Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 724 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

724 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

724 reviews | 3 out of 5

55%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
190
4 stars
163
3 stars
73
2 stars
68
1 stars
230
1-20 of 608 total reviews
55%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 608 total reviews
1-20 of 608 reviews
No Adobe Flash Samsung Galaxy Precedent SCH-M828C
10/7/2011

Customer review by Woobieizer

4.0 stars 10/7/2011 by Woobieizer
by Woobieizer

Having had a Gmail account for a decade now, this is just another great usage for all the Google fans, sync your emails, float to wifi hotspots, use your own wireless, USB to your laptop or computer, 3G, works via app w/ my Sony Google TV ;) Apps to make your head spin and battery discard...grrr.. but fun. GPS, navigate, maps, locations. Almost endless possibility w/ caveat on Adobe Flash. Pros: All the stuff written on the box. 2 Gig SD in Box (just an appetizer) Swype: create words by drawing through OSK (on screen keyboard) Voice Dictation: Search/messaging/email; just say it and DICTATION is magically preformed for you. Huge plus if you have awkward thumbs or big fingers in general. Big Cons: You have to purchase the unlimited 45/30 refill, bummer since you can't stream from free Android compatible providers like Crackle. For those wishing to make use of unlimited data from a Google Android app like "Crackle" or use "Google Earth", or use "QR Droid": you'll be stumped and hindered as the powers that be have limited the hardware/software, or by some contract have not made a Flash player installable. If your phone is USB'ed to your computer and you go to the Android Market Place, a compatibility warning like the one below for Adobe Flash 11, Google Earth, and QR Droid. "This app is incompatible with your Mid-Tex Cellular Samsung SCH-M828C." Be Smart and research your home address for nearby Cell towers! Since this phone is a Sprint Network Phone, you can use the Antenna Search web page to locate the towers in your area. There exist also Cell Booster PCS/4G that can really pull a marginal signal and strengthen it. Google "Solid Signal" for a Cell Booster, and "Antenna Search" for a Map view of the towers/specs in a 4 mile radius of your entered address search. Excellent tools for a safe purchase of an excellent phone; no matter your choice. I've owned the phone 1 day, but purchased w/ confidence.

Was this review helpful? (463) (98)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Woobieizer
Lugoff, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great phone for celular use
4/5/2012

Customer review by EmanReviews

4.0 stars 4/5/2012 by EmanReviews
by EmanReviews

I am fully satisfied with this phone. I have no yearly contract, and have basically all the services that an iphone user has without the plans and excessive charges.

Was this review helpful? (49) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EmanReviews
Huntington beach, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
3/14/2013

Customer review by Rlift

1.0 stars 3/14/2013 by Rlift
by Rlift

I got the Galaxy Precedent when Wal-Mart was selling them for $129.99 + tax. It was the highest end phone from Samsung that they had, and I was looking for an android phone to replace my 'dumb' phone. This phone does indeed run on Sprint Network in my area. This was the dumbest, most ridiculous, insane thing I had ever done. Reception in my area is horrible. Most of the times I have 1-2 bars, and if I get a call while in the house, I have to go outside just to answer it because I usually have no signal (an X over the reception bars) at all or 0 bars in the house. This also runs on Android 2.2.2, which it seems most developers are starting to require at least Android 2.3 for their apps these days. I've been told that Wal-Mart is starting to discontinue this phone because of the horrible reception issues they have, and are getting these phones returned in droves. Straight Talk is a very buy at your own Risk kind of venture anyway, but at least Wal-Mart has a limited time return policy.

Was this review helpful? (109) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rlift
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
only if you desperately need an android phone..
3/30/2012

Customer review by madelineyo

1.0 stars 3/30/2012 by madelineyo
by madelineyo

I purchased this phone maybe a month ago. It looks really nice and at first the set up looks so great. And it was all $120 for an ANDROID phone, wow! But after getting used to this thing, you very quickly start to hate it. If you've ever had a super nice Android phone from HTC or Motorola, you're gonna hate your life if you downgrade to this thing. It lags very badly, sometimes taking up to 10 seconds to perform the command. I've never had a phone freeze up as much as this phone does. It just will not run half of the apps that I've used on other phones, for example, I have to use the old version of Facebook for it to even work properly, it won't even run the Capital One banking app without shutting down the operation. CURRENTLY my main problem is that the phone will not send text messages. It's getting network signal because it's downloading application updates, but just will not send text messages. I'm seriously about to purchase a new phone because this one is just so awful.

Was this review helpful? (72) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
madelineyo
Mobile, AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Phone is great. Sprint's coverage is bad..
10/12/2011

Customer review by MakersMark

4.0 stars 10/12/2011 by MakersMark
by MakersMark

I have to agree with a few others here that the phone itself is great. And if it was with a different carrier, I would still have it. But Sprint's coverage in my area is the pits, so I had to take it back to Walmart. If you're looking for an entry level Android based phone, I would highly recommend this one. It was very easy for me to pick up and figure out. I fell in love with it in the short time I had it. So if the Sprint prepaid network works in your area, and you're looking for a great smartphone, look at this one for sure. Oh, and do your research on Sprint's coverage. The Straight Talk map is too small to see, and Sprint's coverage maps have quite a few inaccuracies. And one more thing, ask the local Walmart sales person if they activate many Sprint phones in their store. If they say no because of poor coverage, don't buy the phone. If it doesn't work there, chances are in won't work well in your area. Now if Straight Talk would just offer this phone on their Verizon system, I'd buy two tomorrow.

Was this review helpful? (183) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MakersMark
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Waste of time and money!
10/29/2012

Customer review by vernon29

1.0 stars 10/29/2012 by vernon29
by vernon29
Walmart associate

This is the worse phone have ever owned. My husband and I switched to straight talk to save some money. First thing I notice was that this phone freezes up ALOT, I was trying to set up my phone and kept having to pull the battery because that was the only to get pass it freezing. Another problem is the battery life has never lasted a full day. I go to work from 9 to 5 and when I have no phone calls or texts my phone almost dead my the time I leave. Also the memory is very low on this and it doesn't let me put any apps on my sd card to to save memory. I only have a Facebook app and Pandora and it wont allow me to add any more app because I don't enough memory space. Also I thought the one I had was defective but I exchanged the phone for the same kid of phone and I still had the same problems. The only good thing I can say about this phone is that it is sturdy. I accidentally ran over it one day and the only problem it had was the camera never worked again.

Was this review helpful? (28) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vernon29
sebring, fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Most frustrating Smart Phone you will ever own
2/13/2014

Customer review by CraigfromWarrenCounty

1.0 stars 2/13/2014 by CraigfromWarrenCounty
by CraigfromWarrenCounty

This is not the phone to enter the 'SMARTPHONE' market for you. You will be frustrated and want to dismantle this phone after a week. The phone freezes and locks up frequently. You either press the on/off button for 10 minutes to reset or just rip out the back case and battery and put back together again. This phone has preloaded applications that cannot be removed. They hold on to most of the available memory in the phone and they cannot be moved to the SD card. If you get over 22 MB of available space you are lucky! Getting larger SD cards are useless. The usb/charger port is not working after about a year. I bought extra batteries and a separate charger and just swap out the batteries. Of couse that means taking up time to reset the phone to where I left off. For you techie types, getting apps like Busybox Free and Root Browser do not remove the preloaded apps. As for connectivity, this phone can't even find a wi-fi inches away from it until it feels like it! If you buy this phone after reading this review you were warned!

Was this review helpful? (84) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CraigfromWarrenCounty
Warren County, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
10/22/2011

Customer review by jazzchick07

5.0 stars 10/22/2011 by jazzchick07
by jazzchick07

I couldnt decided to get this one or the other Samsung android phone because of the price difference, however if I didnt like it I did have up to 15 days to return it and get the other one, but I like this phone a lot. It works just like an regular android phone, its sleek, light, fits in the palm of your hand and it processes pretty fast. The only thing that I dont like about it so far is the camera, I am not quite satisfied with it yet and there isnt a light with the camera, so quality isnt always good, but I can get some to turn out. This is as said in another review ran through sprint not verizon, and I am originally from southwest wisconsin and I did say that it would work there, and I can get some spotty service, but otherwise now that I live in a big city and dont get back that way much, I can deal with it. Overall, I think this is a great phone. It was pretty expensive at first because of the price of the phone, the $45 card, and then the 18 month insurance, but it is definitely worth every penny.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jazzchick07
Appleton, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not happy with this one.
12/24/2013

Customer review by PandaBrau

2.0 stars 12/24/2013 by PandaBrau
by PandaBrau
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this phone for my girlfriend for Christmas. I gave it to her a little early because she needed the phone. The first day she had it, everything worked fine. Now we are on day 5 and this is whats wrong with it. The touch screen isn't very responsive. The phone is not receiving texts. I sent several to her and ended up calling her to ask if she got them. She had not. She received them all the next day while we were eating breakfast. It comes with a 2gb micro sd card. She filled that up with apps and what not right away. She has now filled up the phones memory with apps as well. So we put in an empty SD card. The phone will not allow her to transfer anything from the phones memory to this new SD card. We tried another SD the one from my phone so I know it works. Same result. The phone was at the right price and being Samsung Galaxy series I figured it was good buy. I wish I would have had the money to spend on a Galaxy S4.

Was this review helpful? (56) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PandaBrau
Oklahoma City, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I went from Alltel HTC DESIRE to this JUNK!?!?
12/4/2011

Customer review by aikengrl

2.0 stars 12/4/2011 by aikengrl
by aikengrl

Okay it works somewhat simular to my old HTC that I broke. I opened it and was like are you kidding me, it is like a toy, Plastc Screen, touch on the screen isnt what a real smartphone is like, definatly a downgrade, and I will be looking elsewhere. The camera ofcourse is junk and no flash? aren we in the year 2012 almost??? It has the market, but this phone dosent spell check, the screen is way to small, I find it really hard to type correctly. It dosent even have a real phone ringtone, it is like buying an old track phone when they first came out. I HATE IT! on another note, service is so so in my area, it likes to jump in and out of service in town, it should roam.! I could go on and on. I just can tell you if you want a real smart phone go to HTC, I assume the HTC is the same weather it is prepaid or not! This phone must be a joke b/c it is a bad excuse for a real phone. The sad part is my HTC from Alltel was free!!!Im going back to Alltel.. that is a done deal for sure.

Was this review helpful? (14) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
aikengrl
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good phones--horrible service
4/2/2014

Customer review by boneszboy

1.0 stars 4/2/2014 by boneszboy
by boneszboy

The Samsung phones are OK however my experience with Straight Talk service has been horrible. They don't seem to have the ability to interface their payment system with their cell phone accounts. Buying minutes by credit card and putting them in Reserve results in Straight Talk immediately charging your card and then failing to put the purchased Reserve minutes into your account. This means that at the start of the next monthly cycle, you will have NO SERVICE. They do not let you know this so you find out the next time you attempt to make a call or receive one. When making a call, you get a message saying insufficient money in your account. Messages to a person calling you will tell them Verizon customer not available. I have spent hours with Straight Talk cust svc over the last two months getting them to manually update my account. They always act like this is routine standard operating procedure. DO NOT use Straight Talk if you ever need a phone in an emergency.

Was this review helpful? (16) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
boneszboy
missouri
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
GREAT LOOKING PHONE, HOWEVER SOME BAD NEWS...
10/5/2011

Customer review by Nathan2011

1.0 stars 10/5/2011 by Nathan2011
by Nathan2011
Top 100 contributor

I just recently purchased a Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Smartphone. I love the way it feels and how it looks compared to other phones Straight Talk offers. There is not a lot of accessories for the Samsung Galaxy Precedent in stores, However, the Precedent is the same as the Samsung Galaxy Prevail from Boost so cases and screen covers will fit. BAD NEWS!... Unlike my previous Straight Talk phone that uses the Verizon network, the Samsung Galaxy Precedent Smartphone uses the Sprint network. For me, Verizon has a much better coverage in my area. Needless to same, I am very disappointed with Sprints wireless coverage. NOW THE REALLY BAD NEWS!... After a few days, the phone overheats and the phone constantly freezes. To get the phone working again, I have to remove and reinstall the battery. I suspect the battery is the issue and called Straight Talk for support after my new phone heated up and froze five times in one day. They are sending a new battery to see if that will eliminate the issue. If this does not resolve the issue, I will be sending my phone back for a full refund. I suggest you research other reviews before purchasing this phone.

Was this review helpful? (1809) (181)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nathan2011
Tulare, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 100 contributor
10/11/2011

Customer review by 215775423145765421

1.0 stars 10/11/2011 by 215775423145765421
by 215775423145765421

The phone seems like it would be great but the customer service from Straight Talk is as poor as they come. I had just purchased a $30 plan before buying the Android but because of problems with my old phone I was forced to make the purchase of a new one. I called Straight Talk to pay the difference and upgrade my service and they refused to help. I explained the issue and even explained that they were crazy for not attempting to help because I would be returning the phone and discontinuing my use of their service but they acted as though they are not in need of customers. From my experience in customer service you do everything possible to help out the customer. I was not asking for a handout because I wanted to pay the difference, even though $15 would not be a lot for them to eat to have a satisfied customer that would continue their years of service with them. Now they have lost 3 phones' services and I will be sure they are not affiliated with the company I replace them with.

Was this review helpful? (12) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
215775423145765421
Winston Salem
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
10/9/2011

Customer review by Rioman

5.0 stars 10/9/2011 by Rioman
by Rioman

Straight Talk phones run on all the major carriers towers. It all depends on the make and model of the phone. Do your home work and know what you are buying before you select your phone. The Galaxy Precedent is the first Android phone offered by Straight Talk and yes, it does run on the Sprint network. So beware, make sure you have good coverage through Sprint in your area. I bought one of these phones fpr my sister a few weeks ago and she loves it. She has had no problems at all with her phone other than learning how to use all the features. I have a Nokia E7 Straight Talk phone which runs on the AT&T 3G Network. Have had it for 8 months and am very happy with it. Straight Talk is the best cell phone deal around, but do your research so you select a phone that uses a carrier with good coverage in your area.

Was this review helpful? (109) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rioman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
10/21/2011

Customer review by stsmom

4.0 stars 10/21/2011 by stsmom
by stsmom

I was very excited when I heard St finally was offering an Android phone and rushed to get it. I've had my phone for about a week now and am very pleased with it. I wish the instruction manual came more detailed with what all the icons mean and how to forward texts message but thru playing around with it and asking questions from others I've begun to figure it all out. My phone does freeze up occasionally when I'm at work, I just pop out the battery and reboot it that seems to get it back on track. the battery gets used up quicker than my previous St phone but I'm learning what to do to get around that too. I love all the apps and features of this phone. I couldn't find a case for this phone in the store but a friend recommended Amazon.com and they have a wide variety at very reasonable prices so that is going to be the next thing I do. Hoping I won't be dissappointed! never used the insurance for my previous St phone and it lasted me over two years but I am considering purchasing for this since its much more valuable.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
stsmom
aberdeen, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Phone for the Price!
12/7/2011

Customer review by chichibcc

5.0 stars 12/7/2011 by chichibcc
by chichibcc

The Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent is my very first smartphone, and I have thoroughly enjoyed using it ever since I bought it two months ago. I was looking for an Android phone that was affordable and didn't want to be locked into a contract. Thanks to Straight Talk, I was able to find exactly what I was looking for. Other than some occasional freezing up, adjusting to the tiny the keys on the touch-screen keyboard, and the "locking" feature that pops up during calls, I have no real complaints with the phone, but can you really, when it's only costing you $45 a month for unlimited talk, text and web? Not a bad deal for someone like myself, who only works part-time while going to school and is on a limited budget. I've been able to do pretty much everything on this phone-send e-mails, go on Facebook, check the news/weather, even read a book on it that I purchased from the Google e-bookstore! So if you're looking for an entry-level smartphone that's affordable and don't want the hassle of a contract, you should definitely check this phone out-you may be pleasantly surprised.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chichibcc
Battle Creek, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Forget the iPhone, this beats it hands down !
11/23/2011

Customer review by GoodSol

5.0 stars 11/23/2011 by GoodSol
by GoodSol
Top 100 contributor

It blows the iPhone away since it has a beautiful screen, easy to use interface and fast network transfers. The lack of a keyboard made me reluctant at first until I used the voice recognition feature to dictate SMS text messages, address book entries or just directions to closet restaraunt. Example: I can activate voice search and speak "directions to nearest WalMart" and the phone automatically uses the GPS and superimposes my location onto a real time Google Map and then shows me the route to the nearest WalMart or allows me to choose other WalMarts. I can dictate SMS messages faster than I could even type them on a laptop or a thumboard or just dictate into a chat window or Facebook and my Tweets. The onscreen keyboard is OK but prone to fat fingering the wrong keys but the voice recognition makes up for it.

Was this review helpful? (63) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GoodSol
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
Top 100 contributor
Great for a first smart phone
9/21/2013

Customer review by ipigmy

4.0 stars 9/21/2013 by ipigmy
by ipigmy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The first thing I should tell you,I am an older person and not smart phone literate..this is my first smart phone. I LIKE IT. It was difficult to understand at first but the answers to all my questions are there..just have to find them. I paid $50.00 for the phone and can't see why I would need anything more advanced. I got $45.00 a month Straight Talk, which is unlimited which gives me access to basically anything I want. Great phone and great plan.

Was this review helpful? (60) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ipigmy
portland oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Buy
10/10/2011

Customer review by MissMissyMiss

5.0 stars 10/10/2011 by MissMissyMiss
by MissMissyMiss

I use to have a android Droid.. Which I loved. This phone is just like it except better, it has a screen block while you are on the phone that my Droid did not. It is half of the weight and thickness. The only thing i dont like about it is that it does not have a keyboard, but it is very easy to use the touch screen keyboard. My old Straight talk phone had problems sending and receiving any picture message and was very hard to use the internet this phone, it is no problem at all and pretty fast... I am very satisfied with my purchase!!

Was this review helpful? (88) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MissMissyMiss
Conroe, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Buy the Warranty
10/20/2011

Customer review by StickyV

2.0 stars 10/20/2011 by StickyV
by StickyV

I bought the phone three weeks ago and at first I loved it. The coverage does work on Sprint, but it's not that bad. The phone is nice sized and does what I wanted it to. However, I am already on my second one. The first one I bought I had plugged in to my car charger and it got so hot it almost burned my hand when I went to use it. So far no problems with my second one. I recommend the phone, it could have just been a bad one. Either case for about 20 bucks I would recommend the warranty.

Was this review helpful? (36) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
StickyV
VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 608 total reviews
1-20 of 608 reviews