Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 151 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

151 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

151 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
98
4 stars
35
3 stars
11
2 stars
1
1 stars
6
1-20 of 144 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 144 total reviews
1-20 of 144 reviews
GREAT BR for the price
3/9/2012

Customer review by Sprede

5.0 stars 3/9/2012 by Sprede
by Sprede

I bought this product from the store so it was not a refurbished item but I must say this little guy is awesome! Easy to setup, and works like a champ. Hooked it up to internet connection got all the updates, Netflix, slacker radio etc. Very nice!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sprede
Omaha
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
10/19/2011

Customer review by womda15

5.0 stars 10/19/2011 by womda15
by womda15

A great brand of electronics to own- And if it is refurbished, it is even better! Lowered price, better than new! I like mine a lot, specially because it has 3d capability, Internet connection, and many more features. So far, it's been nothing less than impressive!!

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
womda15
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good device
4/6/2012

Customer review by M1D2

4.0 stars 4/6/2012 by M1D2
by M1D2

This product works very good but if you want to have wireless internet, yo will have to buy a dongle. I bought in amazon the Rosewill RNX-N1Wireless dongle for $29.99 with free shipment. I just connected the device and I get wireless internet.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
M1D2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Blu-Ray player but...
1/6/2011

Customer review by gregchak

4.0 stars 1/6/2011 by gregchak
by gregchak

For watching Blu-Ray's and DVD's this product is very great. The quality of video and audio is excellent and the interface is very easy and intuitive. I am a bit of a techno junkie and I dabble in a lot of the extra features this device has. This is, for me, where it's performance lacks compared to similar devices. I have a DLNA server that I use to stream audio and video around my home. Audio is not bad, but the video is quite honestly poor. Sometimes it won't load a video and other times it will. It constantly squishes the video down to a 4:3 aspect when it shouldn't. It also doesn't upscale this content like the other players do. That being said, Pandora, Vudu and the other Samsung Apps work great. For me though, I watch DLNA content more than I watch Blu-Ray movies which is why I gave it a lower mark on performance. If you don't use DLNA content or don't know what it is, this would be a great player for you.

gregchak
Fairfax, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Expert
10/20/2011

Customer review by gasbet85

5.0 stars 10/20/2011 by gasbet85
by gasbet85

Samsung has done me a favor by reconditioning this player and lowering the price! Thanks a whole bunch!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gasbet85
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
10/20/2011

Customer review by wingle66

5.0 stars 10/20/2011 by wingle66
by wingle66

Refurbished expertly, this dvd player works as it should which makes me very happy as I watch a lot of movies.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wingle66
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
3/5/2012

Customer review by Satisfied5

5.0 stars 3/5/2012 by Satisfied5
by Satisfied5

You know I was kind of sceptical when I saw that this product was refurbished but you know it works amazing and is very easy to those who are not completely technically enabled. Hooked up fast and easy and does the job great. Love watching 3D movies or anything blu-ray on it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Satisfied5
Osceola, Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Poor signal strength makes this player a bad pick:
1/4/2012

Customer review by IamJBart

1.0 stars 1/4/2012 by IamJBart
by IamJBart

We purchased this Blu-ray more than anything because we wanted to be able to stream internet so I thought I would hook up to the TV, connect to Wi-Fi, sit back and watch some Netflix. However, the signal strength was so weak, it took me about 4 tries before finally connecting. It was such a poor connection that it took 20 minutes to watch 5 minutes of a movie. My Wii connection through wireless signal never gave us these problems. If you're going to get this player, make sure you have an ethernet cable long enough to run from your router to your TV because the signal strength stinks.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IamJBart
Would recommend to a friend? No
Refurbished products are as good as new-Blue Ray
1/10/2012

Customer review by supersaver100

5.0 stars 1/10/2012 by supersaver100
by supersaver100

I bought this refurbished blue ray player for my college student and boy we were surprised to see that the packaging was new and most importantly the device was just as new. We saved some $ by purchasing this refurbished device and it was the best idea we ever had. The device worked perfectly as it was supposed to. My daughter loved the product. The internet connection on the blueray provide for so many added features. She doesn't know how she lived without it all this time. So A+++ for the product quality and performance.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
supersaver100
Harlingen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Great for a Rdfurbished Product!!!!
4/13/2012

Customer review by lydiamojo

5.0 stars 4/13/2012 by lydiamojo
by lydiamojo

This is my first Blu-Ray player, and I love it! Samsung is always a good buy! Even better when you can get it at a great price. Better than a new one because you know all the bugs have been worked out!!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lydiamojo
Cordova, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Has great picture quality as long as it will play the disc
9/17/2011

Customer review by liquidblue19

3.0 stars 9/17/2011 by liquidblue19
by liquidblue19

I have had 2 of these components for about a year now and both of them have great picture quality and the internet connection is very fast. However, both of them have problems starting up a disc nearly every time I go to play one (BluRay and DVD) it will get to the point right before it needs to go to the disc menu and then freezes. I will have to turn the player off and on sometimes about 3 or more times before it finally will go thru and get to the menu. After that they work fine. If I didn't own 2 with the exact same issue I would think I just had one that was defective, but when I have have 2 and they both do it then I would think it's a design issue.

liquidblue19
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Intermediate
Nothing fancy but it gets the job done
1/25/2012

Customer review by rpahule

4.0 stars 1/25/2012 by rpahule
by rpahule

I have had this player now for over a year and it has yet to let me down. It has the Samsung apps as part of the device which I don't use, I use them directly on my TV but for someone that would like to use them it is nice to have. The only issue I have is that when loading either a Blu-Ray disk or a DVD disk into the drive it takes longer than normal to start to play the disk itself, it even seems as if it is locked up but mostly on Blu-Ray disks and I think this is because it is looking for web based content. I have a USB flash drive in there for that reason and I have a wireless adapter connected to the player as well for updates and other features.

rpahule
Hibbing
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Great little BD player
7/29/2010

Customer review by AppletonBoy

5.0 stars 7/29/2010 by AppletonBoy
by AppletonBoy

Just purchased this Samsung model after having several problems with my previous Sony player (owned it 7 months and had to return it 4 times due to manufacturer problems). This Samsung unit is faster, smaller, and has more Internet Aps than the Sony had. Plus, the picture was much better than the Sony. I don't own a 3D TV yet and it could be a long time before owning one, but at least I have the option built into the player. Only downfall I have with this unit if you call it a downfall, watching Avatar, the picture is so clear and defined, the CGI almost looks fake. Good going Samsung. I'm telling all my friends to go out and buy this baby.

AppletonBoy
Lisle, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Bait and Switch?
10/1/2010

Customer review by DiscoKid

3.0 stars 10/1/2010 by DiscoKid
by DiscoKid

I have BD-C5900 3D BD player. When I purchased it I looked at the apps that are/were available for it and Hulu was listed as well as many others. But, that was BEFORE Samsung updated the website to what we are seeing now. Previously, there was a link to available apps that was a basic text document with three columns that grouped the various products. Hulu was listed in every column (including the column containing the BD-C5900). That document is no longer available from what I can tell. I just got off the phone spending an hour with technical support trying to resolve why no Apps appear in the Samsung Apps store. (just a few header items and the rest of the screen is blank and times out saying "Network interference occured. Try again later." ) I mentioned that I discovered the problem b/c I was looking to see if Hulu was available after the latest update. The rep mentioned that Hulu is not available for my model! I'm past my 30 days to return to Best Buy. And I'm stuck with a BD Player that lacks features that it was advertised to have. Plus, it's now broken and I cannot get any Apps. I'm very disappointed. I was very happy with my BD/ 63" 3D TV bundle. Now, I'm starting to have sour feelings toward all the Samsung products. I know I shouldn't judge all products on one experience, but I'm not feeling very good about Samsung right now.

DiscoKid
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent Image, Quick Starts/Stops
1/13/2014

Customer review by Kevinjg

5.0 stars 1/13/2014 by Kevinjg
by Kevinjg

This is my second Samsung Blue-ray and have always been pleased with build quality. I like the top power/stop/play/eject touch buttons. Very intuitive functions. The unit is relatively quiet, image is extremely good with no pixelation issues. Price is unbeatable for the functionality. Have not used the 3D function, yet I am shocked, SHOCKED, at how fast the startup and stoping functions work, this is great! Overall this is my fourth Blu-Ray player and this is one function that has been so infuriating. Thanks, Samsung, for the great job you did with this unit!

Kevinjg
Seattle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Great 3D Blu-ray Disc Player
1/13/2011

Customer review by GMHayes47

5.0 stars 1/13/2011 by GMHayes47
by GMHayes47

This is our first Blu-ray, let alone 3D, player and we are extremely pleased. We bought it to go with our new Samsung 3D TV and the quality of the picture in all modes - DVD, Blu-ray DVD and Blu-ray 3D DVD is amazing. The styling is sleek and beautiful, and the features of this unit are great. We especially like the feature that you can turn on and control the TV from the player's remote, and when you turn on the player it automatically switches the source on the TV to the Blu-ray DVD player. We'd buy this one again for sure.

GMHayes47
Bethany Beach, DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Expert
Glad I bought this one
10/30/2011

Customer review by DACV

5.0 stars 10/30/2011 by DACV
by DACV

I did not need a new dvd player but I just bought the 55" hdtv and there was a few movies coming out on blue ray that I would have liked to watch. As I did not have a blue ray player and already had some samsung products I bought this player ,without any real research, unusual for me but I was there and the deal was good so ... I have to say I do like very much the features, they are very easy to understand and use. They also make using the product with other samsung products easier.

DACV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
Great 3D Blu-ray player
12/19/2010

Customer review by Starwalker13

4.0 stars 12/19/2010 by Starwalker13
by Starwalker13

This came as a bundled product with my Samsung TV purchase, and I was somewhat apprehensive at first, being listed as the lowest end blue-ray product of the Samsung line. But, I am pleasently surprised at the quality of the output. I have played Blue-Ray as well as 3D movies and I am very pleased with the product. Would definetely reccomend the product. On reviewing the Samsung website, there does not appear to be much difference in the other more expensive products from this one.

Starwalker13
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This 3D Blu-ray Disc Player (BD-C5900)& a 55" 3D HDTV (un55c8000) are A Great Marriage
11/24/2010

Customer review by murtfwweb

5.0 stars 11/24/2010 by murtfwweb
by murtfwweb

I have this Samsung wonderful working team consisting of one 3D Blu-ray Disc Player (BD-C5900) and one 55" 3D LED Full 1080P 240 HDTV (un55c8000). What a great picture, top running performance with all of my DVD's, blu-ray and 3D blu-ray discs. This Samsung 3D Blu-ray Disc Player (BD-C5900) has stunning features including the 2010 Internet@TV 3D function ability as well as 2010 Internet@TV picture/size function ability by using the remote of my 55" 3D LED Full 1080P 240 HDTV (un55c8000). SUPER, you can adjust the picture size and view full 3D picture where available or up-conversion 3D picture when not available. I use my WI FI network when accessing the internet to update firmware for my 3D Blu-ray Disc Player (BD-C5900). I bought two Samsung Wi-Fi adapters, one for my 3D blu-ray player and one for my 3D HDTV. This allows internet access for both units without Wi-Fi adapter removal. Important, you need to purchase a 1 g (I use an 8g) flash drive to connect to the front USB port of this 3D blu-ray player for all blu-ray/3D blu-ray disc updates and including BD live is a must (note: there is no internal memory). For example, if you use BD Live and download HD trailers you need at lease 1g. I use 8g flash drive. It all depends on how much you download files. You can delete download files, anytime. One thing to remember is that the new technology blu-ray and the 3D blu-ray discs do have some playing issues and need new firmware to run properly. Notify Samsung support when new disc issues arise.

murtfwweb
New Britain, CT 06051
Expertise:Expert
Very nice for the price.
11/8/2010

Customer review by rodbo069

5.0 stars 11/8/2010 by rodbo069
by rodbo069

This unit is much better than all my other players. For the price, you can't beat it. Picture quality is awesome, both on blu ray and the internet capable movie channels. Have it hooked up wireless to the internet and it is nice to have radio channels designed around my taste. Couple movie channels is another nice bonus. I would recommend this product. It is definitely worth the price and with Samsung name on the unit, you know you are getting good quality. 2 Thumbs up!

rodbo069
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
1-20 of 144 total reviews
1-20 of 144 reviews