Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 232 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

232 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

232 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
105
4 stars
66
3 stars
16
2 stars
19
1 stars
26
1-20 of 209 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 209 total reviews
1-20 of 209 reviews
6 Months Follow-up Mainstay Rug
1/20/2014

Customer review by Deb305

5.0 stars 1/20/2014 by Deb305
by Deb305

It's almost been 6 months since my first review, and I wanted to do a follow-up for the person who asked (and for those of you who are wondering) did my painted carpet hold up well....and the answer is YES. For the people not interested in painting the Mainstay Titan rug I would still recommend this rug. It's budget friendly, cleans up well, and looks nice as is. Now for the people who are interested in painting this rug it's super easy to do. Do not attempt to spray paint the rug because it going to look splotchy & uneven! First I measured the rug and then divided the sections up so that they were even. How many stripes and how thick they are will depend on how wide your rug is. I used scotch blue painter's tape to tape off the stripes. A tip for applying the tape — go over all of the edges of the tape with your hand. Push the tape down and seal all of the edges. Then I rolled the paint on the rug. I applied three coats of paint with a foam roller for best coverage. Then once it was dry, I peeled off the tape...it's as simple as that. Oh, by the way it's super easy to clean. All you have to do is wipe the painted stripe with a damp cloth and it's like new again. I love my rug. So go ahead and save money and create a stylish space with a painted rug.

Was this review helpful? (98) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Deb305
Miami
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Painted rug!
7/28/2012

Customer review by Debb305

4.0 stars 7/28/2012 by Debb305
by Debb305

Being that I only paid $20 plus tax for this rug I decided I should experiment on it. I'm a avid HGTV fan & enjoy going on the DIY blogs that's readily available on the net. So I found a couple of inspiration painted rugs online (Google painted rugs) to give me pointers. I wanted a rug under the foot of my bed but didn't want to spend a ton on it. In short, I taped off the design I wanted with painter's tape & used some left over white paint that I had on hand....and results were beautiful. The basic black carpet I purchase was okay but it didn't have that wow factor.

Was this review helpful? (150) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Debb305
Miami
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Can't beat the price or quality of this rug. A++++
6/6/2013

Customer review by MrsFranklin0825

5.0 stars 6/6/2013 by MrsFranklin0825
by MrsFranklin0825

You can't beat the price. I have wanted a "chevron" design rug for some time now. But, I couldn't bring myself to shell out the kind of money those rugs cost. I'm an avid crafter/diyer so as another reviewer has done I decided to paint one myself. This rug was absolutely perfect for what I had in mind. Even without painting the rug it is still a great quality item. I will for sure be buying another in the near future.

Was this review helpful? (54) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrsFranklin0825
Lexington, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Perfect DIY Rug!
8/5/2013

Customer review by Jfrank0825

5.0 stars 8/5/2013 by Jfrank0825
by Jfrank0825

I bought this almost a year ago to attempt my first DIY painted rug. It turned out WONDERFULLY! I had wrote a review than as well. After my neice ruining the rug that was in my living room I needed something new in there. So I decided to do another DIY rug. This rug has been my number 1 choice. Despite the bad reviews it actually is wonderful. The quality is very nice and it's an amazing price. It's not the most cofortable rug out there but it serves it's purpose very well. I would highly recommend to others. Especially if you are a diy-er like myself!

Was this review helpful? (14) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jfrank0825
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
even better than expected
1/16/2012

Customer review by SmokeyPt

5.0 stars 1/16/2012 by SmokeyPt
by SmokeyPt

i used this to recarpet my bedroom and it turned out great. the carpet is not too rough and it looks really good. i enjoyed that it was rolled and that there weren't creases

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SmokeyPt
smokey pt, wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Simple basic rug - durable
5/18/2014

Customer review by bjbguy

5.0 stars 5/18/2014 by bjbguy
by bjbguy

We bought this rug for our building lobby. We bought it in red. We wanted something durable and simple and this rug fit the bill and had the added advantage of being very inexpensive!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bjbguy
New Haven, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Perfect Size/Nice Color/Good Value
6/14/2012

Customer review by MoeAndCompany

5.0 stars 6/14/2012 by MoeAndCompany
by MoeAndCompany

Already owning and liking the longer version of this area rug (purchasing 2 that were rolled when picked up and lie flat), I wanted and ordered a couple of the smaller sizes as well, the exact size and color wanted immediately available for pick up. Arriving home with my rugs, I found they had been folded and badly creased, which creases would not come out. Returning the rugs I wanted for credit, I located the display within the store, assuming the rugs would be stacked nice and flat rather than folded, creased, and ruined -- although that was not the case, the same rugs again folded and creased beyond use. (Why???) Needless to say, I exited the store without the smaller matching Mainstays Titan area rugs I wanted and would have otherwise purchased. Still hoping to match my longer Titan rugs, I may try to locate this style somewhere else, hoping the manufacturer isn't shipping them in a folded, creased condition. Really great rugs if you can find an UNFOLDED one in the size and color needed.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MoeAndCompany
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great for cost.
12/28/2015

Customer review by shopper

5.0 stars 12/28/2015 by shopper
by shopper

Better than expected. Needed heavier, inexpensive rug for my dogs to jump up on the bed. Doesn't slide around like the rug i purchased form the big box improvement store!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shopper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It's a rug
12/7/2015

Customer review by Coco

4.0 stars 12/7/2015 by Coco
by Coco

Nothing soft or cushy. Great for knocking dirt off of your shoe. Using it to cover a garage/laundry room floor, as extra play space for child. I have some 5x7s with one of these at the door. The pecan color actually looks nice in real life.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Coco
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It's Okay
11/12/2015

Customer review by MK92841

4.0 stars 11/12/2015 by MK92841
by MK92841

The rug itself is good. It is low pile and can easily be swept with a broom. However, like so many other people have said, the shipping leaves a lot to be desired. It is creased in the middle because it was folded and shipped in a plastic bag. Rugs should be rolled and packaged in cardboard.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MK92841
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
poor quality
1/8/2016

Customer review by Dorothy

1.0 stars 1/8/2016 by Dorothy
by Dorothy

this rug is made poorly

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dorothy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Like the area carpet.
8/4/2013

Customer review by ILuvTurkie

5.0 stars 8/4/2013 by ILuvTurkie
by ILuvTurkie

My local Walmart had a massive amount of these area 8'x5' carpets @ $19.99 and they were rolled up not folded. -> [:D] I would recommend the use of a rug pad not only for cushioning, but also to help them to not slide around on tile or wood flooring. I bought two in the color called Cardinal Red (color called red online) for my living room. They are a very deep sort of red wine color, but it is not a purple wine, and they will be put side by side (using duck tape on the backside) to give an 10'x8' appearance. I was looking for bright red, but this color was perfect as it will not show any darkening wear pattern over time. I am layering mine on top of an ugly brown carpet that is already been permanently laid down in my apartment. In addition, will be purchasing a Turkish style 8'x5' rug to place on top on the Cardinal red rugs. It should look very stylish after I have completed with the room of redecorating. I will post an update with photos in a couple months. The person who painted their rugs and posted photos. . white on the black. . did an excellent job, looks awesome! Walmart is my favorite discount store, and I can always redecorate inexpensively.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ILuvTurkie
St Paul. MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Can a rug get any thinner?
10/16/2015

Customer review by Poohgranma

1.0 stars 10/16/2015 by Poohgranma
by Poohgranma

I bought two of these rugs to use as runners to put along side an 8' X 10' area rug I also ordered online from Walmart. For the price, I didn't expect plush carpeting but more of an indoor/outdoor type of weave. This is so thin you can see the backing if there is so much as a wrinkle in the rug. I am very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Poohgranma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Just what I was locking for.
12/22/2015

Customer review by Chesster

5.0 stars 12/22/2015 by Chesster
by Chesster

The rug was just what I was looking for, and the price made it even better. The delivery time was a little overly enthusiastic, but over all, a good experience. I will be getting another.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chesster
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Rug is smaller than advertised
12/15/2015

Customer review by CSLasCruces

3.0 stars 12/15/2015 by CSLasCruces
by CSLasCruces

Walmart's service was great and the quality of the rug/carpet was good, but the carpet did NOT measure the advertised dimensions. It was supposed to be a 5' X 7', but only measured 6' 8" on the long side. I did not return it as I did not need the full 7' for the project I was doing.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CSLasCruces
Would recommend to a friend? No
Pass on this one
12/8/2015

Customer review by riviesmom

1.0 stars 12/8/2015 by riviesmom
by riviesmom
Top 250 contributor

Don't do it! If you have pets or small kids or plan to use this in a average traffic area....don't do it! Had this two days and already having to cut the snags off it!! NOT HAPPY! It looks great, is nice and soft and feels quite plush when you walk on it but its not worth even the cheap price if its falling apart after two days :/

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
riviesmom
Would recommend to a friend? No
Top 250 contributor
11/16/2011

Customer review by nails76

5.0 stars 11/16/2011 by nails76
by nails76

This rug is perfect under my dining room table. It lays flat, no curling edges and cleans well.

Was this review helpful? (65) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nails76
nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
9/22/2012

Customer review by Duran2girl

1.0 stars 9/22/2012 by Duran2girl
by Duran2girl

Like a person said earlier, it came folded and you can't get the creases out. If you get ANY crease it in, it won't come out. It won't stay flat, and any crease makes it worse. I have it in front of my door, and constantly try to flatten it, to no avail. It doesn't stay put either, even on carpet. It's a piece of junk, and I'm looking for something better

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Duran2girl
Wyoming
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Area rug
11/9/2015

Customer review by Ernst71

1.0 stars 11/9/2015 by Ernst71
by Ernst71

Absolute junk. Cheaply made freys the first time you vacuum. Do not buy

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ernst71
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great for use in bathrooms...
6/11/2012

Customer review by BigMamaJoJo

4.0 stars 6/11/2012 by BigMamaJoJo
by BigMamaJoJo

I would have given this rug 5 stars if it could actually go into the dryer on low like it says it can. I put it in the dryer on low setting after washing and the fibers melted together in alot of spots. It also shed some white fluff and the carpets were black. I like them, so I exchanged them and now I know to just hang them to dry after washing. Overall, great little rug :)

Was this review helpful? (35) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BigMamaJoJo
Spencer. Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 209 total reviews
1-20 of 209 reviews