Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 130 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

130 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

130 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
85
4 stars
31
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 stars
3
1-20 of 130 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 130 total reviews
1-20 of 130 reviews
Fantastic PC in a Slim Package - Highly Recommend
12/31/2011

Customer review by KenfromCA

5.0 stars 12/31/2011 by KenfromCA
by KenfromCA

I’ve had the HP Slimline S5XT only two weeks now and already love it! I purchased it directly from HP.com and bundled it with additional software, including MS Office 2010, Adobe Acrobat X Standard, Windows 7 Ultimate [64 bit], and opted for the extended warranty. It will replace my HP Pavilion A450Y with Pentium 4 chip which is still going strong almost 8 years post purchase from HP.com in early 2004! HP customized my Slimline S5XT to include an Intel I5 quad-core chip w 6 MB cache, 8 GB memory, 7200 RPM HD, wireless card, and NVIDIA graphics card. It’s fast, compact, lightweight, and is whisper-quiet - so quiet it’s difficult to tell it’s even running. It’s great fun and a joy to use and is already improving my professional work. Highly recommended I purchased HP based on my previous positive experiences – they provide great service, warranty extensions, excellent on-line support for everything from documents to downloads, and most importantly, a great computer at a great price. Thanks, HP!

KenfromCA
San Mateo, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Super Computer!!!!!!
8/29/2012

Customer review by spiritsandangels

5.0 stars 8/29/2012 by spiritsandangels
by spiritsandangels

I have had this computer up and running for one week and I love it!!!!! HP disappointed me only in this respect:: I gave 4 stars for functions as the Word and Excel features, 2010, are basically useless [to me] as they will not under any circumstances print! Why bother putting in software that is not basically functional? I spent many hours on the web researching this issue only to find that I was among the crowds who expressed dismay that both programs would not print for them..... this is a glitch that needs attention. I have always had superb experiences with HP and that was why I chose this computer. It hums beautifully with my two HP printers with MS Office 2003 and other software . For the money, the computer is ideal. It is all I need [ I am a retired educational administrator/consultant/instructor] I still work on occasion. And, this computer is Quiet!!!!!! Again, Great buy! Great Computer! the only disappointment is the MSOffice 2010 word and excel features.

spiritsandangels
Sun City, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Hp Made It Right!
7/1/2011

Customer review by Goaty

5.0 stars 7/1/2011 by Goaty
by Goaty

I attempted to purchase the older model, the Slimline series before this, but was too late. I was redirected by great customer service to this machine as a comparable match. What a great recommendation! The machine got here right on time and was better than i had expected. A 15minute setup and I was already on the internet, machine in full use. It's sooo much faster than my older laptop and I am very happy to have bought this. It is defiantly worth spending more money to get a machine that will last and not be regrettable. I purposely added more to the base model, and the way things are going so far, I'm going to be very happy with it for a long time to come. Only one thing that was just a little bit annoying was that it only included a 6ft. cable so it is a little on the short side. Still very minimal, but folks, this is one great machine, you won't regret this purchase. Thanks HP, you really got it right!

Goaty
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Powerful, (fairly) quiet, and small
2/29/2012

Customer review by ILGeek

5.0 stars 2/29/2012 by ILGeek
by ILGeek

I spec'd my s5xt as follows: * i5 2500 quad core processor * 6GB of RAM (free upgrade) * 1TB 7,200 RPM Hard drive (The rest of the specs were standard--no external graphics card or TV tuner.) I WISH I could have spec'd the nicer video card they offer WITH the i5 processor, but the system did not allow it. (It was either the better processor with on-board graphics, or the i3 processor with the external graphics.) I expect the limitation is due to the power supply. I am a noise fiend; can't stand loud computers. Thankfully, this computer is nice and quiet. Other than at startup, the fan never revs up. It sits at idle, and is audible, but not distracting or annoying--even sitting next to me on the desk. What can I say about performance? It does all I need it to and then some. I do light photo editing, MS Office work, streaming HD video. It handles all that no problem. In fact, it does them all at the same time without breaking a sweat. Overall, a good purchase. The missing star for "Features" is because I couldn't spec a nicer processor AND video card. I strongly encourage this purchase.

ILGeek
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Powerful slimline desktop
6/30/2012

Customer review by UncleVic

4.0 stars 6/30/2012 by UncleVic
by UncleVic

As purchased configuration includes 3.1MHz i3-2100 (dual core w/ HT), Windows 7 x64 Premium Ed., 6GB RAM, 1TB 7200 rpm HDD, AMD Radeon HD 6450, Hauppauge WinTV 723x, and Ralink Tech 802.11n WiFi. Added AMD Radeon HD 5450 (on PCIe x1) so the system now supports 2xDVI, VGA, HDMI and DisplayPort; running 3 1600x1200 monitors very nicely. This is NOT a gaming machine, but a developer environment (Visual Studio, SQL Server, etc.). PROS: Even this bottom-end Sandybridge CPU is still quite powerful. Onboard NIC is full featured and performs well on 1000 Mbps LAN (not like some competitor's slimline NICs that tax CPU and have reduced throughput). Extra PCIe slots are appreciated for upgrades. Quiet and cool, great for home office. CONS: Weak power supply (220w), typical of most slimline PCs. Could have used more USB sockets (only has 4xREAR, 2xFRONT). No microphone socket on front.

UncleVic
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
The best of both worlds
2/28/2012

Customer review by Nardi

4.0 stars 2/28/2012 by Nardi
by Nardi

Hi guys, I just got my HP s5-1200z desktop computer with HP 2011 20" monitor this afternoon. To begin with, this computer is a true beauty. The setup was very easy. Starting up was significantly fast and you could barely hear the fan running. Browsing the net is fast with IE 9. I'm very pleased with the keyboard, because I like my buttons smooth and silent. This pc has a 3D graph rating of 6.5 and a cpu rating of 7.2. with 512mb dedicated videomem. This is enough for a person like me who like to do my graphic work and play my favorite sports games. (especially soccer (PES and FIFA12) and nba). So, as a satisfied customer I would recommend this pc because it's capable of processing your everyday work (like ms office, autocad12, chief architect X2) and gives you the ability to entertain yourself by watching HD movies or playing games, in other words: the best of both worlds.

Nardi
Meerzorg, Suriname
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Good product but wasn't easy
2/21/2012

Customer review by KHinVirginia

3.0 stars 2/21/2012 by KHinVirginia
by KHinVirginia

I ordered this PC and at first I couldn't get on the internet using wired (ethernet) connection. So after spending time with customer service and testing and stuff I sent it back because of bad motherboard. The next one came and I couldn't get on internet again. They said it is my Westell modem model 327W, I have Verizon DSL. They said there is a problem w/ wired usage of this modem. I called Verizon and of course no problem w/ my modem. So I returned this one too and asked for a PC with wireless LAN added. The third one worked and I got on the internet easily. So if there is a problem w/ wired connections to Westell modem(s) HP should let people know in advance or add the wireless LAN as a package. This one makes a bit of noise as another commentator mentioned below which you have to move a bit, other than that it's pretty good.

KHinVirginia
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
HP Slimline/Wireless Keyboard-Mouse
2/8/2012

Customer review by osbornrb

4.0 stars 2/8/2012 by osbornrb
by osbornrb

This computer replaces a laptop about 5 years old. I did my homework and found the Slimline, according to reviewers, to be reliable and with satisfactory performance. So far it's been great and I expect the performance to remain satisfactory. Only drawback was expecting an SD card-reader but that is a feature in the other model Slimline - go figure.. The wireless mouse works very well, is a solid piece of gear. The keyboard is very small and flimsy and had I known that I would have obtained a more solid version from another vendor. I would recommend the computer to anyone looking for a mid-range machine with an anticipated 5-year use period bfore becoming too old to be efficient. I would not recommend the wireless keyboard as I have used other keyboards that were better built.

osbornrb
Cullowhee, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Easy Setup, fast enough
6/30/2012

Customer review by goodsoninlaw

4.0 stars 6/30/2012 by goodsoninlaw
by goodsoninlaw

I was in the market for a new PC to give my wife's parents as their pc was an old Windows XP machine on it's last legs. I looked at both Dell, Lenovo and HP and decided to get this one due to size and good experiences with HP in the past. (I've bought several Dell's and use one at work). My in-laws use their pc for basic internet transactions and a spreadsheet and document from time to time so processing power wasn't an issue. I felt the price point and performance were pretty decent compared to the intel I3 chip so I went this route. The PC was a breeze to set up. It comes with basic versions of Excel and Word and I think there's ads that pop up on the sidebar but heck, I know my father in law is not a power user and you can't beat the price-free. The slimline is a great compact size and the machine is fast. My in-laws don't have to wait 10 minutes for it to boot up like their old XP with all the gobbledygook on it. It's almost instant on. Windows 7 is so much easier to work with and the help is very good. If I needed a wireless adapter, I probably would have looked at another option since it wasn't standard on this machine. Luckily, my in-laws are wired so all they need is a lan card. Highly recommend for a budget pc.

goodsoninlaw
Torrance CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Best bang for your buck.
3/24/2011

Customer review by Cordero

5.0 stars 3/24/2011 by Cordero
by Cordero

This outperforms my previous Slimline s3300t in just about every way. The AMD quad core is fast. No problems writing and reading data from the hard drive. Burns double-layer DVDs flawlessly. And it accesses my home network with no delays. My only issues are the lack of a personal media drive slot and the flash card slot doesn't accomodate the larger SD I use in my SLR camera. The s3300t had both. The new slim case is also taller and deeper than the previous model. But all in all it was a good purchase. Note: The AMD is not as fast as a comparable Intel chip but it's affordable and if you get one of the 1Gb video card options you'll have no problems running the most beefy applications/games. Use Win7 Pro 64-bit and get 6Gb of RAM whenever possible.

Cordero
Miami, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Good but limited
4/12/2012

Customer review by BigGil

4.0 stars 4/12/2012 by BigGil
by BigGil

I bought the product to replace an old (7 yrs) HP Pavillion a1230n that was great. The new machine was easy to bring up and is really quick and the Win 7 migration program was very helpfull in bringing over data from my old PC. I new is not what I expected in terms of expansion capability. I had two hard drives in my a1230n, one that I used for backup. Can't do this with the new one as space is restrictive. Also had two CD/DVD drives in the old but can't do in the new. Also, no modem or wifi included. Price is good but features are limited so I quess you get what you pay for. This will be my last purchase of a "slimline" model. All said and done, if it continues to perform well and last as long as my previous HP I'll be satisfied.

BigGil
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Fine Compact Machine.
11/20/2011

Customer review by Phinu

5.0 stars 11/20/2011 by Phinu
by Phinu

I read all the reviews before I bought. It replaced a 7 year old desktop. I am not a gamer so the integrated graphics is fine. Using the DVI output to my monitor I get a very good picture. Purpose of the machine was to be able to watch video feeds on the net without the herky jerky movement from my old desktop. Videos are clear and smooth running. Boots up very quickly. I am able to keep it on my desk, so I hope it will attract less dust. I was able to move all programs over to this model and had copied all my saved data from my old pc. The other thing I really like is the partition of the hard drive. Recovery is on a small D partition. C is the rest, so I will not have to put data on one partition and programs on another.

Phinu
Ocala, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Powerful Little Package!!!
7/23/2012

Customer review by skywyzard

5.0 stars 7/23/2012 by skywyzard
by skywyzard

I liked the Hp Slimline 1310t right out of the box! My expectations were exceeded once I connected the monitor..usb mouse/keyboard..and installed all of the software. This little powerhouse has blazing speed and performance because I configured it with the fastest processor, most DDR memory available, and a 2 TB hard drive running at 72000 RPM. Like most people who have used PCs that are always loading or buffering I was not about to pay my hard earned money for a "SLOW" machine anymore. And I can't say enough about the compact size. I would recommend the HP Slimline 1310t to anyone who wants all of that power in a small package at what I consider a reasonable price considering the fast performance & small foot print.

skywyzard
Highland,Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
12/23/2011

Customer review by dgrady

5.0 stars 12/23/2011 by dgrady
by dgrady

Very good computer, I use it for my business and does everything i need it for and more,

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dgrady
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
HP Slimline Fits Tight Spaces
7/30/2012

Customer review by Timbus

4.0 stars 7/30/2012 by Timbus
by Timbus

I purchased this HP Slimline PC for my wife as she was complaining that our 5 year old son was messing up the computer they were both using and she wanted a PC of her own. Since there wasn't much room available on the desk and the space for the PC below was already occupied, I chose the Slimline PC to fit adjacent to the LED monitor in between the space the monitor was located and the book shelf on the desktop. It worked out perfectly and both are very happy now. I got ordered several specification upgrades for this PC such as 8 GB of ram and I installed a faster video graphics card to improve gaming speed for my wife as I wasn't aware that she needed all that speed upon ordering the PC. Works great!

Timbus
Vista, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
it's a good midrange PC
3/6/2012

Customer review by Featherfoot

5.0 stars 3/6/2012 by Featherfoot
by Featherfoot

We bought the S5-1260 primarily for my wife with the PC sitting in the kitchen. The slimline size is good. The expandability is about what we can expect from the slimline form factor. Performance overall is good doing Internet browsing, watching videos, email and the occasional Word document and Excel spreadsheet. We chose to use Microsoft Security Essentials rather than Norton Internet Security based on our earlier experience with that package dramatically hurting the performance of the PC. I appreciated the limited amount of junkware on the system. HP could improve the package by making it more obvious how to maintain and check out the HP support software.

Featherfoot
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Good Start
1/20/2012

Customer review by MikeD777

5.0 stars 1/20/2012 by MikeD777
by MikeD777

Have only had the new computer for a couple weeks but so far, so good. Set was easy, Almost everything has USB hook-ups so much easier than older computers. The unit is extremely quiet and this is good since the unit is located in our family room. The old unit sounded like a jet plane. I went with the SlimLine tower as space is limited and I wanted a big monitor screen. I thought the unit would be slimmer than it is but it is ok and everything fits. I did have to call customer service for help in installing the printer and they were terrific. Very patient and helpful. All in all, happy with my purchase at this time. I will post again if anything changes.

MikeD777
Columbia, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Pavilion Slimline
8/6/2011

Customer review by Indian

2.0 stars 8/6/2011 by Indian
by Indian

The fair rating I assigned to this product is primarily due to the extremely small text/type use throughout the toolbar and task bar as well as anywhere HP or Windows 7 has provided a function to complete. The text/type is way too small, especially for Senior Citizens. There is no comparison between the "User Friendly" Windows XP and Windows 7. They have taken a product that was not broken and tried to fix it. In the process they have ruined the experience for the user. I highly recommend you insert a User's Manual with the purchase as the online videos do not provide the detail one needs to navigate this program.

Indian
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Careful using vertical CD/DVD drive
11/19/2011

Customer review by SamD

4.0 stars 11/19/2011 by SamD
by SamD

The vertical CD drive is not foolproof. I inserted a CD and it stuck with the door open and the drive could not be used. I turned it over and my wife had to use a tweezers to loosen the disk. It then popped in and the door closed and I was able to eject the disk. Also, I tried to use HP linkup with another computer and couldn't get it to work. I knew the computer name, but I didn't have a password, so I couldn't make a connection. The HP website was no help and I couldn't tell how to contact HP. It wasn't clear and I couldn't find live chat. It's a confusing website when it comes to support.

SamD
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great Expierence
1/1/2012

Customer review by Sgent

5.0 stars 1/1/2012 by Sgent
by Sgent

Knowing what I wanted in the machine and using the phone contact to build this machine was easy, quick and pleassurable. This is my first real hands on use of Windows 7, with Help and Professor Teaches, to date had no difficulty working to set up and using the machine. Working briefly transfering data from my old machine, flash drives and CD's has been failproof. I look forward to more work with photos, videos, document management and networking devices. The slim size and ability to use either in the horizontal or verticlal poition allows for several desk configurations based indvidual needs.

Sgent
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 130 total reviews
1-20 of 130 reviews