Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 112 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

112 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

112 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
65
4 stars
28
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 stars
8
1-20 of 92 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 92 total reviews
1-20 of 92 reviews
Excellent product
4/20/2012

Customer review by barnmgr

5.0 stars 4/20/2012 by barnmgr
by barnmgr

I'm a 67 year old woman so needed something light enough for me but with the power to cut through big mature weeds and tree seedlings around fence lines of our horse farm. This trimmer surpassed my expectations. Cutting this heavy stuff the battery lasts about 30 minutes of heavy constant trimming. With a charged back up battery I can finish my work all in one session.

Was this review helpful? (217) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
barnmgr
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
4/22/2012

Customer review by Cina2347

4.0 stars 4/22/2012 by Cina2347
by Cina2347

I was very surprised at well this corldless worked. I have a typical sized yard but I had let much of it go a little crazy waiting for the rain to stop.I had some places in the back yard along the fence that had grass almost a foot and a half high. This trimmer had no problems handling the entire front yard down the outside of the fence on one battery that included the flower garden and edging. Next I took on the back yard that was real bad over most of it (the mower was having a hard time with the heighth). This trimmer did the inside of the fence line all around the A/C unit and over half of the back yard before the next battery died. It is battery powered so I knew it would run out at some point. Overall I don't regret buying this product. No cord to drag around and the Gas powered Weed Eater ($79) on did not work as well along with no mixing of gas. The only down side is the 6-9 hour charge time they need a speed charger but when I get it managable I don't see a problem getting everything done every time with battery power to spare. CONDITION THE BATTERY THE WAY THE TELL YOU or it will not last long.

Was this review helpful? (115) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cina2347
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
4/16/2012

Customer review by JohnnieLou

5.0 stars 4/16/2012 by JohnnieLou
by JohnnieLou

I am very pleased with my purchase of the black and decker 18V cordless string trimmer and highly recommend it for the typical yardwork use. We have a large lot with lots of weedeating to do around the fencing, storage shed, flower beds and a water pond. I have been able to accomplish this task without using the second battery. It is lightweight yet has enough power to knock down the toughest of weeds. I especially like the adjustable handle. It is comfortable for both my husband and I to use it even though there is a foot difference in our height.

Was this review helpful? (80) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JohnnieLou
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great for small city lot
4/10/2012

Customer review by coors247

4.0 stars 4/10/2012 by coors247
by coors247

First of all, remember this is a battery operated item. It will not run forever without recharging the battery. Battery life is acceptable if you "condition" the battery like the manufacture suggests. I get 15 minutes of run time from one battery. Plenty to do my small size city lot. Automatic line feed system works good. Replacement spools are expensive in my opinion. Very pleased with product, just don't expect more then the battery is capable of. There are several other tools available that use the same battery, but I am not sure if they can be purchased bare, without the battery.

Was this review helpful? (59) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
coors247
minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Doesn't Last
4/18/2012

Customer review by mack1313

2.0 stars 4/18/2012 by mack1313
by mack1313

I bought this trimmer in July 2010, and basically used lightly for 1.5 seasons. This year, the batteries won't hold a charge, the motor won't get up to speed, and the main on/off switch is intermittent. The machine comes with a 2 year warranty, and that is fine and dandy if you live close to a B&D service center. For me, I have to drive 78 miles each way to get to one. I'm now considering another brand.

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mack1313
Clanton, AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Lightweight, great trimmer. good battery duration
5/8/2013

Customer review by johnk1492

5.0 stars 5/8/2013 by johnk1492
by johnk1492

Black and Decker NST2118 Cordless Nylon Line Trimmer / Edger First Impressions: I live in a typical suburban house on 1/5 acre. I wanted a lightweight, cordless trimmer to cut the weeds along the backyard fence and house. I purchased this one 6 May 2013. The only difficulty I had assembling the NST2118 was pressing the guard onto the trimmer because it was a tight fit. I'm 6 feet tall and there is still 1 inch of adjustment available on the handle/shaft for a taller person and over 7 inches of adjustment the other way. I charged the first battery overnight. The next day, I was able to trim the weeds and some grass with dirt packed around the roots in the front and back yards and alley with only 1 battery. The backyard fence and house are cinder-block, concrete and stucco so I did not try trimming around chain link. I also did not do any edging. When I finished, the battery was still going strong. The only problem I had was about halfway through the job the nylon line started to unravel on the spool while still inside the auto-feeder. It took me a couple of minutes to remove the spool and tighten the line by cupping it in one hand and turning the spool with the other. It did NOT wrap around the base of the trimmer like other auto-feed trimmers I've read about. Finally, keep in mind that most battery-powered tools will not be as powerful as corded ones. Still, the NST2118 cut through several 1/4 inch diameter weed stalks (although it took me about 30 seconds of trimming for each one). Tips: 1. Follow the directions on battery care, charging and safety in the manual. 2. Store the batteries at "room temperature" (about 70-75 degrees Fahrenheit). Storing most types of batteries at extreme temperatures (outdoors, attic, garage, etc.) will reduce the battery lifetime. 3. Don't slam the bottom of the Automatic Feeder on the ground like the old style "bump feeders" because this could damage it. Pros: Lightweight. Works great at trimming. Long battery charge for a typical residential lot. Cons: Nylon line started to unravel on the spool.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
johnk1492
Clovis, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
LOVE THIS TRIMMER!
5/5/2012

Customer review by englishsetters1999

5.0 stars 5/5/2012 by englishsetters1999
by englishsetters1999

I bought this trimmer because of the reviews and I have to add my praises for this item. I love the second battery pack and it was easy to put together and I was outside. This little trimmer has lots of power. I used it probably 10 minutes this afternoon and it still was going strong. Our weeds are high and it did a great job. I will be out there, again, tomorrow morning. I like the easy way the handle adjusts to anyone's height. It was a little challenge how to get it to run, but after I got outside and really looked at it, it was obvious that I needed to push the one button before the start button would move. I recommend this, highly. LOVE IT!!!!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
englishsetters1999
Boyertown, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
Perfect for edging and trimming around my yard
5/16/2012

Customer review by NFalcon1969

5.0 stars 5/16/2012 by NFalcon1969
by NFalcon1969

I have a yard that is 3/4 an acre. After reading the reviews, a put the first battery on charge and charged it while I slept. Got up in morning the light went off so assumed it was charged. Swtiched batteries and went to town for some local errands. Then came back home. Not expecting to finish, I put the first battery that was charged and headed out. Not only did it finish trimming my yard and edging along the sidewalk and driveway. I still had plenty of charge so went down the sidewalk and used it like a blower to clear the sidewalk too. After 6 years thinking my yard was too big to consider a cordless edger, but tired of the mixing gas so was ready to give it a try. The two batteires, plus knowing I had 3rd battery with my drill, I figured I had nothing to loose plus 2 extra batteries to gain for my drill if I needed them for big home project. The review saying the barery only last 10 minutes, thinking either a bad battery or person didn't let it charge all the way, cause it lasted little over 30 minutes for me, and still had a charge for more if I needed it. The only downside is suppose to buy string refill cartidges, but hoping I can buy new line only and just restring it like I always did on gass weedeater.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NFalcon1969
Jackson TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Not sure why I didn't get this sooner!
4/4/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/4/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I am a 56 year old woman and have 2 acres of yard to maintain. So most of the time I would skip the weed-eating and just trim as close to everything as I could with the lawn tractor. I received this battery operated weed eater with the two batteries just last week. Oh my, I actually had fun trimming around the trees, long driveway and around the house. I trimmed everything I saw. I'm sure the newness will wear off, but it's so darn nice to be able to just turn it on and go with it. It's no where near as heavy as the gas trimmer and I love it. Excellent deal and couldn't live without it now!

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Charlottesville, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great trimmer for Home Owner
6/1/2013

Customer review by Tailgater4

5.0 stars 6/1/2013 by Tailgater4
by Tailgater4

This is my second Black and Decker (B & D) battery operated trimmer. I had the original model from 10 years ago. Battery finally lost its life. I was skeptical when I was first advised to purchase this unit from a home center outlet. I was tired of jerking my shoulder out of socket with the gas trimmers, so I gave it a shot. Excellent buy. Push button operation. The 2 batteries included are more than enough juice to take care of an average yard. I can get by with 1 battery, but get carried away sometimes. I recommended this to my Mom and she got one some time ago. She loves it. Perfect for those that want instant on and off. Line automatically feeds when needed; extra plus. Light weight. Can be used as edger, but opted for the B & D electric corded edger. Much more efficient and power than this trimmer's feature. You will not be able to do major jobs with this unit though. Would be nice if it came with a second charger. Batteries are interchangeable with other like B & D products.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tailgater4
Avoca, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Batteries run down too fast
6/22/2012

Customer review by uncletom32937

3.0 stars 6/22/2012 by uncletom32937
by uncletom32937

Don't get me wrong, this is a great little weedwhacker for a small yard and personal use. The problem I have is getting about 20 minutes out of a battery and 9 hours of re-charging time. If you could quick charge a battery and have one on hand it would be great. I do like the "no gas" (no ethanol...!) and no power cord ability and will be pricing some more expensive and better quality products.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
uncletom32937
FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
4/25/2012

Customer review by Calhoun49

4.0 stars 4/25/2012 by Calhoun49
by Calhoun49

This product is lightweight, portable, and easy to use. But it is not for heavy trimming. It is for maintaining an area (not too big). The battery must be at full charge, or it does not work well. My weeds were too tall, and it took twice to get them down, but once a week works well now.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Calhoun49
North East Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
great for the price
5/4/2012

Customer review by fitchel

4.0 stars 5/4/2012 by fitchel
by fitchel

This trimmer has some wonderful features, lightweight, easy to adjust, quiet to operate, and auto line feed. My battery times average 20 minutes per battery.It does great at maintaining an edge but really lacks the power to create a new one. It can do it but will take a few rounds of re-charging to do any long edges. The batteries will discharge as they sit around like the manual says, so charging right before use is best.I am happy with this purchase !!

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fitchel
5/14/2012

Customer review by suzrenee

3.0 stars 5/14/2012 by suzrenee
by suzrenee

Battery life is very poor, maybe 30 minutes with any decent power. Fortunately, this came with 2 batteries, so it was a good value. Unfortunately, it takes at least 8 hours to get the battery charged, so you're luck to do an hour of yard work and then you have to wait 8 hours to do it again.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
suzrenee
VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Not bad for small yards
5/18/2013

Customer review by Ron417

3.0 stars 5/18/2013 by Ron417
by Ron417

This is not a bad product for small yards. It's reasonably lightweight, and the batteries free you from a long, heavy cord. The adjustment for the handle and swivel head is easier than most operate. For most 80 by 100 foot residential lots this trimmer will get the job done. Now for the bad. The electric motor is slightly underpowered. As a result, the job takes longer. Although it comes with two batteries, it takes nine hours each to charge them and if you have a large yard, mine is two and half acres, they simply don't last long enough to get the job done. With the 18 hours total charging time, it becomes two days before you can finish the job. Overall the tremor is okay at $79.95 and would be an exceptional buy at $59.95.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ron417
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good product, so far
6/29/2012

Customer review by Smallhomeowner

5.0 stars 6/29/2012 by Smallhomeowner
by Smallhomeowner

Pros: powerful; good battery life; includes 2 rechargeable batteries and charger. Cons: None so far. Although I now have a relatively small property compared to my previous home, I still have 250-275 feet of plant beds and sidewalks to edge on a regular basis. This machine is powerful enough to create sharp, deep edges on my planting beds (by holding the trimmer so the string rotates on the vertical plane), and does as good a job as my previous gasoline powered Echo string trimmer. I've only used it 3 or 4 times so far, but so far, so good. Easy to control, balanced and comfortable to handle, and line self-feeds as needed.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Smallhomeowner
Ocean County, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
5/24/2012

Customer review by bus19a

5.0 stars 5/24/2012 by bus19a
by bus19a

I love this weed eater!!! 1 battery does my front yard and the other one does my back yard...perfect. Its light weight for easy use.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bus19a
Maple Valley Wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Very good string trimmer.
7/1/2012

Customer review by CousinBob

5.0 stars 7/1/2012 by CousinBob
by CousinBob

Performance is equal to similar size and weight gas trimmers and electric trimmers, but you don't have to drag cords around or mess with fuel and try to start the small 2-cycle engines. Winter storage is also not a problem, as with gas powered trimmers. One battery is more than enough for a a large yard at the lake cabin, and the backup battery is ready when you need it. I anticipate buying other lawn tools with the same battery pack and charger to enhance ease of use. The adjustable height is a very good feature but the lower handle ratchet adjustment will slip after a few minutes of use. Not a big problem but something they could fix. I've had a lot of trimmers over the years, and really like this one best!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CousinBob
Burnsville, Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
B&D String Trimmer 18v Cordless
5/17/2012

Customer review by Ebonywood

5.0 stars 5/17/2012 by Ebonywood
by Ebonywood

After my Trimmer finaly quit working, I purchase this power tool because of price, the extra included battery... can't beat that! So far the trimmer works great and able to run without a recharge on a 1/3 acre lot. Excellent buy.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ebonywood
Denver, Co
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
6/21/2012

Customer review by Chuck1256

5.0 stars 6/21/2012 by Chuck1256
by Chuck1256

I replaced my gas powered trimmer with this cordless model. I was very impressed with the performance. The automatic feed works great and edger funtion comes in handy. The only drawback is the battery only last about 20 minutes but it comes with 2 batteries. Overall, a great product!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chuck1256
Castalian Springs, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 92 total reviews
1-20 of 92 reviews