 11/19/2013 by TexasHillCountryTourist
by TexasHillCountryTourist

We are in the USA on vacation and bought this to assist us in finding our way about, getting in the right lane etc. We have a Tom Tom back in the UK and we like that but this product had better reviews on various websites. We found our way around with no problems whatever (in previous years we have had plenty of missed turnings etc). We think this is great value for money. Maybe not so functional as other more expensive units but it did the job for us perfectly!

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TexasHillCountryTourist
Texas today!
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Garmin is the best!!!
8/22/2012

Customer review by chatman

5.0 stars 8/22/2012 by chatman
by chatman

My 3rd Garmin. Enough said.

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chatman
Fairview Hgts IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
An average GPS
2/25/2014

Customer review by Sean24

3.0 stars 2/25/2014 by Sean24
by Sean24

This is a pretty average GPS. Key features I like is it tells you which lanes to stay in on the freeway so you won't take the wrong exit or connector and the automatic reroute. What I don't like is that if you pull off road into plazas or a hospital and put in another destination it will say continue to a road but not tell you how to get to that road from the place you in. You will pretty much be guessing which way to go until you hit pavement and it reroute you if your wrong and that can get hectic with one ways and no left turns so you can do a lot of extra driving and extra rerouting. But in all it pretty accurate about getting you to your destination.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sean24
Marietta, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Price and quality are exceptional
9/28/2012

Customer review by theaccountant

5.0 stars 9/28/2012 by theaccountant
by theaccountant

Used the GPS unit for trip to Gatlinberg, TN and took the back roads instead of the inter state. The unit quickly recalculated a new route. After returning home, I completed the registration and was prompted to update the unit's maps.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
theaccountant
Richmond, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Easy to update
4/5/2014

Customer review by lndlks

5.0 stars 4/5/2014 by lndlks
by lndlks

I bought this to replace an older Nuvi GPS. It is user friendly, especially after previously using a Garmin product. I like having unlimited updates, and it's very easy to do.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lndlks
Glenville, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Second Garmin for me
5/23/2014

Customer review by Keewa

5.0 stars 5/23/2014 by Keewa
by Keewa

My 1st unit was the StreetPilot c330 purchased in 2006. It worked very well but is dying on me due to many falls and it is outdated. Here is what I love about this Garmin PRICE! I have researched this same unit from best buy to amazon the savings is $50 plus. Their prices range $129 - $169 depending on where you look, and some are for refurbished product. Walmart online price is $79.98 brand new. Second, lifetime map updates.. the cost of one upgrade equals a unit, so another economic savings, my old unit always had to re-calculate because I didn't upgrade the maps, which brings up my next like..you don't hear re-calculating when you miss or decide to go another route. I also love the fact that the speed indicator is there, I was surprised what a nice feature that would be, and it helps When you go over the posted limit, your speed turns red.. one review I read mentioned this unit has traffic as well, this unit does not. You can customize to a degree when you register your product online, another sweet thing is all you have to do is put in your email address and your Garmin is registered... I also like how once you enter your addresses, they get categorized for you. This unit offers a good amount for the money, you have to get to know it to appreciate the value. One con I have found already would be battery life...I charged it when I got it and the next day it seems to be just about out of juice. Overall the price and the ease of this Garmin nuvi makes me very happy with my choice

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Keewa
Glen Ellyn, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Great upgrade
8/5/2014

Customer review by rexstand

5.0 stars 8/5/2014 by rexstand
by rexstand

We bought this GPS to replace an old one we had for years. The Garmin nuvi 40LM is a great GPS. Not only do we have to never worry about paying for a map update, the nuvi 40LM is much faster than our old GPS. When changing routs it recalculates within seconds. The screen is clear and easy to see and the voice is easy to understand. I couldn't be happier.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rexstand
Douglasville, Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great GPS system. Would highly recommend to anyone
9/4/2012

Customer review by Nonameisgood

5.0 stars 9/4/2012 by Nonameisgood
by Nonameisgood

Very happy with the Garmin 40LM GPS. Operates just as described. Picture is excellent. Sound is easy to understand. Unit is easy to set up and no problem with computer downloads. Price extremely competitive. Delivery was ahead of schedule.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nonameisgood
Westborough, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great GPS navigator.
3/23/2013

Customer review by hopelesslylostbuthappy

5.0 stars 3/23/2013 by hopelesslylostbuthappy
by hopelesslylostbuthappy

What did we ever do before these tremendous gadgets were around? This Garmin 40LM has lifetime maps included which really makes sense for any purchaser - as it costs not much more than downloading lifetime maps into my old Garmin nuvi 255W. The maps in that old GPS were 3 years old and it really got difficult when trying to navigate streets that have moved or don't exist any more. As for finding "points of interest" - they come and they go, so having current maps is a must. This device is quite simple to use and very similar to my old unit. There are larger receivers available but the 4.3" screen is quite adequate for me and easily manageable. It is the same size as my old 255W, which suited my needs quite well. DO NOT PURCHASE ANY GPS WITHOUT LIFETIME MAPS!

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hopelesslylostbuthappy
Cincinnati
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Does what we need with clearity and precision
6/11/2014

Customer review by BratBaby

5.0 stars 6/11/2014 by BratBaby
by BratBaby

I had a very old Garmin. Updated and upgraded. Very happy with choice. Did find it cheaper, after I bought it on-line from Walmart. : (

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BratBaby
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Senior Review
9/29/2012

Customer review by vulnerable

4.0 stars 9/29/2012 by vulnerable
by vulnerable

My only issue was the holder that I could not get attached to dashboard of my car. Would not adhere. Purchased for specific occasion and (trip to Chicago) numerous stops. Was able to program out of the box for my immediate needs. Will have to look further to fully understand my options for routing in the future. Very Satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (12) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vulnerable
Pontiac,Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
10/26/2012

Customer review by patience522

5.0 stars 10/26/2012 by patience522
by patience522

We used the GPS on a recent trip and had a great experience. It's easy to use and it's accurate. So happy to have the Lifetime map updates as well. It was worth the extra twenty dollars.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
patience522
New Orleans, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great value
3/5/2014

Customer review by nnsns

5.0 stars 3/5/2014 by nnsns
by nnsns

The product is clean, new and worked well out of the box. It is exactly as described and a welcome gift to our family. We feel much more safe when traveling out of town.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nnsns
Ann Arbor MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 194 total reviews
1-20 of 194 reviews