Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 77 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

77 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

77 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

55%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
26
4 stars
13
3 stars
9
2 stars
7
1 stars
22
1-20 of 69 total reviews
55%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 69 total reviews
1-20 of 69 reviews
Network Connectivity Issues
10/23/2011

Customer review by infofino

1.0 stars 10/23/2011 by infofino
by infofino

Upon removing from packaging and first time setup, the unit found my SSID (router name) and just required the WEP key to connect to the wireless network. Upon completion of this, I was able to load Netflix and register the device. The system was then turned off, then back on minutes later. When the unit powered on, the device could no longer locate my router. After resetting the system, changing settings, using "Push Button", Auto (DHCP), and Manual attempts, still the device cannot locate my router. The manual (online only) states that network issues are cause by failures in your router/modem. Hard to say that when I have a desktop (wired), 2 laptops (wireless) and a Wii (wireless) that have no problem finding or connecting to the router. Customer support was fast, website stated they closed at 900pm EST, but was able to speak with someone at 904pm EST. Unfortunately, the representative was not knowledgeable about the system and "walked me through" a Auto setup per the manual, which still shows no router. Only suggestion was to unplug the device for 1 hour. Have not tried the BluRay/DVD portion of the device, so no comment of this as of yet. I am returning the device to the store, after waiting 50 minutes, the device did reset to "out of the box" status, found my router (wireless) and connected. Upon attempting to connect with Netflix, the system could not make a connection. The Wireless Setting Review states that it connected to my router, however it now has no signal, no channel, therefore no network.

Was this review helpful? (99) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
infofino
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
IT works with Netflix's
11/2/2011

Customer review by forneyshopper1

5.0 stars 11/2/2011 by forneyshopper1
by forneyshopper1

Other reviews were bad for this, but I'm impressed. Bought November 1st and I paid $68 at the store and I connected to WI-FI and netflix immediately. Very happy, highly recommended..

Was this review helpful? (43) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
forneyshopper1
Forney, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great buy for $68.00 and Netflix also works too.
10/31/2011

Customer review by Falloutguy09

5.0 stars 10/31/2011 by Falloutguy09
by Falloutguy09

10/30/11 -I don't understand the reviews people are putting on here this model does play netflix videos. I just bought one today and hooked it up, setup my wireless connection and logged into the netflix account. It will also play DVD+R's. My configuration is a HDMI going in to a 1080i 37 Sharp TV. I had to write this review because I think allot of people are buying the MBP5120 not the 5MBP5220 Magnavox. I know that Wal-mart had to do a price correction because the price was ringing up $98.00 instead of the advertised $68.00. Its a great buy for $68.00

Was this review helpful? (35) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Falloutguy09
Moriarty,NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Great & works as advertised
12/12/2011

Customer review by HunnyBunny55

5.0 stars 12/12/2011 by HunnyBunny55
by HunnyBunny55

I bought this over the weekend 12/10/2011 and it was a great deal for Blu-ray, WiFi built in and Netflicks, VUDU, and VUDU Apps. Store kept trying to ring it up for 79.00 but had a price drop tag of 68.00, so that's what I paid. I got it home. Hooked it up to my wireless network with no problems and did a speed test. It showed top speed and showed maximum resolution under VUDU (HDX - 1080p). Don't have a Netflicks account so can't comment on connection there. VUDU work wonderfully and Blu-ray-performance was excellent. I have no complaints and a steal for the price with those features (Blu-Ray, Built-in Wi-Fi, Netflicks, VUDU, Apps). I would recommend to others..No idea why so many bad reviews. Works great for me.

Was this review helpful? (29) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HunnyBunny55
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Why have WiFi if you have to wire it in?
1/22/2012

Customer review by RioLoco

1.0 stars 1/22/2012 by RioLoco
by RioLoco

I bought this player primarily for viewing movies on NetFlix. When I hooked it up and played a Blu Ray movie, the quality was beautiful. Then I connected to my wireless network and tried to watch a movie on NetFlix, it lost the connection about every 5 -7 minutes and had to be reloaded. It did reload from the same spot, but it took over two hours to watch a 90 minute movie. Very frustrating! I went online to the manual and discovered that the manufacturer recommends connecting to a wired LAN for streaming movies. What, then, is the point of having WiFi?? It doesn't have an internet browser, so all you can do on the network is view either NetFlix or Vudu, both of which require a wired connection. Very misleading - I'm returning it tomorrow.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RioLoco
Minot ND
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
12/17/2011

Customer review by dragonsflysober

5.0 stars 12/17/2011 by dragonsflysober
by dragonsflysober

I bought this for its price and features primarily. As soon as I got it out of the box, hooked it up, and went through the set up, it played beautifully. I also have it wified to my internet and am happily watching streaming movies from netflix. It is a abit limited, but for my needs it is abolutely what I wanted for my bedroom. It plays regular dvd's of which I have a ton. Easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dragonsflysober
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Blu-Ray Player - Trust This Magnavox
12/18/2011

Customer review by Teykly

5.0 stars 12/18/2011 by Teykly
by Teykly

Bought this about two months ago and it has been perfect from the moment I took it out of the box. I love the wi-fi connection. One less cable to worry about. So easy to set-up: Connect the HDMI to the TV, plug-in, put batteries in remote, auto-detected my home wi-fi, put in the password - done! Instantly surfing Vudu and Netflix, and they both work great. Signed into my Netflix account with no problem. Player works great with Blu-Ray and DVD. Awesome picture. Although this is a less expensive Magnavox brand, it is performing like a champ. My advice - don't be afraid of Magnavox. This device works!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Teykly
Santa Maria, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
GREAT FOR THE PRICE!!!
1/2/2012

Customer review by Donna313

4.0 stars 1/2/2012 by Donna313
by Donna313

I have purchased several Magnavox products from tv's, vcr's, dvd player's...etc. I have never had a problem out of any of them! I decided to turn to them for a blu-ray. I decided to purchase this blu-ray, mainly for the Netflix but the picture is amazing and for the price, I have no complaints. I guess magnavox has a life long customer with this quality!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Donna313
Cleveland, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not sure about this player
1/26/2012

Customer review by MsTam

3.0 stars 1/26/2012 by MsTam
by MsTam

I just got this player yesterday and have same problem as a few others I have to keep unplugging it to get my netflix back on keeps saying it cant connect when I'm wireless and my laptop and roku box downstairs all work fine. I'm going to box it up today and return and find something better. Too all those it works for your lucky lol I was not but i will say the set up was easy and disc play fine, but to keep unpluggin the unit is nuts.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MsTam
Harrisburg PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Help!
1/4/2012

Customer review by Bribber

2.0 stars 1/4/2012 by Bribber
by Bribber

Don't buy it for wireless Wifi! I bought 2, had them hooked up to Netflix for 2 days and then yesterday we woke up to "no signal can be found". I have tried EVERYTHING and cannot get them to see my router's signal again though my laptop sees it as does my daughter's iPod. I am not happy. We did not need new players. We wanted Netflix in our rooms. One of these was a gift for my daughter who wanted Netflix in her room for Christmas. I just spent another 2 hours working in this for nothing. I don't know how I will tell her I can't fix this. She is not going to accept that. Hundreds of dollars for these and new TVs for nothing! Thanks for the migraine Magnavox!

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bribber
Lockport, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good player, but weak wi-fi
1/3/2012

Customer review by Cdog12

4.0 stars 1/3/2012 by Cdog12
by Cdog12

I purchased this as an after Christmas present for my family. I was mostly intersted in Netflix and streaming videos. After many tries and purchasing additional routers to extend my signal I finally put the router in the same room with the unit and it works great. When you look at the available networks it will only pull up a couple of ones, then cannot connect if less than 4 bars. My laptop shows many more networks. So I think that the unit is not very strong as far as being able to pick up a wi-fi signal unless it is in the same room. We streamed a movie last night and it worked great. We lost cable due to high winds but then it picked up where it left off. So either put the router in the same room or wire directly and you'll be fine. Very good deal for the price.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cdog12
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Cheap
4/2/2012

Customer review by mb123456789

1.0 stars 4/2/2012 by mb123456789
by mb123456789

We have had this blu ray for little over a year. The wi fi signal is not good at all. But our problem is while playing a movie on Netflix the whole blu ray just shuts off and come back on randomly. This just started recently. Called magnavox but they are no help!!!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mb123456789
texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great deal.
9/28/2012

Customer review by vickszoo

5.0 stars 9/28/2012 by vickszoo
by vickszoo

Picked it up from store, took less than 15 minuets to install. Fits perfect. Love it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vickszoo
Mesquite,Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Works OK
11/26/2011

Customer review by Beachgurl0915

3.0 stars 11/26/2011 by Beachgurl0915
by Beachgurl0915

The Blue Ray Player work great for dvd and blue rays. The only problem I have is Netflix's, it only shows your instant queue. So you have to go on the internet to pick the movies you want to watch, and put them in your queue. Next, it states my internet connection is slow, so I might have irruptions when watch a movie, I did a speed test on my internet connection and it where it should be, and plus I used to watch Netflix's on my Wii and never I had a problem with the connection being slow. On Vudu it work well and looks great. The only I have disappointed is Netflix's. Overall its Ok.

Was this review helpful? (5) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Beachgurl0915
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ignore the five star reviews
1/16/2012

Customer review by MikeNC

2.0 stars 1/16/2012 by MikeNC
by MikeNC

I read the first few five star reviews and the one thing they all had in common was that the person had bought this device the day of or the day before they wrote their review. Give it a month or two and this device will become increasingly frustrating. I've had mine for two months now and I am very dissatisfied. The first week or two I put up with the problems because I remembered the price I paid for it. Now I only wish I would have spent the extra $40 to get the more expensive Wi-Fi Blu-ray player. Many reviews are probably complaining about the Wi-Fi, which I admit is a problem but not the worst one. I often have to unplug the device and plug it back in just to get it to connect. I have had to repeatedly reconfigure the Wi-Fi connection as well. Overall, the Wi-Fi connection is fine if you can get it to connect, but I do run into issues with connecting usually once or twice a week using it once a day. The biggest issue I have with this device is the remote control. It is the worst remote control I have ever used. I can point the remote directly at the device from only a foot away with a clear line of sight and I still won't get it to respond every time. If you do not have direct line of sight you can forget about using the remote at all. I have to hold my arm and hand in funny positions to get it directly pointed at the device. The issue with the remote control is compounded because the device is so slow to respond. This is especially bad when you are in the Netflix app (I don't use vudu). I press the button and I have to wait upwards of 30 seconds for the response to be completed. This often leads to me mistakenly starting the wrong program, which is even worse because I cannot return to the menu until the show has finished loading.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MikeNC
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Picture quality wasn't great
3/12/2012

Customer review by FestusMO

2.0 stars 3/12/2012 by FestusMO
by FestusMO

The picture quality wasn't really good. I tried streaming, using dvd & blue ray discs which I have played before & know have a better quality than what was produces with this player. While streaming it kept freezing & I would have to restart the streaming process over & over to watch a movie. I ended up turning it off & streaming through the xbox which did great, I tried going back to this player & it had the same issues so I know it wasn't my internet. I took it back and traded it in for a better player. I may have just gotten a dud, but I wasn't happy with it. My xbox does a better job with streaming & playing dvds than this player did.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FestusMO
Festus, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
NOT WORTH THE MONEY.
1/1/2012

Customer review by pgam50

2.0 stars 1/1/2012 by pgam50
by pgam50

i repeatedly have to go into network settings and run setup again and again, very frustrating. DOES NOT PLAY HOME MOVES AND PHOTOS VIA DVD+R DISC. BUY A SAMSUNG INSTEAD, I HAVE ONE IN MY FAMILY ROOM FOR A YEAR NOW AND PLAYS ANYTHING THAT I PUT IN IT.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pgam50
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Pay a little more for a better product
1/2/2012

Customer review by MIGHTYDUCKY2

2.0 stars 1/2/2012 by MIGHTYDUCKY2
by MIGHTYDUCKY2

This unit was perfect, for about 4 hours. After that I constantly get network connection error, says my network is not available. I have to power down the unit several times when watching online movies because it will drop the connection and then show no signal, turn it off then back on, then it shows full signal!? Also there is a delay in the response from the remote to the TV.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MIGHTYDUCKY2
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad
10/20/2012

Customer review by longstocking

1.0 stars 10/20/2012 by longstocking
by longstocking

We have had this player for 1 year now and have never liked it. It won't play movies that have automatic playback, even if we've never played the movie before. It spins and spins the disk and takes forever to load, if it ever does. There's no way to tell if it's playing, paused, or what the player is doing since there is no view screen that tells you. Don't buy, huge waste of money!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
longstocking
ID
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
What a Hunk of JUNK
11/26/2011

Customer review by tankgirrl2001

1.0 stars 11/26/2011 by tankgirrl2001
by tankgirrl2001

Opened this up today. Spent hours trying to set up the network, reading about how to do it, trying again, re-setting things, downloading things, unplugging things... it won't work. It keeps telling me it cannot connect to my router/modem but EVERYTHING ELSE in my house connects fine (DSI, Wii, laptops...). I am about to throw this hunk of junk out the window.

Was this review helpful? (5) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tankgirrl2001
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
1-20 of 69 total reviews
1-20 of 69 reviews