Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 83 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

83 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

83 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
44
4 stars
26
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 stars
3
1-20 of 69 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 69 total reviews
1-20 of 69 reviews
I love this hoop!
3/25/2012

Customer review by capebeachgirl

5.0 stars 3/25/2012 by capebeachgirl
by capebeachgirl

It was very easy to put together. The instructional video was helpful and informative. From my experience it is good to start with a few minutes the first couple of days and see how your waist feels. The third day i took a break because my waist felt a bit sore because as the hoop circles your waist it feels a bit like a massage. Now after having the hoop for about a three weeks i can use it daily without any problem. My waist feels and looks firmer! It's fun and easy, but you do need a good size area to use it indoors because it is a large hoop. also be careful using it around pets since it is heavy and could really give them a whack. (i have NOT hit my dog with it- but am always mindful of where she is when i am using it) Happy Hula!

Was this review helpful? (79) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
capebeachgirl
cape may, nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/27/2011

Customer review by LoveEinstein

4.0 stars 11/27/2011 by LoveEinstein
by LoveEinstein

The foam material of which this is made is not heavy duty. When the hula hoop fell to the ground there was a gouge in the hoop after the first day of use. But it is still usable for sure. I got a lot of bruising around my waist from the weight of the hoop until I got used to it. A lighter weight might have been better. But it is fun to use overall.

Was this review helpful? (71) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LoveEinstein
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Low Impact and Fun!
4/18/2012

Customer review by WellnessMom

5.0 stars 4/18/2012 by WellnessMom
by WellnessMom

I have fibromyalgia and have been looking for something that was low impact, but would still give me a good workout. I desperately need core strength but just can't hang with too much weight lifting or sit ups due to chronic neck pain. I am loving this Hula Hoop. I can actually hoop with it as opposed to the lighter cheapy versions. It was easily put together, and I love that I can take it apart to take with me if I travel. The price is very reasonable, as others hoops I have checked out cost more. As the other reviewers mentioned, it is heavy when it drops and you do need to make sure you have enough space. And, my waist does hurt a little from the weight of it, but I think I'm really going to love it even more when I get used to it! :-)

Was this review helpful? (38) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WellnessMom
Tulare, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Reading the reviews helped!
8/1/2012

Customer review by MissSunshine13

5.0 stars 8/1/2012 by MissSunshine13
by MissSunshine13

After having seen how much fun my mother-in-law was having with hula hooping, with weighted hula hoops, I couldn't help but want to try it out myself. Who doesn't want to feel like a kid again and get a workout at the same time? I don't buy things on a whim though. I research the best price and ALWAYS read the reviews, to see exactly what people like and don't like about the product, before purchasing it. I noticed on this particular hula hoop that a few people were having problems with their abs hurting after only a few times of using it. I bought the hula hoop with caution and I have to agree, I can only do the hula hoop in moderation for now but if I stay consist, I will get use to it. It's a ton of fun and I'm very satisfied with this product.

Was this review helpful? (27) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MissSunshine13
Goose Creek, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Walmart associate
Not for the first time hooper!
12/8/2012

Customer review by woodsdwellers

1.0 stars 12/8/2012 by woodsdwellers
by woodsdwellers

The price on this item is good. The construction of the individual sections is strong and the sections fit together well and hold up to the continual falling of the hoop by the first time hooper. It is next to impossible for a beginner to use this hoop without professional help. The dvd shows a former gymnast with superfirm abs using this hoop w/o a problem but my 56 y.o. bod is not up to her standards. My husband was able to hoop with this hoop but only because he was strong enough to keep it by brute force! If you are a novice or first time hooper we recommend checking bodyhoops.com for a lighter weight hoop that we were able to use the first time we tried it. Unless you are just unusually short or super slim the large size hoop from bodyhoops is a great choice for the first timer. We have no connection to bodyhoops other than being a satisfied customer.

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
woodsdwellers
Bloomington, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Exercise Tool!
9/6/2012

Customer review by Debrich1

5.0 stars 9/6/2012 by Debrich1
by Debrich1

This is a great exercise tool plus it is lots of fun! It was a snap to put together (pun intended!) and is much easier to use than a regular hula hoop. If you are serious about whittling your waist, buy this!!

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Debrich1
Hamburg, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love it
7/11/2012

Customer review by pinkbot

4.0 stars 7/11/2012 by pinkbot
by pinkbot

this is great it snapped together easily, it was affordable and fun to use! the only con i would say is that i have sensitive skin and bruise easily and where the joints hit my hip i have a huge bruise. It could use some extra padding or something to improve the connectors so that it doesn't hurt but i would still recommend the hoop i have so much fun using it!

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pinkbot
Pittsburgh,PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good value
9/1/2012

Customer review by aerobigal

4.0 stars 9/1/2012 by aerobigal
by aerobigal

My fitness hoop arrived a day or so before the estimated due date. I tore open the box and assembled it without looking at the directions - no problems at all. I hadn't taken into account the size of the hoop and knocked over a few things on the first spin! I've not had any problems with it coming apart. Considering the weight, 2.5lbs, it is comfortable to use, with more than adequate padding. But this is not the hula hoop from your childhood. More than a couple of minutes will leave a mark. Good buy for beginners and a fun way to spice up your routines.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aerobigal
norfolk,va.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Fitness Hoop
1/20/2013

Customer review by 98Northwood

5.0 stars 1/20/2013 by 98Northwood
by 98Northwood

I was having problems with my feet, so the treadmill and eliptical machine was out of the question for the time being; so I had seen one in a store and wondered if I still had it after all these years, and yes I did. A few minutes a day and lots of fun! Easy to assemble and can be taken apart when not in use. This isn't the toy one that's plastic - this is padded and evenly weighted.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
98Northwood
Northwood, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great weight (2.5) for a beginner with the hula.
2/18/2013

Customer review by MsKBG

5.0 stars 2/18/2013 by MsKBG
by MsKBG

I am having a fantastic time getting back into what I used to do as a girl 50+ years ago. Because of the weight, it is putting a little pressure on my stomach as I already had some stomach ulcers. Going to check with my doctor on this and pray she does not tell me to discontinue. I LOVE this --- and each time I hold it in place a little longer I give myself several "high fives". LOL

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MsKBG
Katy, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
2/21/2013

Customer review by GMZR

5.0 stars 2/21/2013 by GMZR
by GMZR

If the saying "no pain, no gain" is to be believed one must purchase this item!!! LOL I accidentally used the product for a few additional minutes than truly needed on the first night I received it, so when I tried to use it the second night, oh the pain! You don't realize that 2.5 lbs will have that kind of effect on your body but it does - TAKE MY WORD FOR IT!!! I am excited (once I get the original over use pit falls out of my system) to work on my entire workout! Start slow, build up and work the workout and I believe it will be just what I wanted. I cannot afford to lose weight per se but I do need to tone certain areas and I think this will do just the job!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GMZR
Oklahoma City, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy to assemble; nice colors
2/27/2013

Customer review by QuietFire

5.0 stars 2/27/2013 by QuietFire
by QuietFire

Great even for those folks who haven't hula hooped in quite a while. The fact that it's slightly weighted has worked out extremely well for me.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
QuietFire
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
2/18/2013

Customer review by mwltal

5.0 stars 2/18/2013 by mwltal
by mwltal

The Hula Hoop is a great addition to my exercise routine. I used it for 10-15 minutes for the first time and I ended up having a sore and bruised hip. Now I move my feet around (like the instructions recommend) and it works fine. Time goes by fast when you watch TV as you hula hoop!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mwltal
IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Hoola Hoop
5/14/2013

Customer review by ninickname

3.0 stars 5/14/2013 by ninickname
by ninickname

I read that one shouldn't use a hoop more than 2 lbs. I ordered it anyway. Even though the hoop had to be put together (it was in 6 pieces) I could feel how heavy this would be. Since it was such a good deal $$$$ wise, I thought if the cassette disc was good I would keep it just for the c.d. Well, it was approximately 7 minutes long and didn't really learn anything. One move on c.d. suggests putting the hoop onto your wrists. This is not a good idea if you don't want to do some damage to your wrists. If it's too much weight on the waist and hips, it will be too much weight and pressure on the wrists. I returned the product.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ninickname
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fun fitness
2/27/2013

Customer review by ManitouGirl

5.0 stars 2/27/2013 by ManitouGirl
by ManitouGirl

I always loved hula hoops since a child, so when I heard about a weighted hoop for fitness I had to try it. The weights really make this a workout. It is a bit rough on my skin. I now have bruises around my waist now. But I have fun with it. Starting with 2.5 pounds is a good suggestion. I imagine the 5 pounds would be too much for me at this time. I am in pretty good shape with running and other aerobic activities, but a half hour of this hula hoop really works my waist, legs, back muscles.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ManitouGirl
Manitou Springs, Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great hoop for all sizes and shapes
3/17/2013

Customer review by Triguing

5.0 stars 3/17/2013 by Triguing
by Triguing

I have had my hoop for about a month, and recently purchased a second. It is common that for the first two weeks you will be sore. This is to be expected, it's a weighted hoop! Do not be discouraged if it falls a lot, as I am inexperienced myself. I purchased a second hoop and add a link because the larger the hoop the easier it is to keep it on my waist. The video that comes a long is helpful as well. So the standard hoop is great but if you also need some time to get used to hooping adding a link will "slow things down" a little until you become more advanced in hooping.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Triguing
Greensboro, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Only because...
8/13/2012

Customer review by POOO521

3.0 stars 8/13/2012 by POOO521
by POOO521

The Danskin Now 2.5 lb Fitness Hoop is a good product but it wasnt for me. I wanted to do more than just hoop, I wanted to flow and dance as well.... and the brusing around my stomach wasn't helping. I had to go a different route to get the correct hoop I needed. Will be donating this hoop to a gym with the instructions. I am sure there will be someone who will benefit from this hoop.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
POOO521
Buffalo NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
a little better than meh
4/9/2013

Customer review by rolit

3.0 stars 4/9/2013 by rolit
by rolit

i would recommend this with reservations. it is inexpensive and is as described but not the best fitness hoop out there. the pieces for mine fit together nicely and there are no gaps to pinch; also i had no soreness or bruising and this for an out of shape 60 something who bruises easily. for anyone willing to spend a little more and does not object to shipping charges i would suggest a hoop that is not quite as heavy - 1 - 1.5 lbs. - and not padded. i would also suggest reading about hoops and their usage (videos are helpful) before making a decision. different users have different fitting and usage tips and many suggest taking a class to see what hoop is best for you. it does raise my heart beat and makes me sweat and burns calories that would no doubt otherwise turn to fat so not a total waste of time and money.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rolit
chicago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Terrific exercise, helpful DVD!
3/31/2013

Customer review by ballroom16

5.0 stars 3/31/2013 by ballroom16
by ballroom16

I never mastered the hula hoop as a child. The free DVD is excellent - good instruction and some additional exercises you can do with your hula hoop. I'm learning at last!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ballroom16
Winter Haven, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I love it. I can actually hoola hoop.
5/7/2013

Customer review by Gitagita

5.0 stars 5/7/2013 by Gitagita
by Gitagita

I am over 50 and can now hoola hoop.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gitagita
Conway ark
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 69 total reviews
1-20 of 69 reviews