Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 293 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

293 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

293 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
1-20 of 292 total reviews
Would recommend to a friend



1-20 of 292 total reviews
1-20 of 292 reviews
Excellent package for the $$$. Price correctly

Customer review by dblsr

5.0 stars 12/31/2011 by dblsr
by dblsr

This is an excellent value for the price. Lots of extra. Not the top of the line for gaming but I would say middle of the pack.Thank you Walmart for keeping the price affordable

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Smithtown, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Excellent price/performance choice

Customer review by bratman

5.0 stars 4/25/2012 by bratman
by bratman

I purchased my new HP p7xt (actual model name received is p7-1270t) a couple of weeks ago as a replacement for a nine year old HP desktop that still ran like new but didn't have the capacity to run Windows 7. This new PC arrived in the time promised by HP and was easy to setup. The hardware setup instructions are IKEA-like: no words, just pictures. There were also digital manuals on the hard drive (accessible from the Windows "Start; All Programs; HP Help and Support" menu). Once the system was up and running I also downloaded the "Upgrading and Servicing Guide" from the HP support website. It appears that installing any options such as additional RAM, boards, etc., would be easy for anyone experienced with PC hardware mechanics. I am VERY pleased with the new system. I ordered it with the "base" configuration: Intel i3-2120 processor, 6 gig RAM, 1 TB hard drive, wired mouse and keyboard, and on-board graphics. It is very fast and handles everything I've thrown at it without any slowdown (I haven't tried any serious video gaming; that might require more graphics power if that's your thing). I like the feel of the "basic" keyboard and mouse supplied with the system; they are much improved over the ones that shipped with HP PC's only a couple of years ago. The speed and sensitivity of the mouse and its cursor are adjustable in the Windows Control Panel; I had to slow it down a bit for my use. Longer cords for the mouse and keyboard would be nice, but that's only because of my desk's configuration. As long as the USB ports on the back of the system are within four feet of your keyboard and mouse, you're OK. Otherwise, you'll need USB 2.0 A/A extension cables, but they can be obtained for only a few dollars from most computer supply stores. This PC is very quiet and runs cool. Other features I like are having two USB ports and microphone/headphone ports under the sliding panel on the front of the unit. Note: I've seen several reviews of this system that complained about not having USB ports on the front, but they ARE there. You just have to slide the lower front panel down. This is good in keeping dust out of the connections. What else? Oh yes... follow HP's advice and create System Restore and Recovery discs once you're up and running with the new system. This system does NOT come with an original Windows 7 installation disk. And please save yourself potential heartache and headache in the future by backing up your hard drive regularly to an external device. Once again, I'm very pleased with this system, its price, and its features.

Houston Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
so far, so good

Customer review by wdharvey11

5.0 stars 5/17/2012 by wdharvey11
by wdharvey11

Even after the customer service nightmare through customer service, this being the third computer in a month and a half, the final product was finally attained with features as I requested. After connecting it to dual monitors, and plugging it in, it was a breeze to set up. This computer virtually sings! It will play an online movie on one screen while even multiple videos are running on the other screen as well as having many browser windows open at the same time without even a hiccup. I cannot believe this website has limits on what I can say in my review of the product.

Savannah, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This Pavilion is the best computer I've had.

Customer review by Carbguy

5.0 stars 5/14/2012 by Carbguy
by Carbguy

I ordered this new Pavilion directly from HP wihout the benefit of being able to "test drive" it first, but so far it has been the best PC I have ever owned. It is super fast, super quiet (I can barely hear it running) and has all the features I was looking for in a PC. I have been a fan of HP for many years, and this computer reinforces my satisfaction with their products. Setup was a breeze, it fired right up, and within minutes I was transferring files from my old computer to the new Pavilion. Tasks that previously seemed to take forever are now accomplished as quickly as I can click. My wife is equally pleased, zipping through her on-line tasks with amazing speed. I'd recommend this HP model to anyone in the market for a new desktop.

Northeast Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very happy!

Customer review by mzmachipongo

5.0 stars 5/19/2012 by mzmachipongo
by mzmachipongo

We bought this computer on the recommendation of our computer hardware engineer son-in-law. It's only been up for a couple of days, so I haven't even gotten to learn all the ins and outs yet, but so far, I love it.

Machipongo, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great computer

Customer review by LawMar2

5.0 stars 5/10/2012 by LawMar2
by LawMar2

I love how I was able to customize the computer the way I wanted. My only complaint is that I couldn't find an option to get the Lightscribe CD/DVD burner installed. This is an upgrade from a 32 bit HP Pavilion. The difference is amazing! This new one is so much faster! Am still learning the new system but so far has been very user friendly.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Computer

Customer review by DigitalD

5.0 stars 3/24/2012 by DigitalD
by DigitalD

I typically select a well-built, mid-level computer that I can keep for a number of years, as I have done with my other HP computers. As operating systems and applications expand to correct security issues and add new features, the amount of memory and processing demands that the software places on the computer increase to the point where the computer may no longer function productively. This computer replaces a 6-year old HP running Windows XP with only 1GB of memory. That machine bogged down as the result of lack of memory when running applications such as Turbo Tax and Quicken. It got to the point that various windows "oscillated/flickered" because the system was "thrashing" trying to task switch from one application to another. Hence, adequate memory is a critical aspect for system performance, probably more so than processor speed. To combat those issues, I selected this HP computer with 8 GB of memory and an i5-2500 processor @3.3 GHz to provide adequate memory and processing resources for future growth/demands of software. Also, to ensure that I had plenty of disk storage for audio, video and pictures, I selected a 1TB drive. The computer starts up fast and shuts down quickly. Web surfing and download speed is great, and applications also start up quickly and perform well. HP provides a support assistance software package that allows the user to maintain, troubleshoot, learn and get assistance. I have primarily used HP computers in the past and have great success with them and appreciate the type of support tools and hardware reliability that may not be available with no-name PCs. One recommendation would be to add a second DVD or CD drive to make copies quicker without using the same drive to first read a disk then use it to write to the blank disk. I didn't add that second drive, but it does have a spare slot to add one in the future. The computer looks good with sleek styling with a black case and illuminated blue bar at the top of the front to indicate power status. The illumination bar turns yellow when the computer goes to sleep. Just below that are memory slots for xD/Smart Media, SD/MMC, Compact Flash and a Memory Stick. There is a front slide panel that provides access to USB ports (I added 2 additional for a total of 4), a microphone port and a headphone port. To summarize, this is a great PC and I certainly would order this again without hesitation.

Springboro, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fast HP PC Desktop

Customer review by Ivan800

5.0 stars 5/1/2012 by Ivan800
by Ivan800

The combination Intel Core I5 Processor and 6 Gig of RAM makes this HP PC Desktop system very fast. The built in Wireless (WiFi) card in the system allows you to connect to your Wireless Network without an additional WiFi Network adaptors that normally you have to purchase seperate . Overall great system for a family or individual. Overall I was very pleased with the HP PC Desktop.

Houston Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes

Customer review by Davido

5.0 stars 5/5/2012 by Davido
by Davido

Everything is as I thought it would be. It runs great and is fast. Absolutely no complaints.

Carlos, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Exciting Experience

Customer review by Zembo

5.0 stars 5/6/2012 by Zembo
by Zembo

My hp p7qe replaced a 12 year old machine running windows Me. With my hp I have now joined the "conversation"! This computer will be used for moderate "everyday" type tasks. I did equip it to handle future jobs as my ability grows: I5-2400 processor, 8Gb RAM, 1 terrabyte hard drive, and wireless n 2x2. The 21.5 inch full HD monitor is very nice; my only caveat here is built in speakers would minimize desk clutter. I have a lot to learn about windows 7 but expect to enjoy learning on this computer.

Lake Charles, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
First PC bought online

Customer review by sjb3

5.0 stars 8/20/2011 by sjb3
by sjb3

Didn't know what to expect; bought my first PC in '91 and all others since then from a regular retail store. I needn't have worried, though. Everything went smooth as silk start to finish, and I took delivery (on the date promised, and in perfect condition) of my p7-1070t CPU (I'll be getting a new monitor later). In addition to this being my first experience with Windows 7 (which has gone well), I have 6 times as much RAM as I'd ever had to work with (6 gig) and the difference between the Celeron processor I'd used since '05 and this Intel Core i3 is like night and day. I'm no hardware expert, just an old guy who likes computers. I'm 62, retired, living on a fixed income. I should point out here that I was pleased with the price, which I considered very reasonable, especially when matched with the level of service provided. I could possibly have shaved the price down more if I'd shopped elsewhere, but I wonder what would have happened if something had gone wrong. I had confidence that HP would hold up their end of the deal, from the time I placed the order until I registered my PC after successfully booting up the first time out of the box. I highly recommend HP to anyone looking to buy a new PC online, and the Pavilion p7-1070t as an excellent choice for an all-around home computer. I use mine to conduct all my household business (can't remember the last time I mailed a check to pay a bill!). What I actually had in mind, though, when I ordered this computer was being able to work better with Photoshop (I have v. 7.01) and I couldn't be more pleased with the results. I use a Wacom tablet for the brush work and everything just flows so nice and smooth now. If you're on the fence, come on down and go with HP.

Clarksville, Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GREAT Value for price

Customer review by Deb73

5.0 stars 4/25/2012 by Deb73
by Deb73

Read the reviews before I bought. Easy to setup and get started. And to set the record straight, non upgraded model comes with 4 USB ports in the back and 2 USB ports in the front in a hidden panel. Can run 2 monitors at the same time. Great for working on two or more spreadsheets at the same time. Cutting and pasting is a breeze. My HP printer was made before Windows 7 came along. HP website had the upgraded software and printer runs like a charm. Recommend this computer for the excellent value at a very low price. HP, keep up the good work!

Big Island, Hawaii
Would recommend to a friend? Yes

Customer review by sunny85

5.0 stars 1/1/2012 by sunny85
by sunny85

After purchasing a HP laptop for my son two years ago, I was familiar with the quality of the product. I have not been disappointed. The HP Pavillion p7xt Desktop is fast, easy to set up, and easy to use. It's so quiet, I can barely notice when it's running. My old Dell's fan was so loud you could hear it from another room. My ONLY complaint so far is that it doesn't have enough USB ports. There are none in the front, and everything is used in the back. This would be a MAJOR problem for me, except my Dell monitor has several ports and I can use those. Keep this in mind when purchasing. Other than that, I am completely satisfied.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Desktop

Customer review by SusaninVA

5.0 stars 3/7/2012 by SusaninVA
by SusaninVA

One of the reasons I purchased was the great reviews other customers gave this computer, and they were right! It arrived ahead of schedule and was easy to set up. I am still learning a lot of the new features (I replaced an 8 y.o. HP) but it is super fast. I did upgrade to the wireless LAN card and the 15 in 1 memory card & 4 USB ports on the front. To the several folks who indicated this computer lacks a front USB port in their reviews - this computer DOES HAVE front USB ports, they are behind the slide down door. I almost did not purchase because my set-up requires front USB ports (in a cabinet), but I called HP Sales and was assured it did have this feature. So for anyone who may read this review and cannot locate your front USB ports, call HP and they will walk you through it.

Chesapeake, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My mto pc

Customer review by adws

5.0 stars 8/20/2011 by adws
by adws

Great pc. I got plenty of memory, and the works. You'll love this pc.

Greensboro, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Never Breaks a Sweat

Customer review by ITinstructor

5.0 stars 10/11/2011 by ITinstructor
by ITinstructor

I made an HP a730n, Pentium 4 (w/Hyper-Threading), desktop computer last eight years with no fancy tricks, till a Server 2008 and a couple Windows 7 virtual machines became too much for the CPU. Once I knew I needed a new computer, I went to HP straightaway. After settling on the p7xt, I shopped around to look for anybody who could sway me from it, and found none, lower prices notwithstanding. Also, though I am quite capable of it, I do not like to build computers; that's what other people get paid to do. My p7-1070t was upgraded to the i3-2120 cpu, 8 GB RAM, and an extra hard drive. As well, I have the machine adjusted with certain, unnecessary resource-hungry services disabled, a page file of 12,000 MB init/max, and visual effects performance set to Best performance (with 5 selections that keep the look and feel "fancy"). I mated it with the HP 2511x monitor, tested the whole thing "as-shipped" for a few days... and then proceeded to wipe it clean for a Windows 7 Ultimate installation (I made sure to back up everything that I could use from the bundled software, first). After all the appropriate installs and security detailing, I am happy to say this machine should last me well into the time when desktops are endangered and solid-state drives are the norm. In short, I have what I need: rock solid performance with five virtual machines loading at the same time (with still only 50-60 percent cpu utilization), RAM that allows 1 GB per virtual - with oodles (technical term) left for the OS and other apps, and movie experiences which are top-notch (with the addition of a good set of headphones, that is). My advice: get an HP, keep it clean of freeware/hackware/shareware, use only top-rated malware protection (but be prepared to feed it with something like the p7xt-series can give it), get a Windows 7 users guide and learn how to maintain this super OS... and enjoy for years to come.

Sacramento, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes

Customer review by LocoLobo

5.0 stars 9/7/2011 by LocoLobo
by LocoLobo

Just what I expected. Now if I can just get those old speakers to work!

Tewksbury, MA 01876
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Machine

Customer review by RetiredCharlie

5.0 stars 11/22/2011 by RetiredCharlie
by RetiredCharlie

I haven't purchased a new desktop for quite a while and was very surprised at the content for the money. I usually build my own, but got lazy this time. Boots quick, much snappier than my old machine. Only wish would be for a gigabit LAN adapter.

Longmont, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great deal

Customer review by woodworker17

5.0 stars 9/9/2011 by woodworker17
by woodworker17

easy set up.a lot fast than last computer

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Very fast!

Customer review by BigTK

5.0 stars 3/31/2012 by BigTK
by BigTK

This is the best computer I've ever owned, I would recommened this computewr to any 1 who asks me about mine.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 292 total reviews
1-20 of 292 reviews